LG OLED TV Discussion Thread, OLED TV

SSJBen
post Jan 3 2019, 03:11 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

LG unveils 2019 4K OLED TVs with HDMI 2.1 - C9, E9 & W9

LG has announced that its OLED TV line-up for 2019 will comprise the C9, E9, and W9 ranges with 4K resolution as well as B9 that will come a little later in the year. The company also confirmed that its first 8K OLED model will be the Z9.

HDMI 2.1 is the headlining feature. Increased bandwidth now allows for up to 4K at 120 frames per second – also referred to as High Frame Rate (HFR) – inputs via HDMI. Last year’s models also supported HFR but only via streaming input.

- "And through the inclusion of HDMI 2.1 ports, all 2019 OLED TVs and selected NanoCell TVs with ThinQ AI will support high frame rate (HFR). The result is smoother and clearer motion at 120 frames per second for better rendering of fast-action content such as sports and action movies," the company said.

In addition, HDMI 2.1 brings a number of other useful features to LG’s 2019 OLED TVs, including HDMI eARC that will enable lossless audio output (and pass-through) via the TV’s HDMI eARC port.

LG B9 will be equipped with a second-generation Alpha 7 processor while the other modes will sport a second-generation Alpha 9 processor. The TVs largely mimic last year’s designs but with some tweaks, the most prominent seen on C9 that has a more minimalistic – but still front-firing – speaker stand.

LG C9, E9, and W9 have 4K resolution and support for four HDR formats (HDR10, HLG, Dolby Vision and Advanced HDR). The Korean company has so far chosen to ignore arch-rival Samsung’s HDR10+ format, arguing that it can achieve the same effect on the TV via dynamic tone-mapping processing.

There are no major changes to the actual OLED panel, produced by LG Display, but LG explains that will introduce an improved anti-reflective filter this year.

---

HDMI VRR, lower input lag & improved motion
LG explains that the upgraded ”second-generation Alpha 9” video processor has improved algorithms for color and motion.

This includes an upgraded black frame insertion system called ’OLED Motion Pro’ that now operates at 100/120Hz (compared to 50/60Hz last year) and with shorter black frame cycle (25% vs. 50% last year). LG says the system eliminates flicker and maintains brightness, which were FlatpanelsHD’s two main concerns with the BFI system in the 2018 LG OLED models. Other improvements include a separate ”smooth gradation” picture setting that no longer reduces resolution.

Speaking of motion, LG confirms that the 2019 OLED models will support HDMI VRR (Variable Refresh Rate), which was first implemented in Samsung TVs and Xbox One S / X last year. It is an adaptive frame rate system that matches frame rate between console and TV in real-time for smoother gaming performance with lower lag. The TVs also support HDMI ALLM (Automatic Low Latency Mode) that automatically switches to the TV’s game mode whenever you load up a game on your Xbox One console. PlayStation 4 does not support VRR and ALLM at this time.

Outside of VRR, the TVs will deliver 13 ms input lag (in 1080p and 4K HDR), LG tells FlatpanelsHD. This is probably the lowest input lag on a TV today, depending on what competitors have achieved this year. Lastly, LG said that all calibration settings are now available in the Game picture mode and that a new Game setting can be engaged for all picture modes in the TVs.

https://www.flatpanelshd.com/news.php?subac...l&id=1546474656
---

Now, I'm damn glad I waited. This is pretty much everything I wanted in an OLED. VRR? Check. Sub 16ms input lag? CHECK! Being able to FULLY calibrate the display in Game mode?! SUPER CHECKED!!! rclxm9.gif

That said, I'm still skeptical that this is the FULL HDMI 2.1 silicon in play here. VRR, eARC and ALLM all fits into HDMI 2.0's 18gbps bandwidth. It remains to be seen if the TVs can actually play 4k120 content at 4:4:4 (or Full RGB) with 10-bit HDR content or not. Theoretically, 4k120 8-bit SDR 4:2:0 fits in JUST under 18gbps (17.9gbps to be specific) so LG could be doing some marketing bullshit here.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Jan 3 2019, 07:59 PM
SSJBen
post Jan 5 2019, 08:26 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

In reality though, we are no where near in PC hardware for games to be running at 4k120. There aren't alot of non-interactive content that is filmed at 120hz either. So as far as "future proving" goes, it really isn't a huge deal. - eventhough it's a nice novelty to have.
SSJBen
post Jan 15 2019, 03:45 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

So glad they finally split Smooth Gradation and Noise Reduction out of MPEG Noise Reduction.

Also, fairly impressed at the internal pattern generator the 9 series offers. It won't kill the professional manual calibrator's business, but the cost of entry for home calibrators is now lower than ever. Love that LG is really pushing this spectrum to more users.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Jan 15 2019, 03:45 PM
SSJBen
post Mar 11 2019, 07:40 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

All event/display units usually loop the dolby vision trailers, HDR10 LG demo and SDR vs HDR demo. They're quite standard, none of them have any static images.

RM6k is a cheap enough price to deal with issues I think.
SSJBen
post Apr 10 2019, 05:57 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Stochastic @ Apr 9 2019, 10:11 AM)
Hi all sifus, only found this thread active in OLED TV discussion, would like to ask which model (55 inch) should I choose?
1. LG C8 (RM6299, RM7499)
2. Sony A8F (RM6688, RM7299)
3. Panasonic FZ950 (RM6999, RM7499)
*Price source (Lazada, Best Denki) FYI
*no games, only for movie and drama
*I have sound bar
*Using intel NUC 8th generation which support HDR to play movie and drama

If strictly movies, the Panasonic FZ950 is the best out of the 3.

In general, they are all very close to each other though - it's more about nitpicking really. The FZ950 is considered the best because the controls it offers to the end users are just simply more advanced than either LG and Sony, till the point that most users won't even touch. But if you're up for calibrating, the FZ950 is the one that gives you the most accurate picture.

Is it worth the extra RM700? That really depends on if you appreciate the ability to really calibrate the TV in depth or not. If you don't care, get the C8 and spend the RM700 elsewhere (maybe upgrade your audio which is just as important).
SSJBen
post Apr 14 2019, 01:19 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Apr 14 2019, 10:51 AM)
Bro you use your c7 for gaming right? Console or pc? I still wondering if today qled or oled tv are suitable for pc gaming or not. Considering sitting 3-5 meter away. I read about Big Format Gaming Display from nvidia. Price also very expensive and not yet available.

I cant stand long hour gaming with chair and 24-34" monitor. Prefer sitting on sofa and big tv like ps4 + 65" tv. Hope to connect pc to tv haha.
I use the C7 for everything - gaming and movies. Play on console and PC too. Sit about 8ft. away (2.4m). Actually slightly too close but since I'm doing a 7.2.4 setup, I can't push my seats all the way back (neither is it a good thing anyways since standing waves from deep bass becomes an issue).

I don't have much hope from Nvidia's BFG to be quite frank. The specs on paper all looks very good and sounds to be ideal for any gaming setup, but $5000 for what's basically LCD tech and gsync tax???? Lmao.
SSJBen
post Apr 26 2019, 07:20 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(dexth @ Apr 26 2019, 05:16 PM)
Hi, can u confirm if the C7 may do 1440p custom resolution? Everywhere I read indicate not supported. Thx man.
No, 1440p does not work on the C7 no matter what custom resolution settings you try and put into Nvidia/AMD control panel.
SSJBen
post Apr 26 2019, 11:18 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(dexth @ Apr 26 2019, 08:23 PM)
That's a deal breaker, 1440p is essential for PC gaming compromise between quality and fps. Even my first generation LG OLED 65EC9700 supports 1440p.
Thx for confirming 👍
Apparently the C9 supports 1440p? I can't confirm on this one.
SSJBen
post Apr 28 2019, 01:05 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(arslow @ Apr 27 2019, 08:49 PM)
But 1080p120 should be good no? Sacrifice resolution a little for that smooth frame rate?
I've indeed been playing on 1080p120 for a long time. It's amazing.

But there are caveats. Playing at 1080p means certain games will look very jaggy, even with modern TAA solution.
SSJBen
post May 4 2019, 06:01 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Either the new firmware has a bug or RTINGS numbers are wrong, 4k + HDR is 39ms?
SSJBen
post May 6 2019, 12:10 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

A little doubtful that they will have top emission panels for the "C10" next year, at least not on the 55" model. Seems like LGD is pushing top emision for big sizes instead of the more popular 55" and 65" market.
SSJBen
post May 9 2019, 02:46 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Cimo @ May 9 2019, 10:47 AM)
In your opinion, worth it to wait for C9 or just go for C8?
Depends how much you value HDMI 2.1 and the lower input lag.

If you're just going to watch movies and don't care about gaming, the C8 right now is a no brainer choice since it's constantly going on clearance sales.

There will be some 8k movies starting next year but most 8k content will probably be limited to documentaries and features. By the time 8k becomes as mainstream as 4k, it'll be at least 2024 IMO. By then top emission OLEDs and perhaps MicroLED (at sane prices) should be fairly common.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: May 9 2019, 02:49 PM
SSJBen
post May 27 2019, 12:47 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Mid-June, after Raya is when it's coming.
SSJBen
post May 27 2019, 07:22 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Meh jacking up the price is pointless. Every year since the 6 series the price drops massively by October. Who gives a fuck?
SSJBen
post May 27 2019, 08:01 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

There are talks that Freesync can be enabled via firmware down the line for the LG 9 series OLEDs. Fingers crossed.
SSJBen
post May 29 2019, 03:30 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Historically over the last 3 years, LG in Malaysia has reduced the price of the 55" and 65" OLED after 3 months, averaging around 2-3k from SRP. What you're seeing now, the so called "RM9999" promo for the 55" C9 is basically what the price would be in 3 months time. Promo my ass lol rolleyes.gif

Then come year end, you'll see it drop to around the RM8k point and perhaps even lower with the same old "free soundbar" bs.

It's an open secret that LG OLED sales in Malaysia is the highest in the region due to these practices, especially come the last quarter of the year.
SSJBen
post May 30 2019, 03:23 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

If they're serious about the B9, I hope it's actually substantially cheaper than the C9 this time around. B8 and C8 last year's price difference was a complete joke, hell it wasn't uncommon to find a C8 being cheaper than a B8 even. mega_shok.gif

This post has been edited by SSJBen: May 30 2019, 03:24 PM
SSJBen
post May 30 2019, 11:17 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(khairitheazam @ May 30 2019, 07:02 PM)
Hey guys just wanna ask, I was going to meet this seller regarding his second hand oled. What should I check before purchasing it?
Download some full screen color slides, put it on the thumbdrive and then check for permanent burn-in (usually most visible with red) on the TV.
SSJBen
post May 31 2019, 02:49 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(myxery @ May 31 2019, 12:02 PM)
between B9 and C8 which one should i choose?
C8 now, easy.

If you're going to wait that long for a B9, might as well buy a C9 at that time.

*EDIT* Yup, what convael said.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: May 31 2019, 02:50 PM
SSJBen
post Jun 4 2019, 03:57 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(michael881 @ Jun 4 2019, 02:12 PM)
Dear Sifu,

I might have missed out couldn't find any discussion on video qualities of OLED.

I'm planning to buy one, I wonder how's the video qualities of say BT Downloaded YIFY 1080P movie for example on a LG 65 C8?

Some comments from overseas users were getting grainy pictures when playing old 1080p contents on an OLED.

We are mostly on Astro and I'm a movie buff. I stream my movies from NAS to my android tv box connected to the TV via HDMI.

What's the best deal for 65 B8 B9 C9?

THANKS GUYS
1) YIFY quality is as good as puke, mixed with mud, trash and then vomitted back out again by a zombie. If you're a movie buff, at least make an effort to get higher quality rips. Oh and btw, piracy discussion aren't allowed here.

2) The upscaling quality on my OLED C7 unit is not bad, a bit of ringing around the edges on some old content but generally it's quite good. IMO it's definitely good enough for most people. However, I use a HTPC and utilize MadVR upscaling using NGU, so upscaling on TVs doesn't really matter to me as NGU pretty much exceeds anything on the market as long as it's paired with a powerful enough GPU.

3)1080p content (I remux my own blu-rays, not YIFY quality bullshit) actually looks better on the OLED than being played on a native 1080p native display itself - which is in comparison to my old Sony W900a (arguably the best 1080p LCD LED TV, almost as good as Pioneer Kuro plasmas).

4) The best deals for C9 and C8 are literally just posted a few post above you. Like... really, you just need to scroll up once. sweat.gif

24 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.1111sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:07 PM