Oil & Gas Careers V10, Upstream & Downstream, Market slump ahead

ch_teo
post Feb 28 2016, 04:43 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(DuFfz @ Feb 28 2016, 07:29 AM)
Get certification like CWSIP or P6 primavera
For CSWIP, without exposure to machine shop or field experince on trade skills and with QA/QC and with also hands-on dirty one's hands, it is not as easy as just typing on keyboard and say. Unless you are someone who can memorise 80-90% of thr course content and good hands-on motorskills and good analysing critical thinking skills then perhaps yes. Also require certain experience and qualification(s) for CSWIP.
Have an ex coursemate can memorise exactly same word or sentence during answering exam/quiz questions. He has a very good analysing and linking skills also, 4.0 every semester except 1 sem 3.9x. Now with an oil and gas operator.

This post has been edited by ch_teo: Feb 28 2016, 04:49 PM
ch_teo
post Mar 4 2016, 10:12 PM

809 posts

Malaysian energy company Petronas has moved a step forward to deploying the world’s first Floating LNG (FLNG) unit.
ch_teo
post Mar 28 2016, 07:09 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(TheReaderReads @ Mar 28 2016, 05:51 PM)
It depend on when you enter the project. Usually these constraints/obstructions are handle by the boss himself while the design is handle by the junior engineer under the supervision of the boss himself. And also depend on when you enter the company. Maybe during that time, while working for the company, there is a new project and the boss wants your to identify those constraints.

When I entered, I was just given projects to design and attend client meeting with architect and QS.

Yea, those r important too

But engineering needs both to help each other. One from design and another from site experiences. Both are equally important though...  laugh.gif

As for this offered job, it is site engineering position. I dun mind it
work and communicate well with RE/SIOW/COW.
a good C&S designer I have experienced myself: his background with a Master, designer, RE and gone back to designer.
He can supersede office design with hand-drawn and his PE endorsement due to unpractical design in the drawing from office.
ch_teo
post Mar 28 2016, 07:11 PM

809 posts

there is a lot of works in downstream. not necessary upstream. it is a matter one willing to take it with pay-cut or can take the work loads or restart learning from zero.
ch_teo
post Mar 29 2016, 09:47 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(sukhoi35mk @ Mar 29 2016, 11:16 AM)
u sure or not downstream engineer earning lower than upstream engineer if excluding offshore allowances?  tongue.gif
have you read carefully my full statement?

This post has been edited by ch_teo: Mar 29 2016, 09:47 PM

0.0425sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:46 PM