Coffee Lover v.2 Thread, Let's Share!

shaniandras2787
post Jun 1 2018, 12:19 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

Can someone recommend me a decent barista machine for coffee brewing?

Combed through lots of it and is super confused right now with all those 15bar pressure etc terms.

Just need something to brew for personal consumption and most importantly, does not break the bank because i've seen some that are priced at over 2K! blink.gif
shaniandras2787
post Dec 7 2019, 09:34 AM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

Can anyone recommend me a place for me to buy freshly ground coffee beans?

I don't want to drop by starbucks because i somehow feel i'm suited to their kind of roast.

kl, selangor area.

thanks.
shaniandras2787
post Dec 9 2019, 09:19 AM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Dec 7 2019, 01:07 PM)
most of the cafe will sell you beans...can just ask them and see. sometimes they may decline because they have limited stock, if you like it, can always ask if they can order for you. i've done this to shops and food trucks smile.gif
:haha: i see but if possible, i'd like to get them straight from the source as in, the one that roasts the beans then from there maybe i could learn a bit more about these elusive "beans".

QUOTE(lowkl @ Dec 7 2019, 01:31 PM)
You can also try Mister Coffee. If you order more than RM 60 they will deliver for free.

You should really consider a grinder. It will up your quality by an order of magnitude as you can grind just before you brew, and even adjust the grind size to tune the brewing to your preferences.
thanks for the recommendation, i'll take a look at the link later today.

i initially wanted to buy a grinder but didn't know that the grinder is equally, if not, almost as expensive as the espresso machine itself sweat.gif

i just a bought an espresso machine so at the moment, my funds allocation for this unassuming expensive "hobby" is depleted. spend more and i'm going to get the nagging from the missus biggrin.gif
shaniandras2787
post Dec 9 2019, 12:27 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Dec 9 2019, 10:26 AM)
what machine did you buy? unless its using a pressurized portafilter...nobody will be able to grind it properly for you

different beans need different setting...same beans different days need different setting...same beans morning vs afternoon need different setting...sunny and rainy days also need different setting...  brows.gif

ok i explain a bit the last two...if you run a cafe, the temperature vary a bit am/pm due to air-cond, more people in/out, etc. also if living in cold country heater on/off, etc...this affect the expansion/contraction of the metal grinder. sunny and rainy days also affects temperature as well as moisture in the air around the grinder. these all affect the grinder and coffee... for malaysia home use not too bad lah since our temp and air saturation quite stable

anyways best is quickly save up for a grinder...

btw, sometimes i visit cafe with expensive grinders and machines, drink their coffee and buy their beans...reason is now i have a benchmark...i know how it taste like at the shop and then try to replicate and improve my shots at home.
I got the De'Longhi DLH-ECP33.21 as a start up.

I don't think i will be able or want to get as technical as being so precise so much as to the extend of considering how the humidity of the air affects my coffee sweat.gif .

I don't need a "perfect cup of coffee" per se, i just need to be able to produce a good coffee for my missus and me to enjoy on the weekend of rest days - away from those instant or paper packed brewed coffee. To me, being so technical makes the entire contraption "not fun" biggrin.gif

Yeap, getting a good grinder is my end goal but in the meantime, am looking for an alternative.

I'm not that artisan yet to be able to savor the most minute taste of the coffee XD
shaniandras2787
post Dec 9 2019, 07:17 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

why was it frustrating? unsure.gif

This post has been edited by shaniandras2787: Dec 9 2019, 07:17 PM
shaniandras2787
post Dec 29 2019, 10:29 AM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

has anyone used the delonghi k89 grinder machine before?

planning to get it instead of the Skerton hand grinder.
shaniandras2787
post Jan 15 2020, 09:58 AM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

may i know where you guys get your coffee beans from?

i got a pack from Starbucks the other day, 250g for RM30 but i find it a bit... underwhelming.
shaniandras2787
post Jan 15 2020, 10:16 AM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(mieza @ Jan 15 2020, 10:14 AM)
Mine is from Mister Coffee each pack is 500g. The cheapest one is Espresso Classic. But IMHO, I did not like it much. I prefer Espresso Bar.
where is this "Espresso Bar" that you mentioned hmm.gif
shaniandras2787
post Jan 15 2020, 11:30 AM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Jan 15 2020, 10:31 AM)
Beanshipper is a start, lots of options there
Our own ymeng85 also sells at Reframe
The past few rounds I've bought from fmarketing on Shopee

These are all online, but many of the roasters listed above have physical stores too
great! thanks for the options and will check them out.

QUOTE(mieza @ Jan 15 2020, 10:44 AM)
Mister Coffee got a lot of different roasted coffee. One of them is Espresso Bar.
ah! I was thinking that Espresso Bar was another place/retailer that sells coffee beans.
shaniandras2787
post Jan 15 2020, 05:48 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Jan 15 2020, 10:31 AM)
Beanshipper is a start, lots of options there
Our own ymeng85 also sells at Reframe
The past few rounds I've bought from fmarketing on Shopee

These are all online, but many of the roasters listed above have physical stores too
I just browsed through fmarketing over at shoppee and I feel like I want to try them. How's your experience with them?

Are their beans up to the quality or just "passable"?
shaniandras2787
post Jan 16 2020, 08:18 AM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Jan 15 2020, 09:40 PM)
They are quality beans, I've tried only the Brazil, Colombia and Mexico single origin, all medium roasted, paired with milk
I see - i somewhat prefer their dark roast.

did they get your specifics correct? i read some of their comments which states the roasts are uneven and some bean even have "holes" on them and needed to be discarded flex.gif
shaniandras2787
post Jan 16 2020, 08:36 AM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(Tikietic @ Jan 16 2020, 12:33 AM)
starbucks is too cliche (we did get a bag from it once before.. long time ago  biggrin.gif )..
underwhelming... hhmmnn.. i'm guessing you're looking for some robusta in the mix?

there're 2 groups of coffee beans that you may come across... single origins and blends
depends on your taste/palate.. in general, blends may have stronger taste as opposed to single origin. this arise from adding(not all occasion) robusta beans into the blend, hence the "kick"..

mister coffee has good offerings on blends.. the cheaper blends do have mixture of robusta in it.. if you can take the additional caffeine, why not?

if you can consider a 1kg bag purchase... there're some choices for your consideration;
1. lavazza's gold selection (the best we tried on lavazza)
2. coffex coffee's primo quattro (blends consist of 4 types of beans, hence quattro)

over time, your taste/palate may change... moving from blends to single-origin (or vice versa)... or from darker roast to a lighter roast.. enjoy the taste  smile.gif
got it from starbucks because it's convenient for me sweat.gif and it is safe (?).

underwhelming in the sense that the extraction does not end up with what I was expected - perhaps i was expecting too much or maybe the coffee beans have been sitting on the shelves for far too long.

i have been buying their Caffe Verona beans because I really like that chocolate-y taste that the espresso gives out but i feel like these beans are not at their full potential (or something like that, if you get what i mean confused.gif )

I want to seek a new source for my coffee beans purchase but not sure from who or where =(
shaniandras2787
post Jan 16 2020, 11:02 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(4lt4ir @ Jan 16 2020, 07:27 PM)
Just wondering, what do you mean by Starbucks beans are 'safe'?
i've seen people complaining about improper roasted beans, poor quality beans etc when they source it from individual suppliers and most of them are relatively more expensive than you can find in starbucks.

my term "safe" here is that, how bad can starbucks be and if they really do turn out bad, it's a one-off purchase and I lose only RM30.00 (still something i can afford to waste) blush.gif
shaniandras2787
post Jan 16 2020, 11:02 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(luvox @ Jan 16 2020, 10:30 PM)
I used to buy collective bold 1kg rm129. But i already subscribed beanshipper for half year during 11.11 promotion period. Every month will receive 500g bean. 😂
how's the coffee beans so far? are they, OK?

shaniandras2787
post Jan 18 2020, 12:20 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(4lt4ir @ Jan 17 2020, 06:02 PM)
I see. IMHO, improperly roasted beans e.g. uneven roasting is something that is a definite no-no. However, as you mentioned beans with 'holes' in them, I think that is still pretty acceptable as long as very little in number. Hand sorting, which will have a high probability of eliminating such beans, is time-consuming and labour-intensive, so not all producers and/or roasters will be willing to do that. If they do, the extra effort will of course be reflected in a much more expensive retail price. Besides, when I was just starting out I also bought beans from Coffee Bean & Starbucks. Mostly because they were cheap, and also because I didn't know any better. But...I found that they were more often than not roasted too dark as to completely eliminate all of the subtle tastes and nuances that we all strive for in the coffee beans itself. Plus, I found a fair share of beans with 'holes' and also cracked beans inside those bags of coffee from CBTL & Starbucks. So...I wouldn't categorically say that beans from CBTL & Starbucks are 'safe', either.

Have you noticed that those bags of roasted coffee at CBTL & Starbucks have expiry dates? Who knows when they were roasted. Thus, there is a high chance that they have indeed been sitting on the shelf too long. Good specialty coffee roasted by a reputable roaster will have a roast date imprinted on the packaging, not an expiry date.

TL:DR: try any beans from beanshipper.com or Reframe Coffee Roasters (webshop, also an active member here on this thread) or arkib.kl (on Instagram). Prices are higher than Starbucks but you're paying for quality, skill and knowledge...things that don't come cheap by themselves. Your coffee brewing & drinking experience will most likely improve as a result.

Of course, this is just my dua sen. YMMV. Hope this helps.
Ahh... fresh insight. I always thought that Starbucks would mess up less since they would have a more properly controlled roasting procedure as compared to sole-props.

I'll probably try a pack from the recommended suppliers and see how it fair (once i've run down my current supply, of course).

Speaking of which, just to survey. How much gram do you guys consume in a week - just needed a point to benchmark whether i'm consuming "normal" amounts.
shaniandras2787
post Apr 14 2020, 03:28 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

anyone used this milk before for your latte/cappuccino?

i've been using farmhouse all the while but the MCO doesn't really give me the luxury to go a little further to get them =(

I previously tried Dutch Lady's full cream milk and it is paaaaaaaale in comparison.
shaniandras2787
post Apr 14 2020, 04:32 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(ymeng85 @ Apr 14 2020, 03:39 PM)
Actually regular fresh milk is the best unless you're looking for a really really creamy taste

Over fatty/creamy milk is not that good for delicate single origin coffees as it will have tendency to overpower all the flavor notes of the coffee and all you're tasting is just the milk and remaining bitterness of the coffee. No flavors
I use mostly blends, somehow they appealed to my buds more.

QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Apr 14 2020, 03:40 PM)
what do you mean by pale? i am using dutch lady
not sure how to express it in words. dutch lady doesn't seem to give the "body" which i seek in my coffee and also, the scent of the milk after steaming just isn't that fragrant (compared to farmhouse).

QUOTE(tishaban @ Apr 14 2020, 04:02 PM)
You're comparing UHT milk (Good Day above, Dutch Lady) with fresh milk?
The ability to foam may be similar, but the taste is very different at least to my taste buds. I've tried Good Day UHT and if anything it's for backup only, I will try my best to get fresh milk.

I've been able to source Farm Fresh (in Giant) and Farmhouse (Tesco) so far.
Not sure about other brands though but for farmhouse, their fresh milk and their UHT variant are both UHT treated, just different temperatures, at least that's what I read from their press release but yeah, i agree, their fresh "fresh milk" does taste waaaay better then the their UHT variant.

I can travel to my nearby AEON to get them (fresh milk) but I don't think it's the right thing to do now (MCO) just to drop by and get 2 containers of milk so I'm seeking the next best alternative which I can get from the convenient store located just a stones throw away from my home.

shaniandras2787
post Apr 14 2020, 09:11 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Apr 14 2020, 05:43 PM)
all the uht milk...latte foam not stable breaks down very fast

dutch lady got strong cow smell...ban

99 speedmart carries goodday fresh milk...
my experience with dutch lady is exactly like yours. the microfoam breaks down quickly and not sure how cow smells like but dutch lady does have a very strong "milk" scent.

QUOTE(tishaban @ Apr 14 2020, 05:47 PM)
I typically don't buy Farmhouse as I prefer to support the local farmers. Having said that there is a huge difference between pasteurization on fresh milk that kills bacteria and UHT that changes the texture and flavor of milk. I'm quite sure the fresh Farmhouse goes through pasteurization and their UHT goes through the UHT process

I was on UHT as well, it definitely works although getting micro foam is a bit more hit and miss I think
which brand of milk do you buy now?
shaniandras2787
post Dec 31 2020, 03:46 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

any idea why my machine clogs up when using pressurized basket? same coffee bean grind size. am i doing something wrong confused.gif
shaniandras2787
post Feb 16 2023, 01:52 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

anyone here using the Breville BES840?

am planning to replace my 4 year old vanilla DeLonghi ECP 35.31.

0.2445sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:14 PM