[SUGGESTION] Categorizing thread, Garage sales - handphone

TS~~5ive~~
post Dec 14 2006, 08:13 PM, updated 20y ago

Im n0one
2,753 posts

Well, i look at the thread in the garage sales and realise most of them is regarding sales of 2nd hp, some forumner wish to sell brand new hp which they somehow got it and selling of sim card.

well, my suggestion is y not create 3 thread.
1) Brand new HP - Create for forumner that dun sell hp in long term. Some forumner maybe wish to sell the hp that they somehow got it.

2) 2nd HP - as the tittle, let they all sell 2nd hp.

3) Sim card - as the tittle, let them sell sim card num.

The benefit of such categorizing can let buyer search for info quickly and more efficiently. it can save the space of forum.

well, maybe we can be more specify too. for the handphone 1, maybe we can seperate it to Nokia, SE, LG, Samsung, Motorola and others. For sim card, we can specify it to Maxis, digi and celcom.

In such way, i think it can be more systematic. For the price nego and discussion bout the item selling in the thread, the forumner shall do by PM. Hence, the thread can be 100% infomatic.

So how is my suggestion? Any comment?
RBR
post Dec 14 2006, 08:16 PM

keeping calm..
3,107 posts

Too many subforums confuse people.
TS~~5ive~~
post Dec 14 2006, 08:17 PM

Im n0one
2,753 posts

Erm i didnt mean subforum, juz a pin thread will do.
RBR
post Dec 14 2006, 08:21 PM

keeping calm..
3,107 posts

Well, then its gonna be even more confusing to have so many sales going on at any one time. Asking questions by PM isn't efficient. Whats wrong with the current system anyway?
TS~~5ive~~
post Dec 14 2006, 08:25 PM

Im n0one
2,753 posts

QUOTE(badawi_rocks @ Dec 14 2006, 08:21 PM)
Well, then its gonna be even more confusing to have so many sales going on at any one time.  Asking questions by PM isn't efficient.  Whats wrong with the current system anyway?
hmm....nothing wrong but i think it can be easier by categorizing it.

Okay taking out an example.
let say i wish to buy a sim card with nice num....
the current system required me to go thread by thread to find it. although with the tag system, still have to look one by one.

if according to my suggestion, the buyer juz need to go in the thread and look the post and decide it themselves.
RBR
post Dec 14 2006, 09:12 PM

keeping calm..
3,107 posts

Your way: The buyer goes to the thread, look for the post.

Current way: Buyer clicks on the tags, the index all the posts selling sim cards, thread title should describe sufficiently.

How is your way better?
altie
post Dec 14 2006, 10:59 PM

Runaway Fridge™
673 posts

Let me see if I get this right. You're saying that the current system should be replaced with one pinned thread where users would go and search for nice numbers?
billytong
post Dec 14 2006, 11:13 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

I will be more happy if lowyat can separate between Computer product and Non-Computer products in the bulk section into a few big subforum like.

Computer products
Consumer electronics
While Other product will remain in the main forum.

(Instead of Memory, drive, media)

Just check the content of the bulk orders, you will see there are a fair amount of computer products and consumer electronics.

Please create a subforum for these 2 big categories, it makes me easier to to browser trough bulk forum. It is a mess now here.

and best of all introduce tags in this area.

This post has been edited by billytong: Dec 14 2006, 11:14 PM
TS~~5ive~~
post Dec 14 2006, 11:14 PM

Im n0one
2,753 posts

QUOTE(badawi_rocks @ Dec 14 2006, 09:12 PM)
Your way: The buyer goes to the thread, look for the post.

Current way: Buyer clicks on the tags, the index all the posts selling sim cards, thread title should describe sufficiently.

How is your way better?
erm...u miss something....the buyer have to click on the thread one by one to search for the things he 1

QUOTE(altie @ Dec 14 2006, 10:59 PM)
Let me see if I get this right. You're saying that the current system should be replaced with one pinned thread where users would go and search for nice numbers?
erm...not necessary one thread only....
wat i mean is like categorizing the same item under 1 thread so it look more systematic....
that will save the time of buyer to search for item too....
of coz undeniable now the tag system is great. but i think this categorizing thread not bad too. Well, lets say im looking for a 2nd handphone but i still haven make up my mind. The current system required me to click thread by thread to know the price of the 2nd hp and is condition. With 1 pin thread, i can juz click on 1 thread then look inside the post by post. Easier to make comparison too.

so how u guys think bout it?

altie
post Dec 14 2006, 11:36 PM

Runaway Fridge™
673 posts

QUOTE(~~5ive~~ @ Dec 14 2006, 11:14 PM)
erm...not necessary one thread only....
wat i mean is like categorizing the same item under 1 thread so it look more systematic....
that will save the time of buyer to search for item too....
of coz undeniable now the tag system is great. but i think this categorizing thread not bad too. Well, lets say im looking for a 2nd handphone but i still haven make up my mind. The current system required me to click thread by thread to know the price of the 2nd hp and is condition. With 1 pin thread, i can juz click on 1 thread then look inside the post by post. Easier to make comparison too.

so how u guys think bout it?
In my experience, I've seen this sort of thread before and it was a mess. Most people don't use the search button and will start posting in said thread and we'll have more work trying to sort the sellers from the people who want to buy. By nature, they will post in there no matter how much we tell them not to.

These sort of threads require full time attention from someone and we really can't spare the manpower.

Here's an example of a thread you are suggesting. Let me know if it's the same system.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=343157

This post has been edited by altie: Dec 14 2006, 11:37 PM
KilJim
post Dec 15 2006, 02:00 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(~~5ive~~ @ Dec 14 2006, 11:14 PM)
erm...u miss something....the buyer have to click on the thread one by one to search for the things he 1
Once u click on the Phone Card tag, it will filter all threads to show only those selling phone/sim cards
Obviously you'll have to look at the threads 1 by 1, but whats the difference between having a single thread and buyers looking at posts 1 by 1?
And with a single thread, ppl replying with questions and answers will make the thread move so quickly that by the end of the day, no one will see the item posted by the first person on page 1

This post has been edited by KilJim: Dec 15 2006, 02:01 AM
wKkaY
post Dec 15 2006, 05:50 AM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

I think he means something like this: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=263740
TS~~5ive~~
post Dec 15 2006, 12:50 PM

Im n0one
2,753 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ Dec 15 2006, 02:00 AM)
Once u click on the Phone Card tag, it will filter all threads to show only those selling phone/sim cards
Obviously you'll have to look at the threads 1 by 1, but whats the difference between having a single thread and buyers looking at posts 1 by 1?
And with a single thread, ppl replying with questions and answers will make the thread move so quickly that by the end of the day, no one will see the item posted by the first person on page 1
erm...thats why i say no reply to such thread. only PM, that will keep the thread clean.

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Dec 15 2006, 05:50 AM)
I think he means something like this: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=263740
yea, i mean something like this but the difference is the seller post the thing they 1 sell, not manage by thread starter.
RBR
post Dec 15 2006, 01:49 PM

keeping calm..
3,107 posts

Well, I don't agree with your method. The thread will end up being really messy with people reposting their stuff if it falls in the back pages. Asking questions only via PM begs the question of why we have a forum in the first place. The people whose posts are on the first page will gain a strategic advantage.
TS~~5ive~~
post Dec 15 2006, 09:01 PM

Im n0one
2,753 posts

Ok...got it...
thread close then....
10x for the feedback from every mod.

0.0166sec    0.68    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:48 PM