About MOC/MOT

hanhanhan
post Jul 17 2018, 02:52 PM

(͡ ͡° ͜ つ ͡͡°)
1,197 posts

basically if ur house is below 300k, then no stamp duty payable

if ur house is in the next bracket, stamp duty incurred on the first 300k (means RM1,500-00 on loan stamp duty and RM5,000-00 on MOT stamp duty) no need to pay
hanhanhan
post Jul 17 2018, 11:50 PM

(͡ ͡° ͜ つ ͡͡°)
1,197 posts

QUOTE(realitec @ Jul 17 2018, 05:06 PM)
Hi All,
RM363k double storey terrace, what is the MOT price in this case? This is my first house ie. my name alone in SNP.
Loan = Me + my Mom
SnP = Me
Undercon property, expected to done in 2020.
Appreciate your advise.
MOT price would be RM1,260
hanhanhan
post Jul 18 2018, 11:17 AM

(͡ ͡° ͜ つ ͡͡°)
1,197 posts

QUOTE(realitec @ Jul 18 2018, 08:45 AM)
Thanks for your prompt reply. Will prepare around 2k in case got further charges.

Do you mind if I ask for my friend?
Double Storey Terrace, RM295k. How much is the MOT? First purchase too.
if house under his name only and first purchase, then MOT is FOC.

any house below 300k (SPA price) for first buyer is FOC MOT.
hanhanhan
post Jul 20 2018, 10:17 PM

(͡ ͡° ͜ つ ͡͡°)
1,197 posts

QUOTE(biggbro9 @ Jul 20 2018, 02:19 PM)
I'd appreciate any help for my case. I have been asked to re-sign the MOC by the bank in regards to my loan facility.
My issue with this is the law firm is asking me to bear the legal charges of this re-signing. Are they allowed to do so since it is the bank that gave instruction to the lawyer. I've asked around with the bank itself but not getting any firm answer. What is the impact if i will not put the dot on the new MOC.
depends whats the cause for re-signing the MOC

is it because lawyer use wrong version of documents ?
hanhanhan
post Aug 3 2018, 03:58 PM

(͡ ͡° ͜ つ ͡͡°)
1,197 posts

QUOTE(lll5459 @ Aug 3 2018, 02:45 AM)
Guys for property rm 1mil, is rm5k reasonable for mot & moc lawyer fee & disbursement. Same lawyer as spa & loan. Stamp duty paid during spa time.
yes its standard fee after 75% discount.
hanhanhan
post Aug 29 2018, 11:58 PM

(͡ ͡° ͜ つ ͡͡°)
1,197 posts

QUOTE(derick8860 @ Aug 7 2018, 12:18 AM)
Hi all sifus, I'm going to buy a subsale leasehold landed property with individual title, do I have to pay MOT immediately after signing the SPA? Or I can pay it only when the land office given its consent to transfer? Please advise me, thanks a lot.  notworthy.gif
you can pay after consent obtained, or your right before your solicitor submits the MOT for adjudication.
hanhanhan
post Aug 29 2018, 11:59 PM

(͡ ͡° ͜ つ ͡͡°)
1,197 posts

u need to inform the lawyer it's ur first property and provided that it falls under the relevant exemptions during your SPA date.

they will prepare a surat akuan for you to sign
hanhanhan
post Sep 1 2018, 01:33 AM

(͡ ͡° ͜ つ ͡͡°)
1,197 posts

QUOTE(Mr.World Weary @ Aug 30 2018, 04:10 PM)
Hi, Great info there.

Just want to get clearer info, what is the component for the whole MOT?  (no changes in ownership)

Legal fee + stamp duty + disbursements?

Do owners need to renew the SPA, from Master title to strata? (not sure whether this is applicable or else this will be additional cost for property owners.)
no such thing called 'renewing SPA'

the breakdown for MOT charges are as what you mentioned.

if you have an existing bank loan for that property, you'll need to pay for MOC as well (memorandum of charge) which is to charge / gadai the property to the bank

thus the title will have your name AND the bank's name.
hanhanhan
post Oct 1 2018, 03:25 PM

(͡ ͡° ͜ つ ͡͡°)
1,197 posts

QUOTE(edjo84 @ Sep 28 2018, 05:41 PM)
If SPA signed in 2013, still eligible for stamp duty exemption for first time buyer on the MOT?
have to see what was the price limit in 2013

if not mistaken SPA price must be below rm500k
hanhanhan
post Oct 13 2018, 12:18 AM

(͡ ͡° ͜ つ ͡͡°)
1,197 posts

QUOTE(Mr.World Weary @ Oct 12 2018, 05:24 PM)
Hi there,  smile.gif

do you mean that in this situation, the DOA is not applicable?

Let say currently a (Joint) property which is still master title, Owner A gonna buy over the other 50% share of owner B, (not selling to other individuals)

In this case, which should be treated as a sub-sale transaction, a new SPA need to be processed with only one Owner/ one name, which of course the SPA will consist of: Legal fee + Disbursements + Stamp duty on Deed of assignment

So now, do the same owner, Owner A need to pay for the DOA or just the nominal fee of RM10?
lets say original SPA price from developer is 500k and the original SPA owner is A (1/2 share) & B (1/2 share).

now owner A wants to buy over owner B's half share at the price of RM300k

DOA between owner B and owner A
A has to pay stamp duty based on the purchase price of the half share, or market value of the half share, whichever higher (this is what we call 'ad valorem' stamp duty).
Assuming that the market value is only RM250k, LHDN will follow RM300k to calculate ur stamp duty payable (cos LHDN wont pass up the opportunity to collect more stamp duty)
for this example A is buying half share from B at RM300k , so the DOA will be stamped at RM5k.

ad valorem stamp duty calculation method:-
first 100k - 1%
next 400k - 2%
>500k - 3%
add it all up.

now owner A has full share of the property (however for RPGT purposes there is another thing to take note of)

when title is issued few years later

A has half share as 'original owner' --> havent pay ad valorem stamp duty (1st half share)
A has half share he bought from B --> already pay ad valorem stamp duty on the DOA (2nd half share)

so when title issued, A only need to pay ad valorem stamp duty on the 1st half share (based on half share of original SPA price, which would be RM250k --> stamp duty is RM4k)
he only need to pay RM10 on the 2nd half share because he has already paid 'ad valorem' stamp duty on the DOA.

This post has been edited by hanhanhan: Oct 13 2018, 12:21 AM
hanhanhan
post Nov 9 2018, 06:30 PM

(͡ ͡° ͜ つ ͡͡°)
1,197 posts

QUOTE(airtawarian @ Nov 3 2018, 02:51 PM)
Some items expensive. Try use Your own Lawyer or get quotation from others For comparison
POC is based on loan amount

if u use same lawyer who did your loan documents, they are bound to give u 75% discount (via the Solicitors Remuneration Order)

if u use diff lawyer, then they only bound to give 50%.
hanhanhan
post Jan 18 2019, 06:33 PM

(͡ ͡° ͜ つ ͡͡°)
1,197 posts

QUOTE(KvinC @ Jan 17 2019, 03:16 PM)
HI guys, want to ask regarding the waiver for 1st time house owner MOT fee.

If let say property  SNP is under Owner A & Owner B and the loan is under Owner A.

Will this effect Owner B waiver for 1st time house owner MOT fee?
yes.

owner B owns half share on this house.

so the next house he buy wont be 'first house' anymore.
hanhanhan
post Jan 29 2019, 04:05 PM

(͡ ͡° ͜ つ ͡͡°)
1,197 posts

QUOTE(Cgang91 @ Jan 28 2019, 07:31 PM)
Hi all experts, a noob question here :
I have just booked a new property with s&p price around 540k, with 7% cash rebate and 3% rebate when get the house.
The agent said all the legal fees, stamp duty and chargers are covered by developer, except MOT.

And I heard that start from 1st Jan 2019 till 2020, 1st home buyer are entitled to waive MOT.

Is it truth?
Fully waived or just partially?
Am I entitled for it? And any more hidden fees behind it?
several conditions must be met

1. first time homebuyer (ur name cannot appear on any other property even if u didnt 'buy' it)
2. spa price below 1mil
3. spa date must be between 1.1.2019 - 30.6.2019

only stamp duty waived. u still need pay legal fees n disbursements to ur lawyer.
hanhanhan
post Jan 31 2019, 04:26 PM

(͡ ͡° ͜ つ ͡͡°)
1,197 posts

QUOTE(Cgang91 @ Jan 30 2019, 08:18 PM)
Great, many thanks
1 more thing,
The waive of MOT's stamp duty will automatically waived and calculated in the bill?
Or we have to apply it through some website or some government office?
Or we have to pay 1st then only claim? 🤔
need to apply. lawyer will do for u.

dont need to pay & claim back. once approve then no need pay.
hanhanhan
post Feb 10 2019, 10:37 PM

(͡ ͡° ͜ つ ͡͡°)
1,197 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Feb 9 2019, 09:36 AM)
My SPA date is 2 months before 2019....

So I cannot get waiver? How about a discount?

Property price at 560k...

Updates:

The lawyer said SPA legal fees are borne by developer. So the Stamp Duty of Transferred section is empty. What does this actually mean? I don't have to pay MOT? Confusing

[attachmentid=10179235]
no waiver and no discount for stamp duty.

stamp duty on MOT only pay upon title issuance.

once title issued, then the lawyer will give u bill for the stamp duty on MOT, together with legal fees and disbursements to do the title transfer in the future.
hanhanhan
post Feb 10 2019, 10:39 PM

(͡ ͡° ͜ つ ͡͡°)
1,197 posts

QUOTE(beth1806 @ Feb 6 2019, 11:17 PM)
Hi Guys, Im a first home buyer and looking to purchase a property under 1 million.

These days,there are many developers that offer 'free MOT'(free legal fee and free MOT stamp duty)' as part of their sales promotion.

I wonder, if i purchase a property from these developers, are they supposed to give further price deduction( i mean deduct the MOT expenses)  as they need not pay the MOT on my behalf?

Been asking few developers that offer 'free MOT', but so far they are not willing to further reduce the price. :-(

Advice from anyone is very much appreciated. Thanks a lot.
are they supposed to give? its entirely up to them.
hanhanhan
post Feb 10 2019, 10:40 PM

(͡ ͡° ͜ つ ͡͡°)
1,197 posts

QUOTE(Sone Shin @ Feb 1 2019, 09:58 AM)
Hi Guys, wanted to ask regarding the stamp duty waiver announcement yesterday. Will it be entitled for non-first house buyer?

Also noob question, this is my first time in my life getting a property loan. but I have co-named with my parents on a house. will I still be consider as first house buyer?
no. you're no longer a first house buyer.

hanhanhan
post Feb 12 2019, 02:52 PM

(͡ ͡° ͜ つ ͡͡°)
1,197 posts

QUOTE(irvene2000 @ Feb 12 2019, 10:03 AM)
Is the stamp duty waiver applicable for property up to an amount of 300k or 1m? Seems to be conflicting information online.

This website suggests 300k:
https://malaysiahousingloan.net/calculate-s...me-house-buyer/

While this article mentions 1m:
https://www.malaysiakini.com/news/450220

Also, is the stamp duty waiver applicable for any property or only from selected developers/projects?
QUOTE(keelovesjie1314 @ Feb 11 2019, 02:17 PM)
I know only first time buyers are eligible for waiver of stamp duties on S&P/loan agreements. How about the waiver of stamp duty on MOT which is added later? Anyone here can confirm with source?
download from here

loan - pg 6. effective only from 1jul2019 onwards

spa - pg 48-54. 'instrument of transfer' means MOT.

below 300k - can be subsale/ developer
below 1mil - must be from developer. any residential project.
hanhanhan
post Feb 14 2019, 11:33 AM

(͡ ͡° ͜ つ ͡͡°)
1,197 posts

QUOTE(derick8860 @ Feb 13 2019, 11:22 PM)
Hi, if im first time homebuyer purchasing service apartment (commercial title HDA status) under RM1million can I get the 100% stamp duty waiver?
...... 5) In this paragraph—
“residential property” means a house, a condominium unit, an apartment or a flat purchased or obtained solely to be used as a dwelling house; ......

Thank you.
if your SPA is under schedule H of the HDA then can get.
hanhanhan
post Apr 6 2019, 07:11 PM

(͡ ͡° ͜ つ ͡͡°)
1,197 posts

QUOTE(derick8860 @ Apr 5 2019, 12:17 PM)
How to get if under schedule H of HDA?

I saw the latest circular of surat akuan need to declare that the property owned not soho, sofo, sovo & service apartment.
yes, need to use the Surat Akuan that LHDN issued.

however whether 'service apartment' can get the waiver is a different story.

LHDN may term 'service apartment' as those hotel / managed by hotel or property managing agent.

recently most 'condos' are technically serviced apartments (especially those with commercial elements below the 'condo') if you check the development order, however they are sold as 'serviced apartments' but for private dwelling.

TL:DR - ask ur lawyer to let u sign that Surat Akuan and ask them to check with LHDN if the application for waiver kena rejected.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0271sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 01:20 PM