LG OLED TV Discussion Thread, OLED TV

toytoy
post Apr 4 2022, 03:46 PM

875 posts

Hi Guys, I just bought a C1 last week.
I wanted to change the TV region to US to download apps like Hulu, Disney+ and etc.
Managed to find a software called ColorControl to access EZ_Adjust menu and changed the region to US.
After restarting the TV, a message for new firmware update popped up.
My question is if I update the firmware from US region, will it brick my TV?
Even if it works, will I lose my warranty? I believe firmware version can be seen in the Service Menu, so even if I change region back to Malaysia can still see I've 'tampered' with the TV...

This post has been edited by toytoy: Apr 4 2022, 03:48 PM
toytoy
post Apr 6 2022, 06:44 PM

875 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Apr 6 2022, 05:03 AM)
what I would do is, get a Android box or Chromecast or Firestick and use VPN apps.
I have a Fire Stick 4K connected to it.
But I like to meddle with the TV settings since it already has all the function built-in. Just locked by geolocation.

Anyway I changed the region to US, installed all the apps I wanted and change back to Malaysia.
Surprisingly all the US region apps are still there as long as I don't log out the LG account.
I changed the DNS to ExpressVPN DNS and most of the apps can be used. thumbup.gif

toytoy
post Apr 14 2022, 06:24 PM

875 posts

Welcome to the club. I also just got my 55" end of March.
I follow settings from YT also. RTings and HDTVTest is a good source.

Can take the summary below from QuantumTV for reference but some ppl from Reddit said he's not legit or something. Anyway just for reference.

toytoy
post Apr 14 2022, 08:54 PM

875 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Apr 14 2022, 06:57 PM)
Quite a bit of wrong in that image. C9 and CX can share the same settings, but C1 cannot because LG changed the tonemapping on that model. So it's fucking stupid whoever this quantum idiot is to generalize all LG OLEDs into one.

For SDR, LG has broken low level blacks (5-10% IRE) for C9 and CX for nearly a year now. 49 for Brightness will crush shadow details. You actually need it to be at 51, assuming you don't calibrate. Contrast should always stay at 85, unless you can calibrate. Also, gamma should be 2.4/BT1886 because the ISF expert dark mode is meant for dark/pitch black rooms. Of course setting it to 2.2 is not an issue to compensate for brightly lit room, but that would throw off the gamma curve for the mode.

For HDR10, the settings are mostly correct except I'm confused by the 55 on the color (digital vibrance) setting. Again gamma should be 2.4/BT1886 because HDR and DV is meant for dimly lit rooms.
Side note 1; I would suggest leaving Sharpness at the default 10 because contrary to popular believe, the Sharpness setting for LG TVs (yes it also applies to their LCD models) performs edge anti-aliasing from 0-10. It also has a mild de-ringing filter applied within this region. There is NO edge enhancement between 0-10 for the Sharpness setting, which means you are NOT artificially sharpening the image at the value of 10.

Side note 2; Would enable Smooth Gradation to Low on C9 and C1 (CX smoot gradation is broken and has never been fixed).

Side note 3; For those that cannot stand 24p judder which is made more obvious with OLED's almost instant screen response time (not to be confused with refresh rate), you can enable TruMotion User and set it to De-Judder 2 and De-Blur 0. There is next to no SOE with this setup.
Great info.

In your opinion Is it required to professionally calibrate the TV or follow the settings from Vincent Teoh for example is sufficient?
Can we generalise the settings and how much difference will it be compared to proper calibrated TV?

i.e. will it be 90% accurate, 80% accurate? Will it matter for Netflix consumption / console gaming?

toytoy
post Apr 15 2022, 08:34 PM

875 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ Apr 15 2022, 05:36 PM)
Oh why thank you , I had a great laugh .

Calibrating a display , requires a source of reference .
In this case where is he getting the reference ?
These are just generic settings ,  so common that every TV channel is providing them nowadays . That is not called calibrating .
Also the fact that you need to tell people to turn " Dynamic tone mapping " off  in Dolby Vision  doh.gif
We always use 2.4 for SDR , because that is the most reliable way for 1D and 3D LUT  to generate consistent color gradation across all luminance range .
Effect is more obvious in the recent TV because of added precision point from 3D LUT in 2018 / 19 / 20 / 21 OLED models . [ The A , B series are excluded . ]

People tend to raise it to 2.2 doesn't mean it is optimal , it is just that our vision become progressively weaker at picking out errors and mismatch in a brighter room , thus interference from ambient lights .
Gamers also like to do that because they want to see more in darker side in competitive scenes .
As for the color balance ,  You don't need to follow his settings as long as you have a working Ipad , or a Nintendo Switch ( surprise ) .
Play a full screen white pattern on the youtube app , get the full screen white on your TV to look as close as possible.

From my experience  , these little gadgets are extremely accurate in colors which came as a surprise to me .
Back in the days , when we didn't have all these tablets and didn't have any tools , we were resorted to using a piece of A4 Paper .
Again  , don't call that calibrating . That is just trying to make the screen as accurate as possible according to the limits of your eye sight .
Glad u had a good laugh biggrin.gif but who said anything about calibration.
ozak said he was looking at some TV presets over YT.
So the "Reference" was referring to sources of TV presets.
And I already said Quantum TV is not legit.
Not Lulu enough to think TV is calibrated without any tools cool2.gif
toytoy
post Apr 18 2022, 09:57 AM

875 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ Apr 16 2022, 12:30 PM)
Then why is the preset changing WhiteBalance if it is not at least trying to calibrate ?

And MRQTV is taking money on patreon over TV presets that were " referenced " from the other sites ?

There must be some ppl with a lot of extra money thesedays .
I am not familiar with TV calibration and not sure why the preset is changing WB.
The point is, I don't have calibration tools and I did not engage professional calibration services.
I am sharing the sources of presets I found online for "reference" as in you key in the parameters into the TV. Not a 'reference' for calibration.
One of these sources happen to be from Quantum TV and some others are from HDTVTest and RTings.com.
One can choose to use them or not. It's up to them.
I am not familiar with how QuantumTV works and I already put a disclaimer saying I found the table in Reddit and some ppl said he's not legit.
Heck, I am not even using his settings. I use mostly from HDTVTest.

This post has been edited by toytoy: Apr 18 2022, 09:58 AM
toytoy
post Apr 18 2022, 10:07 AM

875 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 18 2022, 08:39 AM)
9900 1 living.

Seng heng is cheaper. But in point.
Remember to claim your reward from LG from the link below.
https://www.lg.com/my/promotions/lgrewards
65" C1 can get RM500 TnG eWallet or ShopeePay eWallet credit.
I just claimed RM400 TnG for 55" but will only get it after August.

This post has been edited by toytoy: Apr 18 2022, 10:08 AM
toytoy
post Apr 18 2022, 06:00 PM

875 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 18 2022, 10:20 AM)
Thank you.

Give so many personnel info out to claim RM500?

Abit worry.  sweat.gif
Lol, sorry my poverty limited my knowledge.
My personal details don worth RM500.
Everyday also got telemarketers call me.
Just ignore if it's no use to u smile.gif
toytoy
post Apr 26 2022, 05:11 PM

875 posts

QUOTE(skyze.quek @ Apr 24 2022, 08:46 PM)
okay, thanks mate...guess i need to for tv box then!
Like arslow mentioned, iqiyi / astro / viu is available in LG WebOS.
what is your TV location currently set to?
Set it to Malaysia and you should see the app in LG Apps Store.
I am currently using it without any problem.
toytoy
post Apr 27 2022, 02:19 PM

875 posts

QUOTE(arslow @ Apr 27 2022, 01:38 AM)

Yep it'll surely have it. Many other apps also available. I have disney+ also as I changed to Australia region before changing back to MY and it allows me to keep the app I've downloaded.

If only we can easily change to US then I can have Hulu on my TV too haha.
Actually you can.
2 ways you can do that. Software and Hardware.

PLEASE DO THIS AT YOUR OWN RISK.
The reason I changed back to MY is I am afraid the US firmware will brick the TV.
Please disable auto firmware update and don't update US Firmware.
I am not sure what will happen.

1. Software you can follow the steps in reddit post below.
Using ColorControl Software, connect to the TV through network.
Go to expert and can try EZAdjust or INStart. Password will be automatically filled in.
I would suggest use EZAdjust easier.
Go to no.7 Area Option. Change the Area Option from 4826 to 1843.
restart the TV and go System and change Location to US.
Go to App Store and install any app you want then change back area option to 4826.
Set location back to Malaysia.
For Some reason after changing to US, TV Voice Guide will be enabled. You need to disable it or it will be very annoying.

https://www.reddit.com/r/OLED_Gaming/commen...ut_the_service/

2. Hardware you can buy a service remote from Lazada / Shopee.

https://shopee.com.my/READY-STOCK❀Control...63-9b9acc1ac056

Press ADJ button to access EZAdjust menu, password 0413.

Then change the Area Option as per above.

I've installed Disney+, Hulu, Paramount+, Showtime, FuboTV, HBOMax and etc and using them with ExpressVPN DNS. Need to disable IPV6 in the TV network setting.

toytoy
post May 24 2022, 11:18 AM

875 posts

QUOTE(wira1979 @ May 24 2022, 10:45 AM)
Don't have the right tools like drills and all that. Also, I don't trust myself tongue.gif
I think most electrical shop can do. I bought my old Samsung 65" TV from One Living.
After 3 years ask them do hang on wall and they quoted RM300. Labor + Bracket. All the way from Puchong to Kepong.
If TV too big quite dangerous to DIY. I have drill and hang everything in my house by TV I dare not. Too big and no one to help.

This post has been edited by toytoy: May 24 2022, 11:18 AM
toytoy
post Jun 10 2022, 07:33 PM

875 posts

QUOTE(edmund_yung @ Jun 10 2022, 01:01 PM)
Good info guys, really appreciated. Recently I heard the C1 and A80J may get poor quality OLED, so maybe I'll wait and see C2 and A80K.
C1 and C2 not very big difference. 55" and above only will the "EVO" OLED.
Even then the difference is not night and day.
It's better to get the C1 instead.
toytoy
post Jun 14 2022, 06:23 PM

875 posts

QUOTE(HonG8821 @ Jun 14 2022, 05:47 PM)
Hi guys, I just got myself a 48 inch C1 model recently. Any recommendation on wall mount for this TV? Would prefer the type where you can extend out to reach the ports behind and also to rotate to a certain angle
Im using something like this.

https://www.senq.com.my/masterlink-40-55-fu...VRoCIgMQAvD_BwE
toytoy
post Jun 14 2022, 06:32 PM

875 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jun 14 2022, 06:28 PM)
C9 and CX panels are interchangeable. If they have no more C9 sheets, they will replace to CX for you.

If entire TV (both panel and mobo) gg, they will replace C9 to CX for you. Definitely won't replace to C1 however because that's already out of the C9's initial warranty range.
True, there should be many refurbished C9 and CX around.
toytoy
post Jun 26 2022, 10:51 PM

875 posts

QUOTE(overfloe @ Jun 25 2022, 09:24 PM)
New firmware now available on LG my website.
My tv didnt detect so i updated manually via usb.

Before and after update:

user posted imageuser posted image
QUOTE(TongCN @ Jun 26 2022, 11:58 AM)
Same, manual download that 1.3GB files. lolz...

Pendrive old and slow speed copy till luput XD
Nice~ any improvement after the update?
I wish every time we exit an app it won't go back to last source and stay on the app page...
toytoy
post Jun 28 2022, 11:08 PM

875 posts

QUOTE(Joey Christensen @ Jun 28 2022, 08:33 PM)
There's another software update 03.30.06 today. Wonder what it brings this time around.
03.30.06 was the previous version. Today my C1 finally received an update for 03.33.11.

Really felt snappier as a whole. Apps load and quit faster. But still no option exit from apps to Home.
toytoy
post Jun 29 2022, 02:43 PM

875 posts

QUOTE(Joey Christensen @ Jun 29 2022, 12:46 PM)
03.33.11? I'll see if there's any more update or not. I just updated it with 03.30.06 yesterday.  laugh.gif
maybe need to wait a few days. I waited 3-4 days hehe.
toytoy
post Jul 1 2022, 10:11 AM

875 posts

QUOTE(maxstrife @ Jun 30 2022, 04:15 PM)
Bro 70cm width also still headache when playing xbox ? Alamak, then what is the suitable distance bro? I'm using 120cm x 60cm table. Planning lg c2 42
According to recommended viewing distance for "TV" should be around 6'7" away.
But even for 55" I sit at only around 4' away.
I think the rule of thumb is as long as you don't have to pan your head left and right then it's ok already.
it should be far away to just move your eyeball from edge to edge.

Taken from RTINGS.com
https://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/by-size/s...ce-relationship

This post has been edited by toytoy: Jul 1 2022, 10:13 AM
toytoy
post Jul 14 2022, 10:44 AM

875 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jul 14 2022, 10:05 AM)
If you follow THX standard, it's too far away.
Yes you are correct. THX recommends around 4'6".

toytoy
post Nov 23 2022, 06:55 PM

875 posts

QUOTE(lchee @ Nov 23 2022, 05:29 PM)
What streaming app in LG Web OS supporting streaming content with 4k HDR dolby vision?  Netflix / youtube?
YouTube with HDR
Netflix Disney+ DV and Atmos
PrimeVideo HDR
HBOMax DV and Atmos?
FuboTV HDR World Cup ✌🏻

0.0281sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:36 PM