Technical Optical output: How good is it?, Worth the try?

madmoz
post Dec 20 2006, 05:49 PM

4,250 posts

QUOTE(Pepperboy @ Dec 20 2006, 05:37 PM)
Hey all, my hands itchy... saw cables on the cheap... wanting to try optical output to my house home-theater... So... is the improvement worth the jump?
If i'm not mistaken that's the only way the 360 can output dolby digital signals...
madmoz
post Dec 20 2006, 06:07 PM

4,250 posts

QUOTE(Pepperboy @ Dec 20 2006, 06:02 PM)
Yea, 5.1 def. beats stereo... but does optical 5.1 thrash "normal" 5.1 (as in I just plug the red and white cables from the 360 to my home-theater amplifier)?
Yes. And on the box it is most noticable when you play Viva Pinata rclxm9.gif , GOW has too many explosions and bass booms...
madmoz
post Dec 20 2006, 06:26 PM

4,250 posts

QUOTE(terencey @ Dec 20 2006, 06:10 PM)
I plug mine using the RCA cable from my 360 to my Yamaha RX-393 amp. I can hear moozipan behind my through my rear speakers while playing viva pinata. So means normal 5.1 still works but I would like to try using optical someday when I upgrade my amp. Current amp no optical input.
methinks that might be dolby prologic or something... unless the 360 manual is one big lie...

tech junkies, any comments?
madmoz
post Dec 20 2006, 07:55 PM

4,250 posts

QUOTE(hikaru_x @ Dec 20 2006, 06:42 PM)
the 360 don't support 5.1 via those red/white rca plug la bro... only via optical, then u have the option of dolby digital 5.1 or dolby digital 5.1 with WMA Pro.
Er... what's this WMA Pro?
madmoz
post Dec 21 2006, 10:09 AM

4,250 posts

QUOTE(Maniac @ Dec 21 2006, 09:41 AM)
lol get real, that puny speaker mana boleh, fast fast go upgrade biggrin.gif

Some of the Options,

1. Sony HTK5, HTiB RM 1599

2. Sony STR DG500 AV Receiver - RM 899, then find some local made speakers, should last you for a while.

there are a lot more u can do with just 1500.
HTK 5 is more for karaoke... had a look at it earlier this month, choke full of karaoke functions if that is your cup of tea! ALso, it has hugely oversized front speakers and 5.1 didn't sound all that great either.

In the end I settled on a much cheaper HTK-Genki set (RM 999 without the dvd player) that comes with two free rear speaker stands. I think I posted the product link here b4...). Doesn't sound that much worse but a lot CHEAPER. Actually it sounds great, just not all that loud.

If you are not willing to go above RM1500, another option will be the pioneer sets (see their malaysian webpage for details). RM 1600 plus will net you the entry level Yamaha HTIB which is pretty decent too.
madmoz
post Dec 21 2006, 10:25 AM

4,250 posts

As long as we are talking woofer here, do you guys think that the Lancer in GOW sounds kinda gay? ALmost like the carbine in CS... how to describe it... suppressed?

The hammerburst on the other hand rocks?
madmoz
post Dec 21 2006, 10:42 AM

4,250 posts

QUOTE(MK84 @ Dec 21 2006, 10:40 AM)
I'm using this one.

Sony HT-DDW670. Last time Sony Style have it for RM999. Good for small rooms and if you're not too fussy with custom settings. They have a new version going for RM1099.
Hey I'm talking about the new version of this unit!
Upgraded to two optical inputs... only visible difference is the black faceplate for the subwoofer.
madmoz
post Dec 21 2006, 11:05 AM

4,250 posts

QUOTE(Maniac @ Dec 21 2006, 11:02 AM)
anyone has yamaha htib models + prices?
ehm. 

K5 cannot pigi kah? i have no idea, was not looking at that hahah
there's one version in jusco mid vallye for RM1699, basically amp + speaker combo. Sounds quite decent too

This post has been edited by madmoz: Dec 21 2006, 11:06 AM
madmoz
post Dec 21 2006, 03:52 PM

4,250 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Dec 21 2006, 02:57 PM)
Hey MK,

How does the Sony HTiB sounds for Jazz, Pop music? Boleh tahan ah?
It does not sound that great... for RM999 we are looking at 'gaming' quality speakers...

But I do recommend them... looks better than 'computer' speakers, dirt cheap and very decent when calibrated properly (has auto calibration too!) smile.gif
madmoz
post Dec 21 2006, 11:40 PM

4,250 posts

QUOTE(MK84 @ Dec 21 2006, 04:09 PM)
Wah TSS-15 for RM399? Must check it out.... hmm....
Yamaha TSS-15... hmm... somewhat familiar... YES... it's the upgrade for bloody set I had for my xbox, gamecube and ps2 set up in Perth! Had to fork over 399 dollars to Myers for it... darn rip off... only RM 399 now vmad.gif with new face/amp unit as well

I'll give my two cents on it then...

1. For RM 399 you can't go wrong
2. It sounds quite decent, not very loud, bass not that strong (up the bass and the set tends to... errr hum? not sure what's the technical term but this might have been due to my speaker placement... hard to fit everything plus 32 inch sony crtv into dorm room!)
3. It beats my current 'budget' set up (Sony ht-ddw780) hands down when it comes to music - very refined and surprising because the current set costs more than double $$
4. It has tiny wooden speakers which are very light (somewhat ciplak) but are magnetically shielded (if I remember correctly, or maybe the sony tv i had was... hmm.gif )
5. It looks ciplak (sorry guys, you must see this for yourself)
6. It is great for movies (unless if you're a bass freak)
7. TV, 3 consoles and this will fit nicely on the cheapo IKEA birch finish TV rack... the low one with two open compartments...

8. If I knew this was selling here for RM399, I would have gotten it instead of the Sony especially as this model now has 3 digital inputs (mine had 1 only methinks)

Bottom line, think of them as an elegant set of computer speakers smile.gif
madmoz
post Dec 30 2006, 02:57 AM

4,250 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 22 2006, 08:28 AM)
Hmmm, I'm headed to LowYat later today for some PC parts, I'll drop by that audio shop and see if your TSS-15 is still selling for that same price.
So did you guys actually find it for sale?

0.0185sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:27 AM