Youtuber Gaming
Jan 18 2016, 10:46 PM, updated 10y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
35 posts Joined: Jan 2016 |
Hi,currently i'm interested to be youtuber gaming, which basically do more lets play or gaming review and more, but recently i use a software called Fraps to record my gameplay (which is just a simply start) and i find that it affect my frame rate a lot,this is my first time to do that. Can anyone tell me what are the requirements in order to get everything setup to become a youtuber like pc specs, webcams, internet and softwares to edit video and so on
Jan 18 2016, 11:33 PM
578 posts Joined: Dec 2015 |
we've got our malaysian gaming youtuber here name Amy09
can try ask her about your question to be youtube gamer |
Jan 19 2016, 12:38 AM
279 posts Joined: Jul 2009 From: Subang Jaya SS15 |
Jan 19 2016, 12:43 AM
584 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
You will need video capture card for smooth fps/recording.
This post has been edited by e_X: Jan 19 2016, 12:44 AM |
Jan 19 2016, 09:24 AM
1,700 posts Joined: Jan 2013 |
QUOTE(OpTc Fury @ Jan 18 2016, 10:46 PM) Hi,currently i'm interested to be youtuber gaming, which basically do more lets play or gaming review and more, but recently i use a software called Fraps to record my gameplay (which is just a simply start) and i find that it affect my frame rate a lot,this is my first time to do that. Can anyone tell me what are the requirements in order to get everything setup to become a youtuber like pc specs, webcams, internet and softwares to edit video and so on........ I'm not big on gaming but I can give a few tips.Get a quad core i5 or i7 for fraps, a dual core will be bogged down. Its not so much the bandwidth as much as latency for a good experience for online shooter games like counterstrike or the battlefield series, so it depends on your internet provider on what sort of pings you can get consistently to game servers. |
Jan 19 2016, 09:33 AM
198 posts Joined: Apr 2014 |
woah.
May I know youtuber in what field of gaming? shooting? mmorpg? or game review? |
Jan 19 2016, 09:47 AM
QUOTE(OpTc Fury @ Jan 18 2016, 10:46 PM) Hi,currently i'm interested to be youtuber gaming, which basically do more lets play or gaming review and more, but recently i use a software called Fraps to record my gameplay (which is just a simply start) and i find that it affect my frame rate a lot,this is my first time to do that. Can anyone tell me what are the requirements in order to get everything setup to become a youtuber like pc specs, webcams, internet and softwares to edit video and so on hi there, there is tons of question you have, i think those are the question many people wondering and stuff, before i answer you question, my advise is "you dont have to spend alot money for the channel as you might not actually needed"ok back to your question 1) you do no need a high end PC if you cannot afford it, just a setting that can play most of the game at least medium setting should be fine, for microphone wise you can get better headset that come with mic should be fine, i think condenser mic is way beyond the price you can afford (not cheap) 2)webcam wise: try get decent but dont have to buy anything more than RM300 which is too costly 3) well if speaking of youtube video what you need is upload speed which help you to upload video faster 4)editing software - there is 2 ways, first you can find freeware to help you to edit(windows movie maker) but if you think you have budget then try google around and get trials of each editing software and if you like certain software then go get it then 5)for video editing is depends how much effort you want to put it, of course the more effort the better and also have to depends the editing software capability and of course freeware did not offer much effects and the more effort the more time gonna waste, for me editing time can go to , 20min to 3-4 hours just to edit , add effect, add sound effect and doing game+voice+webcam sync uses more time 6) internet connection wise at least unifi standard which is quite common, i my self using time fiber as i live in condo area 7) once again you dont have to waste too much money because in the end you will feel not worth it, sound easy but if you really into it , you will realize no matter how hard you work for it, the amount of view and subscriber is very less and MOST importantly: do not expect you can earn money from it, if that is your main reason to do youtube then dont invest too much money into it, just give it a try and see whether you like it (try about 3-6 months) if you think you are fine with it then you can slowly upgrade your hardware 8) finally as many youtuber would suggest: just be your self, rather than acting someone you are not note: hope above answer your question, as for me i might not very very successful but i learn things by my self from ground up and i'm still working hard for my channel, you can also go thru many youtube channel to get some idea what kind of video you want to make and what is the expectation of the final video and so on, any question you can ask me This post has been edited by Amy09: Jan 19 2016, 09:48 AM |
Jan 19 2016, 09:48 AM
14,082 posts Joined: Aug 2009 From: Malaysia |
QUOTE(OpTc Fury @ Jan 18 2016, 10:46 PM) Hi,currently i'm interested to be youtuber gaming, which basically do more lets play or gaming review and more, but recently i use a software called Fraps to record my gameplay (which is just a simply start) and i find that it affect my frame rate a lot,this is my first time to do that. Can anyone tell me what are the requirements in order to get everything setup to become a youtuber like pc specs, webcams, internet and softwares to edit video and so on Just a suggestion.Try Nvidia ShadowPlay for playback recording. I heard it was much better compared to Fraps. Some review said it's better than fraps in terms of capturing gameplay. As of PC specs, why don't you give out a budget so experts can recommend you stg that works? |
Jan 19 2016, 09:17 PM
Jan 19 2016, 09:31 PM
QUOTE(Amy09 @ Jan 19 2016, 09:47 AM) hi there, there is tons of question you have, i think those are the question many people wondering and stuff, before i answer you question, my advise is "you dont have to spend alot money for the channel as you might not actually needed" Hi,thanks for the advice, for me I love gaming and I was thinking why not try to become a gaming youtuber like other popular youtubers do, of course I do not see this as my primary income like you said.ok back to your question 1) you do no need a high end PC if you cannot afford it, just a setting that can play most of the game at least medium setting should be fine, for microphone wise you can get better headset that come with mic should be fine, i think condenser mic is way beyond the price you can afford (not cheap) 2)webcam wise: try get decent but dont have to buy anything more than RM300 which is too costly 3) well if speaking of youtube video what you need is upload speed which help you to upload video faster 4)editing software - there is 2 ways, first you can find freeware to help you to edit(windows movie maker) but if you think you have budget then try google around and get trials of each editing software and if you like certain software then go get it then 5)for video editing is depends how much effort you want to put it, of course the more effort the better and also have to depends the editing software capability and of course freeware did not offer much effects and the more effort the more time gonna waste, for me editing time can go to , 20min to 3-4 hours just to edit , add effect, add sound effect and doing game+voice+webcam sync uses more time 6) internet connection wise at least unifi standard which is quite common, i my self using time fiber as i live in condo area 7) once again you dont have to waste too much money because in the end you will feel not worth it, sound easy but if you really into it , you will realize no matter how hard you work for it, the amount of view and subscriber is very less and MOST importantly: do not expect you can earn money from it, if that is your main reason to do youtube then dont invest too much money into it, just give it a try and see whether you like it (try about 3-6 months) if you think you are fine with it then you can slowly upgrade your hardware 8) finally as many youtuber would suggest: just be your self, rather than acting someone you are not note: hope above answer your question, as for me i might not very very successful but i learn things by my self from ground up and i'm still working hard for my channel, you can also go thru many youtube channel to get some idea what kind of video you want to make and what is the expectation of the final video and so on, any question you can ask me Btw, do you have any copyrights problems like add some images or audios into your video? If so, do you need to contact the owner of the image or songs for permission in order to use them? For example like I use artwork or any image I found from google search. |
Jan 20 2016, 12:48 AM
QUOTE(OpTc Fury @ Jan 19 2016, 09:31 PM) Hi,thanks for the advice, for me I love gaming and I was thinking why not try to become a gaming youtuber like other popular youtubers do, of course I do not see this as my primary income like you said. yes have to be careful....sometime youtube will ask u remove the songs and so on, better approach ownerBtw, do you have any copyrights problems like add some images or audios into your video? If so, do you need to contact the owner of the image or songs for permission in order to use them? For example like I use artwork or any image I found from google search. |
Jan 20 2016, 12:53 AM
3,968 posts Joined: Sep 2012 |
QUOTE(OpTc Fury @ Jan 19 2016, 09:31 PM) Hi,thanks for the advice, for me I love gaming and I was thinking why not try to become a gaming youtuber like other popular youtubers do, of course I do not see this as my primary income like you said. Just a tip on audio copyright. Try this channel. Btw, do you have any copyrights problems like add some images or audios into your video? If so, do you need to contact the owner of the image or songs for permission in order to use them? For example like I use artwork or any image I found from google search. https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC_aEa8K-EOJ3D6gOs7HcyNg It's called NoCopyrightSounds for a reason. U can use their songs for ur intro or outro. Just give the song a mention in ur description. NoCopyrightSounds is a record label dedicated to releasing FREE music for the sole purpose of providing YouTubers/Streamers with the finest music to enhance the creativity and popularity of your video/stream which is safe from any copyright infringement. (NCS releases can be used for commercial use on YouTube) If you use our music you MUST in the description of your video: • Include the full title of the track (Stating the music was provided by NoCopyrightSounds) • Include a link to the video of the track used on NCS YouTube. • Credit the artist(s) of the track. (their social network links) But then a lot of youtubers that i noe oso use songs from there and did not mention at all those descriptions above. lol This post has been edited by briantwj: Jan 20 2016, 12:54 AM |
Jan 20 2016, 04:33 PM
QUOTE(briantwj @ Jan 20 2016, 12:53 AM) Just a tip on audio copyright. Try this channel. Wow,thanks for sharing,this is exactly what I'm looking for. https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC_aEa8K-EOJ3D6gOs7HcyNg It's called NoCopyrightSounds for a reason. U can use their songs for ur intro or outro. Just give the song a mention in ur description. NoCopyrightSounds is a record label dedicated to releasing FREE music for the sole purpose of providing YouTubers/Streamers with the finest music to enhance the creativity and popularity of your video/stream which is safe from any copyright infringement. (NCS releases can be used for commercial use on YouTube) If you use our music you MUST in the description of your video: • Include the full title of the track (Stating the music was provided by NoCopyrightSounds) • Include a link to the video of the track used on NCS YouTube. • Credit the artist(s) of the track. (their social network links) But then a lot of youtubers that i noe oso use songs from there and did not mention at all those descriptions above. lol |
Jan 20 2016, 05:57 PM
Forum Admin
44,415 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I'm going to move this away from Tech Support.
QUOTE(OpTc Fury @ Jan 18 2016, 10:46 PM) Hi,currently i'm interested to be youtuber gaming, which basically do more lets play or gaming review and more, but recently i use a software called Fraps to record my gameplay (which is just a simply start) and i find that it affect my frame rate a lot,this is my first time to do that. I use Nvidia ShadowPlay. It's a lot easier. QUOTE(OpTc Fury @ Jan 18 2016, 10:46 PM) Currently i'm still studying and im not sure how much work needed to edit video plus i never sone any edit video work before. You can use free editors, or you can try stuff like this. http://store.steampowered.com/app/330070/ Reasonably priced. QUOTE(OpTc Fury @ Jan 18 2016, 10:46 PM) Secondly, I would like to know how much internet connection needed to make sure gaming without lag and upload video speed and so on? The faster the better for upload speed. QUOTE(OpTc Fury @ Jan 18 2016, 10:46 PM) And also is it necessary to spend a lot of money on hardware and software too in order to get all basic stuff to become a youtuber? I hope anyone who got experience on youtube stuff before can give some suggestion and I will really appreciate it Don't spend so much but some situations, you really need to. What game do you wish to stream? If not stream then it could be review, then if it's review and you want to capture details then a reasonable graphics card would be helpful. About video editing - if you're going to have super duper long videos like say 40 minutes and such, a reasonably powerful processor would be helpful. A 40 minute video can take 60 minutes or more to encode. |
Jan 20 2016, 05:58 PM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(OpTc Fury @ Jan 19 2016, 09:17 PM) OK now I saw this.CS:GO doesn't have high requirment. Skyrim on the other hand can be ridiculous, up to some 4K textures. There are plenty of skin / mods review you can see on Youtube, they use reasonably powerful specs so they can capture the details. |
Jan 20 2016, 06:00 PM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(chiahau @ Jan 19 2016, 09:48 AM) Just a suggestion. FRAPS lags like silly.Try Nvidia ShadowPlay for playback recording. I heard it was much better compared to Fraps. Some review said it's better than fraps in terms of capturing gameplay. As of PC specs, why don't you give out a budget so experts can recommend you stg that works? Shadowplay you can set it to work like PS4. Meaning that it tracks a portion of your game so you don't need to RECORD / STOP. You can press a button and it records the past 20 minutes of your game. You can still record / stop like FRAPS but the options are way better. |
Jan 20 2016, 06:02 PM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(briantwj @ Jan 20 2016, 12:53 AM) https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC_aEa8K-EOJ3D6gOs7HcyNg Allow me to introduce you to this. It's called NoCopyrightSounds for a reason. U can use their songs for ur intro or outro. Just give the song a mention in ur description. http://incompetech.com/ |
Jan 20 2016, 06:04 PM
3,968 posts Joined: Sep 2012 |
QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 20 2016, 06:02 PM) Nice! This has more genre. As for NoCopyRightSound, usually it's just EDM. |
Jan 20 2016, 06:08 PM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(OpTc Fury @ Jan 19 2016, 09:31 PM) Hi,thanks for the advice, for me I love gaming and I was thinking why not try to become a gaming youtuber like other popular youtubers do, of course I do not see this as my primary income like you said. Images usually no issue. Btw, do you have any copyrights problems like add some images or audios into your video? If so, do you need to contact the owner of the image or songs for permission in order to use them? For example like I use artwork or any image I found from google search. Audio - if you use popular tracks, Google will detect and tell you this and that. After that you have to silent that part or remove it or whatever they request. Game content - some game content can't be monetized! Below is one of my most popular videos and guess what - I can't monetize it. In the game there's Diablo III and COD:MW2, guess which one's the one kacau me? COD. |
Jan 20 2016, 06:17 PM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(Amy09 @ Jan 19 2016, 09:47 AM) 7) once again you dont have to waste too much money because in the end you will feel not worth it, sound easy but if you really into it , you will realize no matter how hard you work for it, the amount of view and subscriber is very less and MOST importantly: do not expect you can earn money from it, if that is your main reason to do youtube then dont invest too much money into it, just give it a try and see whether you like it (try about 3-6 months) if you think you are fine with it then you can slowly upgrade your hardware Keep up the good work. I think you're heading some where. Subscriber does not reflect viewership. For example I have less than 500 subscribers but I get about 21,000 watch minutes and 23,000 views per month. You're right about "do not expect you can earn money from it" part. I have 5 digit views, my earnings are anywhere from USD 15 to USD 25 each month. Basically for every 1,000 views you get 1 USD. |
| Change to: | 0.0174sec
5 queries
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:08 PM |