Coffee Lover v.2 Thread, Let's Share!
4lt4ir
Jan 22 2020, 05:27 PM
QUOTE(Cloud2322 @ Jan 22 2020, 04:04 PM) I think VCR is overrated.. Check out the hub if you're really into filter coffees, they have at least 30 beans selection in their cafe and they do customize beans as well. I didn't know The Hub does 'customize beans'? More details, if you please.
4lt4ir
Jan 23 2020, 04:57 PM
QUOTE(siles1991 @ Jan 23 2020, 04:20 PM) Hi, does anyone know where I can find a place that sells beans or grinds in like small quantities. The kinds where you can like test different types of coffee without comitting to an entire bag. I'm just starting out, so I want to try diff types of coffee out there. Blaq coffee subscription at Bean Shipper. Smallest size for packs is 150g, IIRC.
4lt4ir
Jan 29 2020, 01:43 PM
QUOTE(xFreedomBoix @ Jan 29 2020, 12:11 PM) Bought it from taobao china. Had a friend carry over for me. You can try shipping directly from taobao, but the decanter is made of glass. A fun little device. Makes great nonbitter and fruity coffee with hint of fermentation note. Quite unique and imo can't be replicated by cold brew. Is it this one? https://www.espressogear.com/products/timem...ice-dripper-set
4lt4ir
Jan 29 2020, 08:11 PM
QUOTE(xFreedomBoix @ Jan 29 2020, 05:31 PM) Yes this model. Very simple to use and looks really nice imo. Thanks. Mind sharing your recipe with this ice dripper?
4lt4ir
Jan 29 2020, 09:59 PM
QUOTE(xFreedomBoix @ Jan 29 2020, 09:35 PM) Im using 210g ice cold water (from water dispenser) and 150g ice cubes. One paper filter at the bottom + 30g of grounded coffee (slightly coarser than v60) and a paper filter ontop the grind. Water speed let it run fast for awhile to wetten the coffee bed and then let it run at 5-6 droplets per 10 seconds. Extraction should take around 4-5 hours. Nice! Thanks
4lt4ir
Feb 4 2020, 10:32 PM
QUOTE(bergstein @ Feb 4 2020, 02:08 PM) Is it mineral deposit? Some say vinegar works, 50% vinegar + 50% water, soak for 30 minutes, then try clean again For maintenance, after each brewing, wipe and dry the moka pot. Learned my lesson for not wiping them dry, end up showing those spot too. But mine not as serious as yours. Can try baking soda too
4lt4ir
Mar 10 2020, 11:35 PM
QUOTE(zryanz @ Mar 10 2020, 06:23 PM) Hi Guys, new member here, since we are on the topic of Grinder cleaning, where do you guys usually buy your grinder cleaning pellets?i tried to search on shopee/lazada, but they dont seem to carry these things https://pppcoffee.com.my/collections/brew/Espresso-CleanersHope this helps.
4lt4ir
Apr 7 2020, 04:44 PM
QUOTE(ycs @ Apr 7 2020, 02:56 PM) wonder how much he can charge per cup?  I know a few people who have done this sort of thing (espresso machine in back of a Kancil or other small car). Have to admire their passion.
4lt4ir
Apr 8 2020, 05:04 PM
QUOTE(pierreye @ Apr 8 2020, 03:40 PM) It's here. First time set the grind at 16 and it choke during extraction. Second try set at 19 and still a little bit too fine. Will try again tomorrow at 20 and hopefully I could extract 23g in 46g out around 30-35 seconds. The second shot I used it for Australian ice coffee. From workflow perspective, definitely simpler for single dosing. Also compare to old Macap M4, the grind have no clumping even though I didn't RDT. Just weight, grind and flip the cup over the portafilter and give it a few tap. Then use distribution tool and tamp. I'll compare the taste after few days later. So far no channeling and no pin hole on the puck. May I know which Gemilai machine you're using and your thoughts on it?
4lt4ir
Apr 16 2020, 08:27 PM
QUOTE(air @ Apr 15 2020, 11:02 PM) I am using KG89 too, there is a mod/hack to turn your KG89 into Espresso-grind grade entry grinder... youtube got demo... Is this the mod with the added shim?
4lt4ir
May 16 2020, 10:25 PM
Hi all. Anyone have a spare handle for the Hario Mini Mill grinder that they're willing to part with? I lost mine. I think my 2 year old threw it into the rubbish bin without me realising  PM me with offers.
4lt4ir
May 17 2020, 06:12 PM
QUOTE(4lt4ir @ May 16 2020, 10:25 PM) Hi all. Anyone have a spare handle for the Hario Mini Mill grinder that they're willing to part with? I lost mine. I think my 2 year old threw it into the rubbish bin without me realising  PM me with offers. Anyone?
4lt4ir
May 18 2020, 09:49 PM
Can anyone help me buy a 1zpresso hand grinder from Taobao?
4lt4ir
May 19 2020, 09:02 PM
QUOTE(layzieboy @ May 19 2020, 01:36 PM) They are on shopee too. That's another option. Thanks for the info. I looked but price seems to be way higher? On shopee the Q2 is RM580. On Taobao after conversion it's around RM400 IIRC.
4lt4ir
May 20 2020, 05:19 PM
QUOTE(akay877 @ May 20 2020, 08:54 AM) Unlucky for me cause i set the address to my in law, they didn't notice it at first because of the outer plastic layer. I would be quite upset if I bought an Oscar and received it in such a state.
4lt4ir
May 20 2020, 09:14 PM
QUOTE(akay877 @ May 20 2020, 05:37 PM) Quite upset at first, i thought of going to poslaju before ymeng point it out. But dankoff did a prompt reply and their rep already pick up the machine and going to replace it. Quite a feat considering i'm way down in johor. Thanx Guys, luckily still got my old machine. Need my caff fix Ah, ok. Good to know you got it sorted out then. Kudos to Dankoff's after sales service too.
4lt4ir
May 26 2020, 11:04 PM
QUOTE(ammarsweil @ May 26 2020, 02:49 PM) Thank you. After a lot of reading here & on reddit, I end up ordering the 600n & 1zpresso jx. They said in term of grind quality, jx are much better than encore, and the 600n is good enough for my dad(also when I'm super lazy or have cheap beans). Plus I ask PPPcoffee, they said Encore might be back in stock early June, but they can't promise it. There are quite a few post on reddit mentioning issue when it come to grinding light roast bean with the encore. can you confirm this? Most of the bean I bought is light roast. I dunno, I hope i make a correct decision lol May I know where you ordered the JX & 600n from and for how much? TIA.
4lt4ir
May 27 2020, 12:12 AM
QUOTE(ammarsweil @ May 26 2020, 11:48 PM) I ordered jx from their website 1zpresso.co @ $129dollar including fedex shipping. It go out of stock rather quickly though, but should be back in stock every monday 600n is from AliExpress. Xeoleo 600n @ RM280 sumting2, i forgot lol. Shipping by dhl included. So hopefully don't have to wait for a month to arrive. Great! Thanks for the info. I didn't know 1zpresso has their own website. Enjoy your new toys
4lt4ir
May 27 2020, 04:14 PM
QUOTE(alvinfks78 @ May 27 2020, 11:06 AM) using encore for bout i think 4 years plus for filter only. problem with light roast bean the Burr holder Flange breaks more often and you need to replace the burr holder. Did you buy yours from Pulp? How much was its price 4 years ago?
4lt4ir
May 28 2020, 02:12 PM
QUOTE(ammarsweil @ May 28 2020, 12:52 PM) Just received my JX just now. They delivered it on monday via fedex. If you are planning to buy 1zpresso, definitely recommend it to buy directly from their website. Damn the JX has a heft to it. It feel solid as hell. The grind is milesssss better than my hario slim (rip buddy) and it take way less time. Nice! That was super fast delivery. How easy/difficult is it to clean?