Technical Optical output: How good is it?, Worth the try?
hikaru_x
Dec 20 2006, 06:42 PM

QUOTE(Pepperboy @ Dec 20 2006, 06:02 PM) Yea, 5.1 def. beats stereo... but does optical 5.1 thrash "normal" 5.1 (as in I just plug the red and white cables from the 360 to my home-theater amplifier)? the 360 don't support 5.1 via those red/white rca plug la bro... only via optical, then u have the option of dolby digital 5.1 or dolby digital 5.1 with WMA Pro. using red/white rca plug the best u can get is dolby pro-logic only... if you have a dolby digital capable receiver with speakers, subwoofer and all and your question is: will the discreet dolby digital 5.1 kick the matrixed dolby pro-logic? hell yes  some articles from wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dolby_Digitalhttp://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dolby_Pro-Logicoh, don't wet your pants yet... soon there will be an update to support dts(tm) output  (source: go search the xb360 thread or google urslef lah, i want go eat already...) This post has been edited by hikaru_x: Dec 20 2006, 06:58 PM
hikaru_x
Dec 20 2006, 11:13 PM

QUOTE(madmoz @ Dec 20 2006, 07:55 PM) Er... what's this WMA Pro? good question, actually i dont really know since my receiver tadak WMA Pro so i found this, from an xbox.com page : QUOTE Dolby Digital with WMA Pro: inactive at this time, this setting will allow a connected Microsoft Windows Media Center PC running Media Center Extender to pass audio from WMA Pro-encoded media through the Xbox 360 console and on to a WMA Pro-compatible audio surround receiver. Selecting Dolby Digital with WMA Pro will keep the WMA Pro audio signal in its pure digital form all the way from your PC to your audio receiver for the best possible sound.
Note This feature has not yet been implemented in Media Center Extender.
hikaru_x
Dec 21 2006, 04:03 PM

QUOTE(Maniac @ Dec 21 2006, 11:29 AM) http://www.crutchfield.com/S-7VGGNlwWdwu/c...&display=XL#Tabwahhh the more i lok at this RM 899 amp, the more stim i am, so low priced, so rich featured, and so classy look. no fancy look  [poison]come come, demo str-dg700 at my house.... it's basically the same thing, only dg500 no component/hdmi switching... should sound the same mah... come la[/poison]
hikaru_x
Dec 22 2006, 07:48 PM

QUOTE(Darkchaser @ Dec 22 2006, 07:13 PM) WTA, where to get optical cable?  I just got a LG HT set, now I'm just missing an optical cable  get it for us$3.99 from play-asia
hikaru_x
Dec 23 2006, 12:57 AM

i've bought the optical cable together with s.video cable before (that one lagi cheap! usd0.99)... used free shipping, PA labeled my package as 'video game' (i didnt ask them to so, but u can ask them to do it), total value 4.98. tak kena tax lah..
as for the optical cable... good built quality, connectors look sturdy.. snaps into the socket nicely... sound quality i use so far is good lah.. same like the thick rm50 maxcable brand i bought locally.
This post has been edited by hikaru_x: Dec 23 2006, 12:59 AM