About MOC/MOT

mini orchard
post Aug 17 2021, 07:03 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(theproblemkid @ Aug 17 2021, 06:06 PM)
Just curious, if I were to buy a subsale property which is still under master title, during the SnP signing, i will have to pay the MOT right?
When the strata is ready, do I need to pay MOT again for the strata?

Does this mean paying the MOT twice?
Pay once.
mini orchard
post Aug 28 2021, 07:30 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(ycyyjoanne @ Aug 28 2021, 06:52 PM)
do you mean the stamp duty for MOT?
stamp duty is calculated based on your SPA price.
While MOC will be minimal as in RM10 each for stamping of the charge annexure + registration fees of RM120 with the land office. since stamp duty has been paid upon stamping the principal loan documents when lawyer advised bank for release.
I think the post is refering to stamp duty on principal loan agreement .... which RM5 per RM1,000 or 0.5% of loan sum.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Aug 28 2021, 07:35 PM
mini orchard
post Nov 6 2021, 06:32 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(COOON @ Nov 6 2021, 02:30 AM)
Hi all,

I bought a new property from developer and in the benefit scheme when signing snp, it stated that I'm entitled for zero legal fee and disbursement fee for SnP and loan agreement.

Do i still need to pay legal fee and disbursement fee for Memorandum of Charge (MOC) and memorandum of Transfer (MOT)?

There are tnc if the property qualify for HOC. Even if it does, and your lawyer didnt claim it b4 the dateline, then is as good not qualified.

You have to confirm with the SnP lawyer.
mini orchard
post Nov 18 2021, 08:42 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(scmercury @ Nov 18 2021, 05:21 PM)

My lawyer said SOHO property is not entitled for stamp duty remission because it is considered as retail and not residential properties.

What do you guys think? Is this correct?

'Branding' is not a detetmining factor for exemption of mot under HOC. If the title is stated commercial, then the property is not entitle for the exemption.
mini orchard
post Feb 23 2022, 11:26 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Feb 23 2022, 10:19 AM)
Want to ask some clarification. I have my 1st property SPA signed & stamped 2014 and late last year 2021 got the letter to complete MOT&MOC.

My Service Apartment unit details below. Unique is house & carpark have separate agreements ostensibly easier for owners to sell carpark lot only.
Term Loan: RM 463,140 (Unit RM427,140 & Car Park RM 36,000)
Unit SPA Purchase Price: RM 474,600
Car Park Purchase Price: RM 40,000

The problem is, I got quoted by 3 lawyers on the completion and each are referencing different figures. So which is the right one?
Quote A
MOT(POT) & MOC(POC) BOTH based on Term Loan

Quote B
MOT(POT) based on Unit SPA Purchase Price ONLY
MOC(POC) based on Term Loan

Quote C
MOT(POT) based on Unit SPA Purchase + Car Park Purchase
MOC(POC) based on Term Loan

Oso would there be any issue if it were done improperly, ie quoting lowest figure, as I understand the stamp duty based on MOT(POT)?
MOT is based on SnP

MOC is based on Loan Agreement

However, legal fees and disbursements may differ from each firm.
mini orchard
post Feb 23 2022, 04:10 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Feb 23 2022, 03:51 PM)
Hi, thanks for the quick reply. So just to confirm SnP means "SPA Purchase + Car Park Purchase" or just the SPA Purchase (house unit only)?
In my opinion, it should be for both since bith are transfer of ownership.
mini orchard
post Feb 23 2022, 05:08 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Feb 23 2022, 04:58 PM)
Ahh noted, Tq tq  notworthy.gif

Another thing, seeing many conversations of waivers or tax rebates and such for those years purchase before and after mine but since my SPA is signed in Year 2014, I don't suppose I got any waiver or tax rebates, am I rite?
During the purchase then, the sales people would have inform you if there is available tax rebates or waiver and your lawyer should have claimed, if you quaified for it.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Feb 23 2022, 05:10 PM
mini orchard
post Feb 25 2022, 04:39 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Feb 25 2022, 04:19 PM)
Another thing I want to ask. it is about the payment.

Roughly Im gonna pay Rm 14-16,000 and mostly is due to stamp duties. Are there any easy payment methods pay this off or I really have to pay lump sum to Govt? Are there such things as monthly deductions?
1. Personal Loan.

2. Do cash withdrawal from CC Bank A and immediately do a zero interest balance transfer with Bank B. Check if your Bank B have such promo for CC. Interest will be cheaper than PL for the cash withdrawal.

In Jan I fully settled PTPTN with CC and convert to zero interest 12 months instalment

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Feb 25 2022, 04:45 PM
mini orchard
post Mar 9 2022, 06:40 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(WoodStock @ Mar 9 2022, 12:13 AM)
I have an apartment which still on master title. I received letter from the developer to do MOT last year, it cost about RM10k...
To my luck, I manage to sell the apartment. In this case, do I still need to do the MOT (RM10k)?? Could the property transfer MOT directly done with the new owner please?
Hope sifu here can advise please
Most likely no since strata title is ready for execution.

However you can still submit a request to the developer and see whether they want to 'help' you.
mini orchard
post Mar 10 2022, 04:30 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Mar 10 2022, 04:04 PM)
This tered had been very informative for me. I want to ask on this;
"tell your solicitor that you will settle the stamp duty payable only upon the the assessment notice has been extracted. Ask them to show you the stamp duty payable printed on the assessment notice first before you pay them."

The comment was put up in earlier pages but Im wonder if this still applicable? The lawyer doing the MOT is from developer and so far their service attitude is more like an unnecessary obligation rather than welcoming my business. Can they refuse if I ask them so?
Stamp duty calculation are transparent if the purchase is subject to a payment prior to a transfer.

Buy a bank draft for the amount in favour of LHDN.
mini orchard
post Mar 11 2022, 02:13 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Mar 11 2022, 02:05 PM)
I see. The thing is, the lawyer quote me lump sum with Stamp duty included in their quotation. So Im not sure if I can pay partially the lawyer fees & whatnot, and then the stamp duty. Never done paying an invoice partially half-half tho.

But let's say I have made the full payment, can I request them for LHDN receipt on that duty? And say if its under the lawyer estimation, can I request refund for the difference or the lawyer will just makan and say "sorry you ady paid, no refunds"?
Ask him for an invoice to show the breakdown. Is your right to know what you are paying.

No such thing as verbal lump sum payment.

Lawyer bill can nego for partial but mot have to pay full.

And every payment has a receipt and you can request for a copy. The only problem might be the payment for different client in one receipt
mini orchard
post Mar 11 2022, 05:14 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Mar 11 2022, 04:37 PM)
Right now they quote me sum of RM 11,800+ of which Rm9,438 is stamp duty alone so that big chunk is what am doubtful the final figure.

[attachmentid=11114466]

Sorry, am a bit paranoid as this is my first property experience and handing over 12k just like that is quite nervous for me. Haha
If your SnP is around 510k, the mot fig is around that figure.
mini orchard
post Mar 23 2022, 10:11 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Danmao @ Mar 23 2022, 09:49 AM)
any experience or expert

first time residential home buyer eligible for stamp duty waiver(MOT) for only price/value 500k?

if my spa is 650k immediately I am not eligible for single cent waiver?
MOT is not based on SnP price but the valuation price by govt, whichever is higher.

If SnP is 480k but govt valuation is 530k, then no waiver.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Mar 23 2022, 10:12 AM
mini orchard
post Apr 12 2022, 06:48 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(ricky lai @ Apr 12 2022, 05:59 PM)

the lawyer only gave me 30% discount on the legal fee, do u guys think it is way too much for a 470k house? any lawyer to recommend?
If 30% is too much, then ask for 20% or 10%.
mini orchard
post Apr 12 2022, 07:28 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(ricky lai @ Apr 12 2022, 07:13 PM)
No I mean after discount still come to around 7k do u think is too expensive for the charges?
30% is good rate. Disbursements no discount.
mini orchard
post May 8 2022, 09:13 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(@Adele @ May 7 2022, 11:47 PM)
Hi for a property of 350k i was quoted 1750 for legal fees. That is 50% of s&p fees.  All the miscelleanous like telephone fax etc will be another 700.

I find this on the high side. Am using back the same lawyer as s&p. Wondering whether this is correct for year 2022

My friend used a diff lawyer and got a 25% for legal fees.
Engage his lawyer.
mini orchard
post May 26 2022, 07:38 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(5il3nc3r @ May 25 2022, 10:05 PM)
Hi apologies if this question has been asked before. LHDN sent a letter requesting for payment of the MOT stamp duty and I notice that the market value stated in the letter is different (higher) than the market value assessed by the property appraiser. Is this normal?
Yes.

Private appraiser valuation can be subjected to 'manipulation' and so is SnP price.

One can buy a property 'below market price' for various reasons but for mot payment, govt valuation overrides all prices.

However, if buyer buys above market price, that price will be use for mot calculation.

Meaning ... mot payment is SnP price or govt valuation, whichever is higher.

Private valuation is for bank loan purpose and nothing related to mot. Is for the bank to assess the risk on the % of loan to be approved

This post has been edited by mini orchard: May 26 2022, 07:42 AM
mini orchard
post Jun 17 2022, 06:58 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(sayaler @ Jun 17 2022, 04:33 PM)
Hi, i need help...

1. My S&P dated 2014 mentioned free MOT by developer
2. Developer gone bankruptcy before commence MOT process

So is there any way for me to claim free mot as stated in S&P or I have to bear the MOT cost ?

Thank you.
Buyer to take up the cost for mot.

Why the delay to do transfer ?
mini orchard
post Oct 20 2022, 06:47 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(enthusiast1919 @ Oct 20 2022, 06:24 PM)
1. Yes need to pay.

2.  only need to pay rm40 stamp duty.

Ayam just did strata title transfer and can recommend you a lawyer with reasonable price, at least no mark up disbursement rclxm9.gif . Efficient also. If  high stamp duty, can discuss with lawyer for installment payment.
List the contact here to benefit others. I am sure the lawyer would be happy that you are promoting his firm.
mini orchard
post Oct 20 2022, 07:28 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(enthusiast1919 @ Oct 20 2022, 07:22 PM)
I takut kena sue if publicly disclose her contact details 🤣 tapi i compare few and found out some even mark up land search to rm150 🥹
Sometimes when legal firm is still new or business slow, their fees can generally be lower than others. But he cannot maintain that for long if cost goes up.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Oct 21 2022, 07:56 AM

0.0340sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 07:52 PM