Need help in Flash 8, Problems in preloader + jump scenes

TSResphoina
post Dec 17 2006, 03:13 PM, updated 19y ago

419 posts

Okay, sifus.
I wanna know how many preloader can it be in a flash movie?
I did one preloader, and I placed it at the front of the first scene, and of course my content lays at the frame after the preloader. That one is the typical and of course it works.

Now, I duplicated the first scene, and here goes the second scene, I named it 'contact'. The 'contact' scene has different content than the first scene of course, and i did the same thing, i remained the preloader at the front frames of second scene, and the main content lays after preloader.

Well, at the first scene, I created a button, and I want the first scene to jump to second scene when I clicked that button, so at the actionscript panel, I wrote : gotoAndPlay("contact", 1); *Here's 1 question - The actionscript frame of this jump scene, can it be placed anywhere in the frames? or shud it be placed at the frame after the last object being seen in the timeline?*

I supposed my script has no errors, and able to jump. OKay, so I ctrl + enter for the first time, errors occured saying duplicate errors bla bla, and label bla bla.

So I change the label of the frame that contains the main content in my second frame, and also the actionscripts in the preloader of second scene.

I ctrl + enter once again, okay, those errors are cleared. Now, I'm facing another problem, here's the question - *The first scene played out nicely, and I clicked on the button I created to jump to second scene which is "contact", it didn't jump but remained still in the first frame. So, I wanna know whether the preloader of second scene workable or not, I right click the movie and selected forward, it went to the next scene which is the 'contact' scene, the preloader didnt load, but straight to my content in that scene, so, I wanna know, is it impossible for a movie to contain more than 1 preloader? and does it has other method to make 2 preloaders?*

Please answer, and help me out sifus. Will thank you.
I am just a noob, so please teach me. biggrin.gif
etsuko
post Dec 17 2006, 04:30 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

I have never tried putting preloaders in multiple scenes.

But from what I've gathered through Google..

http://www.ozzu.com/ftopic20079.html

some have said it's possible to have different preloaders for different scenes.

the solution is actually the editing of the current preloader script you're using which is logical to understand when I read the URL above.

hope that helps..

cheers.
TSResphoina
post Dec 17 2006, 06:09 PM

419 posts

Thanks Etsuko, you are always here to offer your help.
Okay, i changed the script, still, the preloader loads the whole movie rather than one scene by one scene.

As you said you never tried *multiple scene preloader* before, I am curious about the other flash webs, at the navigation bar, when we clicked on the button, it goes to another page and the preloader comes up and loads that page. If in this case, you create several movies and then link one to each other through URL? or perhaps loadMovie? Or are there any other ways?
etsuko
post Dec 17 2006, 08:15 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

well, i'd just use loadMovie if I know the movies are meants to be seperated..
momochi zabuza
post Dec 18 2006, 06:25 AM

I never think about money, beautiful things make money
719 posts

// note.. items that with " " are important keyterms in flash

as far as i know.. the preloader and the getbytesloaded thingy is just detecting the whole movie.. which is each Scene is included when loading it.

the way that the flash website achive this is by "loadMovie" .. insde the movie loaded, they put again the preloader thus makes it seems like "Scene" preloader

in example hands.gif

i have one main frame, main flash called index.swf .. index.swf contains an area ( this area is a movie clip ) and i give its "Instance name" as "mainframe_mc".. so the script... press button portfolio and you will load portfolio.swf and it must be the same size as the "mainframe_mc"

loadMovie("portfolio.swf","mainframe_mc")

then when portfolio is loaded.. if you put inside the preloaders.. the preloader will work.. however.. if you put preloader inside the portfolio.. amke sure of it's target.. if you put at the line somewhat like this

_root.getbytesloaded // this will make the preloader of portfolio to detect the bytes loaded already by index.swf .. you also have to know the correct "target" ... in this case.. no need to put the "_root."

when I clicked that button, so at the actionscript panel, I wrote : gotoAndPlay("contact", 1); *Here's 1 question - The actionscript frame of this jump scene, can it be placed anywhere in the frames? or shud it be placed at the frame after the last object being seen in the timeline?

for this question.. i think it's depends on you when you wanted to invoke that action.. either on button release of on what happens.. depends.

this is my tutorials regarding loadmovie function

http://flavert-tutorials.blogdrive.com/

huhu the halfway tutorial projects doh.gif anyway i hope this helps. cheeers thumbup.gif
TSResphoina
post Dec 18 2006, 02:00 PM

419 posts

Thanks to all of you. Love it. Yea, btw, I prefer loadMovie method. biggrin.gif much easier. I was a fool not to use it. loL
momochi zabuza
post Dec 18 2006, 02:38 PM

719 posts

hehe. glad it helps.. you're most welcomed wink.gif
TSResphoina
post Dec 18 2006, 05:10 PM

419 posts

Here's another problem, okay, my page is still incomplete, but there's a problem which is making my head big.

here's the link of my web -
http://thefeathers.ueuo.com/enter.php

okay, after you entered and the flash web loaded, what u're seeing is the home page, and after you clicked the navigation, a row of buttons came out, please click on *contact*, the rest is still under construction, after you clicked *contact*, it enters to the contact.swf of course as I apply
on(release) {
loadMovieNum("contact.swf", 0);
}

on(release){
unloadMovieNum("home.swf");
}

at the contact button there. After you entered the contact page, u try to click the navigation once again, *it happened to be rollout half way and den rollback again after moved out from the invisible button I placed at navigation text although I didn't apply any onRollOut function. I copied and paste exactly the same navigation from home.swf, but it appeared to be rollout half way and den rollback again, what happened?*

And of course, if that navigation at contact page could be displayed nicely, you can click *home*, to go back the home.swf as at the home button, i placed tis

on(release) {
loadMovieNum("home.swf", 0);
}

on(release){
unloadMovieNum("contact.swf");
}

However, is my loadmovie/unloadmovie code at both buttons correct?
and please answer my problem above.
And, why the flash I uploaded to the host seems to be slower than the actual one I created? It feels like at the webpage, it has lower fps.

This post has been edited by Resphoina: Dec 18 2006, 05:14 PM
etsuko
post Dec 18 2006, 10:17 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(Resphoina @ Dec 18 2006, 05:10 PM)
at the contact button there. After you entered the contact page, u try to click the navigation once again, *it happened to be rollout half way and den rollback again after moved out from the invisible button I placed at navigation text although I didn't apply any onRollOut function. I copied and paste exactly the same navigation from home.swf, but it appeared to be rollout half way and den rollback again, what happened?*

And, why the flash I uploaded to the host seems to be slower than the actual one I created? It feels like at the webpage, it has lower fps.
I would think the invisible button isn't covering the area enough therefore when you rollout, it automatically just goes back to its default state.

Well, your computer might be slow or it's just a weird Flash thing. tongue.gif
jayhan
post Dec 18 2006, 11:04 PM

7 ☆ DSLR noob
2,707 posts

u put the navigation inside the movie u loaded?

if yes, i think u shud put the navigation in the main timeline, i mean the root flash

This post has been edited by jayhan: Dec 18 2006, 11:04 PM
TSResphoina
post Dec 18 2006, 11:16 PM

419 posts

yes, i put it inside Jayhan. Thanks.

Etsuko, and uhmm, I don't think my comp is slow, btw, i set the fps to 32, and it looks totally smooth on my comp, and there seems to be a speed limitation on the host, as the speed doesnt change even if i set the fps to 100 and upload to the host and view it once again, it's the same speed still like the previous. What could explain why the fps seems slower at net than at computer?
momochi zabuza
post Dec 18 2006, 11:18 PM

719 posts

any reason why you're using loadMovieNum ? coz up until today i didnt test loadMovieNum .. LOL tongue.gif
TSResphoina
post Dec 18 2006, 11:20 PM

419 posts

LOL! OKay, so what's the difference between loadMovieNum and loadMovie? They play the same role dont them?
TSResphoina
post Dec 19 2006, 12:23 AM

419 posts

Putting the button outside also useless, and I think i know why the navigation got problem when clicked. It's not because of the button isnt big enough, and neither my script got problem.

IF you try click on the button without releasing it first, and then scroll to the the right and select other buttons, then it'll work.

I ctrl + enter my contact.swf, and foudn out, at the first time the navigation will roll out nicely but when i reload the contact.swf by pressing ctrl + enter once again on it without closing the testing movie explorer, the navigation problem occured. And I found out, first time it's workable as the *input boxes at the above isnt being highlighted or clicked, and when the movie is played once again, the navigation failed, as the input box is automatically highlighted or clicked(the blinkage of | inside the input box) is failing the whole navigation.*

*So, here's another question, pros, can I only enable the input box to be highlighted only after I manually clicked on and not automatically highlighted after it's being loaded and also unhighlighted after my mouse is moved out of the input box automatically?

This post has been edited by Resphoina: Dec 19 2006, 12:23 AM
mclelun
post Dec 19 2006, 11:29 AM

662 posts

few things,,,

CTRL-ENTER
if you ctrl-enter a second time, it will goes to a "simulate download" stage where the flash player simulate your swf being download from web. ctrl-enter again it go back to normal mode.

lower fps
the flash will always run slower in a browser, lower fps. thing you can do is set the mode to opaque, it should run back at the normal fps you are getting, but in Firefox, you will lose some control over keyboard function with flash.

loadmovie/loadmovienum
main usage of loadmovienum is just to load it into a specific level in flash and control it via the _levelNUMBER.

*So, here's another question, pros, can I only enable the input box to be highlighted only after I manually clicked on and not automatically highlighted after it's being loaded and also unhighlighted after my mouse is moved out of the input box automatically?

yes, can be done. but i dont understand what your problem. tongue.gif i saw your website, only problem is it auto unload movie when mouse roll out.

- edit -

pretty nice design btw . haha

This post has been edited by mclelun: Dec 19 2006, 11:44 AM
TSResphoina
post Dec 19 2006, 01:19 PM

419 posts

My problem is *it happened to be rollout half way and den rollback again after moved out from the invisible button I placed at navigation text although I didn't apply any onRollOut function. I copied and paste exactly the same navigation from home.swf, but it appeared to be rollout half way and den rollback again, what happened?*

If *highlighted matter* could be solved, probably my swf won't be facing problem.

------
How to set the mode to opaque?
------

Btw, I'm just 16, still learning though, so, might be facing problems in dealing with codes and functions in flash and etc. So, I seriously need you all's explanations and guidance. Thanks.

This post has been edited by Resphoina: Dec 19 2006, 02:10 PM
lil twist
post Dec 19 2006, 04:02 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
1,695 posts

nice website you have... having those problems are normal... but if im not mistaken, bout the rollout, you need to check back your script... sometimes you cant just copyand paste, you have to type it again... i do occur this problems and i did like that... but if it still the same, i suggest you to check all the scripts or redo all over again (only the part that needs to be debug)... just my two cents... biggrin.gif
TSResphoina
post Dec 19 2006, 04:30 PM

419 posts

thanks lil twist. Told ya, it isnt because the script problem, it's because the auto-highlight problem. And how to solve the auto-highlight problem?
TSResphoina
post Dec 21 2006, 02:33 PM

419 posts

No one replies ?

0.0175sec    0.25    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:50 AM