Coffee Lover v.2 Thread, Let's Share!

Jason
post Jan 31 2021, 11:59 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Jan 20 2021, 05:24 PM)
I am not the most experienced but I have researched a lot in the recent 1 year for my Flair replacement - including the two models you mentioned. I ended up with a Lelit Mara X.

You can do some additional research, but basically with or without PID, both Profitec Pro 500 and Appartamento are still single boiler HX machines. In 2021, it's quite hard to recommend a traditional HX machine regardless the PID because you still need to do flushes to surf the temperature. The PP500 is good at stabilizing the boiler temperature, but not the group head temperature which is more important.

The Appartamento does look fantastic, but it is so outdated and IMO not really worth it if this is your second machine, there are better choices out there.

I ended up going with the Lelit Mara X - which is a single boiler HX machine as well, but it has a very unique innovation where in the brew priority mode, it doesn't operate like a traditional HX. The dual PID and smart controller actually stabilizes the Group Head temp very accurately down to 1 degree C. You can read more about Mara X, but this points out the advantage over the PP500 very well: https://www.reddit.com/r/espresso/comments/...nd_the/g4bckw9/

The price is around the same as Appartamento as well.

Mara X aside, I recommend the following machines.
1. Lelit Elizabeth (Dual boiler at around RM7000. Throws PP 500 and Appartmento in the dust. I didnt't get it because my counter space is too small and I prefer the E61 look of Mara X more)
2. Breville Dual Boiler (The very underrated one, it can do pressure profiling and all for a very good price. Again, space is an issue for me, and I don't like breville's aesthetics and parts longevity)
3. Crem One 2B Dual

DaveC from the UK have very detailed reviews for Mara X, Elizabeth and Crem One at his website: https://coffeeequipmentreviews.wordpress.com (but his Crem One is the top of the line version).
I believe you've done a lot of research prior to putting your money down.

Assuming you have no space limitation, didn't care about look, objectively, is it accurate to say there's no contest between Mara X & Elizabeth, with the DB coming up top? Basically in terms of use, it seems that due to the inherit nature of DB, it is faster to heat up, more consistent -- Mara X with the control addresses this but your later post mentioned that if you pull a lot of consecutive shots you'll need to let it cool down?

I've studied the LCC, and seems like the Profitec 300 & 500 is no contest for the Lelit Elizabeth.

My requirements are consistent, fuss free, 1 to 2 cups of espresso everyday, and maybe a cappuccino every other day. Strictly home use. Due to my low use it seems Mara X would also fit my bill, but would like to hear your view -- and see if it validates my finding.

And I agree with you, looks wise Mara X wins by far. So far. hahaha. But I care more about convenience and consistency over looks. No flushing, low maintenance and fuss free more important. Before I take my coffee I'm blur and easily aggravated.

QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Jan 30 2021, 10:48 PM)
Hi Veterans

any recommendations for a cheap espresso machine?
wonder if it's realistic if budget is 300 to 600 700...

right now I am doing v60 filter brewing. hahah

thxthxthx
Nespresso. You said cheap right? Pros: Consistent, convenient, fast as hell -- no Espresso machine can match it from the time you turn on the power, save electricity too. Cons: costly pod, coffee is just so so, it will never be great. BUT if you're not drinking straight espresso, not making milk based drink, and making all those pattern-pattern drink, add sugar, add syrup etc. then it is fine. I have to say, espresso con panna with the right dark roast pod.. is very drinkable.

Any milk based drink with it is... utter rubbish. other than iced latte LOL. straight up espresso....its just not good.

This post has been edited by Jason: Jan 31 2021, 12:05 PM
Jason
post Jan 31 2021, 05:46 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Jan 31 2021, 02:18 PM)
Yes you're right, assuming space is not an issue and I am okay with the look, Elizabeth wins hands down with some small caveat:
1. No flow profiling kit as future upgrade since that's only applicable for E61. Not an issue for most people
2. SOME said that Mara X has slightly better build quality, but I can't confirm. It might just be a false impression because the E61 giant group head might make you feel it's better quality
3. Mara X has both Steam and Brew pressure manometer, both are analog and I love it. Elizabeth only has the brew pressure manometer. Not a deal breaker for most.

For Mara X, there's an ideal time window between shots so that the temp is well maintain. Based on my testing, it's between 1-3 minutes.

For example, your temp setting is 93-94C. Once you exceed the 3 minutes *after the first shot*, it will slowly go up to 95 C (almost 1C per minute). So if you manage workflow to pull the second shot within 3 minutes, there's no need to wait. After 3 minutes, either you wait for another 15 minutes, OR you can flush some water to cool it down. After all, it's still an HX. For my usage, I pull max 2 shots back to back. So the 3 minutes window is perfectly fine for me.

It is close to a month now and I will still get a Mara X if I am offered a choice. But in the future if I move to a bigger house, I am definitely considering a dual boiler.

That said, Mara X being a E61 machine definitely requires more fiddling and maintenance. Lubing the lever cam is a must after chemical backflush. For a 100% peace of mind, non-E61 is better. I like tweaking stuff so I went with the tougher route!
TQVM for sharing. Your insight makes it clear that the Mara X is not the machine for me. Now is a question of stock availability.
Moving on, any insights on grinders?

I'm looking at the Eureka Mignon Silenzio vs Specialita. I don't really care much about the display. The only thing is, I am unsure if I will be single dosing, or put in the amount of beans for the day -- e.g. 3 servings worth of beans into the hopper. Assuming its single dosing I think it doesn't make any difference since we can ignore the grind time.

If I drop the beans of the day in, then the screen will make it easier to dial in, but once dialed in, you won't mess with it.. so the way I look at it, the Specialita makes it easier to set things up relative to the Silenzio. But after its dialed in, there's practically no difference between the two right? How hard is it to dial in without a screen?

I am aware of the 55mm burrs vs the 50mm burrs, my assumption is that it won't make that big a difference in the cup, but feel free to share any insights.

QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Jan 31 2021, 02:48 PM)
oh. hmmm. how does those off brands like BSBoss/Donlim on shopee do?
Abit not keen on nespresso cause I want to learn how to do it haha. and Tuning it maybe is part of the fun.

thinking.about moka pot as well, but that I think is not espresso pressure. hmmm
What you want to drink? Espresso? Pour over? French press? Espresso you'll need to factor in the grinder as well, and the manual hand grinder is the cheapest consistent result you'll get. I think the whole setup it'll easily exceed your budget. Which is why I suggested Nespresso, I think during sales, the faux espresso machine and the milk forther combo is around RM599 before using any vouchers on top of that.

Nespresso is very cheap to start, high recurring cost.

Jason
post Jan 31 2021, 09:54 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Jan 31 2021, 07:57 PM)
Thinking to head closer to espresso land.
Yea i like coffee, haha. I scout around for good local type coffees from kopitiams around and mark them. And if im at home i just do a pour over through filter. But it's still off taste sometimes(mostly tend to get sour when i did it wrong). Still learning. Possibly due to many factors but definitely my cheap cheap hand grinder that spits out inconsistent grind size is a factor as well. =P

Nespresso is having a high recurring cost hence it feels kinda  mega_shok.gif
Maybe a good compromise would be an Ikea Moka Pot + grinder update, while saving up for a 1k+ espresso machine?
Moka gotta be stove top, so if you’re ok with the work and effort. Sure you will get good results. Doesn’t need to be IKEA. The design is simple. Decent affordable one will work.

Another popular one is aeropress.

Coffee can be an expensive hobby — for enthusiasts. Which is why Nespresso sells more.. for consumers. I’m a fussy consumer so Nespresso isn’t cutting it for me. I don’t mind the high recurring costs, but it’s not up to my mark. Thanks to more and more people entering this hobby, more and more relatively affordable prosumer equipment is available.

Honestly it’s not bad, Nespresso is better than some catering coffee or hotel coffee.

You should go to their showroom to try the coffee yourself and see if it’s up to your mark.
Jason
post Feb 2 2021, 03:56 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(lowkl @ Nov 25 2020, 03:33 PM)
Ive been using a Flair (Classic) for a couple of years now; extremely happy with it. For the home environment, it's very hard to find any shortcoming in terms of the espresso it produces... shoots well above its class. True pressure-derived espresso, crema and all. However, just as with any true espresso, grind quality is critical, so you will need a proper espresso grinder to pair with it. A manual steel burr grinder like 1ZPresso, LingLong ACE48, Commandante (preferably with Red Clix), Kinu and the like.

The Pros are very capable devices and I've never heard anyone regretting their decision in getting this model compared to the others; however, if you are really tight on the budget, the Classic and Signature do not compromise on the quality of the espresso; only on quantity (20-30% smaller maximum shot size).

I also have a Cafflano Kompresso; interesting coffee but not in the same ballpark as the Flair.

As for the milk part, there's using a French Press. Quite a few YouTubes out there showing that the texture is good enough even for latte art (if that's what you are after). Alternatively, you can spring for a Nanofoamer when it comes out.
I've been reading back on posts. A Lelit Elizabeth DB will cost RM6.5k.. whereas the Flair can range from RM700 for the Neo towards RM1.3k for the Pro2. Assuming if I only drink ice latte and espresso/americano, this Flair seems to be very viable for me. I am especially intrigued based on your satisfaction on the coffee.

I do intend on splurging for a good grinder, probably the Eureka Mignon Silenzio -- that being said is there only 1 place to buy it? Or you guys got any lubang.
Jason
post Feb 2 2021, 03:14 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Feb 2 2021, 01:51 PM)
the flair is very good... for a bit more funky look you have the cafelat robot

the elizabeth, i cant get past the silvia lookalike to be interested...
I feel the Robot looks more retro, Flair the complete opposite, more futuristic looking, especially white with the copper sleeve.

QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Feb 2 2021, 02:04 PM)
I will be ordering the Cafelat Robot from HK soon .... biggrin.gif
Hope to hear your updates. I used to travel to HK 4 times a month, minimum.
Jason
post Mar 1 2024, 05:07 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(ryanlow134 @ Mar 1 2024, 10:24 AM)
How have I not see this thread before. Hello! I only recently started making coffee at home, I have a Gemilai CRM3605 and a Fellow Opus Grinder at home. Recently I'm having issue with getting my puck pressure up to 9bar, water starts flowing around 4 or 5 bar only. Making my grinds finer causes even faster flow. Any sifu here got any idea why?
How old/fresh are your beans? If the grind size is right and the beans are fresh, it's likely the pump, OPV or water lines (scale). Go by elimination.

Holy thread revival by you. lol.
One of my fav gear for coffee.. is this double walled glass. Keeps the beverage hotter longer, but not hot to hold.
Jason
post Mar 1 2024, 05:15 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(ryanlow134 @ Mar 1 2024, 05:11 PM)
Complete noob here but what's an OPV?

My double walled glass too small, I need to get a bigger one. Recently tried making iced americano but substitute the plain water with Schweppes Ginger Ale, good stuffs
https://www.espresso.co.nz/frequently-asked...pressure-valve/

More reasons to buy more glasses! I got glasses from espresso and all the way up to 750ml thermos for on the go. Just ordered a smaller French press yesterday. Just finding more excuses to buy more gear lol.
Jason
post Feb 13 2025, 11:36 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(chewlf @ Nov 5 2024, 08:29 PM)
Hi, anyone know if we buy coffee machine from taobao, will it impose any import tax if ship to Malaysia?
No if you use direct ship option. But take note it will be China plug unless you ask seller to change..

wow LYN so dead these days sad.

0.2702sec    0.86    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 01:58 PM