> MacBook Pro Retina User Thread V2, All you can feedback here as well

INGfusion
post Jan 13 2016, 05:52 PM

iPong Oren Leh
7,538 posts

QUOTE(takenaga @ Jan 13 2016, 05:49 PM)
hello guys. new macbook pro user here! biggrin.gif after 16 years of using Windows platform, now i made a jump to give Mac OS a try.

so far, im getting a good experience with this sexy thing. from the very start of booting my macbook, i already amazed with its speed. damn weh 3 seconds to get into login. not gonna happen in Windows platform. haha

Casual usage like web browsing, watching movies, listening to music while doing my work, are quite smooth. Later I will try how this macbook handle development tools and adobe stuff like android studio, localhost, photoshop, AI, etc.

as a new macbook user, there are couple of things that i want to know:

1. is it safe if I installed cracked apps? (appdn.net, cmacapps.com, macbed.com)
2. Do I need any antivirus software installed on my macbook?
3. Is it a must to install utility, optimizer apps like cleanmymac?
4. should i buy applecare? is it worth it?

I have googled those questions. just want to know opinions from you guys too. smile.gif thanks. smile.gif
2. no need antivirus software for osx
4.please buy applecare if you have extra budget.

thumbup.gif
INGfusion
post Jan 13 2016, 05:57 PM

iPong Oren Leh
7,538 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Jan 13 2016, 04:42 PM)
Wow pretty shitty repair from Mac City 1 utama.
Received my rMBP last week after sending in for repair. Less than a week received it back after they found:
1) SSD Card Port failed (Replaced I/O board)
2) System Error (Advice to reformat hard disk)

So after 2 days of using my returned rMBP, the SAME PROBLEM happened again!
Here are some nice pretty colourful pics to share...

So i did a diagnostic test and got this, which i'm sure is not the reason for the colourful screens, but still... battery problems after 5 months?? FFS

Sent back my rMBP to Mac City for repair and wasn't too happy. The counter staff wasn't that friendly and insisted previously there was a system error which requires a reformat and i didn't allow them to reformat hence the problem. RIGHT, like i'd pay them RM150 just to reformat when i could do it myself.

Just called them again on the status and i was told that my Logic Board had problems and they just ordered a replacement which will take a week.
Seriously? They didn't detect that during the 1st service? What kind of sloppy diagnostic service did they conduct the first time?

Not happy with Apple so far... had been using Dell notebooks for more than a decade and all my notebooks last me at least 4 years without any issues while a 5 month old rMBP is giving me crap..
i recommend you send it to northpoint midvalley they have very good service.

my friend send his to them for fix screen coating problem, they even replace speaker as well after they finish diagnostic test and found out speaker has problem also.
INGfusion
post Jan 13 2016, 06:12 PM

iPong Oren Leh
7,538 posts

QUOTE(takenaga @ Jan 13 2016, 06:05 PM)
Question number 1 and 3? haha biggrin.gif

is there any specific period of time for buying the applecare? my friends said that you can only buy the applecare for your macbook while it still under the 1-year warranty. If out of warranty, you cannot apply the applecare on your macbook. can you confirm on this?

thanks.
1 & 3 need wait pro to answer. as i also just jump to macbook

you have to active before first year warranty expire
INGfusion
post Jan 13 2016, 06:27 PM

iPong Oren Leh
7,538 posts

QUOTE(takenaga @ Jan 13 2016, 06:20 PM)
hahaha alright we wait until pro come check in. wahh geng! what make you change to Mac OS?
hahahaa just to try something new. i have 1 macbook and 1 hp probook
INGfusion
post Jan 13 2016, 06:34 PM

iPong Oren Leh
7,538 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Jan 13 2016, 06:29 PM)
But they are not under authorised apple service center right?
Thanks for the info, pray to God I won't have to send in for another service after this or I'll raise hell with Apple support to replace a new rMBP...
hahaha if they replace for a new i dont mind go and send for few more times
INGfusion
post Jan 13 2016, 08:54 PM

iPong Oren Leh
7,538 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Jan 13 2016, 08:28 PM)
?? I've been in contact with Apple care online and they keep telling me to go to the authorised service center close to me, namely 1utama mac city.
QUOTE(westlife @ Jan 13 2016, 08:31 PM)
Serious? That's the repair procedure? Ic.
My friend also called apple care line they ask him to go authorized reseller
INGfusion
post Feb 29 2016, 11:47 AM

iPong Oren Leh
7,538 posts

QUOTE(00king00 @ Feb 28 2016, 04:35 PM)
hi, I just got my rmbp 13 today. R u facing the screen anti reflective coating issue? Is there any way to prevent it or is apple malaysia got free replacement? scaryyyy... >< my first 6k device.
can send it back to malaysia retailer replace for free
INGfusion
post Mar 11 2016, 02:07 PM

iPong Oren Leh
7,538 posts

QUOTE(ionStorm @ Mar 11 2016, 12:17 PM)
Sent my MBPR 2014 for AR coat peeling. I miss my MBPR. sad.gif
hmm.gif hmm.gif i wonder what will cause the screen ar coat peeling off
INGfusion
post Jul 12 2016, 12:31 PM

iPong Oren Leh
7,538 posts

-WRONG POST-

This post has been edited by INGfusion: Jul 12 2016, 12:33 PM
INGfusion
post Jul 24 2016, 12:41 AM

iPong Oren Leh
7,538 posts

QUOTE(remix2040 @ Jul 23 2016, 05:41 PM)
When I try to restore back to to El Capitan lol because of the instabilities.

This is day 2 of my restoration. DAY 2 lol

[attachmentid=7160382]
you using time capsule ?
INGfusion
post Jul 24 2016, 11:58 AM

iPong Oren Leh
7,538 posts

QUOTE(remix2040 @ Jul 24 2016, 06:58 AM)
Nope. Hard disk lol
oh.... i still thinking want to buy external hdd or time capsule sad.gif
INGfusion
post Jul 24 2016, 12:31 PM

iPong Oren Leh
7,538 posts

QUOTE(remix2040 @ Jul 24 2016, 12:07 PM)
My data only 80gb lol I stopped the restore. It extended to 300 hours lol my fault to restore to my super old hard disk. End up I cannot extract anything from the Time Machine Backup. My photo library corrupted.

I just bought a new hard disk and I cannot transfer my stuff from the old hard to new hard disk.

My photos are a gone case now 😔

PS. I suggest to get Time Capsule if you want long term. However, one thing to bear in mind is that you cannot switch back up devices once you've started backing up to one drive, like how I'm struggling right now. The only way is to buy a new drive and switch it to that drive and wipe the old one
QUOTE(sjr @ Jul 24 2016, 12:10 PM)
Go for hdd... Way much cheaper.
The only 2 things that time capsule is superior than hdd is wireless backup, and as a wifi base station/extender. My experience of backing up wirelessly has been painful. I'd rather plug in hdd and do it manually.
QUOTE(sjr @ Jul 24 2016, 12:13 PM)
This is a genuine problem for time machine. Time capsule has the same issue also. Ended up I gave up backing up my Mac completely. Those essential files, I'll save in my cloud drives.
ok thanks all shifu, luckily I ask before purchase didn't know tome machine has those issue . Newbie here
INGfusion
post Jul 24 2016, 09:45 PM

iPong Oren Leh
7,538 posts

any sifu here using airport extreme ?
INGfusion
post Jul 24 2016, 10:16 PM

iPong Oren Leh
7,538 posts

QUOTE(sjr @ Jul 24 2016, 10:09 PM)
If you don't mind the price, and if you are not using Streamyx, it is quite an excellent wifi base station.
You can access your wifi till second floor (not beyond that).
And if you are using Streamyx, you will still need a modem (not very sure about other broadband service provider).
i thought unifi or maxis the same need connect to router ?
INGfusion
post Jul 24 2016, 10:38 PM

iPong Oren Leh
7,538 posts

QUOTE(sjr @ Jul 24 2016, 10:33 PM)
Most of the service providers in Malaysia need a modem before connecting to the Airport Extreme.
Hua wei modem > custom router > airport ?
INGfusion
post Jul 24 2016, 11:38 PM

iPong Oren Leh
7,538 posts

QUOTE(sjr @ Jul 24 2016, 10:54 PM)
I think you can connect AirPort Extreme directly to your modem without the router.
The broadband I am using is not fiber optic. I can't really comment on Unifi/Maxis fiber.
tried with my express no internet if i direct connect to modem
INGfusion
post Jul 25 2016, 11:43 PM

iPong Oren Leh
7,538 posts

QUOTE(blue16 @ Jul 25 2016, 11:39 PM)
anyone willing to share their experience for using the Mac OS? i was thinking to change taste toward Mac Os from window lol.
once change and you won't turn back to windows lol tongue.gif
INGfusion
post Jul 26 2016, 12:11 AM

iPong Oren Leh
7,538 posts

QUOTE(sengkin95 @ Jul 25 2016, 11:56 PM)
"Once you get a Mac, you will never go back"
rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif yes yes
INGfusion
post Aug 17 2016, 11:50 PM

iPong Oren Leh
7,538 posts

QUOTE(remix2040 @ Aug 16 2016, 05:45 PM)
Just ordered a bamboo cover for my laptop a few days ago. Waiting for it to show up on my doorstep. 😬
bamboo cover ? sound nice any link ?
INGfusion
post Aug 18 2016, 12:54 AM

iPong Oren Leh
7,538 posts

QUOTE(remix2040 @ Aug 18 2016, 12:03 AM)
Link here
thx for the link

0.0693sec    0.97    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 07:33 AM