There's no need to argue, u can move there and try out their life style there.
I just list down why people normally dislike cyberjaya, it just a general opinions, you can ignore it if you think it is not right:
1. Cyberjaya is full of arabs, africans and bangladesh. If they are proper students that come here to study, it is completely fine. But they are not, they basically
party every night and very loud. If your home is far away from them then it is fine.
2. A lot people buying property are choosing the neighbours as well, but people who stay in cyberjaya are mostly foreigners that wasn't as friendly as Malaysians that you normally meet. And really
don't expect educated civilized friendly foreigners will be your neighbours, people like that will not choose to stay in cyberjaya. You must choose to stay with Malaysians as neighbours.
3. Cyberjaya
food is expensive, and not that nice. But if you can afford to stay there, probably wasn't an issue.
4. Cyberjaya is a very very
anti-comercialize, anti-capitalism place, all the shops and infrastructure, and fully planned by government, private sector have very little say here. So you will only see petron, but no other petrol station, you will only see KFC, pizza hut, and old town kopitiam but no mcd. You will only see Pepsi in cyberjaya but no Coca Cola. Everything must be in control, it is much more worse than communist city Beijing. This is basically the heaven of communism. But I really feel suffocated by it.
5. Cyberjaya is a very well planned place, like a robot. At day time still not that scary, but after 7pm. It will become basically a dead town with all the foreigners party around. It is deadly quiet and noisy at the same time. You don't feel like this is a place for family to live, it is like a forsaken place. But I believe Putrajaya will be slightly better. Entire Klang Valley also have quiet place, we all know it. But I think Cyberjaya cannot use quiet to describe it, it's like a ghost town at night, you feel alone but yet it is full of shadow. Like in another world.
I have been living there before, so basically I can understood what
Pepper has described, the bus stop is basically the only place that feel like a human place.
tag
deoraEDIT: dun marah me, I just stated my thought on living in cyberjaya as my previous experience.
One of the biggest myth is that the gov control the shops there..this is total bullshit...
The only reason shell or other petrol company or other famous brand doesn't open yet is because there previously find no profit there..they thought Cyberjaya will be dead city like lot of /k people...last time in 2006 some applicants try to approach Shell to open up franchise but it was rejected by Shell citing 'high risk', luckily Setia Haruman the key developer managed to coaxed Petronas to open one on 'national service' basis earlier
Nowadays seeing the rapid development I can name almost all famous f&b like nandos, bens, KFC, burger king etc have opened in Cyberjaya..just name it...two Starbucks is just few hundred metres apart from each other, Shell will open this year and Mcd I heard will occupy the empty land in NeoCyber