Travelling with an infant, via SIA/MAS/etc
Wassupman
Jan 19 2016, 04:31 PM
MAS really sux... i have requested for bassinet but they actually did not sent any confirmation. i called them again as reminder and still dont sent confirmation.
just thought you might want to know.
Wassupman
Jan 19 2016, 04:36 PM
QUOTE(fireballs @ Jan 19 2016, 04:34 PM) dont bother bassinet takeoff/landing/turbulance all have to remove. kakaciauciau short distance ok la.. but if long distance?
Wassupman
Jan 19 2016, 04:39 PM
QUOTE(fireballs @ Jan 19 2016, 04:37 PM) long distance also same.. very mafan. if turbulance have to wake up baby, even the turbulance only last 1 minute. thanks for information. then it is really mafan.. so what did you do?
Wassupman
Jan 19 2016, 04:44 PM
QUOTE(fireballs @ Jan 19 2016, 04:40 PM) cant imagine what's going to happen after carrying for 7 hours...
Wassupman
Jan 19 2016, 04:48 PM
QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jan 19 2016, 04:46 PM) did you bring along those baby carriers? or stroller (not on the flight)? bro usually stroller you can bring all the way up to the plane's door and the stewardess or ground staff will help you to keep.
Wassupman
Jan 19 2016, 04:54 PM
QUOTE(fireballs @ Jan 19 2016, 04:52 PM) depend on age. u can bring toddler booster seat but not necessary. the carrier/stroller only until bridge. they will keep it stored (free!) its easier to let baby sleep across 2 seats on parents lap actually. bring lots of distraction. chew toys to lessen effect of pressure. bring ipad, books, playdough.. etc etc. btw, i dont trust the hot water on board. its not 100C so not considered sterile.beggars cant choose le...
Wassupman
Jan 19 2016, 05:13 PM
lol.. so many questions to ask but scared ts scold eheheh
Wassupman
Jan 19 2016, 05:20 PM
QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jan 19 2016, 05:14 PM) ask lar, its good info for me also, go ahead bro  ahah thanks bro  but i think its too far away for others to notice the questions.
Wassupman
Jan 19 2016, 05:30 PM
QUOTE(eeki @ Jan 19 2016, 05:23 PM) no issue with MAS, just came back travelling europe. took MAS from KL, and easyjet to Italy & paris. they ok with hot water. small portion of baby food, powder, etc not an issue. Immigration will ask lot of question, but for baby they will be lenient, make sure the baby is with you that time. took bassinet if possible, bigger leg area, baby can play around in front of you. actually i heard that they only can allocate for a single parent to sit with the bassinet. is it true? maybe in the case of full flight?
Wassupman
Jan 19 2016, 05:36 PM
QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jan 19 2016, 05:34 PM) ask again, i also cannot keep up with the replies, /k so helpful  ya man.. didnt know so many good daddies in /k.. just last question that you might be interested to know as well... in case baby has ear block, what can parents do? :
Wassupman
Jan 19 2016, 05:38 PM
QUOTE(eeki @ Jan 19 2016, 05:36 PM) not sure. but I did seat together with my wife at bassinet area. good to know.. thank you..
Wassupman
Jan 19 2016, 05:42 PM
QUOTE(panda-man @ Jan 19 2016, 05:41 PM) to my knowledge thats true and that you cannot book that seat. only one parent can sit there for the baby because only certain number of seats are allocated for infants which will include infant oxygen mask & lifejacket. but if not many infants then they will allocate you that seat. thank you for the information. hopefully the flight is not full then.
Wassupman
Jan 19 2016, 05:46 PM
QUOTE(Volfeed @ Jan 19 2016, 05:44 PM) Give milk or any drinks. this would temporarily increase pressure inside the ear. thank you bro.. will definitely keep that in mind...
Wassupman
Jan 19 2016, 05:50 PM
QUOTE(jonn zee @ Jan 19 2016, 05:48 PM) during takeoff / landing, where we usually experince pressure difference in our ears... give baby / infants something to drink / chew. as the act of swallowing will balance out the pressure in our ears. i give good branded chocolates to my kids. chocolates hv endorphins, that helps ppl to relax. usually i go for cadbury / ferrero . for my 6 years old i always hv a back pack, with her, she carry it herself. the bag is filled with coloring books and lotsa crayons and colored pencils. as for my 3 years old. his back pack is filled with his toys.... thank you so much for the information but unfortunately my baby is too young for chocolate or toys. can perhaps have teether ready chewing.
Wassupman
Jan 19 2016, 05:53 PM
QUOTE(panda-man @ Jan 19 2016, 05:49 PM) the best is if you go early to the airport or try to call ahead i think within 48 or 24 hours. then you might be able to book that seat. last time i had to sit damn far from my wife. damn inconvenient. especially cause ears dont work so well hard to call each other hahahah. can try. i succeeded to book on Cathay. But not on MAS. but only within the 48 hr window i called MAS directly to book and i even booked the seats for my parents with credit card payment. the operator said will sent email for confirmation but didn't. after 3 weeks i called again but always in queue so i dropped another email in their general email address for reminder but still havent receive any confirmation. i also dont think there was any charges to my credit card for the seat booking.
Wassupman
Jan 20 2016, 10:25 AM
QUOTE(panda-man @ Jan 20 2016, 10:03 AM) not my case larrr. the other fella... for me also no issue when booking seat with bassinet, but my son never slept in the bassinet more than 20 mins... so after the 2nd time we just stopped requesting. i guess plane vibration or ear issue or whatever i dunno. but still wanted that seat as near to toilet. the main issue at that time but just not allowed to book the seat next to it for myself without paying RM150+ at that time..and then even though check in early that seat gone liao. so in the end my waifu sit at bassinet seat and i sit in the row behind. but in the end kinda like blessing as it was easier to get up and get stuff hahaha. the food thing, i never booked as never an issue. i dont think they will simply override a booked seat just because passenger checked in early. if so that would really be terrible service.... i would really maki them kao kao on the spot if they did that to me. but on MAS, i really feel sad. it used to be the best. if i'm flying alone normally will still try to support hahaha. but my waifu hates mas... always got some issue hahaha. seat rosak lah. tv swivel thing keeps falling down lah (they had to tape it and shove papers in the armrest  ), haha. hope to see it rise again!  its like saying after buying cinema tickets online but the seats given to those that queue and buy tickets. doesn't make sense. if its true so why operator ask for the credit card when booking? my reasoning is that the MAS operator will not reserve the seats to me now until they stop receiving purchases or the plane is full. that way they can allocate the seats easier without having to change seats again and again. this is why from some explanations here and what i heard from others is to call one day before departure or check in earlier because by then they would have pretty much sold out all the seats or no new passengers buying anymore tickets. anyway my flight is still another 3 weeks later and i requested the bassinet a month ago but still. they could've earn my money just like that and they not doing it? didn't know MAS is doing so well financially.
Wassupman
Jan 20 2016, 10:32 AM
QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jan 20 2016, 10:28 AM) potek potek  lol
Wassupman
Jan 20 2016, 10:40 AM
QUOTE(panda-man @ Jan 20 2016, 10:32 AM) bro, if you bought a ticket with infant under age of X months (i forgot) that seat booking with bassinet is free. chances are they already booked it for you. but i wonder why they never gave you the confirmation  its just your seat next to your wife wont be booked. anyways looks like you gotta keep calling hahah. under 24 months. ya looks like it and not sure if you been calling MAS recently. actually there are no options to select or request for special needs. their options are all for purchasing ticket and checking of flight and its always on queue. they also have a new function where you can leave your phone and they will return call without loosing the queue number but i have left my number for 3 days and still no one called me back. i really think its just bad hospitality service.
Wassupman
Jan 20 2016, 10:52 AM
QUOTE(panda-man @ Jan 20 2016, 10:43 AM) i think thats same as before the change. i did last time with the callback and no issue. wait like 30 mins only. strange. lol.. the waiting time is never accurate... the shortest queue time i got was in 8 minutes but still hold for like dont know how long then i hang up because meeting about to start. there was another time when the queue time was 40 mins so i left my phone on the table only but i got too sleepy so i hang up also...
Wassupman
Jan 20 2016, 11:37 AM
QUOTE(mydurian @ Jan 20 2016, 11:35 AM) Bassinet inside the plane? Really? Where to place? only at the seats where there's a wall or rather front of the row. you can mount the bassinet on the wall.