Next-gen consoles problems, overheating, 3ROD, etc

TSZaryl
post Dec 17 2006, 11:12 PM, updated 19y ago

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,710 posts

Damn it lah. This really turns me off. Been reading about xbox360's 3ROD problem and other hardware related problems on the internet lately.

Example:

Xbox360 Defective Red Light

Xbox Overheating

So the conclusion is that, as the next-gen technology grows, the quality of these consoles will drop as well?? This due to the CPUs have to work hard to render the HD graphics and other next-gen shites? rclxub.gif

Havent heard problems about PS3 or Wii so far. But sooner or later we'll hear 'em soon.

I want to buy Xbox360 but I have to think twice ... argh!!! vmad.gif

Can someone please ease my mind about this matter? Thanks! notworthy.gif
X.E.D
post Dec 17 2006, 11:24 PM

curmudgeonosorus emeritus
1,955 posts

Long long time ago, FUD decides it needs to be mentioned throughout every moment in the decade...

Newer units are OK. :|
mzaidi
post Dec 17 2006, 11:27 PM

Jerk
1,484 posts

PS3 & Wii has their own problems too

PS3 Red Light of Death

Wii Firmware update bricks console

I've never experienced any problem on my Xbox 360 whatsoever. I took good care of my consoles and it pays off, either that or I'm just lucky.

IMHO, Internet helps to exaggerate small issues into something big.
Mr Ez
post Dec 18 2006, 12:00 AM

Super Cool
700 posts

I've been thinking about this issue as well, maybe I should buy an AC for my room? what do you people think?
prazole
post Dec 18 2006, 12:22 AM

Sleepyhead..
1,513 posts

not only wii or ps3 or xbox..
all electronic items also have their fair share of problems...

acougan
post Dec 18 2006, 01:17 AM

590 posts

the ever reliable gameboy FTW! tongue.gif tongue.gif

hopefully all new & next-gen machines will get official local release + hardware warranty soon wish.gif
judge-the
post Dec 18 2006, 08:58 AM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(Mr Ez @ Dec 18 2006, 12:00 AM)
I've been thinking about this issue as well, maybe I should buy an AC for my room? what do you people think?
xbox360 3ROD hardware failure got nothing to do with aircond lah. another forumer played his 360 in his airconditioned room and yet still kena 3ROD. the most important thing when buying a new xbox360 is to entitle for the 12months warranty coverage from microsoft singapore.
SUSMatrix
post Dec 18 2006, 09:07 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(judge-the @ Dec 18 2006, 08:58 AM)
xbox360 3ROD hardware failure got nothing to do with aircond lah. another forumer played his 360 in his airconditioned room and yet still kena 3ROD. the most important thing when buying a new xbox360 is to entitle for the 12months warranty coverage from microsoft singapore.
have to take back to singapore for warranty if it die??? shocking.gif

Anyway, if you can wait another 2 years, most of the hardware problems should be iron out. The first few batches sure got problem.
judge-the
post Dec 18 2006, 09:50 AM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 18 2006, 09:07 AM)
have to take back to singapore for warranty if it die???  shocking.gif

Anyway, if you can wait another 2 years, most of the hardware problems should be iron out. The first few batches sure got problem.
normally shop that you purchased from should help you sending back to msoft singapore for warranty but so far i only knows GH doing that for their customer. all other shops will not bother you at all after you paid them for the 360.
cylon
post Dec 18 2006, 10:38 AM

882 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Dec 17 2006, 11:12 PM)

I want to buy Xbox360 but I have to think twice ... argh!!!  vmad.gif

Can someone please ease my mind about this matter? Thanks!  notworthy.gif
If u can, just wait for the rumored Malaysian's launch in near future or buy it from GH or directly from Singapore.

QUOTE(mzaidi @ Dec 17 2006, 11:27 PM)
I've never experienced any problem on my Xbox 360 whatsoever. I took good care of my consoles and it pays off, either that or I'm just lucky.

IMHO, Internet helps to exaggerate small issues into something big.
So u're meaning to say that 3ROD that happens upon our own local community like to xxboxx, syuji, ajak, alkt, and lots of others are exaggeration....or that this guys purposely didnt properly took care of their console.
mzaidi
post Dec 18 2006, 10:59 AM

Jerk
1,484 posts

QUOTE(cylon @ Dec 18 2006, 10:38 AM)
So u're meaning to say that 3ROD that happens upon our own local community like to xxboxx, syuji, ajak, alkt, and lots of others are exaggeration....or that this guys purposely didnt properly took care of their console.
I've never intended to say that problems that happened to our own local Xbox 360 community are exaggeration or they didn't take good care of their console.

What I actually want to say is that most of the time, fanboys of other console will come to a forum, pretends that they own the rival's console, and say that they have lots of problem with that console just to deter people from the said console. When lots of fanboys do this, the number of cases of console's problem we see is way larger compared to number of cases actually happened. This is what I meant by "Internet helps to exaggerate small issues into something big".

Wrong choice of words earlier I guess.

TSZaryl
post Dec 18 2006, 12:08 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,710 posts

No no no. I expect my console to be working perfectly fine, just like my PS2 and Xbox1. I dont want my consoles to have problems, since I deserve my purchased items to be in good working condition and not having problems later on.

For example, my PS2 is 4 years already and it's not giving me any problem at all. The same could be said for my 2 years old Xbox1; no problem whatsoever. Well, maybe except that some "ehem" games cannot be played. But all these relates to software problem not HARDWARE. sad.gif

So, perhaps with such issues like 3ROD, I'm not ready yet to JUMP IN to next-gen console bandwagon lah? unsure.gif

P.S - No, i'm no fanboy or anything. I'm just concerned about the current next-gen problems that's all. smile.gif
DjiNn
post Dec 18 2006, 12:30 PM

~||Noob Game Console Advisor||~
Store Representative
7,931 posts

there is still no clue that even the new "batches" will solve this problem. How Should I put it~ it depends on Random luck I said.
wcliang
post Dec 18 2006, 01:37 PM

585 posts

Damn...too many cases happened until I lost confident with xbox 360 ......definitely some problem with their hardware!!....WTF, but if let me choose again, I will still buy 360, ....simply too much fun on xblive cool2.gif

zio
post Dec 18 2006, 03:13 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

There are people who buys a PS2 now and still experience hardware failure. Same goes with any electrical devices.

There are also tons of people who doesn't experience the 3ROD problem. As Djinn said, its really down to luck. But as things get more sophisicated, components get smaller, malfunctions and screw ups will also keep increasing.

Which is why, a warranty is getting more and more important these days. Which is also why you should not void your warranty until it expires.
X.E.D
post Dec 18 2006, 03:54 PM

curmudgeonosorus emeritus
1,955 posts

If you really are that nitpicky, get the new models coming out in 2007- the ones that undergo a process shrink to 65mm. Those would be guaranteed not to overheat if the size is still the same. (Newer batches are much better in terms of reliability- most cases are 2005 consoles)

At least the 360 doesn't have disc read errors... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by X.E.D: Dec 18 2006, 03:56 PM
stevenlys
post Dec 18 2006, 04:54 PM

846 posts

See my Avatar sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif

tot31
post Dec 18 2006, 05:02 PM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

Let me tell my experience. I bought my first PS2 around 2000 and paid RM1.5k and guess what after 3months the lense was a gone case. To make thing worst, at that time there was no 400R lense as the v5 model was just a new version of PS2 from SONY. Ended up bought another PS2 and paid RM1.2k. After 3 yrs again the lense went kaput. Changed the lens.

So for my case it was just an unlucky situation. This is the same goes to X360. If I really take all those 3ROD matter so seriously, I wouldn't ended buy it and enjoying it now as I did read and make research everything about X360. Now just wish I have a better luck with X360.

This post has been edited by tot31: Dec 18 2006, 05:03 PM
TSZaryl
post Dec 18 2006, 05:59 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,710 posts

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Dec 18 2006, 03:54 PM)
If you really are that nitpicky, get the new models coming out in 2007- the ones that undergo a process shrink to 65mm. Those would be guaranteed not to overheat if the size is still the same. (Newer batches are much better in terms of reliability- most cases are 2005 consoles)

At least the 360 doesn't have disc read errors... laugh.gif
Which is why I'm getting one from Djinn next January. I'm crossing my fingers here to get the best, perfect working Xbox360 console. whistling.gif

The thing is, I'm living in Kulim currently and if anything happens to my xbox360, then to think that I want to send my xbox360 over to Djinn.... sweat.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Zaryl: Dec 18 2006, 06:00 PM

0.0149sec    0.50    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 02:39 AM