Coffee Lover v.2 Thread, Let's Share!

xFreedomBoix
post Dec 17 2017, 02:24 AM

Wasuretakunai
680 posts

jus got entry level de'longhi cp33.21 from 1212 sales..

wanna ask, what size of tamper should i get for this machine?

tq
xFreedomBoix
post Dec 21 2017, 05:05 PM

Wasuretakunai
680 posts

Bought some fresh light roasted columbian supremo. Taste is on the sour side. Wanna ask sour coffee is better with milk or without?

And the barista suggest me to wait 2 weeks before consuming the coffee. Why? The taste will be better with age? hmm.gif
xFreedomBoix
post Dec 21 2017, 10:57 PM

Wasuretakunai
680 posts

QUOTE(built @ Dec 21 2017, 07:09 PM)
mind sharing where did you buy the coffee and how much?

my understanding is light roasted coffee is higher on acidity
and it progress towards bitterness as the roast gets darker.
lighter roast is more vibrant while darker roast less.

whether milk will make sour coffee taste better is subjective
and quite personnel. try it out for yourself.

just roasted coffee can taste a tad aggressive and will mellow
down after a few days... maybe the barista feels the sweet spot
is about 2 wks after roasting. again this is personnel preference.
there is another different school of thought where coffee shd
be consumed freshly roasted to get its full benefit.

others may have different opinions.
Thanks for clarify i was wondering if my shot was weak. The shot came out quite nice lol but the sour taste got me wondering. Will tmr to make some milk tmr to go with it haha
I bought the beans from local cafe Khaki at melaka. Its quite a nice cafe. The barista told me he jus roasted the beans during my visit haha.

QUOTE(squallx840 @ Dec 21 2017, 08:19 PM)
How do you brew your coffee?

Perhaps you can try adjust your extraction to get a more balance flavored coffee.

https://baristahustle.com/blogs/barista-hus...-coffee-compass

Anyway, lighter roast coffee are indeed a bit more on acidic side. But it depends on what type of beans as well.
Thanks for the link. Will take a look.
I do +-16g for a double shot.. extraction was around 20s. Maybe will try abit more powder later.

Attached is the image

This post has been edited by xFreedomBoix: Dec 21 2017, 11:00 PM

xFreedomBoix
post Dec 22 2017, 01:18 AM

Wasuretakunai
680 posts

QUOTE(lowkl @ Dec 21 2017, 11:50 PM)
Your shot glass is fascinating.... honestly looks like a tumbler holding a pint of Guinness!

I take it your double shot is about 30ml output?

Two weeks after roasting is a safe window, IMHO. Some I've tried tastes fine after a week, but so far, everything is good after two weeks.

To balance out the sourness, maybe grind a tad finer? A slightly longer extraction should still be good.
yea i have the same thought too when i look at the picture, never imagined the espresso to look so dark haha
my double shot is ~60ml output
ook, i'll definitely looks forward to how it taste after 2 weeks
tmr i will try to do more powder, i think i used a little less today
xFreedomBoix
post Dec 22 2017, 12:55 PM

Wasuretakunai
680 posts

QUOTE(built @ Dec 22 2017, 02:27 AM)
do you usually use light roast for espresso?
This is my first light roast. Just got the machine on 1212 sales haha.
I only tried the cat shit coffee which i got as a gift. I think thats dark roasted
xFreedomBoix
post Dec 23 2017, 06:07 PM

Wasuretakunai
680 posts

QUOTE(ymeng85 @ Dec 23 2017, 05:01 PM)
Did the barista mention it was light roast? Or just lighter compared to what you've had so far?  biggrin.gif

I'm on the fresh coffee needs to be rested. For espresso, longer so that the gas in crema is much more stable
Otherwise may have a slight soda feel and dry finish
yeah he introduced the beans to me.
He told me the beans were just roasted, and its a light roast beans.

yea im keeping the beans for now, lets see how it taste in a week brows.gif

xFreedomBoix
post Dec 26 2017, 08:42 PM

Wasuretakunai
680 posts

Can anyone recommend any decent grinder for espresso 1k myr budget?

xFreedomBoix
post Apr 25 2019, 05:53 PM

Wasuretakunai
680 posts

Budget of 900:
What grinder would u guys recommend?

Using hario v60 and entry level preassurized espresso machine ( delonghi ecp 55? Forgot)

Eyeing at:
1) hario skerton manual - cheap, kinda decent grind for my use
2) baratza encore Rm760 - has static preassure issue (?)
3) breville dose control pro rm851 - impeller issue on older model ( not sure if harveynorman sell the latest revision )

Any more suggestions?
xFreedomBoix
post Apr 26 2019, 05:44 PM

Wasuretakunai
680 posts

QUOTE(lowkl @ Apr 25 2019, 09:37 PM)
If you are looking for a grinder to handle both pourover and espresso, the only other options would be premium hand grinders. Western brands like Commandante, OE, Knock are either only slightly over your budget or within. China/Taiwan grinders are all within your budget with a few hundred to spare, in fact. Brands like 1Zpresso, Timemore, Anonymous come to mind.
Thats for ur input, how about helor 101? Come across this while browsing ytd.

Or any manual grinder that is available locally? The helor i think have to get from taobao
xFreedomBoix
post Apr 26 2019, 05:46 PM

Wasuretakunai
680 posts

QUOTE(Keng @ Apr 25 2019, 10:30 PM)
Among the 3, I'd go for encore. Breville has huge retention.
Yea i've read bout the retention too
Was skeptical about getting encore since people complain that it makes the surrounding dirty after grind..

Or any other grinder within this price would ya recommend? Manual / auto is fine
xFreedomBoix
post Apr 26 2019, 07:13 PM

Wasuretakunai
680 posts

QUOTE(lowkl @ Apr 26 2019, 05:55 PM)
The Helor is well-regarded, but I understand quite pricey.

I remember seeing the Commandante being featured by a few specialty coffee places. Perhaps Pulp at Jln Riong, KL? I also noticed someone bringing in the Timemore at the last coffee event I attended.

Ordering from Taobao or AliExpress is usually problem-free and quite fast.
alright, i'm actually very tempted by the helor haha.
but official taobao only offer seashipping for some reason
xFreedomBoix
post Apr 29 2019, 06:20 PM

Wasuretakunai
680 posts

QUOTE(alvinfks78 @ Apr 29 2019, 04:08 PM)
Yalah  nod.gif  the area around the the grinder always dirty  biggrin.gif . i thought it is the same for every grinder.
decided to go with helor 101 instead rclxms.gif
xFreedomBoix
post May 9 2019, 04:43 PM

Wasuretakunai
680 posts

Any good electric kettle ( preferably gooseneck for pour over)
Around 400 max budget
xFreedomBoix
post May 31 2019, 12:38 AM

Wasuretakunai
680 posts

Whats some decent scale for pour over?
Acaia too out of budget for me.. is the hario one good? Or theres better choices?
xFreedomBoix
post Jun 1 2019, 11:47 AM

Wasuretakunai
680 posts

QUOTE(Killy @ Jun 1 2019, 03:16 AM)
https://shopee.com.my/product/59598304/966830598
i bought this from shopee, happy with it
very consistent so far, container i used always weighs 24.3g, occasionally 24.4g
RM42.70 only
Have u done pourover on top? How's the sensitivity? Will overshot when pouring? Thanks notworthy.gif
xFreedomBoix
post Jun 14 2019, 01:58 AM

Wasuretakunai
680 posts

where do u guys normally sell coffee equipment?
looking to let go a 0.7L brewista stovetop kettle,
planning to upgrade to variable temp... just used a few times lol
xFreedomBoix
post Aug 31 2019, 10:37 PM

Wasuretakunai
680 posts

Hello sifus,

Wanna ask, im currently pulling a shot out from non preassurized portafilter (modded)

Shot came out really nicely at first to 90% of extraction time. But at the last part the flow become weak ( drips instead of water flow. ) initial flow rate is not too fast or slow ( consistent ). Just at the end, my machine's espresso light will turn off and the flow will end with drips.

Total flowtine is 25s. Dont rly see any channeling in my pot afterward. Shot doesnt taste overly bitter / sour.

Should i be concerned with the later drips? If so, should i adjust my grind coarser? hmm.gif
xFreedomBoix
post Sep 1 2019, 07:49 PM

Wasuretakunai
680 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Sep 1 2019, 06:31 PM)
I'm more concerned your machine no power at the end...
It's not no power haha
Its the light for espresso go off. Telling me its not ready for espresso ( maybe reheating the temp or stuff ).
Today i grind a bit finer and got better tasting espresso with slightly longer extraction time.

I think im done dialing in for this coffee haha thumbup.gif

xFreedomBoix
post Sep 1 2019, 08:36 PM

Wasuretakunai
680 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Sep 1 2019, 07:59 PM)
Yes I know... I mean no power...like go up hill no strength... smile.gif

So boiler too small...can run some copper coil around the boiler for water preheating and wrapping insulation to reduce heat loss... smile.gif  obviously get a better machine is easier
Ooo sorry i misunderstood

I see. Yea i did read about it since the machine isnt intended for non preassurized use, it might not work as well. Might invest in a better machine next year thumbup.gif

On a side note, anyone is making turkish coffee at home? Where do u buy the kettle (?)
xFreedomBoix
post Oct 1 2019, 03:18 AM

Wasuretakunai
680 posts

Been using helor 101 for awhile now
Bought from taobao RM575 shipped directly. Additional 60 later on for the pourover burr set.

For espresso, i get consistent grind and it can goes very fine. It takes me under a minute to grind for non preassurized 18.5g dark roast. Lighter roast might requires u to crank harder. For ref, espresso burr at 20-26 dots is what i normally use.

For pour over, i find myself getting better results using the pourover burr (less fines) (around 40 dots for both burrs) and overally produce nice grind for my v60. Grinding is also quite effortless but some beans (especially light roast) will need ALOT of arm power :sweats: so far i only had problems with a particular light roasted yirg ethiopia. Took me around 2 minutes and alot of sweat and cursing lol.

Swapping out burrs is relatively simple but maybe annoying if doing it on daily basis. I now alternate what i drink so i swap the burrs on weekly basis.

Static - it is quite staticky (ground coffee will stuck to the bottom burr area / fly out a little when removing the ground holder) but using the wet spoon stir method significantly lessen the ground retention n ground no longer fly around.

Overall i really enjoy and wholeheartedly recommend helor grinder. Simple to use and stylish.

On a side note, the balls on the handle didnt rotate smoothly when i first receive the grinder. A little bit of oil solve it.

0.2243sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 08:33 PM