6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Notebook Recommendation Thread v27, Need New Notebook? Post follow format.

DS_Legacy
post Feb 24 2016, 09:32 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(HughieRmX @ Feb 24 2016, 01:32 PM)
Anyone using HP Envy 13 here ? unsure.gif
why? hmm.gif

QUOTE(Yeenmay89 @ Feb 24 2016, 05:16 PM)
Hello to all the PC sifus here. Need your expertise and opinions as I am totally clueless about laptop specs 😅I am a postgrad student.

1. Preferred brand:  Doesn't matter.
2. Budget: <1.5k
3. Usage: Lots of PDF ebooks, Youtube, movies, streaming, web surfing, office, hopefully some light games like Sims (if can, it will be a bonus).
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : No preference.

Thanks guys!!
Maybe this? biggrin.gif
Asus X454LJ-BING-WX150B X-Series 14" Laptop/ Notebook (i3-5005U, 2GB, 500GB, NV GT920M, W8.1B)
DS_Legacy
post Feb 24 2016, 10:05 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Feb 24 2016, 09:50 PM)
tell him this n see
7548T-20814G-W8
i5 5200U
8GB
1TB
15.6"
Touch
AMD Radeonâ„¢ R7 M270 4GB DDR3
W8
2-yr Pro Support

RM3100
R7 can play fallout 4? hmm.gif
DS_Legacy
post Feb 24 2016, 11:02 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Feb 24 2016, 10:29 PM)
7559 i5 dos no stock until mid march according to mlink ma

tat 1 my fren wan clear off.. tat y sell below cost
No choice liao. Have to ask him to wait lur. Or else he can't play fallout 4 also. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(shirogawawa @ Feb 24 2016, 10:34 PM)
Can't, with that price tag, better buy the laptop with gtx 950m
Still better to wait for 7559. One of the most reliable laptops in the market lately. brows.gif
DS_Legacy
post Feb 27 2016, 05:17 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(Yeenmay89 @ Feb 27 2016, 02:58 PM)
Thanks for the suggestion but I had a sudden change in budget to about 2k. What do you think about the Acer Aspire E15, i5 processor 6200U, windows 10, 15.6inch HD LED, Nvidia GeForce 920M with 2gb, 4gb ram, 1TB hdd?
This is definitely gonna do better than the previous i3 one. But personally, I really don't think that 4GB RAM is gonna be sufficient for windows 10. You can nego with the seller to upgrade it to 8GB. Some dealers will give free upgrade as you decline the free gifts. biggrin.gif
DS_Legacy
post Feb 27 2016, 07:10 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(amir7298 @ Feb 26 2016, 06:28 PM)
Hello guys, i'm looking for recommendation of budget gaming laptops

1. Brand, i do not mind
2. Budget, <RM3k
3. Specs, the best to do normal work, and average gaming (Dota 2, CS GO so on and so forth)
4. Size, 14 inch and above
If you can still find the Dell Inspiron 14 7447, that would be perfect for your usage already.
But slightly older model is a bit hard to find. sad.gif

You can also consider this. 1.65kg with decent graphic card performance. Around 2.6k only. biggrin.gif
Asus K401U-BFR011T 14" Laptop/ Notebook (i5-6200U, 4GB, 1TB, NV GT940M, W10H)

QUOTE(holoman @ Feb 27 2016, 01:00 PM)
hi,pls recommand me netbook :-

1. any brand except acer
2. Rm 1.5k max budget
3. Prefer 14'
4. For receive / send email, Ms Office , internet
This one should suffice your usage. biggrin.gif
Asus X454LJ-BING-WX150B X-Series 14" Laptop/ Notebook (i3-5005U, 2GB, 500GB, NV GT920M, W8.1B)

QUOTE(Titanium2020 @ Feb 27 2016, 05:54 PM)
Hello guys, i am helping my friend to find a laptop

office travel and office desktop replacement (when not travel) laptop
1. Brand : Any reputable brand (better if can use 3 years and above)
2. Spec : preferable i5
3. Budget : 2 - 2.3k
4. Usage : normal work, microsoft office, surf internet
5. Screen size : 14 inch and above
6. Weight : as low as possible due to travel (though, not sure how many KG is acceptable for bringing travel  smile.gif )
7. others : preferable have numeric keypad
The laptop that usually comes with a numeric keyboard is more than 15.6". This also means that the laptop is usually heavier than the ones that comes without the numeric keyboard. Laptop that is less than 2kg is usually being considered as good for travel. biggrin.gif

Since typing, normal work and office work does not require a very good processor performance, you can consider Dell Vostro V5459. Good after sales service, light weight (1.53kg). Your friend can definitely use it for more than 3 years. But not sure if he/she is okay with latest i3 skylake though. biggrin.gif

Dell Vostro 14 V5459-1045SG-W10 Laptop/ Notebook (i3-6100U, 4GB, 500GB, Intel, W10H) RM2.3k/-

If, he/she is not okay with i3 and also prefer a numeric keyboard, then consider this. Latest i5, numeric keyboard, large screen, affordable but the only drawback is the weight. 2.3kg is a bit heavy for myself since personally, I am using a 2.3kg laptop. laugh.gif laugh.gif

Asus A556U-FXX038T A-Series 15.6" Laptop/ Notebook (i5-6200U, 4GB, 1TB, NV GT930M, W10H) RM2.3k/-

Hope this helps. thumbup.gif
DS_Legacy
post Feb 27 2016, 09:48 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(Titanium2020 @ Feb 27 2016, 09:19 PM)
Thanks for the reply  biggrin.gif If let say without the numeric keyboard, and must be i5, others criteria still remain, which laptop you will suggest ?
You can consider this one. 2kg with all other criteria remains. biggrin.gif
Asus A456U-FWX023T A-Series 14" Laptop/ Notebook (i5-6200U, 4GB, 1TB, NV GT930M, W10H) RM2.2k-
DS_Legacy
post Feb 27 2016, 10:41 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(Titanium2020 @ Feb 27 2016, 10:21 PM)
If this one compare with Dell Inspiron 14 3000 series i5 14" Laptop/ Notebook (i5-6200U, 4GB, 500GB, AMD M315, W10H, 1.77Kg) RM2.3k (Dell online price) ? By the way, this Asus A456U A-series, i cannot find it at Asus Malaysia website, will it have problem for the warranty ?  smile.gif
Probably the site still not updated. New model. biggrin.gif

Well, specs wise, they are almost the same. But considering the warranty service, Dell can definitely provide a better one. Btw, don't just only compare the specs. You can compare the design, speaker, keyboard, colour and etc. It's entirely up to your to choose. Pick the one that you like thumbup.gif
DS_Legacy
post Feb 27 2016, 11:06 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Feb 27 2016, 10:48 PM)
Fyi m315 no match for gt 930m. U need at least m335
No gaming one. Even got GT930M also macam overkill. laugh.gif laugh.gif
DS_Legacy
post Feb 28 2016, 01:16 AM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(Titanium2020 @ Feb 27 2016, 11:47 PM)
My friend insist she want i5, so won't consider i3  smile.gif  Btw, how about the other brand like HP and lenovo ? their laptop quality and service ok ?
HP laptops quality are dropping since last year. Even their aftersales service too. I used to introduce some HP laptops most of the time last year. But atm, maybe not. sad.gif

As for Lenovo, their U series is good. But it's way over your friend budget. That G series such as G40-80 is not as good as the one I recommended earlier. But still, no doubt that Lenovo laptops that come with JBL speakers are very decent. But not all of them, come with this speaker. laugh.gif

One more point here about lenovo, their keyboard is one of the best. Very comfortable for long run. But, their aftersales service is really disappointing. Took them 3 weeks to replace my laptop touch pad. sad.gif
DS_Legacy
post Mar 3 2016, 04:57 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(neoblitz64 @ Mar 3 2016, 03:17 PM)
My budget screwed up big time....
So here's the new one..

Looking for a laptop. Any recommendation?

1. Preferred Brand: Any brand, prefer good warranty.
2. Budget: below 1.5K, might be able to up to 2k
3. Usage: gaming, Matlab, Catia, other engineering softwares, gaming
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14" and above...
5. Other preferences:
-something on par with my lenovo y400 (dead mobo, out of warranty)
-If the budget is too low, feel free to play around with the spec (with gaming in mind)
-I don't mind gaming at medium/low as long as it's 60 fps.
Should I go for pc instead? If so what's the spec?

Thanks in advances...
There is no new gaming laptops that are being sold below 2k price. Get a pc. biggrin.gif
Unless you are okay with second hand laptops. thumbsup.gif
DS_Legacy
post Mar 3 2016, 05:02 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(ezekiel_77 @ Mar 3 2016, 04:01 PM)
Hi guys, been out of the laptop game for awhile, need to get a new one for my wife whose 3-year-old Sony netbook is slowly heading towards its last days.

1. Preferred Brand: Anything but Apple. Asus and Acer come to mind when I think of slim lappies. But do suggest more.
2. Budget: 2-3k
3. Usage: Web browsing, presentations, word, light gaming (Yahoo gaming that sort)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 11-13"
5. Other preferences: Slim and light is a must! My wife has to carry it room to room for presentations sometimes. Aesthetically pleasing, not the blocky, business-like types from say Lenovo. Would need about 8gig RAM too.

Kindly offer your suggestions and thanks in advance.
Consider upgrading the RAM to 8GB or more with your remaining budget. This would definitely be very good for your wife usage. 1.2kg only. Extremely thin and slim. Comes with SSD also. biggrin.gif

Asus ZENBOOK UX305CA-FC065T 13.3" Laptop/ Notebook (m3-6Y30, 4GB, 128GB SSD, Integrated, W10H)

QUOTE(freddy manson @ Mar 3 2016, 04:15 PM)
hello guys, im looking for a reliable, cheap laptop for my brother specifically for work (school works)

1. Preferred Brand: Anything but Apple. Asus and Acer come to mind when I think of slim lappies. But do suggest more.
2. Budget: RM600-1k
3. Usage: Web browsing, presentations, word, light gaming (Yahoo gaming that sort)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 11-14"
5. Other preferences: -none- basic work laptop. so they cant play games hahahahahaha

Kindly offer your suggestions and thanks in advance.
Maybe this one will do? Around 1k. biggrin.gif
Acer Aspire ES1-431-C78A 14" Laptop/ Notebook (N3050, 2GB, 500GB, Intel, W10H)
DS_Legacy
post Mar 3 2016, 08:54 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(Mr_47 @ Mar 3 2016, 08:05 PM)
Sifu of lowyat inner realms, need help. Tq

1. Brand, i do not mind
2. Budget, <RM2.5k
3. Specs, need for gaming n light weight coz it's for gaming girl.
4. Size, 14 inch or 15
What kinda game first?
DS_Legacy
post Mar 4 2016, 12:25 AM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(Mr_47 @ Mar 3 2016, 11:45 PM)
Any. Bf4
Star wars

Racing

Pes

Fps

Star craft
This Asus one should work well for her. If she wants a better graphic card, opt for HP. Both weight almost the same. The Asus one looks nicer though. tongue.gif

Asus A456U-FWX023T A-Series 14" Laptop/ Notebook (i5-6200U, 4GB, 1TB, NV GT930M, W10H) 2.2k/-
HP Pavilion 14-ab111TX Laptop/ Notebook (i5-5200U, 4GB, 1TB, NV 940M, W10H) 2.5k/-

DS_Legacy
post Mar 4 2016, 11:23 AM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(kopifan @ Mar 4 2016, 10:03 AM)
Any ASUS ZenBook UX305UA users? How is the machine/predecessor ZenBook?
I m impressed by the aesthetic appearance but curious about
1) the heat dissipation function? How good is it under normal operating ambience (i.e. good ventilation, minimal dust)
2) after sales still so so like before?

I m interested with following specs
1)  i5 6200U (don't want core M)
2) Win 10
3) 8G memory
4) FHD will do, no need QHD
5) GPU dunno what GPU they use

Key usage
- mainly for work involving words, excel etc nothing graphic intensive; surfing, real time streaming of sports, no intensive gaming, just occasional facebook type game
- welcome any other recommendation as i m not sure if my specs overkill for simple applications. tq
The ventilation is decent, and since it is core M, so they won't generate as much heat as i5-6200U. Performance wise, I personally think that core M us sufficient for you usage. No gaming, no graphic work, and no programming work. Core M is created for a more efficient and power-saving in the long run. biggrin.gif

What is your current budget? If you have a high budget, might as well get a Dell XPS. More reliable in term of after sales service. Asus after sales service is never good. laugh.gif
DS_Legacy
post Mar 4 2016, 01:19 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Mar 4 2016, 12:25 PM)
Zenbook hv best build quality below 4500 range... for range above tat its just mediocre..
Ya, that's why I have been wondering his budget? XPS is still a way to go if he has the budget. biggrin.gif
DS_Legacy
post Mar 6 2016, 12:54 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(ind3pend3nc3 @ Mar 5 2016, 10:34 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: other than acer
2. Budget: 2.8k and below (preferably 2.5k)
3. Usage: words,excel,powerpoint, and light gaming (cs 1.6, old dota, maplestory etc, at highest setting, expected playing time not more than 2 hour once)
5. Other preference:
a. light, below 2kg(1.5 kg ideally), below 2.5m thickness ( I need portability)
b. good battery life (7 hrs continuous web surfing with wifi)
C. With back-lit keyboard(preferably)
d. 13/14inch screen
any recommendations? i was looking at ux305, but can it heat up if i play online games like maple? will it hurt the laptop? lol

thanksss
If you do gaming at highest settings, don't get the UX305. It doesn't have a dedicated GPU. So, not so recommended.
This Asus K401 will suit your usage. 1.65kg. Slim and light. Comes with a decent GPU for max settings in the games you play. Good enough for a long run. But no back-lit laugh.gif
Asus K401U-BFR011T 14" Laptop/ Notebook (i5-6200U, 4GB, 1TB, NV GT940M, W10H) RM2.6k/-

DS_Legacy
post Mar 6 2016, 04:02 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(ind3pend3nc3 @ Mar 6 2016, 02:58 PM)
erm but i played before with my  old compact presario cq40 with 2ghz pentium 4gb ram and intergrated graphics. i'm only corncerning if the ux305 will heat up and cause damage to the laptop.
You would wanna stay away from Core M if you wanna do gaming. Laptops with core M are fan-less. It will definitely give some damage to the laptop if you do it on the long run. biggrin.gif

DS_Legacy
post Mar 7 2016, 09:55 AM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(ind3pend3nc3 @ Mar 7 2016, 09:12 AM)
K401 retails for 2.6K inclusive gst? Can't seem to find a price online...
Yes. GST inclusive. You can also find K401-B at 2.5k GST inclusive. Just saw it in both Brightstar and Techypermart
DS_Legacy
post Mar 7 2016, 03:20 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(ind3pend3nc3 @ Mar 7 2016, 11:47 AM)
what does the B at the end of k401 stands for? stands for the i5 6200u version?

do you know if they have any shops in cheras? or i'll just opt to buy from original store then.
My bad. It is K401LB. Slightly older version that comes with Windows 8.1 and 5th gen broadwell i5. The new K401U comes with Windows 10 and 6th gen Skylake i5. Almost similar but different by rm100. biggrin.gif

Don't know much about Cheras. Sorry. Can't help sad.gif
DS_Legacy
post Mar 14 2016, 06:47 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Mar 14 2016, 06:14 PM)
Hi sifus, need suggestions here.

Currently planning on purchasing the UX305UA with the following: 256GB SSD, i5-6200U. This would cost ~RM3800.

Alternative would be the XPS 13 but a similarly specced one would cost in the ballpark of RM5k.

Any other suggestions? Currently using a Retina MBP, upgrading, but the latest retina MBP is a bit over budget at RM5.5k+.
The Asus UX305UA is no where near XPS13 and Retina MBP. You missed out the InfinityEdge display. icon_idea.gif
If you have the budget, XPS 13 is a good to go. More reliable service and better quality build. The feel on the keyboard is also different. biggrin.gif

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0240sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:22 AM