-small room - walk in closet with approx 20ft size, no doors
-living room - tv cabinet, wall panel/mirror
-kitchen - wet and dry kitchen
-hallway from entrance, cabinet/divider
JC999
post Apr 22 2016, 11:21 PM

658 posts

isnt concrete carcass as kitchen cabinet for wet kitchen the best choice? I heard chipboard melamine only last 3-5 years? isit true?
JC999
post Apr 25 2016, 10:03 PM

658 posts

QUOTE(Feifeikon @ Apr 25 2016, 11:12 AM)
For price sure yes , and depend how do you use the cabinet ,  hmm.gif
example :one of my customer like splash water to wet kitchen door he said oily wan wash blink.gif
              2 week GAO DIM bye.gif 
and some of my customer can lasting around  10 year . flex.gif
whats material you prefer for you wet kitchen ?
Not sure what material, if concrete same price with chipboard of course take concrete.
JC999
post Apr 26 2016, 10:55 PM

658 posts

QUOTE(Feifeikon @ Apr 26 2016, 05:04 PM)
concrete table normally contractor cost 1 foot run rm 300 - rm 350 depend whats tile you wanted
if 10 feet concrete table contractor will charge you 13 feet x rm 300 = rm 3900 only table .
if chipboard top with carcase cost 1 foot run rm 220 - rm 300 depend factory or showroom .
If 10 feet chipboard top with carcase 10 feet x 220 = rm 2200
you wan make kitchen cabinet for your own or wan lend house to people ?  hmm.gif
Make for my own le.. but my contractor told me concrete abt same price as chipboard/melamine wor..
JC999
post Apr 30 2016, 02:03 PM

658 posts

QUOTE(Feifeikon @ Apr 30 2016, 12:30 AM)
how much contractor cost the concrete table ?
He told me 10 feet top n bottom exclude tiles at 2k
JC999
post May 5 2016, 03:12 PM

658 posts

QUOTE(Feifeikon @ May 5 2016, 02:42 PM)
How much with tiles he charge you ?
and wan add door infront of the concrete table .
Door we didnt talk about, but I assume it has doors, cuz its suppose to be a kitchen cabinet.

Tiles he say I can buy outside for him or he can go buy for me
JC999
post May 14 2016, 01:49 PM

658 posts

QUOTE(Feifeikon @ May 14 2016, 01:02 PM)
Many people plan to choose tiles for their countertop, but most people do not realize that concrete is porous. In fact, more porous than Swiss cheese! The pores constitute 12 to 18% of the concrete but the pores are invisible, much smaller that human hair. After concrete is poured, almost a half of the water has to evaporate. As this surplus water pushes to the surface, it leaves behind a network of capillaries (pores) inside the concrete.

The pores are much larger than water molecules. Water vapor or gases flow easily right through, drawn in by the lower pressure inside buildings. But liquid water is initially held back by its surface tension, as the glob of water gets stuck inside the microscopic dry pore. However, as water enlarges the pores or they get wet by condensation, water starts seeping in. And eventually, the pores start actively pulling in water by capillary action.

Concrete blocks, particularly cinder blocks, are more permeable to water vapor than poured concrete. They all start as impermeable to liquid water but, when exposed to water, their porosity increases and they start seeping water.

2 to 3 years later, if you are using 2x2 tiles, the problem above may occur.
You can choose smaller tiles to avoid this problem. Anyway, granite still will be the best choice for now.
you mean best is to put granite on top of concrete? or go with melamine body?
JC999
post May 21 2016, 09:35 PM

658 posts

QUOTE(Feifeikon @ May 18 2016, 11:38 PM)
put tiles better ,since you have decide to put concrete table ,
concrete table put granite on top will be wasted granite bro .  icon_idea.gif
Ic.. so the body I will still remain to use melamine + concrete
JC999
post Apr 7 2024, 07:53 AM

658 posts

QUOTE(Feifeikon @ Mar 16 2024, 11:39 AM)
melamine kitchen cabinet in the market handless design include installation & transport
Rm 400 to Rm 600 , quartz stone Rm 200 to Rm 300 exclude opening hole for sink and hob
nowadays almost Rm 750 per ft run .
market competitive some of the company strategy all exclude
mean per ft run only Rm 250 let u feel cheap
then
exclude installation , transportation , hinges , landing board ,
design fees , handle , colour limited can choose 2 or 3 colour if change colour extra top up money ,
sekiting , etc etc .
tambah here tambah there same  biggrin.gif
What's a reasonable cost for carpentry work then for the whole house in terms of per foot run if I were to estimate ? Say using relatively good material?
JC999
post Apr 26 2024, 03:45 PM

658 posts

QUOTE(Feifeikon @ Apr 26 2024, 12:12 PM)
If good material like spray paint or 5G door
easy way to estimate
you can base on Rm 1100 per foot to do the calculate can get the estimate cost .
market normally quote entrance price per foot
have to quote delivery , transport or design fees
hinges , accessories etc etc
Wow that's high, I thought 1k per foot is for kitchen only. How about living, bedroom, etc?
JC999
post Dec 5 2024, 12:23 AM

658 posts

QUOTE(remix10 @ Dec 5 2024, 12:18 AM)
hi there, recently engaged a one stop design + reno firm and got a quotation that went above my budget (and they are not really budging on the price unfortunately)
just wanted to do a sanity check by just taking one item out of the quote to see if it's above market rate cause this is my first time doing a house reno

shoe cabinet: melamine finish, swing doors with soft closing hinges, measurements: 2700mm (W) x 600mm (D) x 850mm (H)
cost: RM9,500 inclusive of design, production and installation

would be super helpful if there's any sifus here that can advice if this pricing is reasonable?

thanks! smile.gif
That's a very expensive shoe cabinet, any pictures

JC999
post Apr 18 2025, 04:17 PM

658 posts

May I know if anyone has any contact for direct factory kitchen cabinet? I'm looking to re do my existing kitchen, standard built will do meant for rental nothing fancy

If anyone can recommend a good one and reasonable price would be great

0.0419sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:13 PM