Please VOTE... if majority is yes...mod kindly consider.. if no... then forget bout it...
This post has been edited by firstknight: Dec 16 2006, 09:16 PM
Pin NDS Friend Code Central Post
Dec 16 2006, 09:15 PM, updated 19y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
2,681 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
Please VOTE... if majority is yes...mod kindly consider.. if no... then forget bout it...
This post has been edited by firstknight: Dec 16 2006, 09:16 PM |
Dec 16 2006, 10:36 PM
353 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
where does the old ds friend code thread go?
Dec 17 2006, 10:29 PM
431 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Hierarchical City of Kagutsuchi |
arent the mod going to pin this?
they pin the wii fren code, why not the ds? |
Dec 17 2006, 10:45 PM
1,154 posts Joined: Sep 2004 |
funny you guys should mention that. the old fren code list still exists. because of the hoo hah a month back about how there are too many pinned topics, suggestions were made to put up an FAQ topic that encompassed everything including friend codes and mii codes. an FAQ text was due back from someone before i made that change. none has been forthcoming.
I am curious to know what everyone's say about this is. if i pin this new thread, there is the issue of the pinned Mii thread. Here is what i would likely do: 1) Pin up a thread for Mii and WFC friend codes. 2) Unpin the current Mii thead. 3) Export the old codes from the Friend code thread into a file for historical reference. Everyone affected by this better get some sorta say here. And i mean SAY. as in posting their approval and disapproval here. voting is nice but rarely ever gets to the heart of the matter. This post has been edited by Mudmaniac: Dec 17 2006, 10:58 PM |
Dec 17 2006, 10:46 PM
hmm... wii and ds code in one single thread?
sounds fine to me |
Dec 17 2006, 10:49 PM
4,889 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Kelana Jaya |
Well for the Wii, there is only code for each console but the DS has a friend code for each game isn't it?
Wouldn't it look cluttered? |
Dec 17 2006, 10:51 PM
also swat, someone else pinned the mii codes. and the meetup threads. and a few other threads. i figure some other moderator did it because he was pestered by messages from people here. its not like me to undo things that look like goods ideas at the time.
zio: yes its cluttered. This post has been edited by Mudmaniac: Dec 17 2006, 10:51 PM |
Dec 17 2006, 10:51 PM
QUOTE(zio @ Dec 17 2006, 10:49 PM) Well for the Wii, there is only code for each console but the DS has a friend code for each game isn't it? yea.. true... Wouldn't it look cluttered? but still sometimes when we wanna play game with 4 players. retyping the code number can be a problem to us. either key in wrong number or always repeating fren codes as some ppl use *ahem* to play their ds game |
Dec 17 2006, 11:28 PM
353 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
maybe you should unpin the ninty kopitiam thread,and exchange that with the friend code thread
Dec 18 2006, 07:36 AM
3,557 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Republic of Selayang |
i think we should put all the codes in 1 thread only.. then it would be easier for others to search and add us
and yeah, the ninty kopitiam can be unpinned |
Dec 18 2006, 07:41 AM
2,156 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
kopitiam doesnt need a pin coz it will always be quite high up coz everyone will be spamming there. plus there isnt anything important like notices there so it would be fine to unpin it.
Dec 18 2006, 09:04 AM
6,364 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Soviet Sarawak |
i'd say
Wii and DS codes in one thread 1st post will be rules or some stuffs 2nd and 3rd post should be the Wii and DS codes respectively. and topic should be started by someone active in the Nintendo thread so the posts can be updated regularly.. |
Dec 18 2006, 02:11 PM
why not worry about the kopitiam thread a little later? its pretty immaterial.
besides, ill remove the old Mii thread to put the Mii+Friendcode thread up instead. |
Dec 18 2006, 02:18 PM
2,234 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
i am quite active here, if u guys like, i can open the wii and nds friendcodes thread so that i can update it frequently.
Dec 18 2006, 02:23 PM
11,305 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
As the creator of the Wii Codes Central, i think i have a say on this. The Nintendo section has a very cluttered pinned-up topic section. Why do you still need to pin the DS MEetup picture thread, which is repeated in another thread and also pinned? It is fine when the meetup was the hottest thing and such, but once the event has come and pass, why leave it pinned? Also, the Nintendo Kopitiam doesnt even require pinning, since people who spam their stuff will keep it floating to the top anyway.
Please dont merge the DS Friends Codes with the Wii Codes central. My objective of creating a Wii Codes CEntral thread was for Wii users to refer to each other. Ds Friends Codes includes so many games that searching through them will make things even more messier. What you need to do is not create a CENTRAL DS Friends Codes, but create a specific games codes, and put in your Friends Code in it, that way, people who actively play that specific games can find those who share the same activity and add each other. DS codes are not CENTRAL, unlike Wii where all the games uses the Codes os a SINGLE specific Wii Code of the owner. This allow a less cluttered arrangement, compared to different Friends Codes for different DS games. So, if you need to do a DS Friends Code thread, create a thread specific to that game, and add your Friends Codes there. Is that so hard to do? That way, you can centralise all info regarding that specific game into one thread along with info on Friends Codes as well. |
Dec 19 2006, 12:22 AM
String: Your point about the Mii codes is well taken. However, I do not believe that a separate thread per DS game will be an adequate solution. Game specific threads would result in duplicates threads really really fast. I remember 4 different Animal Crossing "FRIEND CODES HERE!!" before a central friend code place was created. No amount of coordination is going to be possible.
As for the picture thread, call me an old codger to like the concept of posterity. In the DS meet thread you cant really see where all the pictures are unless you willing to read thru the meetup entire thread. Sometime i think it would be nice to have an easy place to look eh? |
Dec 19 2006, 12:29 AM
11,305 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
It's nice to have a place to look for those pics, but pinning it? Those interested will post and look for the thread and float it nonetheless.
If your decision is to pin the Friends Code, i dont mind, just please dont mess the Wii Code Central by merging with it. I feel that making a separate Friends Code Central is a more sensible option. |
Dec 19 2006, 05:44 PM
2,681 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
Well... Make it one thread....
Name: Friend Codes Desc: Your Contacts Database in the post.. format very simple... first the heading... NDS - WFC Friend Code Mario Kart DS 3215-3521-5646 Mii Code 12354649872168 like this... the person that got new game or watever just update their friend code database and the mod jus need to monitor and dun have to update the game friend code list... i believe this is much better as we can see all the friend code of this forumer and not the game and many forumers name in it.. hehe... cheers This post has been edited by firstknight: Dec 19 2006, 05:46 PM |
Dec 19 2006, 09:20 PM
1,035 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
QUOTE(Mudmaniac @ Dec 17 2006, 10:45 PM) funny you guys should mention that. the old fren code list still exists. because of the hoo hah a month back about how there are too many pinned topics, suggestions were made to put up an FAQ topic that encompassed everything including friend codes and mii codes. an FAQ text was due back from someone before i made that change. none has been forthcoming. He meant me >.<. Sorry for the delay, i have been tied up with my assigment and thesis and forthcoming job lately. Hence I didnt really have the time to follow up on that promise i made. If anyone wanna take it off my hand, please dont hesitate to do so. But if not, please give me some time to sort my mess. I will get to it ASAPEveryone affected by this better get some sorta say here. And i mean SAY. as in posting their approval and disapproval here. voting is nice but rarely ever gets to the heart of the matter. P/S: Anybody noticed i spam less nowadays? |
Dec 19 2006, 10:22 PM
bah. dont worry about the FAQ! it would be nice to have one, but looks like the other things need to go up now.
| Change to: | 0.0442sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:05 PM |