QUOTE(??!! @ Jan 2 2007, 12:29 AM)
lai, yamseng +s.i.m.p.l.e+p.h.o.t.o.s+, 20Mar2007: Penang X-Jam 2007 (pg6)
+s.i.m.p.l.e+p.h.o.t.o.s+, 20Mar2007: Penang X-Jam 2007 (pg6)
Jan 2 2007, 07:44 AM
1,452 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: anywhere |
Jan 2 2007, 11:13 AM
4,744 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Nice shots o_O your Penang Heritage Trail Outing is simply just nice!
![]() ![]() two of these photos really just stole my heart away |
Jan 2 2007, 11:18 AM
Thanks for loving it
Jan 2 2007, 02:51 PM
1,672 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
Jan 2 2007, 02:58 PM
5,938 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Now In The City of Merlion |
dint get to talk to u the other day
too bad. i think u are the 2nd guy from left in the front row right? ![]() This post has been edited by Maniac: Jan 2 2007, 03:00 PM |
Jan 2 2007, 03:14 PM
QUOTE(gold3knight @ Jan 2 2007, 02:51 PM) thanks. the color tat caught my attention in the first place QUOTE(Maniac @ Jan 2 2007, 02:58 PM) dint get to talk to u the other day no la...im the one with the stim lah..... too bad. i think u are the 2nd guy from left in the front row right? ![]() jk. yup, im the 2nd one from the left, front row. now all ppl here know how i look like. *hide* tat day sleep less so also talk less....dint get to know all the ppl also. |
Jan 8 2007, 11:50 PM
KL Butterfly Farm
i took.... crap shot... ![]() ![]() ![]() butterfly hard to shoot...shoot flower better ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() end with group shot ![]() This post has been edited by LanEvoX: Jan 9 2007, 12:06 AM |
Jan 8 2007, 11:53 PM
227 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
i like the 2nd last pic.. the cropped one. i've never shot butterflies before and i've heard from everyone that it's hard. i'll try it some time if there are any butterflies around
Jan 9 2007, 12:00 AM
QUOTE(kjin @ Jan 8 2007, 11:53 PM) i like the 2nd last pic.. the cropped one. i've never shot butterflies before and i've heard from everyone that it's hard. i'll try it some time if there are any butterflies around u point at it..compose nicely, finger ready to down with the shutter...it fly away..or u aim at it...it fly away....this is better, no need waste time for composition i feel so tired shooting them, LOL! |
Jan 9 2007, 12:55 AM
but never go to Penang Butterfly farm to shoot. Are the butterflies much better looking over there. |
Jan 9 2007, 01:04 AM
QUOTE(gold3knight @ Jan 9 2007, 12:55 AM) but never go to Penang Butterfly farm to shoot. Are the butterflies much better looking over there. |
Jan 9 2007, 01:04 AM
4,744 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
![]() ![]() i like these two, keep it up man! This post has been edited by R a D ! c 4 L: Jan 9 2007, 01:05 AM |
Jan 9 2007, 01:07 AM
Thanks for support, next time will do it better
Jan 9 2007, 09:32 AM
227 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
QUOTE(LanEvoX @ Jan 9 2007, 12:00 AM) u point at it..compose nicely, finger ready to down with the shutter...it fly away.. oh or u aim at it...it fly away....this is better, no need waste time for composition i feel so tired shooting them, LOL! |
Jan 14 2007, 03:50 PM
Penang War Museum
Brief histrory from http://www.virtualmalaysia.com/destination...r%20museum.html QUOTE It was at Bukit Maung, on the southern part of Pulau Pinang that the battle against the invading Japanese army was lost. In the 1930, a formidable fortress was built by the British army atop Bukit Maung, to protect the island against the enemy. Manned by not only British soldiers, but also Malay and Sikh soldiers, Bukit Maung fell during an attack in which the Japanese army approached from inland, rather than from sea, as was expected by the British army. From that day onwards, the fortress at Bukit Maung transformed into a Japanese army base with a dark history, filled with narrations of how prisoners were tortured for information to help forward the advancement of the Japanese army into Malaya. As a result, Bukit Maung, in the years following the fall of the Japanese army in 1945, the locals in the area kept well away of Bukit Maung for fear of its reputation as a place of hauntings by ghosts of dead soldiers. The fortress was constructed over 20acres of land, complete with underground military tunnels and ventilation shafts, ammunition bunkers, logistic centre, canon firing bays, sleeping quarters, cook houses and medical infirmary. After several years of restoration and clearing the fortress area that was covered by shrubs and growths after so many years of abandonment, the fortress was turned into the War Museum by a local Penangite, Johari Shafie three decades later. Today, a slow walk through the fortress will fire the imagination on what once was. From the canon firing bay the Straits of Melaka is clearly visible. Although the original canons are no longer on site, it is not difficult to imagine how British, Malay and Sikh soldiers once took turn manning the canon bays day and night, guarding against enemy attach from sea. A simple, but no less remarkable section of underground tunnels - one even leads all the way to the sea, acting as an access tunnel to get to submarines - forces one to walk, or even crawl through very narrow, confined places. Yesterday past by this place, so went for a look since so many of them said this place is scary, spooky, go in a 12pm also feel the cold....but now im going at 4.30pm, see how scary is it. From the entrance by the road side, it's still need to drive up quite a while to reach the base, when I step out from the car, and reach the ticket counter, I got the feeling like "Am I in a right place, shud I go in?" Well, already there, so just pay RM15 and go in to have a look. ![]() At the entrance of the first tunnel, I saw a guy coming out from it...so I was like ![]() Inside the tunnel is cold, no aircond, no fan, the ventilation is by the air duct and air tunnel built by the British when they built this place. Got a lot of thing to see in the tunnel, but I just cant concentrate, take a brief look and get out from there ASAP! Then come to here ![]() Take a walk and reach the top, I see this ![]() Cannon firing bay, where a super huge cannon placed, but now the cannon is gone... ![]() Destroy by bomb, and some bullet hole... ![]() Another cannon firing bay ![]() The canon used to aim at the Melaka straight, to protect the island from enemy attack from the sea. A lot of wall with this kind of condition, destroy by bullet or bomb ![]() Saw this hanging at the Open Theater ![]() And come to the torture chamber which is also before that used as generation room by British to power up the whole base. ![]() This post has been edited by LanEvoX: Jan 14 2007, 05:00 PM |
Jan 14 2007, 04:09 PM
British sleeping quarter but now decorate like this
![]() Main transport used by the jap ![]() one of the kitchen ![]() Sikh/Indian sleeping quarter ![]() ![]() and right after i read the article..i peep inside the room...i scared by a life size DOLL!! Damn f***ing stupid doll with the hair cover the face facing the window!!!! Nearly faint! And right after that, I totally lost the mood and feel freaky, just want faster finish the whole thing and get out from that place! And Because I'm too scare, I forgot to take picture of that doll Another transport used to transfer goods ![]() Another sleeping quarter ![]() Kitchen used by sikh to prepare their food ![]() ![]() I didn't take picture of the Malay sleeping quarter, because inside there have tomb all over the place. There are some bones that found by the museum people, they make a tomb for them and pray for them. One of the Malay sleeping quarter got a huge keris which I didn't take picture of it also, as inside there also got some tomb, thought want to respect the death, so didn't take any picture also. After I finish the whole thing I still feel scary because of the doll....but still talk with the museum person to know more about that place and ask question to what I have seen and not sure about what it is... He told me that place got ghost, during night they can see it, they can hear it, it appear in the picture taken by the visitor during night. And not forget to mention, they will organize a night trip for you, if you can find a group of at least 20 person. Other extra trip that you need to pay is 100ft tunnel x'plore & submarine bay, which he said got huge amount of gold and money inside there, well preserve! This place is not just a museum, it also have paint ball base, you can play paint ball in the jungle, which is quite fun as I see. A nice place that worth to visit, a lot of picture to see, a lot of thing that you'll learn outside the history book. Beside learning, you will have the feeling of what had happen during that time. It freak me out, but I still want to visit it for the second time but at least with a companion. Next visit, I want to try go in to a dark tunnel which is used as escape place. ps: my advise, when visit the place, please mind your language, respect the spirit around the place This post has been edited by LanEvoX: Jan 14 2007, 04:33 PM |
Jan 14 2007, 04:47 PM
2,502 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Kuching,Kuala Lumpur, Gifu,Japan |
freaky la.. nice use of b&w to enhance that feeling.. wanna go again when i go pg?
Jan 14 2007, 04:52 PM
Jan 14 2007, 07:27 PM
hm, I would actually prefer a hi contrast low saturation than straight B&W for these kind of photos. But it was a great effort nonetheless.
Must arrange a day to go down there and shoot as well, and of course with other kaki's. |
Jan 14 2007, 07:41 PM
295 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
Oh man, that's my hometown! But never had the chance to visit and shoot the places there... Busy working in KL. I like the War Museum series. It tells stories...
| Change to: | 0.0202sec
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:43 PM |