Hello everyone, i'm a real noob to coffee, so forgive me in advance.
I've already purchased my grinder WPM-ZD10 and coffee maker Dedica, now I'd like to try my first cuppa. Can anyone recommend some beans from shopee or Lazada? I honestly don't know what I will like in the future but I know I don't like the flat taste of instant coffee.
I will mostly do double shots over latte...
PS. I can't really afford the time to go shopping for beans, but I can easily drop by a nearby Starbucks. I just need 250 to 500g to get me started as I'm about to be given some "Blue Mountain" beans later. Based in Penang Island.
feel free to get in touch on PM or any of our social media platforms (it's all me) if you need me to walk you through the selections
Actually without knowing it I've already been at your shop! Had a pour over. Can't remember how good it was, but certainly not bad. Nice to know you are here too.
Oh no...not bad is not good enough haha. Still, thanks alot for dropping by! Feel free to ask for recommendations from the barista or whoever is there to make sure we can pick one that suits your tastes
Don't worry about that at all, I am a complete noob when it comes to coffee, and that was quite a while ago, pre covid.
Guys, need help I bought a bottomless portafilter on account that it will bring my espresso to a new level...today i tried it for 1 time.
It filled up 18g of fine grind, and with my default Dedica 2x shot, around only 51g of espresso was extracted over roughly 30s. I know the extraction is less.
But I can not see any crema, and the coffee was much more bitter and sour. I am not using very good beans, just some pre ground from the supermarket. But just for testing I make 1 more espresso side by side with the pressurized basket and at least it is with crema and it is less sour / bitter...
also "fresh" beans from supermarket is usually not fresh ah...try buy from cafe or roaster, they brew very differently
Noted. Mine was actually roasted on 20+ sept 2020.
QUOTE(lowkl @ Oct 22 2020, 11:12 AM)
This would be my process:
Determine your dose: Measure, grind and tamp a dose then place a 10 sen coin on the top, then lock in your portafilter. Unlock and examine the puck. Ideally the coin only leaves a tiny imprint. If too much or too little then adjust, redistribute, retamp and try again. This is your dose.
Start with a 2:1 shot (there is no right ratio, but 2:1 is very common). So if your dose is 15g, then extract.until you get 30g output.
Measure the time. 25sec to 35sec should be a good target. If too fast, grind finer and try again. If too long, grind coarser and try again.
If you're using 18g of coffee, try to make it constant while finetuning the grind size until you can get a 2:1 ratio (18g coffee beans to 36g of liquid) under 25-30 seconds (I time it when first drop of expresso hit the cup).
So, basically its a matter of grind size and Tamping (which bro lowkl explained), in order to hit 2:1 ratio at ~30s.
If I tamp too hard, it will take a long long time to extract
If I grind too fine also will take long time to extract
Hi guys, just wanna check back on my bottomless portafilter for my delonghi dedica.
So upon reweighing it still only 15g +/- 1g of I don’t tamp like hell and jam the whole extraction.
And manage to extract the 30g of coffee in 30s.
I can say with the Mr. coffee espresso classic beans, I think it is better a bit than the pressurised basket.
I did have to experiment on the grind settings and tamping levels a bit maybe 4 to 5 shots down the sink.
Now when I try to do a blind test I find it weird here:
With the pressurised basket the double shot basket that Can fit 15g of coffee grind is somehow dialled for 60g of extraction.
And this is also the recommended extraction on the side of the coffee packing. Yet if I follow everybody’s guidelines it is 30g of extraction for the 1:2 ratio.
I mean from logic alone the coffee if not diluted any further should taste different right? Am I comparing fairly or correctly?
I paid rm 705 for the delonghi 35.31. It came with single, double and a pod 51mm pressurized basket however, i do see some 3rd party china no brand basket and bottomless portafilter sell on shopee below rm100 for both. Planning to try it out but budget is not allowing me to buy 🤣. My knowledge of other machine is very limited so i cant help to decide what machine to get but maybe someone else here can suggest that?. My experience with the machine so far is quite okay ish. For 700 i think i get what i paid for. Very small machine, to put on the portafilter also you need to hold on to the machine since very light weight. Super loud machine cant make espresso without waking up the whole house. I would say it can make okay espresso. But not very much of the experience of making the espresso. Hope this helps.
P/s edit actual price was 765, i got some vouchers and got discounted.
I also just bought my dedica not too long ago. If u see properly some non pressurised portafilter complete set is rm50 and below only. I bought one. The hassle is need to grind quite fine. My wpm zd10t need to dial to near minimum. To be honest I think the pressurised portafilter is easier to get tasty coffee for me. And I'm still confused why the default 15g double shot filter produces 60g of coffee, while all the sifu go for 30g. I find the 60g actually a bit nicer if I grind it coarser while for the bottomless filter I have to grind finer a bit, if not its a bit too sour for my taste.
If the brew from your bottomless portafilter tastes sour it's probably underextracted. By increasing the dose of coffee in your bottomless portafilter you should be able to increase the pressure without having to grind too fine. I'm using the same grinder model as you and for my expresso I'm usually around 2 with 17-19g of beans to produce 1:2 ratio in 25-30 seconds.
When you say increase the dose of coffee you mean put more coffee grind and tamp harder to fit in more coffee right?
If you put more coffee into the portafilter it will generate more pressure with more beans packed to each other as pressure will build up when water flows through the beans, so you don't need to tamp harder if your grind setting is fine enough and with the correct dose.
QUOTE(lowkl @ Nov 13 2020, 11:09 AM)
As per honght's post. However please note each filter basket is designed for a particular dose size, give or take a few grams. There is some discussion on whether leaving a small gap between the shower screen and the surface of the puck is good, and if so, how large a gap. However, one thing is for certain: if the puck contacts the shower screen on loading then you probably have too much grounds.
Yes, I found that my basket can only fit in about 15g more or less before tamping, so for me in order to slow down the extraction it is grind finer....right?
what is a cost effective (ie cheapo) way or product for descaling a delonghi dedica? I'm surprised after 1 month of use with filtered water, my warning light is flashing
was about to try white vinegar but the manual states that use of acetic acid (white vinegar) and sulfamic acid (common descaling tablet) will void the warranty. I'm wondering if this is just to sell more of their decalking solution
hmm...if that's so...i think the only option for u is to use back delonghi descaler?
I decide to use the 1 single free pack and set the water hardness to soft. Hopefully the sign won't come back so soon. Then I bought another 2 packs on lazada for rm32....
Is citric acid mentioned as well? It's mentioned in that article, and IMHO it's a much better descaler because it's odourless. You can get food grade citric acid crystals easily from any baking supplies shop or order it online.
Thats not mentioned. I wonder what is the concentration to aim for, any idea?
Hi, i am a coffee noob that loves to drink coffee. Can anyone recommend me an instant coffee brand that has best americano or espresso taste? I like strong but not better and smooth when swallow. Don’t like those sour or burn bitter taste. I prefer instant because I don’t have the patience to use machine. All recommendation is greatly appreciated.
The better instant that I tried will be Robert timms and moccona (direct from EU, not the Thai source). But actually the really nice ones are filtered or bags.