41 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Uber Partner Resource Centre & FAQ, Partners welcomed to share!

SUS2feidei
post Mar 17 2016, 02:29 PM

Ayam tatau, ayam virgin (c)
3,158 posts

QUOTE(Night5113 @ Mar 17 2016, 01:20 PM)
For my experience, if u go online, and running on another apps(e.g waze..etc), b4 accepting any a trip request, u wil see the prompt out notification in every few min, to confirm u wan to sty online or offline, is very annoying, but sometimes didn't prompt out, if u did not response within a sec, it will logged off, unless u keep remain on the uber partner apps screen.
If you keep remain on uber partner apps screen, your phone will not go into sleep mode, will drained your battery very fast shakehead.gif
SUS2feidei
post Mar 26 2016, 10:14 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(tane282208 @ Mar 26 2016, 09:07 PM)
Anyone work for uber and grab at the same time ? or jumped ship to grab?
Use both lah bro.... biggrin.gif
SUS2feidei
post Mar 29 2016, 09:22 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(beer&skittles @ Mar 29 2016, 09:04 PM)
Hi

Question, as a rider.

When I open my uber application, go to 'history', pick trip, it says ' You rated" with 1 to 5 stars.

Is this the rating I have given drivers, or the rating drivers have given me for the trip.

Reason i ask is that I don't always receive a 'rate your driver' prompt after the trip, and when i check ride history there is already a rating there.
This is what drivers rate you
SUS2feidei
post Mar 29 2016, 10:31 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(jacky91 @ Mar 29 2016, 09:33 PM)
Ya kah?
yes, and it will show to all rider before accepting your request, mean if your rating too low, some choosy driver may choose not accept u
SUS2feidei
post Mar 30 2016, 08:35 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(jacky91 @ Mar 30 2016, 02:57 PM)
you are confusing people la sleep.gif 1 minute u say rider next you say driver. Firm up your answer pls doh.gif
Rating is both way, driver rate rider, and rider also rate driver....if either party average rating fall below certain level, they will get suspended.
SUS2feidei
post Mar 30 2016, 08:37 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(ieian81 @ Mar 30 2016, 07:42 AM)
No, thats what you rated your driver for that trip.

Riders won't know their own rating, only drivers know.
QUOTE(NightFelix @ Mar 30 2016, 10:03 AM)
this is the correct answer.

rider wont know we rate them how much.

but we drivers will know last trips who rate you lower than 5 stars if we check the history there.
Sorry, my mistake. But, rider can know their own average rating, not how the driver rate them, just like driver know their average rating. Rider just need to submit a request in the app
SUS2feidei
post Apr 1 2016, 12:26 PM

3,158 posts

The problem is that currently there is problems with Uber mapping logic and differences with drivers expectation versus riders expectation

If I am not wrong, the matching of driver and rider is based on geographical distance between driver and rider, not on route. For example, the rider may just opposite road of the rider, but, what the system failed is that the road is a huge major highway, and the driver may need to drive further 20km to U-turn back to pick up the rider, and all these will take time, cost and maybe toll. And, the problem is that if the driver did not accept the ride request, it will affect their ride acceptance %, which will impact their incentives, or worst case, suspended by Uber. To add further to the frustration, some of the ride distance even shorter than the distance that the driver need to cover to pick up the rider. Anyway, I always take it as pinch of salt, give and take, just don't complain. What pissed me off is that rider will unhappy why you take such long time to arrived, or accepting their request, and make a big fuss on that. Calling the rider to inform them, well, this even further eat up the driver operating cost.

Second is that many of the rider misunderstood Uber driver as taxi nor your personal driver. Uber are not taxi!!!!! It is a ride sharing app, where the driver agree to use his/ her personal vehicle to ferry the rider to their intended destination. If the rider expect immediate availability of driver right in front of you, or expect driver wait for you while you taking your own sweet time meddling your own stuff (driver are not suppose to start the trip before the rider entered the car), the rider incurred additional cost, and worst still, some area, there is no waiting allowed, or being surrounded with taxi (we try to keep as low profile as possible, to avoid trouble with taxi), so, these riders are really equivalent to what rogue taxi drivers to passengers, which I will usually rate them low.

As mentioned numerous time, it really take 2 party co-operation and mutual respect for each others for the success of the Uber.
SUS2feidei
post Apr 1 2016, 03:15 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(ieian81 @ Apr 1 2016, 02:48 PM)
So far, after 1000 rides, I have never had a rider cancelled on me after I informed him/her on the ETA if I am in close proximity but need to take a long route to pickup location and he/she agreed to wait.

The problem I feel with a lot of Uber drivers nowadays is always want to be in a win-win situation. Don't want to use petrol, don't want to pay toll, don't want to call, and just expect everything to turn out to their advantage.
That's why it really take mutual respect from both rider and driver. I kinda like the rating system for both drivers and riders, and would like to see how strict Uber will implement that, any rating fall below certain level, the driver or rider will get suspended. But, at same time, hope Uber can reward drivers who get consistently have good rating by having special incentives.
SUS2feidei
post Apr 1 2016, 05:23 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(jacky91 @ Apr 1 2016, 03:18 PM)
I dun normally call the rider after accepting the job (unless certain situation came up, such as, traffic jam, i reached but rider no show yet, long ETA time, emergency case). My view is that, I am driving on the road...and if possible...i try not to operate my phone that much...and i find out that the steps taken to call the rider (starting from the app itself) is too many...if not mistaken..there are 3 steps...click to rider's details, click on the "Call" button and then click "Call" again after the keypad showed up. Not quite user friendly.
Fully agreed, plus the rider will know the estimated waiting time for the rider to arrived, the progress and route taken, and another notification when driver arrived. So, I do not get it when why rider cannot be punctual, waiting for the driver at the agreed location?
SUS2feidei
post Apr 16 2016, 07:28 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Apr 16 2016, 03:48 PM)
Good luck guys.
Any option to opt for non cash ride acceptance only?
SUS2feidei
post Apr 16 2016, 10:44 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Apr 16 2016, 10:41 PM)
You need prepare RM 1 and RM 5 and RM 10.
You can't. But if the rider is cash payment, you will know when you start trips. It will remind you to collect cash.
Like that, I will most probably call the rider, ask them if they intend to pay cash, if yes, ask them cancel trip, or tell them provide exact amount, I got no change biggrin.gif

SUS2feidei
post Apr 30 2016, 08:40 PM

3,158 posts

If your cash ride is cancel, and you entitled for cancellation fees, please go check your payout, as the cancellation fee (RM5) will considered as cash payment to you, will be deducted from your weekly payment.

Example

Those paying via credit card
Cancellation fee (charged to rider) - RM5
Uber fee (20%) - RM1
What driver earned - RM4

Those paying via cash
Cancellation fee (charge to rider) - RM5
Deemed collected by driver as cash payment - RM5, to be deducted in weekly payment
Uber fee (20%) - RM1
What driver earned - RM4 (reflected in driver income)
Instead of getting RM4 as cancellation fee, driver are charge RM1 for that mad.gif vmad.gif mad.gif vmad.gif mad.gif vmad.gif

I raised a complain on that, only they add back RM5 as other adjustment for me. So, all driver, please check your payout carefully

This post has been edited by 2feidei: Apr 30 2016, 08:47 PM
SUS2feidei
post May 1 2016, 12:54 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ May 1 2016, 10:40 AM)
is a system bugs. just do a casual check out will do. most of my cash ride cancellation fee will credit into my account. no worry.
Unfortunately, till today, Uber apps still full of system bugs...example, SMART tunnel toll not reflected, which we as drivers need constantly check and monitor our payout
SUS2feidei
post May 2 2016, 04:04 AM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(tekokk @ May 1 2016, 08:38 PM)
we only get cancellation fee after 5 mins of the requested trip right?
Yes
SUS2feidei
post May 3 2016, 11:03 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(BuyAmaya @ May 3 2016, 08:50 PM)
Now guys bfore i took uber and grabcar i always use taxis everyday to work.

A few things you have to realized, the cost will go up, then if you past to consumers it will increase my cost so i might think twice using your service.

Other thing, i interviewed taxi drivers a lot before this, so if you are going for that puspakom inspection, they will ask for bribes indiscreetly just like a traffic police in malaysia...biasela, malaysia ni mane mane rasuah. If u dont pay then they will fail your inspection and you have to que again wasting time and more money.

And i just want to say that i support to legalize both grabcar and uber, however any increase in cost for me i object vehemently. I hope uber and grabcar can fight this out. First none of this bullshit puspakom inspection, it will be a hassle for the drivers and of course no commercial insurance please. It is going to be more than twice of the normal rate i believe. So i hope u drivers stand together on these. It will definitely kill off the part time drivers and again drive the cost up for you and ultimately me, the riders. I dont want that.

In the end i am just a rider asking for cheap rides around KL...actually to my place of work everyday.
Everyone is asking for the best value, if possible, free right? Ultimately, it is fine balance between making decent income to cover operating cost between the rider and driver. On rider end, it best if it free, but, on driver end, it best as high as possible. Thus, economic 101, where demand meet supply at equibilium level, where both party comfortable.

If really the cost went up, ultimately, you may stop, but, sorry to say that, who are you just one of many happy rider? As much as we would like to keep the fare low without compromising the quality of the service, but, with inpending of numerous ambigious rules, such as puspakom inspection, commercial insurance, etc......do government say that those private vehicle are not roadworthy and more dangerous? How often do you heard or saw Uberor Grab meet accident? What do the choice as we as driver and rider have? Ultimately, this cost will need to pass back to rider, and like it or not, I believe the fare will be ultimately equivalent, if not higher than taxi

It is not you that will stop taking uber or grab, I believe many driver, especially part time driver will stop completely too, due to the hassle. And, it will become slow death for both uber and grab, as less driver, rider get frustrated, and back to taxi again.

This is a classic example of how, a perfectly fine system, where basic economic, demand and supply, the market force dictate being distorted by some "higher" up to protect some minority due to they unable to compete with changes. We all shall see how the new system come about, just like when Uber decide to slash the fare, there are quite a number driver switch to Grab, and now both Grab and Uber both not only compete for rider, but passenger. Ultimately, they will be price equilibirium what rider willing to pay and driver willing to drive. Any distortion by government will only distort, if not killed off the system

End of day, Uber and Grab doesn't care how much driver earned, or even able to cover the the operating cost, all they care is take a cut from the fare. For driver, ultimately, got to decide it is worthwhile continue driving with the existing fare.

This post has been edited by 2feidei: May 3 2016, 11:07 PM
SUS2feidei
post May 3 2016, 11:45 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(BuyAmaya @ May 3 2016, 11:21 PM)
My point is this.

The current system works. No need to change. The fare is fine, the incentives are fine, the rating system works. And even passengers have ratings for uber. No need to increase more burden and costs to the current system. Any change should be protested coz it just increase costs.

And uber will always have surge to help them earn more than taxi fares themselves.

If u dont like grab go for uber, if dont like uber go for grab. I am doing the same thing by choosing which to ride with. And end of the day can still take taxi and sometimes taxi can even be cheaper than grabcar or uber during surge period, i am speaking from somebody who always take all three public transport, but nowadays i seldom use taxi anymore unless i predict that taxi fare is going to be cheaper than the other two for my ride on that day...or if there are no uber or grabcar drivers.
The current system is fine for both consumer and driver, but, not for the taxi drivers and government. Plus, I foresee, any increase in petrol prices in future without any increase in fare will further reduce the availability of driver.

Currently, speaking on behalf as driver, I notice that there still room for more driver, as certain area still very high in demand, in those core service area. The driver still able to earn a decent earning if based in those core area, but, gone the days where drivers can make enormous income.

Any changes to the system, or petrol prices, will definitely affect the availability of the vehicle, as this will restrict supply, and definitely, it will back to square one, just like pre-Uber, pre-Grab days, either you drive or expect to get get sub-standard ride from majority taxi, or you expect to pay more.
SUS2feidei
post May 5 2016, 10:09 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(sidthesloth @ May 5 2016, 09:53 PM)
My review.  As a customer,  after switching from Uber to grab,  I feel that grab have a better system. I do speak to all Uber and grab drivers that I use. Here what they got to say. In Uber  the drivers are "forced" to accept a ride due to their stricter acceptance rate.  Thus it's is their "normal"  protocol to accept the job and than call the customer to cancel the ride due to "inconvenience"... Kinda selfish right? As for grab the acceptance rate is much more lineant compare to Uber and the drivers know how much they will be getting for that job thus most grab will not accept a job that they won't commit.  Thus as a customer,  I do not need to face the bull shit call and cancel thingy that is plagued by Uber.

I do however knows that Uber and grab are not taxi and thus I tend to get annoyed when drivers treat me like some kind of God by calling me sir. I remember telling one Malay driver that you are just a ride sharing partner  not a taxi driver..... So you do not need to downgrade your self.  Have some dignity man.  Of course helping with the luggage is a courtesy thing that earns extra points but drivers should not treat their customers like what a taxi drivers do.  The problem here is that grab encourage drivers to act like taxi drivers.  It's soo stupid.  I always sit in front when I'm riding alone and do not have any issue unless I'm with my 2 years old kid.  I do however get annoyed when a driver ask me to sit in front with my baby. When I'm riding alone, i do not see the benefit on sitting at the back of a car compare to the front as I'm not spoiled like some of u guys are and I do that to show respect to drivers.  Ask yourself,  why DO YOU HAVE TO SIT AT THE BACK OF A CAR WHEN UR ALONE? Hope you guys know how to differentiate what a taxi and a ride sharing service is.
thumbsup.gif notworthy.gif If there is 6 star for rider, I will definitely gave you.....

Let me give you my account as uber driver, my principle is as long as I online, I will accept all the request, no matters what it is. But, what pissed me off, some of the rider, they thought we are their personal driver, can't wait, expect immediate ride. When call to told them the estimate time, they get pissed off. Worst still, cancel the ride after we are on the way.....and, subsequently, request again, and again, it flow to me.

Now, I learned my lesson, immediately I accepted the request, I will wait for 2-3 mins, let see if the rider want to cancel or not, can wait or not.....no point start driving, then, half way, cancel. And, we got nothing if they cancel within 5 min.
SUS2feidei
post May 8 2016, 08:05 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(pigduck @ May 8 2016, 05:33 PM)
http://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...silent-protest/

See? Taxi driver and Uber/Gran driver no different.
Malaysians will be Malaysians.
Common....have you read the full article in full? Or, why don't you try to become Uber/ Grab driver before even putting such comment?

If you too lazy to read the article, let me extract some of important point for you to think about, to reflect. Don't be act like one of our smart MP

There is no more starting fare at flag fall, and trips are charged at 50 sen per kilometre and 20 sen per minuteDo you ever own a car yourself? Do you know how much the cost of ownership of a car? Or, do you understand the basic economy? Come on, if the fare does not even able to cover the cost, do you think it is worthwhile to drive Uber/ Grab? FYI, this is purely business, the driver driving around to make a living, what you expect? FOC? Charity?

“long trip short ride” problem Imagine, the driver got to drive 10km, just for ride of 3km......do you know how to count? The driver driving for total 13km, but, only 3km is chargeable. I don't think you are that stupid or dumb, with the above rate, I am sure you will able to count how much the driver will be earning. Anyway, I do occassionally got such problem, but, I take it as pinch of salt, with hope to recover it later.

End of day, Uber will just collaspe in Penang, no more Uber ride, and back to taxi.....doesn't impact me anyway, I am not based in Penang. But, what I want to stress here, this is very basic and classic example of economy 101, so long as there is income to be made, the driver won't be running at lost, there always be honest driver around. But, if you cut the fare too much, or the rider demand dirt cheap fare, or Uber/ Grab too greedy with the commission, the industry will definitely collaspse. What I pity those are driving full time, getting brand new car purely for that, and Uber/ Grab are unilaterally adjust the fare, just like typical taxi company renting the taxi license out.

SUS2feidei
post May 9 2016, 10:46 AM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(pigduck @ May 9 2016, 12:35 AM)
1. A commenter above said our expectations should be lower on Grab/Uber 'cos they are 'ride share' services - so we should be 'friendlier', 'more lenient' but your very point here, which is what I made too, is that Uber/Grab is a business.
2. Taxi Drivers when they complain we look at them with disgust, when 'rideshare services' complain we have to be more lenient? Why?
3. The article says 'rideshare' drivers are being mistreated and looked upon as lowly drivers only - wow, not the same as taxi drivers, meh? That' what they complain about.
4. Why so calculative? The way it is marketed it's meant to be side income, make new friends, 'ride sharing' - you and the article makes it sound so technical - no better than taxi drivers demanding rights
5. Well said - Uber/Grab too greedy with commission, the industry will collapse. That's what I said from the start - PRICE WARS WILL NOT BE SUSTAINABLE
6. Uber/Grab's selling point is no regulation like taxis - you are at their mercy and now you want them to increase fares for driver's? Why so foolish to think they have your interests at heart? Is it their marketing? Do you think taxi drivers have it better now? Then you should drive a taxi and pick up customers like how you pick them up as Uber/Grab drivers. You will see you can make exponential amounts of $$.
7. Why are you driving full time in the first place? Why not become a taxi driver if you want to be full time?
8. I hope those getting new cars choose better cars and not try to optimise profits by getting an Axia/Myvi then

Does no one ever read my posts in succession and in context of each other? My points are the same - Malaysians, regardless you drive taxi or Uber/Grab, are the same - Uber/Grab drivers complain about injustice but taxi drivers cannot? How you treat customers will be the same because you are a Malaysian - we get bad Uber/Grab drivers like the ones in the article and in this thread who don't want to pick up passengers because it is not worthwhile - HOW IS THIS ANY DIFFERENT FROM WHEN A TAXI DRIVER STAYS IDLE or does not want to use the meter? Same lah. Everybody wants it to be worth their while. No one wants charity. Hence Uber/Grab needs to relook at how they attract drivers or their concept. All this talk of 'making new friends' and 'conversations' means nothing lah when you have price wars.

Because of price wars, now people only care about the money - not about the passenger at all - all those marketing gimmicks lah, "making new friends", "side income", all BS. Now even worse, without government backing, Uber/Grab drivers are alone in their fight. And they feel it because they say Uber is deaf to their complaints. Why should they pay attention? They are 'illegal' after all, they don't need to pay attention to rules or the law. They don't need to give two hoots about you. They only care about their own bottomline. Not about your livelihood or the economy.

Uber/Grab better re-look at their strategy in Malaysia.

Malaysians will be Malaysians.
1. I am quite sure you didn't understand how Uber star rating works, even though I remember somewhere someone had explained. FYI, 5 star rating is not perfect, ideal service, but, meeting the basic requirement of providing you a clean, safe and courteous ride to your destination of choice. I am not sure what do you define by 'friendlier' service, but, what do I expect from my rider is I the rider treat the driver how does rider want to be treated. So long as this is achieved, I do not think there is any issue not to give the driver or rider a 5 star rating. Plus, any driver who having rating lower than 4.3 * (not sure if this had been revised or strictly enforced), they will get suspended from driving. So, if anyone penalised the driver just for things beyond the driver control, like he is driving Axia/ Myvi, this is really unfair to them.
2. Refer above. Plus, did you ever being fleeced or cheated or having any issues by any Uber/ Grab before? If yes, does Grab/ Uber quick resolving your grievousness? How about you compare to taxi when you complain to SPAD?
3. This I agree, they complained about Uber, that's why they decided to stop driving.
4. Calculative??? Side income, making new friends, all these is what being Uber/ Grab marketing gimmick to attract drivers.....this is plain b@llshit. Come on, what side income when you can't even cover your car operating cost. Making new friends? Lol......
5. thumbsup.gif
6. FULLY AGREED. But, being a taxi driver ain't easy either, as you got to pay rent for those taxi permit that issue to company, instead of individuals.
7. Again, do you understand Malaysia taxi industry? The majority of taxi permit is now own by you know who, where individual have to lease the permit from them. Individual permit, very far dream. So, what choice do they have. I beg to be corrected. FYI, I am not driving full time, as I foresee this with impending price war and pay cut, it is not sustainable in long term to make a living. Thus, I only treat it as "time filler" job.
8. Again, it show that you have personal issue with Axia/ Myvi. Let me reminded you again, ultimately, it pure business, with such a low fare (possible further price war with no regulations), do you think any reasonable full time driver will invest in better car? Ultimately, it is "when you pay peanuts, you expect monkey quality work". I suggest you pay little bit higher for your ride, go for Uber Black, then, you will not have risk of getting any Myvi/ Axia.

End of day, this will be very interesting case study for any MBA case, or business case, how can a successful business concept to rectify the current Malaysian taxi problems failed when the investor decide to kill the geese that lay the golden egg if the price war continue.

SUS2feidei
post May 9 2016, 11:22 AM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(pigduck @ May 9 2016, 10:53 AM)
I agree with cashless payment(s).

The moment Uber went against their own model, that is cashless, I became very, very unimpressed with them. How can you go against what your website/business promptly raves about? It makes no sense. The whole point of it was to make it 'safer', easier and less of a hassle. Why bend over because of competition?

"Uber is the smartest way to get around. One tap and a car comes directly to you. Your driver knows exactly where to go. And payment is completely cashless."

As a rider, I do not trust Uber anymore if it cannot even stick to its words and be consistent in actions.

As a potential driver, I have not done a 1st trip because they introduced cash payments. They should give drivers the option to choose if they only want to accept 'cashless payments' or both. At least GIVE the option. So poorly handled.
Fully agreed, they should give option to driver to choose whether to accept cash ride or not. Been feedback to them, but, been falling into deaf ears. Only drop in drivers they will know it not workable.

QUOTE(pigduck @ May 9 2016, 10:58 AM)
Mmhmm agreed. It's very Malaysian to kill the goose.

Now we have relatively unhappy riders 'cos of ride cancellations.
Now we have relatively unhappy drivers 'cos it's not worthwhile.
Malaysian? I thought Uber is US based company? Actually, these issues is easily fixed, just need to revised and update their apps, give option for rider to choose whether to accept ride for distance more than (example) 3km from driver without penalizing them and/ or reward them with surge pricing, and include the route consideration too, as some distance can be just across the road, but, to reach it, you got to make a big 5km u-turn to reach. Also, rider got to understand or pay attention when requesting the ride, the estimated arrival time.

QUOTE(NightFelix @ May 9 2016, 11:04 AM)
Talking about Cashless Systems, I think Uber instead of rolling out Cash Payments, maybe should implement a way to buy Prepaid Card and reloaded into the Uber Apps. So is still Cashless method.

I been experiencing those new riders that use CASH method are so much hassle, I have to start teaching them on how to pay, how to rate, how to key in destination, how importance of rating, where is the car online and how many car online, how to key in promo code, how to report problem. doh.gif
Lol, imagine you did all this is those "high risk" area....the risk being ambushed by rogue taxi drivers. Or, my personal experience, drop off in some are where mobile reception is really bad, it take more than 1 min for the fare to show up, and the rider getting impatience.

41 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.2414sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:14 PM