i'm still eagerly waiting for for Fellow Ode Brew user reviews to come out. if that performs well, will probably make high end hand grinders obsolete (unless you're grinding finer though)
Coffee Lover v.2 Thread, Let's Share!
Jul 14 2020, 02:02 PM
1,411 posts Joined: Jun 2009 From: land of burung kenyalang |
i'm still eagerly waiting for for Fellow Ode Brew user reviews to come out. if that performs well, will probably make high end hand grinders obsolete (unless you're grinding finer though)
Jun 4 2021, 05:20 PM
Most people don't know that the actual thing that affects the coffee most, after beans, is the grinder.
I highly recommend to upgrade your grinder |
Jun 8 2021, 02:52 PM
QUOTE(imceobichi @ Jun 7 2021, 08:43 PM) Plastic all the way. Cheaper and harder to break. Even if break, cheap to replaceDepends on your serving and to a point your brewing style. 01 for single or two cups. 02 works for 1 cup too of course, and can be used to serve larger servings too. In the end, guess it depends on your preference, but either would be fine imceobichi liked this post
Jun 8 2021, 07:48 PM
QUOTE(4lt4ir @ Jun 8 2021, 05:48 PM) Ah yeah that's true too. Well pouring closer vs higher has their merits. To each their own I guess. But need to take into account under "skills and recipes"That reminds me. Tried to make a few brews using the W60 using normal V60 method(s) and that dripper is just too tall. The best distance for agitation is too close for the gooseneck kettle, which makes me have to pour a bit higher which just destroys the bed |
Jun 10 2021, 12:39 AM
QUOTE(4lt4ir @ Jun 9 2021, 10:49 PM) To be honest I only bought it to use the ceramic dripper more than the mesh filter. Not a fan of non-paper filters because of how much fines get into the final brew. But maybe one day I'll try it outSome observations from it though : - the mesh filter is soft and probably made of plastic. Reminds me of those mosquito nettings you use, but finer. Most probably won't affect the taste, but will definitely affect longevity - looks like they are finer than metal filters, but not 100% sure on this. If true, the it'll be cleaner than metal filters - the flat bottom dripper won't automatically make it able to brew Kalita filters unfortunately due to it being pretty shallow - the ceramic dripper is massive. Bigger than a 02. So heating it up is a lot harder - the shape of the dipper is interesting to me because like Origami, the paper lies on the lines and doesn't touch the wall, but unlike the Origami, it's like a spiral. The curvy shape of it actually means the lines inside to be higher than standard V60. Could be used to experiment in if water flow affects rate of extraction or drawdown time The only thing that prevents me from using it is my grinder, which is the Kinu. It's a damn great grinder, but as many as said online, the fines can be quite a bit, which I do not want to have in my final brew. If I had a EK43 or even a Comandante or a machine with SSP Unimodal, then I'd be more confident in trying it out 4lt4ir liked this post
Jun 11 2021, 12:59 AM
Was hoping he'd give a glowing review but it was overall better than average for the price. Guess this won't make the grinder even more in demand as it is now I guess, which is probably for the best
This post has been edited by graphidz: Jun 11 2021, 01:05 AM |
Jun 11 2021, 07:46 AM
QUOTE(4lt4ir @ Jun 11 2021, 01:57 AM) Thanks for sharing your thoughts on the W60. Based on that, I'll skip it for now. Don't really think I need another brew device. Anyway, regarding the Kinu, I'd have thought that a Kinu would produce less fines than your typical run of the mill hand grinder. Which model do you have, the Classic? The Classic of course Because of how heavy it is, grinding on lighter grinder feels so much easier lol. Also, Kinu changed their packaging game to make it a bit more premium. Now comes with a soft-hard traveling case instead of just a cardboard box.In terms of grinding though, the consistency is amazing I'd say. Can't say if it's less fine than other grinders since this is the only grinder I have for comparison, but grinding denser beans at coarse setting really do look like it has high consistency. But with any grinders, fines will always be produced, the tiny, powdery fines that is. I'll show a comparison sooner or later I guess 4lt4ir liked this post
Jun 11 2021, 07:44 PM
If it's bitter, then why not extract less? Alternatively why not grind coarser instead?
Jun 14 2021, 10:30 AM
To each their own I guess? I'd rather take something more hassle but confirm can tahan some abuse than something that's cheaply made.
I'm no hardcore environmentalist, but if the machine broke down not repairable within a few months, that's a total waste and not environmentally friendly |
Jun 14 2021, 01:12 PM
QUOTE(kmleegwct @ Jun 14 2021, 11:19 AM) My guess are you are referring to Milesto. You may be correct. There is not much information regarding these machine. Could Lowyat forumers please help to provide more info. You could probably get more information from underground coffee forum or some Chinese forums though |
Jun 25 2021, 12:21 AM
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « When I saw a review of this I thought, "it's that simple?". But it does seem like a really cheap way to get into espresso. It's not as hands on as something like the Robot or Flair, but for something more "automated" and easier repeatability, this could be it. And the idea of a separate pressure reservoir or some sort is something that I wonder why it doesn't exist until now. Hopefully it'll be doable. Is there a variable pressure electric pump? |
| Change to: | 0.1430sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:20 PM |