Liquid Cooler or Air Cooler ?, Need your help , sifus !

TSamuroooo
post Jan 19 2016, 11:12 AM, updated 10y ago

15 posts

Hi guys , i'm not sure this is the right section but I'm pretty sure there are a lot of PC Jedi here notworthy.gif

Budget : 200-250
Requirement : CPU COOLER (currently using stock cooler , cpu is FX-6300)
Current status : Temperature around 60-something when playing GTA V , dota , starcraft etc . It scares me

So what is the best option for me ? Liquid cooler ? Air cooler ? Why should I choose this one over the other one ?

I'm not going to OC my rig (for now.........probably tongue.gif )

I seriously appreciate any suggestion smile.gif and also please indicate the reason . I am a newbie for these things !

Planning to buy the cooler this weekend @ lowyat . Also suggestion for the best shop , if possible ? icon_question.gif biggrin.gif

sai86
post Jan 19 2016, 11:22 AM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3840078

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...2&hl=id+cooling (Noctua (Air) / ID Cooling (AIO)

if Air, go for noctua, if AIO, well, any brand that fit your budget.
jmas
post Jan 19 2016, 11:27 AM

I can edit title???
828 posts

60c is ok'ish when gaming. Aircon room?

At your budget range, air cooling is often better than liquid cooling.
Remember to take into account of the RAM clearance and socket type.

Noctua is decent, but Cryorig is cheaper. If want cheaper, CM 212x.

I am using Cryorig H5 Universal, temp is ~35c idle, ~39c during gaming (controlled fan).
Also, ~26c idle with all fan maxed, room temp is 24c.
TSamuroooo
post Jan 19 2016, 11:31 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Jan 19 2016, 11:22 AM)
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3840078

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...2&hl=id+cooling (Noctua (Air) / ID Cooling (AIO)

if Air, go for noctua, if AIO, well, any brand that fit your budget.
Thanks man ! biggrin.gif
TSamuroooo
post Jan 19 2016, 11:35 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(jmas @ Jan 19 2016, 11:27 AM)
60c is ok'ish when gaming. Aircon room?

At your budget range, air cooling is often better than liquid cooling.
Remember to take into account of the RAM clearance and socket type.

Noctua is decent, but Cryorig is cheaper. If want cheaper, CM 212x.

I am using Cryorig H5 Universal, temp is ~35c idle, ~39c during gaming (controlled fan).
Also, ~26c idle with all fan maxed, room temp is 24c.
No aircon sad.gif

That's why I've been wondering . Say if I use fan - wouldn't it be sucking hot air into my pc ? My room is quite hot I tell ya + this el nino season = burnnnnnn

What about Corsair ?

BTW , what a nice temp u got there rclxms.gif
Kellicros
post Jan 19 2016, 11:43 AM

1,028 posts

QUOTE(amuroooo @ Jan 19 2016, 11:35 AM)
No aircon sad.gif

That's why I've been wondering . Say if I use fan - wouldn't it be sucking hot air into my pc ? My room is quite hot I tell ya + this el nino season = burnnnnnn

What about Corsair ?

BTW , what a nice temp u got thereĀ  rclxms.gif
If you're not in an aircond room, make sure your room is well ventilated first, kind of funny to think of it as a big PC case, installing a ventilation fan will help.

Running on air cooling (cooler master hyper 212 evo), only problem is the build up dirts that I have to clean my PC case often.

This post has been edited by Kellicros: Jan 19 2016, 11:44 AM
queenc
post Jan 19 2016, 11:47 AM

~GGMU~
1,853 posts

imho

price
chepest aio watercooler = top tier aircooler

performance
top tier aircooler>-chepest aio watercooler

unless u have the budget to go to top tier aio watercooler why not.

jmas
post Jan 19 2016, 11:48 AM

I can edit title???
828 posts

No aircon sad.gif

What about Corsair ?

BTW , what a nice temp u got there  rclxms.gif
Corsair product is more mid-range. Unless you pay more.

Better buy from those specialized in cooling solution.
TSamuroooo
post Jan 19 2016, 11:58 AM

15 posts

Thanks guys for the replies . Damn I learn a lot of new products today .. Noctua ..Cryorig.. now I've gotten more confuse tongue.gif

Now suggest me 1 cooler and I will go and buy it ! End of the week I will upload the image of my new cooler biggrin.gif
SUSsupersound
post Jan 19 2016, 10:54 PM

11,554 posts

I just got my self Silverstone AR03 for rm175 in LYP, the fan I never use instead using 2 Coolermaster's Sickleflow fans with push-pull configuration. At ambient temperature of 32°C in my room(thanks to this bloody El-nino), my FX-8320 is maintaining at 42°C and thermal margin of 46-50°C.
Why I don't use the original Silverstone fan? It is because it is not that quiet when on full speed and the flow are not as high as CM's fans.
But if you don't want to follow this route, can just use the original fan and see how it goes.
howszat
post Jan 19 2016, 11:03 PM

2,932 posts

Almost every other after-market cooler (> RM80) will be a significant improvement over stock cooler.

At 60-something degrees, any after-market cooler, (CM 212, or even TX3) should bring it down 10-15 degrees easily, as long as your casing ventilation is adequate.
overclockalbert
post Jan 20 2016, 10:18 PM

1,058 posts

60C while gaming is very 'cool' temp for me. i wont invest any cooler if i were you.
goldfries
post Jan 21 2016, 07:45 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

And how do you think water cooling works?

Did you know that Water-cooling is actually Air cooling?

In water cooling, the water (liquid substance) is used to carry heat to the radiator. The radiator still relies on AIR to cool it, just like how it is with cars.

Break the fan and you can see the whole system breakdown, even though the pump is still working.

goldfries
post Jan 21 2016, 07:49 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(queenc @ Jan 19 2016, 11:47 AM)
price
chepest aio watercooler = top tier aircooler

performance
top tier aircooler>-chepest aio watercooler
price? Nope, top tier air cooler is 2x or more than lowest AIO.

performance? Top tier air cooler is not only better than lowest AIO but better than even mid / high AIO.

Top Tier air cooler like the Noctua NH-D15 can out perform ThermalTake Water 3.0 Ultimate (360mm radiator!)

http://www.goldfries.com/hardware-reviews/...eatsink-review/

The only way I see how water cooling can beat air-cooling, is to go custom WC of which each CPU waterblock costs more than the AIO system itself.

That's just waterblock, haven't consider the pump, radiator, fans, tubes, coolant and fittings.
Quazacolt
post Jan 21 2016, 10:24 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 21 2016, 07:49 AM)
price? Nope, top tier air cooler is 2x or more than lowest AIO.

performance? Top tier air cooler is not only better than lowest AIO but better than even mid / high AIO.

Top Tier air cooler like the Noctua NH-D15 can out perform ThermalTake Water 3.0 Ultimate (360mm radiator!)

http://www.goldfries.com/hardware-reviews/...eatsink-review/

The only way I see how water cooling can beat air-cooling, is to go custom WC of which each CPU waterblock costs more than the AIO system itself.

That's just waterblock, haven't consider the pump, radiator, fans, tubes, coolant and fittings.
totally agree on this post

unless you're willing to spend for a full custom WC (for me, it costed me well over 3k, basically ANOTHER decent/entry to mid level gaming pc), you're better off sticking with mid/top end air coolers like noctua d15 or majority of their offerings.
goldfries
post Jan 21 2016, 12:08 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

I have a mixed of AIO and tower coolers.

I use AIO simply because it's easier for me to meddle around with processor change, RAM change and what not.

If it was a machine that's to go on long run with lower maintenance, I'll go tower (air) cooler any day. With good air cooler you can even run fanless.

Even custom WC wouldn't suit my purpose because my rigs (yes I have many) evolve all the time. It's tedious when the system is custom WCed, especially if you're running multiple GPU, or have GPU and CPU within the same loop.

You can't just yank the thing out like an AIO or tower cooler. Need to take care to drain the coolant and all.
TSamuroooo
post Jan 21 2016, 12:20 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 21 2016, 12:08 PM)
I have a mixed of AIO and tower coolers.

I use AIO simply because it's easier for me to meddle around with processor change, RAM change and what not.

If it was a machine that's to go on long run with lower maintenance, I'll go tower (air) cooler any day. With good air cooler you can even run fanless.

Even custom WC wouldn't suit my purpose because my rigs (yes I have many) evolve all the time. It's tedious when the system is custom WCed, especially if you're running multiple GPU, or have GPU and CPU within the same loop.

You can't just yank the thing out like an AIO or tower cooler. Need to take care to drain the coolant and all.
I read all your explanation .

Damn that was sick . You really know what you are doing smile.gif

Thank you for your time explaining all those things for me . Maybe I'll visit LYP this weekend and see what can I get . Maybe a AIO L.cooler + few casing fan (CM sickleflow / jetflo ) or maybe I will grab 1 air cooler , depending on the availability .
sai86
post Jan 21 2016, 01:28 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

QUOTE(amuroooo @ Jan 21 2016, 12:20 PM)

Damn that was sick . You really know what you are doing  smile.gif

Thank you for your time explaining all those things for me . Maybe I'll visit LYP this weekend and see what can I get . Maybe a AIO L.cooler + few casing fan (CM sickleflow / jetflo ) or maybe I will grab 1 air cooler , depending on the availability .
of course bro, he's one of LYN reviewer. advise from him is gold smile.gif
for me : AIO = aesthetic 60% : 40% performance
Air cooler = 100% performance tongue.gif
but then, i got the AIO as it look cleaner for me (personal preference).

so it depends on what you looking for within your budget, in the end, be happy with your purchase smile.gif
Quazacolt
post Jan 21 2016, 02:11 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(amuroooo @ Jan 21 2016, 12:20 PM)

Damn that was sick . You really know what you are doing  smile.gif

viewnet got noctua D15

but imho/personally, i dont see the benefits of AIO's.

they are in between air and custom wc's, it's like a half bucket solution.
i personally prefer to either do it once/do it right, or not do it at all, in this case, either full custom WC or just stick with simple air cool
goldfries
post Jan 21 2016, 04:27 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Jan 21 2016, 01:28 PM)
of course bro, he's one of LYN reviewer. advise from him is gold  smile.gif
Ahh no la, I'm not LYN reviewer. I run my own site.

I also have many coolers in my lab, too many already. Today just arrive a few models of air cooler for upcoming video, last week arrived 2 units of AIO.

WC just have to be aware of the risk, regardless custom or AIO.

One of my AIO leaked before, it was an NZXT. Not to day it's a bad product but bad stuff do happen. I've also heard of Corsair AIO that got recalled from shops due to quality issues.

For my case my AIO leaked, the board was some what dead for a while. Once all coolant dried off the board came alive again.

0.0258sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:57 PM