Quotation VS Interior Design, You ask we answer

GravityFi3ld
post Sep 13 2022, 04:05 PM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
911 posts

Hi feifeikon , appreciate if you could share roughly what's the going rate PSF for ID works in the Klang Valley these days for a landed terrace, would RM 150PSF suffice?

We did note the shortage of foreign workers and their hike in labour wages. Our aging local "sifus" is also another problem, we know an electrician and a plumber who are local sifus (like legit over 60 y.o.) but their workers were all myanmar/pakistani who have left the country since MCO and the sifus today can't cope/keep up with the workload.

Is it compulsory to have an Architect come up with the renovation drawings for an MBPJ council approval, are there other ways to go around this? We're looking at an double-storey terrace (land area 22x75), works for
(1) rear extension for upper(first) flr (merge 2 rooms into 1)
(2) relocation of bath rooms at both Ground and First Floor
(3) extension of main bedroom (to extend above current living room which is a void area)
(4) pretty much remove entire existing porch (half grass/half interlocking bricks) to extend living/foyer area, and re-do porch to be fully-tiled.

Due to a variety of structural changes, we anticipate there will be need for new/extended beams, foundation support (pillars?) and a lot of new piping works involved. rclxub.gif

We estimate the current build-up area 1,550SF.
We estimate the proposed build-up area 1,750SF.
Would RM 150PSF suffice in today's environment?

At Appreciate your thoughts and feedback thumbsup.gif
GravityFi3ld
post Sep 15 2022, 01:49 PM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
911 posts

QUOTE(Feifeikon @ Sep 15 2022, 12:12 PM)
do you mean extension price or ID design fees ?
Just for the extension works.
GravityFi3ld
post Oct 19 2022, 09:54 AM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
911 posts

QUOTE(Feifeikon @ Oct 19 2022, 09:00 AM)
single storey extension should be Rm 350 to Rm 400 per sf
Thanks m8!
So 20 x 22 @ 400PSF is $193,600, roughly 200K + 10%(i guess? hmm.gif ) for Council permits/approval should cover it, oh boy - that's a lot of dough laugh.gif
GravityFi3ld
post Oct 25 2022, 06:17 PM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
911 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Oct 25 2022, 05:36 PM)
Need some advice.
What's the cost per sq ft for plaster ceiling ?

And melamine chipboard, how much per ft run ?
based on the options here (Budget calculator by IDW Design) , simple flat ceiling plaster is rm7/sft.

GravityFi3ld
post Nov 29 2022, 03:13 PM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
911 posts

QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Nov 28 2022, 05:20 PM)

Is this quotation for electrical work on the high side?
below excerpt is from Recommend.my (link here)

NOTE: The article WAS from 8th November 2019, so it is not a 100% reflection or TODAY's market rates - hopefully good enough as a rough guide tho laugh.gif

Electrical Wiring Installation price
*Installation for electrical switch at RM80
*Installation for electrical outlet (beside existing outlet) at RM60
*Installation for doorbell at RM100
*Installation for smoke or carbon monoxide detector at RM100 - RM150
*Installation for exterior light fixtures to existing wiring at RM80 - RM150

Light Installation price
Installation with casing wiring RM130, subsequent unit at RM60
Installation only RM80, every subsequent unit at RM20
Installation for electrical switch at RM80
Installation for light fixtures for downlights or 1 string pendant lighting or single track lighting (minimum 6 units) at RM30
Installation for fluorescent light fixtures at RM30 (minimum 6 units)
Installation for recessed light fixtures at RM35
Installation for new wiring for overhead lights at RM30 (minimum 6 units)
Installation for new single-pole switch at RM80
Installation for new three-way switch at RM150 - RM180
Broken light fixture replacement at RM30
Electrical switch replacement (depending on gang) at RM80 - RM 150
Ceiling opening at RM5
GravityFi3ld
post Feb 24 2023, 10:15 AM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
911 posts

Recently met one of the contractors doing house reno around my area - they are doing a few houses (personally been to three of their on-going works) - they are not/ don't go by a company (they tumpang use a hardware company name for payment/invoicing) and has no CIDB cert - but his price is 10-20% lower than those "proper" ID company with CIDB we found online, and their fee include the mbpj approval too(saves a lot o f hassle iinm).

To say he will con and run away is quite farfetched? As I met the owners that are currently using him as well - so far all gave good feedback. laugh.gif
To take or not to take the risk rclxub.gif Cause end of the day, if they for whatever reason - just ditch the job halfway through, or just run away with the deposit (10%) - then we jialat cause not dealing with a proper company kan? sweat.gif

What are your thoughts - Would you go for it?
GravityFi3ld
post May 3 2023, 01:53 PM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
911 posts

you mean the darker timber tones/hues?
GravityFi3ld
post Jun 30 2025, 09:41 AM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
911 posts

QUOTE(blastmeister @ Jun 28 2025, 07:43 AM)
all the sifu here, pls advise on this.

Just got my key for my new house in KL. it is a condo. For the renovation, we are having challenges. Trying to add new power socket around the house as the existing is not sufficient. about 7 power socket. we need to add additional but management office not allow us to conceal the wire, want us to use pvc casing. The condo is about RM500k per unit, and going to spend about RM 50k for renovation. it is very ugly to add additional power socket with the pvc casing. reason not allow us to do wall chasing is because all the walls in the unit is RC wall. Reinforced Concrete Wall

Want to get Sifu advise if really cannot do wall chasing/hacking the wall to extend the power socket location?
if RC then better dont hack weyh, later affect whole structure sweat.gif
if plaster/brick wall - then can hack to insert the trunking for wiring

you could try ADDing a plaster partition to conceal (but you will lose some room space)

0.0427sec    1.01    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 01:53 PM