6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Uber Partner Resource Centre & FAQ, Partners welcomed to share!

ikanair
post Sep 25 2016, 05:32 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(guanteik @ Sep 25 2016, 02:12 PM)
Actually short trip is not the rider's fault. It's the Uber not providing a minimum fare high enough for such case. Plus, Uber's won't care of the rider's rating is low.
Yup, not rider's fault, Uber dont care rider's rating, but Uber driver can don't pickup low rated drivers,
see any ping with 4.5* and below, somehow magically my finger do not move to confirm the ping biggrin.gif

Newbie report

1st Ping in Empire, reach place, call number(now i always call immediately tongue.gif), and what the fock, wrong number. waited the compulsory 5 minutes, cancel rider no show tongue.gif

less than 1 minute get 2nd ping from same rider, get called from rider asking me to wait, i waited ...5 minutes sharp, cancel rider no show again rclxm9.gif

rider called, "where are you", "sorry, i could not wait that long" biggrin.gif

ping again from nearby, new rider, reach, called immediately, WTF, rider says got something on, i did not ask him to cancel (since less than 5 minutes i reach liao), waited 5 minutes , cancel rider no show rclxm9.gif

ping from flora damansara(will banned this location next time, driving here will spoil the car), reach this godforsaken place, got called from the african guy, says go block d, fock it, i reach the pin location, wait 5 minutes, cancel rider no show.

4 consecutive cancel "Rider no show", wasted 30 minutes of my time
and what it shows in my uber APP? - increase in cancellation %, WTF, these are rider's fault not mine bangwall.gif

Total no of 1 star given today = 1 (1.7km ride)
Total no of "Rider No Show" = 4

This post has been edited by ikanair: Sep 25 2016, 05:34 PM
ikanair
post Sep 25 2016, 08:12 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Sep 25 2016, 06:17 PM)
one of the biggest problem is rider using international number. how to contact them? yesterday kena at melawati stadium. don't know got what China event there. all China number request uber. go there wait dont know how to recognise the rider. cancel got another request. cancel got another new request. four times wait 5 mins then cancel rider no show. end up have to go offline run away from that place to avoid kena ping again.

but all 4 cancellation no get any money also. don't know why. I waited for more than 5 mins before selecting cancel.
My experience
Cancel "Wrong location","Rider No Show" got money

Cancel "Rider request cancel" -> fock this, no money

ikanair
post Sep 25 2016, 08:27 PM

73 posts

Please help update in following link, bad places we need avoid

Uber/Grab Driver no go location - welcome to share
ikanair
post Sep 26 2016, 06:37 AM

73 posts

QUOTE(2feidei @ Sep 26 2016, 03:09 AM)
Actually, when you harrassed them long enuff, aka complaining using the help button, first, they will reply you in "auto-generated" type of reply (refer to my earlier post for the wording), but, you keep harrassing them, finally, you will get some reply that is you hardly seen, aka not auto-generated reply but I suspected someone really crafted out the reply. And, being persistant of me  whistling.gif I keep harrasing with my frustration, they said they will look into it all I complained, and will feedback to Uber Malaysia team. And, finally, they said, oh, there is technical issue with the apps, aka....it should not paired you up for those short ride distance where travel to pick up location is further than ride destination

Seems like Uber did not want to solve the app problem
Even when pickup point is near, but you need 10 minutes to reach due to jam bangwall.gif
ikanair
post Sep 26 2016, 11:44 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(icecoolman @ Sep 26 2016, 12:15 PM)
I'm a new Uber driver. I have three questions as below.

First question, I come across a situation so can anyone advice.

* Picked up passenger in KLCC to go Jalan Parlimen
* Then passenger say need to take passenger in Jalan Parlimen and go to Airport and changed destination to Airport.

So many ways of communications, if you just refuse out right, Uber drivers(Slave) got penalties
*customer gone with GRO to room, says open top only, GRO agrees, after open top, say must open bottom also, GRO!!! what to do, quick quick
a) GRO refuses - customer angry, complains, mamasan whack GRO
b) GRO comes out with excuses(just use some grey matters, there's 1000 and 1 reason to think of e.g, period come, need shit, etc) - customer disappointed, but accept explaination, GRO continue with next customer

The difference is, GRO got paid a lot more than Uber drivers tongue.gif

QUOTE(icecoolman @ Sep 26 2016, 12:15 PM)
(ie : request from KL city and final destination is Genting Highlands. However, I don't wish to go there as I have an appointment or trip is not profitable since empty to come back)
Before go into room with customer, GRO ask nicely, what shall it be?
*Uber driver, before swipe "Start Trip" ask nicely, "Hello, can i confirm your destination?"
if go any place you no wanna go, just use b) from above

In all cases, please note the following

If no Knife is at your throat, or Gun pointed at you, you're a still a free man/woman, free to make your own decision
Please don't waste your hard earned freedom(paid by our forefathers with blood and tears)

Uber/Grab Driver no go location - welcome to share
- You decide to go or no go
- Caveat Emptor

This post has been edited by ikanair: Sep 26 2016, 11:45 PM
ikanair
post Sep 28 2016, 07:40 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(jackal_x2005 @ Sep 28 2016, 05:57 PM)
agreed, for me if I get KLIA trip, I will not wait, and go to Nilai -->Cyberjaya-->Putrajaya--Bangi--Kajang--KL

along the way, normally I will get ping. Therefore, I will not waste money on toll or petrol.
Simple solutions, no go KLIA/KLIA2, easy peasy. no need think all sort of ways/jalan and what not cool2.gif
ikanair
post Sep 28 2016, 07:48 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Sep 28 2016, 07:13 PM)
👆🏿RM0.00 UBER: Syafiq, say goodbye to Uber. Die die must try: Grabcar.
Not yet start my GRAB driving, still on uber, and today receive ping from location 22 minutes away
seems like no uber car around? all moved to GRAB?

Anyway, to maintain a nice acceptance rate, i accepted the ping and wait in car tongue.gif cancelled by rider when he saw the time to arrive biggrin.gif
Get ping again, same rider, accepted again, cancelled again
3rd ping, same stuffs
4th ping, same again, no more 5th ping, i guess rider given up hope (maybe get a GRAB / Taxi)

ikanair
post Sep 28 2016, 09:48 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(2feidei @ Sep 28 2016, 08:14 PM)

Lel.....how? Call up rider first, mana mau pergi? Airport? Sorry, takde pergi....just like taxi driver jor  biggrin.gif Anyway, lucky is airport trip is very few, maybe 1 or 2 times per month only.....if so lucky kena sweat.gif take the opportunity to go airport cuci mata, see pretty chics  icon_idea.gif
Lel.....how? - Arrive pickup point, ask nicely "Hello, can i confirm your destination?" before "start trip"
if go KLIA/KLIA2/Genting - just say nicely and give excuses (1000 and 1 reason to give) - easy peasy

just like a taxi driver jor - Please do not equate uber Drivers to the same as taxi drivers. The taxi drivers will complains mad.gif
Uber Driver are (on per trip basis) much worse off than a taxi driver. From a driver economic status point, taxi driver is at the middle, the top are those personal chauffeur, bottom feeders = uber driver

uber driver is a cheap whore that MUST serve all paying customer. Customer smelly? rude? rough? demanding? no problem, uber driver will serve
taxi driver is a whore that WILL serve all paying customer. Customer smelly? - pay more. Rude? Rough? - taxi driver will whack the customer. Demanding? - go fly kite
personal chauffeur is whore that serve his master

Just know where you stand cool2.gif

ikanair
post Sep 29 2016, 07:38 AM

73 posts

QUOTE(ieian81 @ Sep 29 2016, 01:31 AM)
I just felt it's getting a little out of hand here, like you guys the old timer teaching the newbies how to earn the cancellation fee and all that, which wasnt the point of me starting this thread la. At the end of the day, Uber doesn't lose, the rider loses, and our professionalism loses.
The point of a Resource Centre & FAQ is to teach new drivers quick, without them going thru the pain and loss
How to earning cancellation fee is valid FAQ

Taxi drivers behave the way they do, precisely because of the economic stimulus
Given the same(or worse) economic stimulus, what kind of uber drivers you'll end up with?
Not every drivers can say, they drive for fun or drive during free times only for some pocket money
I wonder how many uber drivers are doing it full time and feeling the brunt of the loses(labor,time and money)

Of course there are good taxi drivers with a professional attitude, as there will be professional uber drivers.
Sadly the writing is on the wall for uber drivers(they will evolve to become your "friendly" taxi drivers or be extinct)
ikanair
post Sep 29 2016, 07:45 AM

73 posts

QUOTE(destiny6 @ Sep 28 2016, 10:57 PM)
so how does it work out for u so far? riders in the car d...then start trip see KLIA u cancel as 'don't charge rider' ?
you really got balls  notworthy.gif
Have not got the chance to cancel a KLIA trip
I accepted my first KLIA trip as i don't know any better, hopefully with discussion in this forum, will help other drivers - to each his own to go or not to go
ikanair
post Sep 29 2016, 09:18 AM

73 posts

QUOTE(ieian81 @ Sep 29 2016, 08:04 AM)
The idea of starting this thread certainly wasnt to share ideas of 'calling riders in advance and cancelling KLIA trips cause it's a perceived economical loss'.

You are not happy with airport trips, I am, so it is subjective. Even if I come back with an empty car, cause I am happy with that RMx per hour of work, and also the experience of sharing stories and experiences with the rider who's travelling. So I think it's a little unfair to the newbies for you to be stating it like a matter of fact that airport trips are not worth doing and that should call in advance and cancel if it's an airport trip.

In fact, let me see how many times you get to cancel trips like that before you get barred. The last time a driver called me and asked me in advance my destination, I gave him a very low rating and made a complaint to Uber. I believe you have gotten away with it so far was because the rider didn't bother to complain.

Anyway, like i said, driving Uber is a choice. If you think it's not worth your RMx per hour, then stop driving. Nobody is pointing a gun at your head and forcing you to drive.

And that analogy comparing Uber drivers to prostitute - a lot of people who works in the sex industry either has no other choice or they chase the money in it. So if they are prepared to be a prostitute, they won't go around complaining about this, and that, and only accepting clients who look like Andy Lau or Brad Pitt right?
So much anger, i guess you really need a chill pill, or did the comparison that uber drivers are lower rank than a taxi driver hit the spot?
Did i just compared uber drivers to a low class prostitute? I don't think that i did.Oops, sorry, i really did tongue.gif

Let's go thru it again, shall we?

I do not call riders in advance, i will cancelled the ride if i know it is not profitable for me
- to each his own defination of profit, "profit", in your case , "sharing stories and experience" (marketing mumbo jumbo by uber)

QUOTE(ieian81 @ Sep 29 2016, 08:23 AM)
Let me ask you this then, if Uber Malaysia is not so lenient with their drivers misbehaving, and these newbies take your advice for a fact and if they do get barred from driving and loses their source of income, are you going to be helping them out financially then?

Not accepting questionable riders, not accepting pings from too far away (subject to you managing your acceptance rate), pre-arranging trips, these are all grey areas and can still be accepted as passing on of advice.
Information on the WWW is for your own digestion, you decide for your own, if it's worth the bit and bytes it's written on
Driving uber is a choice, so it is to each drivers choice to accept a ride or not(Oops, sorry, uber just whack the drivers with this)

If you just started any jobs for profit, it is not better to hear all opinions?
If newbies take your view and take "sharing stories and experience" as part of profit, who would pay for the car maintenance,depreciation,labor and time confused.gif
- ever wonder why the taxis in town are in bad shape? Don't the taxi drivers wanna drive a nice clean comfortable taxi, given a choice?
- 5 years down the road, condition of uber cars? Cost of replacement?

Let the newbies decide on their own, hiding the bad part from them, and only tell them the marketing mumbo jumbo which is all hunky dory and nice, serves them no good at all.
*Just imagine a newbie getting a car loan to drive uber fulltime - may god have mercy on him innocent.gif

QUOTE(ieian81 @ Sep 29 2016, 08:23 AM)
Calling riders in advance to find out the destination before deciding to accept or cancel, making arrangements with riders of short distance trip to cancel and earn the RM5 cancellation trip and sending them, these are all clear violation of Uber's policy and may get you barred if one day a rider really does make a big fuss out of it. You teach a newbie to do such thing, if he gets barred from driving, then how?
confused.gif You got the wrong guy, i'm not guilty for these

ikanair
post Sep 29 2016, 09:26 AM

73 posts

QUOTE(ieian81 @ Sep 29 2016, 08:30 AM)
So can I assume you got this idea after making your FIRST KLIA trip and you decided it wasn't worth your time?

Like what a few of the partners asked, give us a report here after you have managed to execute your 'reach destination, rider hop in the car, you start trip and it shows KLIA, you ask the rider to get down the car with your so-called 1001 excuses and reasons, cancel trip' a couple of times and let's see how it goes.

I can tell you for sure, if i'm the rider and you pull this shit on me, I will definitely lodge a complaint to Uber.
If i ever get the luck to go KLIA again, no worries, i will post full report here smile.gif

Just a hypothetical question, what will happen if 100% uber drivers does the same as me? (cancel KLIA trip)
*100% is impossible, as some drivers value "sharing stories and experience"
but let's say, 70% of KLIA trips get cancelled by uber drivers, what wil happen? confused.gif

ikanair
post Sep 29 2016, 09:50 AM

73 posts

QUOTE(guanteik @ Sep 29 2016, 09:38 AM)
Dude, you must be kidding. I guessed only the few of you guys don't take KLIA trips. Please try to check out Facebook page "We Love Uber" (someone actually posted here and I went it to check out), there are loads lots of Uber Driver so keep on KLIA trips.
To each his own decision, to go? or not to go?
Each person has his own calculations on profit/loss

If i'm so lucky to get KLIA trip and cancelled, the next driver that gets the trip should thank me biggrin.gif

and if only a few of driver don't wanna go KLIA, why punished us? when you can make 2 people happy tongue.gif

For the newbies, please note -> @guanteik is not depending on uber to make a living nor to cover his car's maintenance/depreciation/replacement cost drool.gif
ikanair
post Sep 29 2016, 04:13 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(ieian81 @ Sep 29 2016, 01:33 PM)
You sound like you just graduated with a Masters Degree in Economics and trying to show off all your knowledge here. Fyi.

Nobody is hiding any cons about Uber here. We don't own any share in the company, at least I don't.
OMG!!! OMG!! Just found out now, I've got a Masters Degree in Economics rclxm9.gif
Heck, I did not even go to any university

For a "nobody" that is not hiding any cons about Uber, you sure are very vocal when we point out the shit

All I am saying is don't state something which is in violation of Uber Partner Agreement to be a 'tips' for other drivers. You claim to be doing the newbies a favor by stating all this, so I am asking you if they ever get barred from driving by following your fantastic tip of cancelling KLIA rides, are you going to help them financially?
Why keep harping on me cancelling KLIA trips? as i said it again and again, please use your brain and decide for yourself
If they get barred from driving uber? Simple, drive GRAB, and think about it, being barred from uber is not the end of the world
And getting barred from uber might just save them from a life of servitude

You have other methods of maximizing profit that doesn't run the risk of us being barred by Uber, I am sure we are all ears.
Life if full of risk and rewards, obviously my idea of cancelling KLIA trip don't work well with you, but think for a sec(please use those grey matters) "what would happen if lotsa uber drivers cancel KLIA trips?"

Btw, mind sharing your total lifetime trips and ratings?
I'm a newbie blush.gif done only 3 weeks, ratings=4.72 lifetime trips less than 150

Wait...... are you implying what ever i've posted is not valid, because i'm a newbie?
and you as a veteran of uber is much more knowlegdeable and so, can just shut me up?
*Wonder how did Uber start when the taxi service is already well establish (maybe Uber should not have started, as they are a newbie)

Ohhh.. GURU of uber, please post your profit and loss calculations on KLIA trips, Please enlighten me, the newbie
ikanair
post Sep 30 2016, 07:31 AM

73 posts

QUOTE(UberMY @ Sep 30 2016, 01:28 AM)
Please help the rider out by dropping them a friendly sms to notify that you've arrived. Yes, the app does help to notify the rider already but courtesy is always a good practice, as some riders may be less tech-savvy. smile.gif

You wouldn't like it, if you were on the receiving end, and got canceled on and hit with a cancellation charge just because you missed the notification. Why chase bad karma for RM5?
UberMY Why not just update the APP to send a sms to rider? We not supposed to play with our phone while driving, else get summons (police think we playing pokemon biggrin.gif )
Or, when we are park and waiting for rider,
can the APP have a button
a) "Send SMS to rider" or
b) "Send second notification" or
c) automatically send notification after 3.5 minutes (will give them 1.5 minutes to get their fat butt to the car )

On the other hand, just think about it, if the rider is soooooo lazy and miss the 1st notification, chances are, they miss the next one also tongue.gif

ikanair
post Sep 30 2016, 12:02 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(GreenSamurai @ Sep 30 2016, 09:36 AM)
You can't really say it like that bro. If you failed in doing something once you will most likely fail the next time you try too? If that is how you really think then I would advise you tp change your thinking. Just sms the rider and don't snipe the rm5.
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

ikanair
post Sep 30 2016, 05:05 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(UberMY @ Sep 30 2016, 03:13 PM)
Thanks for your feedback. smile.gif

We like to emphasize that we strongly discourage such behaviour but prefer to appeal to your good judgement to stop such unethical behavior.

As the number of Uber riders increase, there are an increasing number of our riders who are elderly or disabled that would require partners' patience and understanding to provide a simple notification that they've arrived as they may not be familiar with smartphone use or hard of hearing. Engaging in such unethical behavior for money, what more such a low amount as MYR 5, does say quite a bit about a persons' character.

One would hope Malaysians who are famous for our understanding and tolerance wouldn't practice such unethical behavior, especially when we're talking about such small sums of money. The cancellation fee is there to reimburse partners for being inconvenienced, not to make a quick buck off less fortunate people. smile.gif
It really points out the elephant in the room, where Uber drivers(slave) get frustrated with your current business model that they have less patience and compassion (does these behavior remind you of our famous taxi drivers?)

And the measly RM5 (you know what, even this Uber suck 25% off doh.gif )

Without change(s), my bet is, Uber would have successfully created a whole new class of drivers(slave) that is worse off financially than the current taxi drivers

Just wait a few years, once the car replacement cost comes in.

Oh ya, those RM5 freebies that is making life's hell for drivers? Where the budget comes from?
Hint - 25%

This post has been edited by ikanair: Sep 30 2016, 05:06 PM
ikanair
post Sep 30 2016, 05:37 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(2feidei @ Sep 30 2016, 05:29 PM)
wrong lah....slave work without pay, or very little pay and no exit plan....at least Uber don't put a knife on your neck or point gun to your head force you drive for them  laugh.gif
slave work without pay - pickup distance shorter than ride distance
very little pay - 1/2km trip
no exit plan - car replacement cost?

True, no knife or gun used. For this, i must bow my head to Uber for successfully making people slaves without threats of bodily harm tongue.gif
ikanair
post Oct 4 2016, 05:40 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Oct 4 2016, 03:40 PM)
not banned but drivers abandon Uber.
less drivers on the road but riders maintain the same. I can see surge happen very frequent now.
Drop off rider in Solaris Mont Kiara on Sunday, and Uber app show surge at 2.+x, yahhh... at last i get to enjoy surge
Parked car and waited for ping......
waited.....
waited.....
color changed back to low surge , i got ping for 1.3x

If surge is at 2.+x i would think ping would be immediate, but i was wrong, guess their proprietary algorithm only make sense to them blink.gif

Anyway, just to say bye bye, gone GRAB, 1st day experience

GRAB fare is fix
Good - i no need ask which route to take, i just take the fastest (only toll consideration), rider no need feel cheated if i took wrong turn
Bad - if you need take detour (i.e road closure)

App design is not as good as Uber, but not a deal breaker

But the best part is, no need to deal with marketing mumbo jumbo bullshit answers as below rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

QUOTE(UberMY @ Oct 4 2016, 04:29 PM)
Old drivers (being those who joined for longer) are of course eligible for better deals. Would you still be able to buy a landed property at the same price as your parents 10 years ago? smile.gif
Some say GRAB riders/drivers are second class, only my 1st day, will post more newbie reports after more experience

ikanair
post Oct 5 2016, 08:54 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(Error404 @ Oct 5 2016, 06:46 PM)
I had stopped doing 'charity' for past 3 weeks.
I can confirm my cost ($) really higher than income, and I didn't factor in my time spent.
NOoooooooo!!!!! your cost calculation is wrong, you have not included profit from "the experience of sharing stories and experiences with the rider who's travelling"
tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

QUOTE(ieian81 @ Sep 29 2016, 08:04 AM)
The idea of starting this thread certainly wasnt to share ideas of 'calling riders in advance and cancelling KLIA trips cause it's a perceived economical loss'.

You are not happy with airport trips, I am, so it is subjective. Even if I come back with an empty car, cause I am happy with that RMx per hour of work, and also the experience of sharing stories and experiences with the rider who's travelling. So I think it's a little unfair to the newbies for you to be stating it like a matter of fact that airport trips are not worth doing and that should call in advance and cancel if it's an airport trip.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.2044sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:55 AM