Feedback my question and feedback

TSCyrusWong
post Jan 23 2016, 05:17 AM, updated 10y ago

1,647 posts

I believe this is my first attempt opening a thread in this section.

I never follow up this section, please forgive me if any of my feedback has been suggested by other forumer.

Question:

1. This 1st feedback, is quite related to the question I asked above. It's related to username.

2. I suggest Lowyat open a counter at Lowyat Plaza, specially for forumer to get account verified.

3. Same as no.2 suggestion, but different tag, "safe trade".

4. forumer can choose to whether disclose their whatsapp number.

from the feedback suggestion of no.2 and no.3, if lowyat really can carry it out, this can help fight or reduce scam or cheating case in garage sale or in any way.

many years ago the rate of scam/cheat case in garage sale are quite low. but now macam commonly happen jer.

if cheat/scam case really happen, user must have the prove. third party prove are rejected, like chat history in facebook, wechat, whatsapp, etc. Must use lowyat PM as the median.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Jan 23 2016, 09:41 AM
goldfries
post Jan 23 2016, 10:03 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

I've removed your Email from the post above.

----------QUESTIONS-------------
1. Can you retrieve your account? Yes you can. E-mail to helpdesk@lowyat.net and prove that you're the owner. Bear in mind that you should use only 1 account.

R&R : Each user is entitled to ONE user account on the forums. We employ various tools which are effective in accurately detecting duplicate accounts. Registering additional accounts will result in temporary suspension to your main account and a permanent ban on your second (and subsequent) accounts.

2. As to that E-mail - again, E-mail to helpdesk@lowyat.net for assistance. To what I know, some domains are prohibited because there are many spammers using them. After all it's as what you said "QQ mail is one of the largest social media in China.".

----------FEEDBACK-------------
1a. Login support using username, user id, or registered email address. Or maybe can link lowyat account to facebook account, then forumer can login using facebook.
- good idea, just not as simple as it is due to the nature of our forum backend.

1b. Allow forumer to have the ability to change username. First 5 attempt are free of charge. When limit reached, will have to pay RM10 as service fee or penalty charge. (take it as a small/significant extra income for lowyat).
Name changing is not allowed simply to avoid confusion and reduce difficulty in tracking individuals, especially scammers and troublemakers in /k/

1c. User account that inactive for more than XX years, their username will be released for other forumer to register.
I like this idea but one issue with this is that some accounts are banned, so if after 5 years they're release then someone who took over the name would be mistaken as the notorious person.

2. I suggest Lowyat open a counter at Lowyat Plaza, specially for forumer to get account verified.
And what's the purpose of this? smile.gif lowyat.net is not related to the said plaza, and rental there is not cheap. The cost doesn't justify the means, if ever there is a need to verify we already have an office.

3. Same as no.2 suggestion, but different tag, "safe trade".
We do have a SAFE TRADER tag however that is just a badge. lowyat.net forum is just a platform to initiate activities but users are not limited to communicate solely through the forum.

We also are not, and will not be involved in whatever else that goes on between users, whether it is negotiation or transaction.

4. forumer can choose to whether disclose their whatsapp number.
That's just creating a new function that serves a purpose that's no different than someone leaving their number in the post.

------------------

Thank you for the feedback, those feedback aren't new though. smile.gif Lowyat.net will remain as a platform for users to establish contact but will not be the middle person that's involved in every transaction.
TSCyrusWong
post Jan 23 2016, 02:44 PM

1,647 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 23 2016, 10:03 AM)

for the question 1 i asked, NO, the account is not mine. I just simply want that username. "Cyrus"

but since you mentioned username changed is impossible due to forum backend... then I think it's impossible to change username to that sad.gif

Added on
for the username change feature, I know it will make confuse or maybe some scammer will take advantage of it. but this is where the feedback no.2 and no.3 will fight against scammer. (which is buyer will looking forward to deal with IC verified account only.)

I understand that, scam case will still happen with IC verified account, after scam then user changed their username. It will be result in difficulty for admin to track the record.

Here I think of lowyat can have a extra datatable in database, to store the transaction history, store the seller forum id.

yea since lowyat have own office edi then I don't think there's need in opening booth or counter. Forumer to want to get the tag IC verified tag can straight head to lowyat office. smile.gif

Added on
I know the existence of current "safe trade" tag. but it seems quite impossible to get that tag, even some active seller which already long selling item in garage sale, I see they still not having the safe trade tag...

So I just propose another way to get that tag...

Added on
and in additional to all this, I thought of a feature need to improve as well, the search thread function.

the search function is still quite not powerful enough, for example,

I search "abc def" it will show thread with consist of "abc def" this exact phrase.

I was hoping forum coder can enhance this feature by showing thread with "abc lfgkfdg def" too.

take the spacing as a splitter. to split it down search query to "abc" and "def".

any thread which consist of both "abd" + "def" will showed in result.

Added on
Lowyat.net will remain as a platform for users to establish contact but will not be the middle person that's involved in every transaction.

This does not make sense.

What is the purpose of having Garage Sale this section? You (not goldfries) create a section for forumer to sell/buy items but don't actually want to care what happen in there (scam/cheat).

and the existence Dispute section for forumer to report scam/cheat that happen garage sale. and also the black list.

Admin should disallow user to report a dispute case that happen in garage sale if lowyat do not want to get involve in every transaction.

Don't be the judge. and remove the dispute tag from the system.

This post has been edited by CyrusWong: Jan 23 2016, 05:10 PM

0.0206sec    1.64    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 09:36 PM