(Topic closed) Looking for simple r&d project, that involves sw/hw interfacing

TSmentalhealth.my
post Jan 25 2016, 09:49 PM, updated 9y ago

Validating
147 posts

Looking for sw/hw interfacing project.
Parallel port and serial port programming. Can research first and create the solution with windows .dll

Portfolio:
Re** **y sdn bhd, kuchai lama
I worked there for 3 weeks and used 1 week to communicate with a L4000 intelligent controller with success.
Solved the wiring (RS232-RJ45 adapter) and built the .NET library to talk to the machine.

unknown factory in Malacca
A freelance project that never got paid. I succeeded in interfacing with their robotic arm using VB6 serial port communication. (They did provide me with the handbook of the robotic arm)
----
Those are my scope of interest. Feel free to P.M. me

Read my profile in job enlistment section:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3851578

EDIT: I have a job currently, so I have no more time for freelance project. Sorry.

This post has been edited by mentalhealth.my: Feb 26 2016, 03:58 PM
narf03
post Jan 27 2016, 07:55 PM

4,544 posts

Parallel port ? who still uses parallel port except those old matrix printer ? and seriously VB6 ? may i know how old are you ?
TSmentalhealth.my
post Jan 28 2016, 07:54 AM

Validating
147 posts

QUOTE(narf03 @ Jan 27 2016, 07:55 PM)
may i know how old are you ?
narf03
post Jan 28 2016, 12:46 PM

4,544 posts

QUOTE(mentalhealth.my @ Jan 28 2016, 07:54 AM)
Older than me, no wonder u know vb6, but nowadays nobody use vb6 anymore cause they no longer supported, installer generated from vb6 cannot be installed on win7 or later, even got problems in win xp, u should not consider vb6 as your advantage anymore. And should not using it already.

Pick up vb.net instead, since u know vb6, should be simple for you, but missing the comm port component, replacement is socket which is a bit complicated but a lot more powerful.
RookieDaddy
post Jan 29 2016, 12:18 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(mentalhealth.my @ Jan 25 2016, 09:49 PM)
Looking for sw/hw interfacing project.
Parallel port and serial port programming. Can research first and create the solution with windows .dll

Portfolio:
Re** **y sdn bhd, kuchai lama
I worked there for 3 weeks and used 1 week to communicate with a L4000 intelligent controller with success.
Solved the wiring (RS232-RJ45 adapter) and built the .NET library to talk to the machine.

unknown factory in Malacca
A freelance project that never got paid. I succeeded in interfacing with their robotic arm using VB6 serial port communication. (They did provide me with the handbook of the robotic arm)
That's a rare and valuable skill you have there in sw/hw interfacing. thumbup.gif The knowledge you have in Parallel and Serial port interfacing is still relevant today as there are still a lot of industrial and medical devices that uses such interface (although some are using tcp-to-legacy-port converter and usb-serial interface), electronic platforms like Arduino and Raspberry PI supports them nod.gif
Looks like you already know .Net, perhaps adding a scripting language or two and/or database development may help in your search for new projects?

Just to share what I humbly know:
* There are still organizations that continued to maintain existing VB6 applications. In fact, same goes for Delphi (I see that Pascal is one of your skill-set).
* VB6 can still run in Windows 7 and 8/8.1. blink.gif
* Serial port (or comm-port/UART/RS232) development is supported in .Net, Visual Studio includes a component called SerialPort, I guess you already know this.

good luck.
TSmentalhealth.my
post Jan 29 2016, 12:24 PM

Validating
147 posts

QUOTE(narf03 @ Jan 28 2016, 12:46 PM)
Pick up vb.net instead, since u know vb6......
Yes, I did, I picked up .NET since .NET Framework v1.1 (or VB 7.1, aka 2003), and then VB.NET 2010. But then Microsoft keeps pushing newer VS.NET out to the market, and I couldn't catch up with their latest release of .NET anymore.

Thank you for your concern. I am unemployed at the moment and that makes me worry.

This post has been edited by mentalhealth.my: Jan 29 2016, 12:24 PM
TSmentalhealth.my
post Jan 29 2016, 12:28 PM

Validating
147 posts

QUOTE(RookieDaddy @ Jan 29 2016, 12:18 AM)

good luck.
Wow, what an informative reply! Thank you for your encouragement and assurance.

I really appreciate it!
narf03
post Jan 29 2016, 01:09 PM

4,544 posts

QUOTE(mentalhealth.my @ Jan 29 2016, 12:24 PM)
Yes, I did, I picked up .NET since .NET Framework v1.1 (or VB 7.1, aka 2003), and then VB.NET 2010. But then Microsoft keeps pushing newer VS.NET out to the market, and I couldn't catch up with their latest release of .NET anymore.

Thank you for your concern. I am unemployed at the moment and that makes me worry.
you dont have to worry after you picked up the 1st version of .net, they are almost the same, with added feature, without much changes.

I dont want to lie to you, its bad time to lose a job during these moment, ya, you need to be worry, dont waste your time sitting at home, pick up some new skill set, you are 39, you should have alot more experience and portforlio than what you specified.
alien3d
post Jan 29 2016, 02:49 PM

3,740 posts

QUOTE(mentalhealth.my @ Jan 28 2016, 07:54 AM)
if you know perl, shwack penang wanted .. old folks like it.. i dam forget about it lol .Old school language never leave because there still people using it.
i got my first dvd beta visual studio net 1 2001 i think (Horrible slow on my celeron 850), then 2008 start again with new vb 2008 i think. VB.net much easier then vb6. because it's oop (don't flame me here). C# kinda nice to code now also. Freakin easy.Let's said if php and c#. I would said c# is nicer to code then the easiest web php ..PHP getting over complex now.

My Suggestion,

1. You already know the industry, so make a company and charge them liao.

This post has been edited by alien3d: Jan 29 2016, 02:53 PM
TSmentalhealth.my
post Jan 29 2016, 06:20 PM

Validating
147 posts

QUOTE(alien3d @ Jan 29 2016, 02:49 PM)
if you know perl, shwack penang wanted  .. old folks like it.. i dam forget about it lol .Old school language never leave because there still people using it.
No, I don't. I know Clipper though.

i got my first dvd beta visual studio net 1 2001 i think (Horrible slow on my celeron 850), then 2008  start again with new vb 2008 i think. VB.net much easier then  vb6. because it's oop (don't flame me here). C# kinda nice to code now also. Freakin easy.Let's said if php and c#. I would said c# is nicer to code then the easiest web php ..PHP getting over complex now.
AFAIK, VS.NET 2002 (with VB 7) was the first release of its kind by Microsoft. Subsequently VS.NET 2003 was second release.
VB6 (aka VB classic) and VB.NET can be compared to Windows XP and Windows 7 onward. Old folks love VB6 and Windows XP.
BTW, I started using VB classic since VB 2.0 in 1994, then VB 3.0 shortly afterward.

My Suggestion,

1. You already know the industry, so make a company and charge them liao.
Brilliant ideas. I will consider. Thank you.
alien3d
post Jan 29 2016, 06:25 PM

3,740 posts

QUOTE(mentalhealth.my @ Jan 29 2016, 06:20 PM)
No, I don't. I know Clipper though.
AFAIK, VS.NET 2002 (with VB 7) was the first release of its kind by Microsoft. Subsequently VS.NET 2003 was second release.
VB6 (aka VB classic) and VB.NET can be compared to Windows XP and Windows 7 onward. Old folks love VB6 and Windows XP.
BTW, I started using VB classic since VB 2.0 in 1994, then VB 3.0 shortly afterward.
Brilliant ideas. I will consider. Thank you.
dam quite young learn to code. QBASIC->snake,worm. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif I do hate vb.net since need to install those .net framework on old pc rclxub.gif

some of the government still using old informix,clipper, blue screen accpac. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by alien3d: Jan 29 2016, 06:26 PM
beemek
post Jan 30 2016, 10:28 AM

143 posts

You are doing same thing with me.
TSmentalhealth.my
post Jan 30 2016, 12:31 PM

Validating
147 posts

QUOTE(beemek @ Jan 30 2016, 10:28 AM)
You are doing same thing with me.
Oh, that's good! Would you mind to share more about your experience?
What is the outlook for this field?
beemek
post Jan 30 2016, 11:55 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(mentalhealth.my @ Jan 30 2016, 12:31 PM)
Oh, that's good! Would you mind to share more about your experience?
What is the outlook for this field?
I only do the medical instruments solution.
But here not much demand in Malaysia market
TSmentalhealth.my
post Jan 31 2016, 02:12 PM

Validating
147 posts

QUOTE(beemek @ Jan 30 2016, 11:55 PM)
I only do the medical instruments solution.
But here not much demand in Malaysia market
I see. Thanks.
narf03
post Jan 31 2016, 03:58 PM

4,544 posts

yup, ive done many customized software, software to hardware communication isnt really that good in malaysia, technically its not that difficult, ive done a few projects like that.

1 swimming result management software, that need to read RS232/RS485 input from hardwares, process inputs, push result to scoreboard, vision mixer.
1 fertilizer production software, control silos, conveyor belt, etc using PLC.
1 quality control(reading only) for clay pipe production.
1 raspberry pi project, ~200 units deployed.

Seriously, dont focus on software hardware integration, they arent really good pay, mostly because not many ppl need them, should aim towards mobile app(phone).
Leolabs
post Jan 31 2016, 11:54 PM

600 posts

Why not go further with IoT?Since u have the hardware intefacing experience that many 'modern' programmer doesn't have(not their fault but the teaching environment).....
TSmentalhealth.my
post Feb 1 2016, 05:20 AM

Validating
147 posts

QUOTE(narf03 @ Jan 31 2016, 03:58 PM)
yup, ive done many customized software, software to hardware communication isnt really that good in malaysia, technically its not that difficult, ive done a few projects like that.
That's great.

QUOTE(narf03 @ Jan 31 2016, 03:58 PM)
Seriously, dont focus on software hardware integration, they arent really good pay, mostly because not many ppl need them, should aim towards mobile app(phone).
I will take your advice, but then it is too late for me to pick up iPhone and Android programming. cry.gif
TSmentalhealth.my
post Feb 1 2016, 05:28 AM

Validating
147 posts

QUOTE(Leolabs @ Jan 31 2016, 11:54 PM)
Why not go further with IoT?Since u have the hardware intefacing experience that many 'modern' programmer doesn't have(not their fault but the teaching environment).....
I am new to this terminology 'Internet of Things'. "Bulbs or locks that can be controlled over the Internet..." -- Interesting. I have seen such products in the consumer market already. I have met a Bumiputera who design and offer solution to "IoT" (intelligent home).

Programmers nowadays can also learn electronic and electrical. It is all in computer engineering course.
TSmentalhealth.my
post Feb 1 2016, 02:38 PM

Validating
147 posts

QUOTE(SerbaSerbi @ Feb 1 2016, 05:54 AM)
read up all about 'the internet of things' or IOT

see some youtube videos and see if this topic suits you for r and d

its upcoming and its going to be the in thing very soon
Thanks, I will keep an eye on it.

0.0182sec    0.15    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 03:57 AM