How to minimize disc scratches?, My 1 week old GoW has been scratch!

TSMr. Alby
post Dec 17 2006, 05:15 PM, updated 19y ago

128 posts

Guys......
Any1 have a method or tips in reducing the scratches on the disc?...
..i did not move the console at all ever since i bought it (last week)........

....ur help on this matter is highly appreciated... notworthy.gif
munky
post Dec 17 2006, 05:17 PM

1,971 posts

Maybe ur just unlucky. What about other games ? Do they got scratched as well ?

If no, i think u just need to buy a new GoW.

My 2 cents
acougan
post Dec 17 2006, 05:28 PM

590 posts

u mean u left the dvd in the 360 (flat & fixed position) a whole week and u still find scratches?

maybe after playing, gently keep the dvd in those colored dvd-seeve. i feel they protect the disc better than the case icon_idea.gif
TSMr. Alby
post Dec 17 2006, 05:29 PM

128 posts

nop....other games dont scratch.......

but i do find that when playing GOW, the noise level (reading) its a bit noisier.......or....mayb as u said..i'm just a bit unlucky.....

mayb i will look for other alternative 1st...but if i cant stand, then i would have to buy a new one from diff shop...
TSMr. Alby
post Dec 17 2006, 05:31 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(acougan @ Dec 17 2006, 05:28 PM)
u mean u left the dvd in the 360 (flat & fixed position) a whole week and u still find scratches?

maybe after playing, gently keep the dvd in those colored dvd-seeve. i feel they protect the disc better than the case  icon_idea.gif
nop....i did not left the game inside the 360.......after i dun want play any game, i would go to the dashboard 1st...after the disc stop for a moment,then i would eject the tray.....

acougan
post Dec 17 2006, 05:34 PM

590 posts

are u placing the 360 in horizontal position? try to confirm the placement is 100% level, so that the disc wont goyang inside tongue.gif
TSMr. Alby
post Dec 17 2006, 05:41 PM

128 posts

i place it on a flat surface.....,,.....on a cabinet....even i put a rounded shape pencil also it wont roll.........i oready put all the measures into consideration......

but as munky said,...it just unlucky i guess........

mayb i shud try those disc doctor a go....
acougan
post Dec 17 2006, 05:48 PM

590 posts

QUOTE(Mr. Alby @ Dec 17 2006, 05:41 PM)
i place it on a flat surface.....,,.....on a cabinet....even i put a rounded shape pencil also it wont roll.........i oready put all the measures into consideration......

but as munky said,...it just unlucky i guess........

mayb i shud try those disc doctor a go....
erm, actually i oso find some very light scratches on the DVDs after awhile. i think this is normal wear & tear, wont affect its performance. unless the DVD-rom itself is faulty and spinning the disc badly, u should have nth to worry abt icon_rolleyes.gif
TSMr. Alby
post Dec 17 2006, 05:52 PM

128 posts

well...i hope so...maybe a 1 in a thousand of dvd that did not thorougly pass the QC.....but if its a wear & tear thingy,...it shud not be that quick..( 1 week)...
un9ku
post Dec 17 2006, 05:52 PM

335 posts

weh careful when u buy those "disc scratch eliminator/remover" n sheet. it'll remove the big scratches but gives u minor scratches after u remove the big scratches but in turn u get more scratches. nah mean?
TSMr. Alby
post Dec 17 2006, 05:54 PM

128 posts

i c.....thats wat im afraid of.....
acougan
post Dec 17 2006, 05:58 PM

590 posts

i dont play pc games so my pc dvd-rom seldom get used. but i find the 360 eject a very warm dvd after a few hours of playing -is this normal operation for 16x drive? will excessive heat wobbles the dvd while spinning?
TSMr. Alby
post Dec 17 2006, 06:03 PM

128 posts

erm...maybe a normal thing bcoz of the spinning thingy....even my ps2...my dvd player...feel a bit warm after ejecting it.......
acougan
post Dec 17 2006, 06:20 PM

590 posts

TS, i just reread ur problem.

http://bob.com.sg/forum/showthread.php?t=30641

http://forums.xbox.com/8378378/ShowPost.aspx

erm, sgp retailers let customers exchange a faulty disc, if u got urs fr GH, mb call them for advice? any forumers here have experience cleaning & fixing dvds with those cleaning kits?

another thing is u place the 360 on a cabinet or in a cabinet? make sure the back of 360 is alot of space for it to breathe better.

This post has been edited by acougan: Dec 17 2006, 06:37 PM
TSMr. Alby
post Dec 17 2006, 06:27 PM

128 posts

i didnt buy from GH,they were out of stock last week....

i bought from Imbi Mario.......maybe they can give advice n whats not,...
but....of all the shop in Msia,which shop can exchange the DVD thats been scratch?......if GH can,it would be great...i would preordered and buy the games from them........

mayube it just an unlucky situation la.....if i buy a new one and it still happen, i definitely sent back my 360 to Djinn
acougan
post Dec 17 2006, 06:33 PM

590 posts

QUOTE(Mr. Alby @ Dec 17 2006, 06:27 PM)
i didnt buy from GH,they were out of stock last week....

i bought from Imbi Mario.......maybe they can give advice n whats not,...
but....of all the shop in Msia,which shop can exchange the DVD thats been scratch?......if GH can,it would be great...i would preordered and buy the games from them........

mayube it just an unlucky situation la.....if i buy a new one and it still happen, i definitely sent back my 360 to Djinn
i mean those official SGP distributer will exchange a faulty disc (within 30 days with receipt) cos they wont rugi anything. msia shops mb abit more complicated cos we grey import their stuff.

ur case sounds like the disc already abit faulty when left the factory. how big/serious is the scratch? can take pict? my [eM] disc (1 mth) do have some light/fine circular scratches but still work as usual.

This post has been edited by acougan: Dec 17 2006, 06:35 PM
TSMr. Alby
post Dec 17 2006, 06:49 PM

128 posts

i also read at the forum that if buy from spore directly can claim back within 30 days period.........the scratches of outward (from inside to outside) also i'm puzzled... rclxub.gif .........although i read in the forum,this thing is very rare (outward,inward),but it does happen...

This post has been edited by Mr. Alby: Dec 17 2006, 06:56 PM
Hitman190
post Dec 17 2006, 06:54 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(Mr. Alby @ Dec 17 2006, 06:49 PM)
i also read at the forum that if buy from spore directly can claim back within 30 days period......hhmm......again...mayb unlucky.......
Is that your Gears of War disc??? shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif shakehead.gif

acougan
post Dec 17 2006, 06:55 PM

590 posts

QUOTE(Mr. Alby @ Dec 17 2006, 06:49 PM)
i also read at the forum that if buy from spore directly can claim back within 30 days period......hhmm......again...mayb unlucky.......
HOLY MOLY!!! those are real serious! i thought when u say scratch, means those hair-line wear & tear scratch only. i nvr seen such damaged disc b4.

anyone with technical knowledge of DVDROMs? a perfectly working 16X unit will never do that to a brand new disc, would it? position misaligned? too must excess heat for the gpu affecting the drive?

TS, i'm realy sorry to hear this happen to u. suggest u dont put in anymore ori disc for the moment. if play those pasar malam dvd movies, will it spin at 16X? maybe can use those cheapo disc to test the machine.

edit: TS=threadstarter

This post has been edited by acougan: Dec 17 2006, 07:02 PM
munky
post Dec 17 2006, 06:56 PM

1,971 posts

woah dude ! That's a really bad scratch

TSMr. Alby
post Dec 17 2006, 06:57 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(Hitman190 @ Dec 17 2006, 06:54 PM)
Is that your Gears of War disc??? shocking.gif  shocking.gif  shocking.gif  shakehead.gif
yeah baby.......!!maybe too much chainsawing... rclxub.gif
scpt
post Dec 17 2006, 06:58 PM

Androidian
1,239 posts

ouchh dude!! i can feel the pain of ur precious GOW disc is feeling

TSMr. Alby
post Dec 17 2006, 06:59 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(acougan @ Dec 17 2006, 06:55 PM)
HOLY MOLY!!! those are real serious! i thought when u say scratch, means those hair-line wear & tear scratch only. i nvr seen such damaged disc b4.

anyone with technical knowledge of DVDROMs? a perfectly working 16X unit will never do that to a brand new disc, would it? position misaligned? too must excess heat for the gpu affecting the drive?

TS, i'm realy sorry to hear this happen to u. suggest u dont put in anymore ori disc for the moment. if play those pasar malam dvd movies, will it spin at 16X? maybe can use those cheapo disc to test the machine.
eh..by the way...what is TS?...

anyhow...i play other games no problem...no scratches at all........currently waiting for Djinn for his advice.....

so far i never put any pasar mlm stuff la.....i'm very sayang of my 360... cool.gif

Rocky
post Dec 17 2006, 07:02 PM

Mr. Alby sorry to hear that your GOW disk is stratched! Please check what disk drive you got, Philip, Toshiba or Samsung. I think I read somehwhere in XBOX.com US forum under technical issue that certain DVD drive will stratched the disk. Just the the old xbox, Samsung seems the best, others run like a plane taking off. Anyway, it is just bad luck. Hope you shine up your chainsaw and join me Sumo, Jaylike, zeliant ... etc for a game. hmm.gif hmm.gif Cheer, Bro.
TSMr. Alby
post Dec 17 2006, 07:03 PM

128 posts

maybe its bcoz i repeatly try to finish the final act (kill that RAAM) like 80 times.....bcoz i only play that afternoon...and after it said unreadable,..the disc stop...and i take it out....,.....the disc scratches like mad...
Hitman190
post Dec 17 2006, 07:09 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(Rocky @ Dec 17 2006, 07:02 PM)
Mr. Alby sorry to hear that your GOW disk is stratched! Please check what disk drive you got, Philip, Toshiba or Samsung. I think I read somehwhere in XBOX.com US forum under technical issue that certain DVD drive will stratched the disk. Just the the old xbox, Samsung seems the best, others run like a plane taking off. Anyway, it is just bad luck. Hope you shine up your chainsaw and join  me Sumo, Jaylike, zeliant ... etc for a game. hmm.gif  hmm.gif Cheer, Bro.
Hmmm that reminds me Mr Alby did we ever have a match together??
Rocky
post Dec 17 2006, 07:10 PM

Try to put your console horizontal position & see if it help. My is horizontal in a cabinet, I try to kill (my boss) Raam a lot of times still have no problem. Please try & see!!!
TSMr. Alby
post Dec 17 2006, 07:14 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(Hitman190 @ Dec 17 2006, 07:09 PM)
Hmmm that reminds me Mr Alby did we ever have a match together??
yes we did....i remember it bcoz i have chainsawed u once....( well......u also have chainsawed me b4)......... icon_rolleyes.gif
TSMr. Alby
post Dec 17 2006, 07:15 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(Rocky @ Dec 17 2006, 07:02 PM)
Mr. Alby sorry to hear that your GOW disk is stratched! Please check what disk drive you got, Philip, Toshiba or Samsung. I think I read somehwhere in XBOX.com US forum under technical issue that certain DVD drive will stratched the disk. Just the the old xbox, Samsung seems the best, others run like a plane taking off. Anyway, it is just bad luck. Hope you shine up your chainsaw and join  me Sumo, Jaylike, zeliant ... etc for a game. hmm.gif  hmm.gif Cheer, Bro.
eh..how to check wat brand?...(noob....cut me some slack man..)
Hitman190
post Dec 17 2006, 07:17 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(Mr. Alby @ Dec 17 2006, 07:15 PM)
eh..how to check wat brand?...(noob....cut me some slack man..)
Well you can tell by the construction of the disc tray. Not sure whish trays belong to which company but i'll try to get some pics..

as for the chain saw..well i want to see you on GOW again...you still cant play it or what??
Hitman190
post Dec 17 2006, 07:43 PM

589 posts

Alright Mr Alby found a site that might help.
Xbox 360 CD Scratched?
marauderz
post Dec 17 2006, 08:08 PM

Windows Tablet War Veteran
3,390 posts

Wow, that's a lot o nasty scratches that doesn't look natural at all, u say ur other discs aren't affected so I guess it's not ur drive.

But u also mentioned that u put the game back into the case after every session, are u sure no one touched it and dropped the disc before?
TSMr. Alby
post Dec 17 2006, 11:52 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(marauderz @ Dec 17 2006, 08:08 PM)
Wow, that's a lot o nasty scratches that doesn't look natural at all, u say ur other discs aren't affected so I guess it's not ur drive.

But u also mentioned that u put the game back into the case after every session, are u sure no one touched it and dropped the disc before?
i'm very2 sure that no one other than me touch the disc......

as i said earlier.....maybe it just pure bad luck....a factory default or something...

oh well....off to GH i guess 2 buy a new one....

TSMr. Alby
post Dec 17 2006, 11:53 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(Hitman190 @ Dec 17 2006, 07:17 PM)
Well you can tell by the construction of the disc tray. Not sure whish trays belong to which company but i'll try to get some pics..

as for the chain saw..well i want to see you on GOW again...you still cant play it or what??
i shud be going to GH this week........

...my current GoW disc only can go to menu......after that...it will "disc unreadable..bla..bla..."
TSMr. Alby
post Dec 17 2006, 11:57 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(Hitman190 @ Dec 17 2006, 07:43 PM)
Alright Mr Alby found a site that might help.
Xbox 360 CD Scratched?
thx 4 d site man........it does give u a lot of insight rgdng this matter.....
..but the scrtches/swirl a bit different...."it looks nicer insted of nastier"...

..aiya,,,better buy a new one je la....if the problem occur some more,...then it wud b another chapter to story...
ghostdevice
post Dec 18 2006, 10:18 AM

53 posts

look like someone scratch it....never seen anything bad like......ermm wait scratch that ........my friend pc dvd rom make his dvd rupture into pieces dunno what cause
TSMr. Alby
post Dec 18 2006, 10:21 AM

128 posts

QUOTE(ghostdevice @ Dec 18 2006, 10:18 AM)
look like someone scratch it....never seen anything bad like......ermm wait scratch that ........my friend pc dvd rom make his dvd rupture into pieces dunno what cause
ya loh....when i show to my friends oso they said like some1 scratch it.......

...i really cant hear the console hissing or making noise or something coz i turn the volume very loud when playing.....so...maybe there is a hissing sound that scratch the disc...
stardust
post Dec 18 2006, 10:38 AM

454 posts

i'm also facing this problem .
already finish the casual campaign ,
now playing hard , but the game hang while playing .

ImSIEBEL
post Dec 18 2006, 12:36 PM

| Mile High Club |
755 posts

Hmmm...mine placing standing position (vertical or horizontal i dunno tongue.gif ) but few scratches....but not that nasty like urs..sry man for urs....but, while playing GoW only...got some scary sounds from my DVD drive....like u insert the game...and then play for a while , then suddenly the thing JERK....like suddenly only stop...sooo scary shocking.gif ...wonder its normal or wat...but its loud !!
shumaky
post Dec 18 2006, 01:03 PM

PS what.?
2,706 posts

never had this prob b4.. even I usually leave my game disc in the 360.. n form the game main menu, I just shut it down from there.. vry seldom I goto the dashboard n shutdown.
Must be luck or karma..
TSMr. Alby
post Dec 18 2006, 09:45 PM

128 posts

just got back from DjiNn just now.....
he said to me that if buy from him,he could help solve this matter.....maybe exchanging it to the newer batch....as long as u buy from him la.........

...so..just now i just bought a new copy of GOW...........so..anything happen i will change back ( ithink as long within 1 mth)...not sure abt that.........coz i bought the 360 from him also.........

....i rarely hear the console bcoz i turn my volume really2 loud....so...barely hear it...

0.0213sec    0.68    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:06 AM