[WTA] Repair cost, For Honda Civic FD
TSthecoffeeguy
Jan 15 2016, 02:24 PM, updated 10y ago

Hi guys, My friend's civic fd 07 broke down in the middle of highway last week. Towed to a workshop and mechanic said it might be engine problem. After checking, this was the quotation given » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « TLDR: mechanic said engine problem, timing chain needs changing, many valves in the engine needs to be replaced. Total cost 6.5k of which labour is 1.2k. Is this quotation okay? Need some advice before proceeding to the repair. Thanks!
pakdamek
Jan 15 2016, 02:36 PM
QUOTE(thecoffeeguy @ Jan 15 2016, 02:24 PM) Hi guys, My friend's civic fd 07 broke down in the middle of highway last week. Towed to a workshop and mechanic said it might be engine problem. After checking, this was the quotation given » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « TLDR: mechanic said engine problem, timing chain needs changing, many valves in the engine needs to be replaced. Total cost 6.5k of which labour is 1.2k. Is this quotation okay? Need some advice before proceeding to the repair. Thanks! too expensive....just go somewhere else lorrr
arza04
Jan 15 2016, 03:14 PM
On the highway? Towed to random workshop?
Most likely is the syndicate
Get a tow truck and send to your trusted workshop / other reputable ones
6UE5T
Jan 15 2016, 03:54 PM
QUOTE(thecoffeeguy @ Jan 15 2016, 03:25 PM) On jalan tun razak. Towed to her bro's friend. I do have a feeling she kena con liao but we r both noobs in cars n repairs so wanna get second opinion. I wonder if it is that serious in the first place. Seeing air cond gas there I already felt something weird, apparently they judt added whatever even tho it is not really required..  What they quoted you is actually to do top overhaul of the engine. So the first question is whether the problem is as severe to require top OH in the first place.
linkin182
Jan 15 2016, 03:56 PM

QUOTE(thecoffeeguy @ Jan 15 2016, 03:25 PM) On jalan tun razak. Towed to her bro's friend. I do have a feeling she kena con liao but we r both noobs in cars n repairs so wanna get second opinion. I wonder if it is that serious in the first place. Seeing air cond gas there I already felt something weird, apparently they judt added whatever even tho it is not really required..  Your best bet is to tow it straight Honda Service Center. Then you can get a quote comparison. You can always tow it away from Honda SC if you think they're conning you too.
annas473
Jan 15 2016, 04:07 PM
Park here for future ref.
TSthecoffeeguy
Jan 15 2016, 04:26 PM

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Jan 15 2016, 03:54 PM) What they quoted you is actually to do top overhaul of the engine. So the first question is whether the problem is as severe to require top OH in the first place. Exactly what I thought. Now shall we let them repair the car? Or bring somewhere else for second opinion? They'd charge for the removal of the engine right?
weigie
Jan 15 2016, 05:20 PM

suggest got for Honda SC and get quote.. then at the same time, look for any recommended mechanic to repair the problem point by Honda SC.
6UE5T
Jan 15 2016, 07:22 PM
QUOTE(thecoffeeguy @ Jan 15 2016, 04:26 PM) Exactly what I thought. Now shall we let them repair the car? Or bring somewhere else for second opinion? They'd charge for the removal of the engine right? Better get second opinion. No, top OH for such engine usually does not require removal of the whole engine from the engine bay.
ahsam1212
Jan 15 2016, 08:22 PM

I would like to know what's make the engine stop functioning in the first place? Broken timing chain? What kind of mileage has it gone through?
This post has been edited by ahsam1212: Jan 15 2016, 10:34 PM
TSthecoffeeguy
Jan 15 2016, 09:58 PM

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Jan 15 2016, 07:22 PM) Better get second opinion. No, top OH for such engine usually does not require removal of the whole engine from the engine bay. Mechanic said this: Repair valve 'langgar' / hit piston, broke it, and the rest hit the cylinder head, thus needs repairing? He said it is not overhauling. Would overhauling cost less? QUOTE(ahsam1212 @ Jan 15 2016, 08:22 PM) I would like to know what's make the engine stop functioning in the first place? Broken thinking chain? What kind of mileage has it gone through? That is still a mystery, to me. He said the above. Said many valves were broken, due to the timing chain being problematic. Then piston also broken la apa la. If I remember correctly car has clocked 100k++ mileage but not yet 200k. My friend's fault at first for not doing a major service, totally forgot.
JunJun04035
Jan 16 2016, 07:28 AM
QUOTE(thecoffeeguy @ Jan 15 2016, 09:58 PM) Mechanic said this: Repair valve 'langgar' / hit piston, broke it, and the rest hit the cylinder head, thus needs repairing? He said it is not overhauling. Would overhauling cost less? That is still a mystery, to me. He said the above. Said many valves were broken, due to the timing chain being problematic. Then piston also broken la apa la. If I remember correctly car has clocked 100k++ mileage but not yet 200k. My friend's fault at first for not doing a major service, totally forgot. 100k km for timing chain fail is awfully horrible. BUT, I'm not sure whether Civic FD Malaysia suffer pre-mature timing chain problems. If the timing were off when engine running, the piston and valve will be damaged as they come into contact. Ask for a picture of the mentioned damage, to see whether they conned you, or even better, visit the workshop. They should already open up the engine to inspect all those damage
TSthecoffeeguy
Jan 16 2016, 01:51 PM

QUOTE(JunJun04035 @ Jan 16 2016, 07:28 AM) 100k km for timing chain fail is awfully horrible. BUT, I'm not sure whether Civic FD Malaysia suffer pre-mature timing chain problems. If the timing were off when engine running, the piston and valve will be damaged as they come into contact. Ask for a picture of the mentioned damage, to see whether they conned you, or even better, visit the workshop. They should already open up the engine to inspect all those damage They already did open up the engine. Hmm thanks so much for the opinion mate. Shall ask my friend to visit and check it out. So the broken valves n piston do make sense right. On another note, another workshop suggested that engine change is a better (and cheaper) alternative, but it might cause a problem later since chassis no wont match the engine's anymore. She was already thinking to sell the car off prior to the breakdown, and even more now that it has turned like this. Such a shame, it's a really nice ride and fun to drive. Really comfy and I like driving it.
archonixm
Jan 16 2016, 02:27 PM
yup change engine to k24 for 6k
TSthecoffeeguy
Jan 16 2016, 02:38 PM

QUOTE(archonixm @ Jan 16 2016, 02:27 PM) yup change engine to k24 for 6k what's k24 mate?
alcatrez
Jan 16 2016, 03:19 PM
get 2nd opinion.
engine problem is too vague.
most of the time, doesn't cost that much.
archonixm
Jan 16 2016, 03:31 PM
yes k20z for 3k. better then let someunknown mechanic open up and mess all.
ahsam1212
Jan 16 2016, 04:43 PM

Can show photo of the timing chain failure? Less than 200k km seems really unexpected. Better go take a look at the broken chain. Suggest just get half cut will do. Maybe the old engine wasn't maintained well.
kkk8787
Jan 16 2016, 05:17 PM
Usually if towed to the workshop and they opened up already difficult to bring to other places. A lot of problems one update us ya