altec lansing vs4121

PcWork
post Dec 16 2006, 11:28 AM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(KingCobra @ Dec 16 2006, 05:43 AM)
greetings,

any kindhearted foummer here cares to guide me how to dampen & cover-up the front port of my altec lansing vs4121. i don't like the present sound. hmm.gif

thanks.
better don't cover the front cover, it's a duct which let air out and in, and most important, might be able to balance the air pressure.
if u simply cover it, might harm the diaphragm of the speaker.
for speaker that they design with seal type, the diaphragm is different, the internal enclosure also different.

PcWork
post Dec 25 2006, 05:41 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(KingCobra @ Dec 17 2006, 04:40 AM)
thanks guys for ur reply. for ur info, i can only afford altec lansing vs4121, as my family needs comes first. anyway i simply rolled & stuffed some sort of sponge that comes with de mobo and de bass tighter now.

if i stick de sponge to de inside wall of de speaker using dunlop or shelleys glue, won't de sponge melt coz de glue is petroleum based.
it won't melt as the woofer is made with medium density fiber board (MDF), sort of easy name "pressed wood" easy suggestion, try put ur woofer far from wall and corner, then buy two small carpet which people put at entrance of door, prefer those braid and cloth type. put two / three layer under the woofer, it will lighten the resonance and boomy of the woofer.

QUOTE(sunauto @ Dec 17 2006, 10:06 PM)
Well, if the enclosure is made of solid wood from a tree trunk, I believe that will be the ultimate upgrade for a start since the speaker box enclosure has an impact on the sound quality but honestly, it's just a RM200 pc speakers, lets not get too carried away or have too high expectations, even the top of the range speakers are still nowhere near dedicated Hi-Fi speakers.
it's not from solid tree trunk it's MDF, or LDF.

QUOTE(arafat @ Dec 19 2006, 10:37 PM)
i suggest u trade in for altec lansing atp3.
sounds way much better than vs4121.
just my opinion.. smile.gif
hell agree, i just gonna suggest that, ATP3 sounds much cleaner than the 4121.
but what to do? 4121 always sound better in open space. and ATP3 sounds like no bass at all at the rack they sell speaker.

QUOTE(tatayoung @ Dec 25 2006, 02:43 PM)
There's this one other mod i know of....,they get a bunch of straws(yes,the one's used for drinking) and insert the whole bunch into the blowhole/duct...,wether or not this will give you tighter and more controlled base i do not know but you might wanna give it a go......
this is an great idea, i never though of it, teorically it can alter the air flow and hence reduce the woofer effect..

one suggestion, maybe u can change the potential meter of the BASS level to higher value.
so it might be able to reduce the bass, simple and fast.

PcWork
post Dec 27 2006, 08:45 AM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(KingCobra @ Dec 27 2006, 02:20 AM)
very clever, yaa.. sunauto icon_idea.gif

i meant wives la, real wives. de ones dat got two legs like u & me. tongue.gif
steady you.. ask wives when "they" are free...
well
one made for woofer, another one made for satelite (left) and another one for right satelite. then another one will incharge to put all of them in to the speaker, and then another one accompany u to listen and test it out to find there's significant different or not...
PcWork
post Dec 29 2006, 09:14 AM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(narkon @ Dec 29 2006, 02:27 AM)
its ok...im not normal i think to be too crazy bout basssssssss..... rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

walaowei...sunatao...where can i find dat yamaha subwoofer??...can suggest me any places dat u know???....i wish i could listen it my self ur speaker.... rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif ...my budget not as high as u la bro... biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
about 3++ only....coz wanna kumpul my money to buy souncard at the same time.... smile.gif  smile.gif  smile.gif
there's one altec lansing stand alone subwoofer for sale, i think the model is XA 301 or somethings like that. looks like a bomb, u can add it to ur ACS45.1 easily.
but for yamaha woofer, u might be a bit troublesome to set it up. as u must has an crossover before sending the low frequency signal to woofer.... not sure the woofer alone has built in crossover or not.there's a lot of things u have to take in count when u buy those theather woofer. in connecting it i mean.

QUOTE(shazmie @ Dec 29 2006, 03:59 AM)
i owned vs4121 but i dont really like the subwoofer..its too loud even when i trun it to the lowest level..any idea to slow it down..does put the sponge will help? n guys anyone know any software for sound system in pc?
scroll back previous page of this post, there's some way to tune it down suggested by forumers.

PcWork
post Dec 29 2006, 03:59 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=360513&hl=
check here. he is selling.

PcWork
post Dec 29 2006, 04:36 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(narkon @ Dec 29 2006, 04:31 PM)
juz found Al selling subwoofer only..model = BB2001...have u hear it before??...got in malaysia??....

PCworks,is the subwoofer from XA 301 superb with bass??..please....i really need ur expertise coz i dun wanna rugi more....
not too sure, once heard it, and i don't like how it sound. maybe u will like it, it's better u go and had a serious listen at the seller / shopping complex. before u buy.

PcWork
post Jan 5 2007, 10:41 AM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(bsl555 @ Jan 5 2007, 02:21 AM)
Given to me by a very good friend, perhaps from excess which he has used for room damping. I've seen some 1" sponge sold at a hardware/DIYhandy shop here at Taipan USJ. Acoustic sponge its not exactly cheap as Tong Lee does sell them for more than a 50 buck note a piece. End of day, its entirely up to you how much one likes to spend on modding a RM200 speaker set.
they are selling RM 96 per piece... yawn.gif

0.0244sec    1.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:11 PM