119 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Notebook Recommendation Thread v27, Need New Notebook? Post follow format.

ciel de poissons
post Jan 18 2016, 05:19 PM

QUOTE(ehkay @ Jan 18 2016, 03:59 PM)
Is this good enough for casual gaming and normal MS office usage ?

Acer Aspire R11 R3-131T-P3BN Pentium N3700/4GB/500GB/11.6″
I doubt you can use that for gaming. Normal office work shouldn't be a problem. biggrin.gif
WhiteFlag
post Jan 18 2016, 06:42 PM

539 posts

Any recommendation?
For daily use and zero to light gaming

Budget: RM3500 and below
CPU: skylake quad core
Screen: 15inch 1080p IPS matte
GPU: negligible
Brand: negligible
misterhaoyu
post Jan 18 2016, 08:50 PM

14 posts

Looking for a laptop. Any recommendation?

1. Preferred Brand: Any brand, Asus, HP or Dell are preferred but anything is fine
2. Budget: Under 2.5K, might be able to raise to 3K if required
3. Usage: Light gaming, photo and video editing, programming and assignments
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14", don't like the number pads in 15'' laptops
5. Other preferences:
> i5 processor (do not require 6th gen) or similar AMD processors
> do not require touchscreen

Hope to receive multiple options as I would like to do extensive research + quite picky with design haha. Thank you sifus in advance!
neoblitz64
post Jan 18 2016, 09:16 PM

41 posts

1. Preferred Brand: Any brand, prefer good warranty.
2. Budget: below 2.5K, might be able to up to 2.7k, 3k if spec is too good than 2.7k...
3. Usage: gaming, Matlab, Catia, other engineering softwares, gaming
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14" and above...
5. Other preferences:
-something on par with my lenovo y400 (dead mobo, out of warranty)
-If the budget is too low, feel free to play around with the spec (with gaming in mind)
-I don't mind gaming at 720p/medium as long as it's 60 fps.

Thanks in advances...

This post has been edited by neoblitz64: Jan 18 2016, 10:15 PM
XeactorZ
post Jan 18 2016, 09:49 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(WhiteFlag @ Jan 18 2016, 06:42 PM)
Any recommendation?
For daily use and zero to light gaming

Budget: RM3500 and below
CPU: skylake quad core
Screen: 15inch 1080p IPS matte
GPU: negligible
Brand: negligible
dell inspiron 7559 DOS version is your only choice
for more info read here
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3753380
X_F@cT0R
post Jan 18 2016, 11:01 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(jep @ Jan 18 2016, 05:19 PM)
Looking for a decent laptop, lightweight, powerful enough to run sql server, mostly to do application development, budget wise around 2-2.5K. Was keen on gettting U41 but was told that the panel was not good, Asus UX305 was nice but processor wise might not be enough
Dell Inspiron 14 5459 price 2.5k have a good processor for your requirement
X_F@cT0R
post Jan 18 2016, 11:23 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(misterhaoyu @ Jan 18 2016, 08:50 PM)

1. Preferred Brand: Any brand, Asus, HP or Dell are preferred but anything is fine
2. Budget: Under 2.5K, might be able to raise to 3K if required
3. Usage: Light gaming, photo and video editing, programming and assignments
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14", don't like the number pads in 15'' laptops
5. Other preferences:
> i5 processor (do not require 6th gen) or similar AMD processors
> do not require touchscreen

Hope to receive multiple options as I would like to do extensive research + quite picky with design haha. Thank you sifus in advance!
Asus K401LB-FA003H RM2.6k

Dell Inspiron 14 5459 RM2.5k

HP Pavilion 14-ab111TX RM2.5k

Asus A455LF-WX063T RM2.3k

QUOTE(neoblitz64 @ Jan 18 2016, 09:16 PM)

1. Preferred Brand: Any brand, prefer good warranty.
2. Budget: below 2.5K, might be able to up to 2.7k, 3k if spec is too good than 2.7k...
3. Usage: gaming, Matlab, Catia, other engineering softwares, gaming
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14" and above...
5. Other preferences:
-something on par with my lenovo y400 (dead mobo, out of warranty)
-If the budget is too low, feel free to play around with the spec (with gaming in mind)
-I don't mind gaming at 720p/medium as long as it's 60 fps.

Thanks in advances...
if you very concern about gaming performance with very good warranty, topup a little bit take Dell Inspiron 15 7559 price RM3.4k (no windows)
it comes with gtx 960m that can play most modern games at medium-high setting 1080p
but if your budget cant go above 3k, Dell Inspiron 14 7447 price RM2.8k is good for gaming with their gtx 850m, try to visit this thread for review of this laptop
Xypheria
post Jan 19 2016, 09:31 PM

745 posts

Hi guys.
Can someone recommend me a laptop that:

1. Lightweight
2. Good specs for online (browser, streaming, programming, MS Office, games like The Sims 4 and less GPU dependent)
3. Not too big..
4. Price around MYR5,000 at most. Or any better options (mind to add up)

I wanted to buy a macbook, but I am not familiar with Apple since I have been using Windows since forever.

icon_question.gif

Thanks in advance guys
SUSMrUbikeledek
post Jan 19 2016, 10:30 PM

580 posts

I'm evaluating Dell XPS 13 or 15 for my next laptop. I like the thinness and the infinityedge display. But the price seems excessive to me relative to it's spec. Anyone have experience using this laptop?
myway1985
post Jan 19 2016, 11:43 PM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(MrUbikeledek @ Jan 19 2016, 10:30 PM)
I'm evaluating Dell XPS 13 or 15 for my next laptop. I like the thinness and the infinityedge display. But the price seems excessive to me relative to it's spec. Anyone have experience using this laptop?
well u go test out the quality between xps, hp spectre n yoga then u know y dell better

xps 15 rival razer i would say...
ezeiz
post Jan 20 2016, 01:41 AM

1. Preferred Brand - Any
2. Budget - below RM5500
3. Usage - networking and programming softwares, mild gaming (dota2, star wars battlefront 2015, fifa 16)
4. 14-17 inch display
5. have a cool design (professional look)
6. HAVE A LONG BATTERY LIFE. this is really important as i will be using my laptop for all my works. needed atleast 6 hours of battery life with mild use.

please give me a review on the illegear z5 battery life also. any z5 users out there?? smile.gif

thank you sifus. icon_rolleyes.gif
X_F@cT0R
post Jan 20 2016, 02:21 AM

578 posts

QUOTE(Xypheria @ Jan 19 2016, 09:31 PM)
Hi guys.
Can someone recommend me a laptop that:

1. Lightweight
2. Good specs for online (browser, streaming, programming, MS Office, games like The Sims 4 and less GPU dependent)
3. Not too big..
4. Price around MYR5,000 at most. Or any better options (mind to add up)

I wanted to buy a macbook, but I am not familiar with Apple since I have been using Windows since forever.

icon_question.gif

Thanks in advance guys
for your requirement i suggest Dell XPS 13 price at RM5k
-weight around 1.2kg
-good for all your needs
-screen size is 13 inch so the size are not too big
-sleek design

if you intended to play other games which required a quite demanding gpu power, can consider Dell Vostro 14 V5459 price at RM3.5k or Acer TravelMate P6 TMP645 price at RM4.5k
X_F@cT0R
post Jan 20 2016, 03:12 AM

578 posts

QUOTE(ezeiz @ Jan 20 2016, 01:41 AM)

1. Preferred Brand - Any
2. Budget - below RM5500
3. Usage - networking and programming softwares, mild gaming (dota2, star wars battlefront 2015, fifa 16)
4. 14-17 inch display
6. HAVE A LONG BATTERY LIFE. this is really important as i will be using my laptop for all my works. needed atleast 6 hours of battery life with mild use.

please give me a review on the illegear z5 battery life also. any z5 users out there?? smile.gif

since you really concern about battery life over gaming performance, i recommend to you Lenovo ThinkPad T440p price at 4.5k++, it has an excellent battery life that can last up to 10 hours for web surfing but it only use nvidia gt 730m so its only can play in low setting for star wars battlefront 2015

if you cant tolerate with low setting when playing star wars, can try take a look at Asus G551JW price at 4.4k, can play modern games at medium-high setting 1080p and the battery life are quite decent that can last up to 4.5 hours for web surfing same like illegear z5
myway1985
post Jan 20 2016, 07:52 AM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(ezeiz @ Jan 20 2016, 01:41 AM)

1. Preferred Brand - Any
2. Budget - below RM5500
4. 14-17 inch display

Latitude e7450?
Can do some modification for gaming

gruntz99
post Jan 20 2016, 09:27 AM

420 posts

Hello, I need a recommendation for a basic laptop

1. Preferred Brand - Any
2. Budget - preferably below RM1000
3. Usage - basic office function MS office, internet surfing,
4. Display - 10 to 14.

I only need basic laptop for work purpose, writing, do internet surfing etc

This post has been edited by gruntz99: Jan 20 2016, 09:47 AM
myway1985
post Jan 20 2016, 10:03 AM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(gruntz99 @ Jan 20 2016, 09:27 AM)
Hello, I need a recommendation for a basic laptop

1. Preferred Brand - Any
2. Budget - preferably below RM1000
3. Usage - basic office function MS office, internet surfing,
4. Display - 10 to 14.

I only need basic laptop for work purpose, writing, do internet surfing etc
Used units u mind? 2nd gen i7 wif ms office easy can get
gruntz99
post Jan 20 2016, 10:47 AM

420 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Jan 20 2016, 10:03 AM)
Used units u mind? 2nd gen i7 wif ms office easy can get
Though this would be my second laptop, I want a new unit on a budget constraint.
lanarshad
post Jan 20 2016, 11:13 AM

Need suggestions for laptop

Usage : Video editing, Autocad, graphics editing

Considering between Apple rMBP 13 inch 256GB VS Dell XPS15
Xypheria
post Jan 20 2016, 11:43 AM

745 posts

QUOTE(X_F@cT0R @ Jan 20 2016, 02:21 AM)
for your requirement i suggest Dell XPS 13 price at RM5k
-weight around 1.2kg
-good for all your needs
-screen size is 13 inch so the size are not too big
-sleek design

if you intended to play other games which required a quite demanding gpu power, can consider Dell Vostro 14 V5459 price at RM3.5k or Acer TravelMate P6 TMP645 price at RM4.5k
Thank you for your suggestions.

i5 iGPU can handle any MMORPG with medium setting though? Or AAA games with medium - high settings?

I'd prefer 6th gen processor for better future proof though..

Anyway I'd appreciate this biggrin.gif
X_F@cT0R
post Jan 20 2016, 03:43 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(Xypheria @ Jan 20 2016, 11:43 AM)
Thank you for your suggestions.

i5 iGPU can handle any MMORPG with medium setting though? Or AAA games with medium - high settings?

I'd prefer 6th gen processor for better future proof though..

Anyway I'd appreciate this biggrin.gif
i5 igpu can handle mmorpg games with medium setting without any problem but it cant played AAA games with medium-high setting, you gonna need a dedicated graphic card like gtx 960m and above to play AAA games with medium-high setting

those laptops i recommend comes with 6th gen processor except Acer comes with 5th gen processor

119 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0242sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:48 AM