Tikietic
post May 22 2020, 08:58 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ May 22 2020, 08:39 PM)
actually if the 156 is upgraded and similar to the 155...is a sbdu pump machine

the top is the steam knob
Top is steam knob?... U sure bo?
Where do you pour water in then? There is a side knob also.. that's the steam activation knob.. eh, Pierreye mentioned a 35C rated ULKA.. I supposed +40C is already on the high side.. 25C, 35C... This is not even hot bath level right?
Tikietic
post May 22 2020, 09:03 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ May 22 2020, 08:43 PM)
This the one. I remember can get cheaper from other seller. I just weighted around 411g.

That's a decent weight portafilter there.. a full dual spout filter should go half kilo easily?

How about the original portafilter that comes with the machine? How much does it weight?

Tikietic
post May 22 2020, 10:35 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(sunami @ May 22 2020, 06:35 PM)
thanks bro...
any suggestion? my budget max 1k...
btw..how do we know it's using steam or?
On second thought.. coffee is also a sort of a journey, the process of discovering and learning can be very valuable.. for RM1K, here are examples you may want to consider:

Gemilai.. since a few forumers here use this brand.
This model is cheaper than the 3605..

Electric burr grinder.. a good pair to the Gemilai as it's not too sensitive for fine grinding.

Total price is below RM1K.
Good add-ons to consider.. a milk pitcher and a thermometer(bare minimum)

Caveat: I don't own, sell or use any of the above-mentioned equipments. Shopee is just my casual reference here, feel free to source elsewhere.

This post has been edited by Tikietic: May 22 2020, 10:36 PM
Tikietic
post May 23 2020, 12:33 PM

339 posts

dwRK sunami
First of all, it was my oversight to assumed the taobao pic was a steam-powered machine, on revisit, it was a delonghi.. my apologies for the unwarranted assumption.. no wonder dwRK kept pointing out 155 and 156..

Steam powered machine:

Now.. the "knob" thingy is very obvious right?.. the delonghi is not a steam-powered machine.
Tikietic
post May 30 2020, 09:35 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(joshua_chin @ May 30 2020, 11:18 AM)
I was considering Chestnut C slim. The difference between Chestnut C and slim is the 1 piece cast body for slim right? I am thinking to buy from taobao instead of local as the price difference a lot.

Anyone use this espresso machine before?

https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?id=573741...d=3915771159346
Will this be your first espresso machine?
Tikietic
post May 30 2020, 09:53 PM

339 posts

Got something new.. Arabica from Bali Kintamani.
Previously heard of robusta production from that place.. This is RM22 per 250g
Not really Roast-on-Demand.. Try dulu ba
Tikietic
post May 31 2020, 01:18 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(joshua_chin @ May 30 2020, 09:54 PM)
I am  considering this......
What do you like about this machine?
Tikietic
post May 31 2020, 04:46 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(joshua_chin @ May 31 2020, 02:55 PM)
Just want a machine to learn to make espresso at home. I am newbie to coffee tasting and I see that espresso can extract the oil from the bean effectively. I am on keto diet so fat is good for me and I will be using whipping cream as milk replacement. All the while I am drinking from french press. Is this machine ok for beginner?
So long as you manage your expectations accordingly.. There's isn't much you can expect from such machine.. You may get one which consistently gives a lower temperature extraction, hence the espresso is always towards sourish.. Or may get one that consistently have too high temperature and hence provides a bitter experience.. Stable and consistent temperature are hard to come by in such appliances due to its lower cost(small heating element, material used; e.g thin stainless steel vs solid brass)

We went through using similar machine before.. it was fun for the journey.. looking back, perhaps can keep the machine for milk tea.. pressurized and a deep/portafilter.. make sense for a quick Chatramue..

Tikietic
post May 31 2020, 04:58 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(sunami @ May 31 2020, 01:32 PM)
Hi..I just received my 3605....I tried alot of time...seems like can't get 9bar...max is 3...
And the ground is very fine...is the finest setting...
What did I do wrong?
Should I buy a pressurised portafilter?
Any advise sifu!
From the look of it... Most likely is your grinder isn't doing well enough for espresso..
Without changing anything, you can try this experiment to see if the grinder is the issue:
Double or triple grind your coffee.. at the finest setting after the 1st grind, pour all at once the coffee back into the grinder and grind again.. pour it "all at once".. then put the second grind results into the portafilter and extract..

If it improves, then your grinder needs modification..

Going the pressurized portafilter way is like taking many steps backwards instead of forward.. As you don't need to spend such money on the 3605 just to do pressurized.. a way cheaper machine can achieve it.

Note:
you may refer to james hoffman for the explanation.. since you may not have a spare good grinder as a benchmark, and you don't have the means to mod the grinder at the moment and assuming your tamping skill is acceptable.. this is a good experiment to validate the grinder.. you may think is it very fine, you'd be surprized it may not be fine enough.

This post has been edited by Tikietic: May 31 2020, 05:16 PM
Tikietic
post May 31 2020, 10:12 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(sunami @ May 31 2020, 08:29 PM)
thanks for the advise...
yes..i found out is that grinder is not grinding beans fine enough...did some mod and now it works well...
just need to adjust the setting level for the best result..
sorry...noob here..first time trying all these...haha
What grinder did you get?
Tikietic
post Jun 1 2020, 11:21 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(sunami @ Jun 1 2020, 09:33 AM)
yeah..i need to mod abit so that it grind finer...
my last try hit 15 bar..lol...but now out of beans...
need to stock up then continue to try the right amount and grind level..
Glad it worked out for you in the end.. for trying out new machine/grinder, maybe you may want to get a small bag of inexpensive coffee beans e.g Ikea or some supermarket beans to practice the grind, tamp and extraction..

Taste wise... Jangan harap la.. lol
Tikietic
post Jun 1 2020, 01:05 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(sunami @ Jun 1 2020, 12:27 PM)
btw...where do you source the roasted beans?
any local roaster bean worth to try that you can recommend me?
thanks  notworthy.gif
We sourced our beans from anywhere in the world and locally as well.. like the Bali Kintamani beans were from a roaster in Indonesia.

If the pairing of espresso machine and grinder is good.. it's worthwhile to taste the many varieties of roasted beans from the different countries..

But if the machine/grinder combo is not up to par.. spending good money on expensive beans is on the waste side.. how do you know? Compare your results with the ones from reputable cafe or coffee expo or purveyors(e.g dankoff, coffex, puro, etc.. they do provide samples upon request)

This post has been edited by Tikietic: Jun 1 2020, 01:07 PM
Tikietic
post Jun 1 2020, 08:23 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(sunami @ Jun 1 2020, 02:51 PM)
just curious..you are into coffee business or just your hobby?
for me..i just wanan drink coffee...hahaha
Just like you.. a consumer.
On retrospect.. things are seldom free on taobao.. price are factored in for those so called "free" items..
Tikietic
post Jun 3 2020, 01:51 AM

339 posts

Why pay RM35(200g) for a Brazil Santos when there are similar Santos with 70+ score ratings going for RM22(250g)..

In fact, for filter coffee drinker.. you may even opt for Ethiopia Keffa Bonga G1 for RM30(250g) and it's a 80+ score rating beans..

Am not the seller by the way.. Just spotted it being offered now.
Tikietic
post Jun 6 2020, 08:04 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Jun 5 2020, 09:20 AM)
cant find much review on timemore grinder,
I am thinking to get either
1zpresso K-plus (about 700-800 from taobao)
or get a timemore cheaper grinder but with decent quality and upgrade later
or a comandante c40 mk3

Anyone has any idea on it?
I don't know much about hand grinder but for 700-800.. why wouldn't you consider an electric burr grinder?
Tikietic
post Jun 6 2020, 08:07 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(skystrike @ Jun 6 2020, 12:10 PM)
Is daiso dripper is good enough for beginner like me?
If it doesn't cost you much.. it's good to try it out so that you'll gain an important experience and able to properly advise others in the future..
Tikietic
post Jun 8 2020, 11:36 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(joshua_chin @ Jun 7 2020, 11:19 PM)
Hi guys, I would like to let go my Staresso SP-200 (bought it on 6th June 2020 and only used for once). The reason is that I felt brain fog after taking the espresso.Do PM me if you are interested to buy it. Thanks. smile.gif
Let me guess... You tried the espresso using the "free beans" from the seller and you use your regular beans on your french press.. am I right?
Tikietic
post Jun 10 2020, 10:27 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(joshua_chin @ Jun 9 2020, 03:34 PM)
yes, will that make a diffeence?
lol... of course there is a difference.. the catch-phrase "free".. have to be careful.
try an experiment before you simply blame the equipment.. use your regular beans that you have and try it on the espresso..

you'd likely won't get brain fog from it..
i'll explain later, if you(or nobody else) catch it yet..

Tikietic
post Jun 15 2020, 09:44 PM

339 posts

Grinder..
60mm flat burr(titanium alloy), volumetric and manual grind.. approx RM950(include shipping to M'sia).. yes, this is import from China.

This post has been edited by Tikietic: Jun 15 2020, 09:48 PM
Tikietic
post Jul 12 2020, 02:38 PM

339 posts

That's why I reckoned comparing the appartamento with the WPM KD410.. dual boiler(with a thermoblock for additional temp stability), vibe pump, PID.. just doesn't come with an e61 head and the pricing is... Good; relative to the rocket.

Of course, market segment may differ ba..

9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0307sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 07:45 AM