7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Mercedes GLC

TSzapirwin
post Dec 30 2015, 07:45 PM, updated 10y ago

Mercedes Benz Malaysia is bringing in the Mercedes GLC in January 2016. What do you think about this sporty SUV? Is it really a whole package? What about its competitors? In a dilemma now. Let me know what you think. hmm.gif
19 Degree South
post Dec 30 2015, 11:25 PM

1,682 posts

Got the doll! Go for it tongue.gif
TSzapirwin
post Dec 31 2015, 12:38 PM

Hope they have CKD but that would most probably be at the end of 2016 or 2017.
19 Degree South
post Jan 1 2016, 08:37 PM

1,682 posts

QUOTE(zapirwin @ Dec 31 2015, 12:38 PM)
Hope they have CKD but that would most probably be at the end of 2016 or 2017.
This is very nich...doubt MBM will ckd it! Just like the R Class, not many on the road with that kind of pricing!
TSzapirwin
post Jan 1 2016, 09:10 PM

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Jan 1 2016, 08:37 PM)
This is very nich...doubt MBM will ckd it! Just like the R Class, not many on the road with that kind of pricing!
Hmm....really hope they CKD it. Not much information about the specs we will have or the pricing in malaysia. Guess have to wait another 13 more days.
Kendall
post Jan 1 2016, 10:56 PM

973 posts

I think Mercedes only ckd their sedan variants
Other type such as wagon and hatchback are not ckd despaired their sedan counterpart art assembled here.
Noregrets
post Jan 2 2016, 06:38 AM

1,124 posts

It will start at about RM 330k.
I am taking delivery of my C250 next week and it did cross my mind to wait for GLC but decided against it as it will cost me RM 50k more and I don't really like 4 WD anyway.
But I think the waiting list will be long.
If they want to grab market share from X3, they may CKD I hope.
TSzapirwin
post Jan 2 2016, 01:03 PM

QUOTE(Kendall @ Jan 1 2016, 10:56 PM)
I think Mercedes only ckd their sedan variants
Other type such as wagon and hatchback are not ckd despaired their sedan counterpart art assembled here.
That would be sad. Not much info out there too.

QUOTE(Noregrets @ Jan 2 2016, 06:38 AM)
It will start at about RM 330k.
I am taking delivery of my C250 next week and it did cross my mind to wait for GLC but decided against it as it will cost me RM 50k more and I don't really like 4 WD anyway.
But I think the waiting list will be long.
If they want to grab market share from X3, they may CKD I hope.
The C250 is a fierce and nice looking car. What is the wait for this?
Noregrets
post Jan 2 2016, 04:01 PM

1,124 posts

[/quote]

A few months I think.
I ordered mine one month after the announcement of CKD but I managed to bump queue a bit.

TSzapirwin
post Jan 3 2016, 09:20 PM

[quote=Noregrets,Jan 2 2016, 04:01 PM]

[/quote]

A few months I think.
I ordered mine one month after the announcement of CKD but I managed to bump queue a bit.

[/quote]
blink.gif thumbup.gif
chuakz
post Jan 4 2016, 10:48 AM

1,192 posts

QUOTE(Noregrets @ Jan 2 2016, 04:01 PM)
A few months I think.
enjoy your burmester sound system thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by chuakz: Jan 4 2016, 10:48 AM
chuakz
post Jan 4 2016, 10:49 AM

1,192 posts

QUOTE(zapirwin @ Dec 30 2015, 07:45 PM)
Mercedes Benz Malaysia is bringing in the Mercedes GLC in January 2016. What do you think about this sporty SUV? Is it really a whole package? What about its competitors? In a dilemma now. Let me know what you think. hmm.gif
good but basically a C-Class on stilts...if you need the space and 4wd then go for it.
wobbles
post Jan 4 2016, 03:56 PM

175 posts

Burmester in the MB isn't the top of the range system. That one is to be found in the Porker. It's the mid range version - equivalent to the Harmon Kardon set in the BMW. Good enough for most except those with the most discerning of ears.

Congrats on your GLC!
chuakz
post Jan 4 2016, 04:13 PM

1,192 posts

QUOTE(wobbles @ Jan 4 2016, 03:56 PM)
Burmester in the MB isn't the top of the range system. That one is to be found in the Porker. It's the mid range version - equivalent to the Harmon Kardon set in the BMW. Good enough for most except those with the most discerning of ears.

Congrats on your GLC!
at least MBM throws in a decent set of soundsystem compared to the meager soundsystems in the entry level 3 series models
wobbles
post Jan 4 2016, 08:37 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(chuakz @ Jan 4 2016, 04:13 PM)
at least MBM throws in a decent set of soundsystem compared to the meager soundsystems in the entry level 3 series models
Fair lah. I'm pretty sure entry level C class also don't come with branded sound system.
chuakz
post Jan 5 2016, 10:02 AM

1,192 posts

QUOTE(wobbles @ Jan 4 2016, 08:37 PM)
Fair lah. I'm pretty sure entry level C class also don't come with branded sound system.
C250 comes with at least a decent (and darn good looking) set of burmester sound system. BMW 330i comes with...."BMW sound system", they don't even try to include the option of the harman/kardon, sad. even audi offers BnO for A4 2.0 as standard.
wobbles
post Jan 5 2016, 02:15 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(chuakz @ Jan 5 2016, 10:02 AM)
C250 comes with at least a decent (and darn good looking) set of burmester sound system. BMW 330i comes with...."BMW sound system", they don't even try to include the option of the harman/kardon, sad. even audi offers BnO for A4 2.0 as standard.
OK. I'm sure you're correct. It's just that my BMW comes with Harmon Kardon & my MB comes with the Burmeister (both are considered mid range items), so I thought the other Bimmers would as well. I stand corrected.
wobbles
post Jan 6 2016, 10:45 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(chuakz @ Jan 5 2016, 10:02 AM)
Actually, I went back home and I checked. You're 100% right. Even my so called high end 640i didn't have any branded stereo. My F15 X5 did come with the HK sound system, as did my new G12 740Li, but thinking back, my old F02 730Li which was traded in for the G12 also only had BMW Professional Audio!

Harman Kardon in my F15 X5:

640i with normal BMW Professional Audio (blah):

My incoming new S400L (non hybrid) has the Burnmester sound system as you mentioned.

So, I agree with you. BMW a bit stingy. MB more generous in this field of audio system.
chuakz
post Jan 7 2016, 12:41 AM

1,192 posts

QUOTE(wobbles @ Jan 6 2016, 10:45 PM)
Actually, I went back home and I checked. You're 100% right. Even my so called high end 640i didn't have any branded stereo. My F15 X5 did come with the HK sound system, as did my new G12 740Li, but thinking back, my old F02 730Li which was traded in for the G12 also only had BMW Professional Audio!

Harman Kardon in my F15 X5:

My incoming new S400L (non hybrid) has the Burnmester sound system as you mentioned.

So, I agree with you. BMW a bit stingy. MB more generous in this field of audio system.
am i correct that you are based overseas? since g12 7 series hasn't arrive here yet. you're doing well. thumbup.gif why not get something more special other than BMW or Merc? or have already. brows.gif

This post has been edited by chuakz: Jan 7 2016, 12:42 AM
wobbles
post Jan 7 2016, 05:46 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(chuakz @ Jan 7 2016, 12:41 AM)
am i correct that you are based overseas? since g12 7 series hasn't arrive here yet. you're doing well.  thumbup.gif why not get something more special other than BMW or Merc? or have already.  brows.gif
Hi chuakz, I better not derail this thread & cause it to go off topic, so let's just concentrate on the different sound systems available - as you were saying the GLC comes with the Burmester system, and here's a couple of pictures of my 2 week-old G12 (I moved down to Singapore some years ago, but I guess you could say my heart is still very much the Kampung Boy that I was growing up) with the Harman Kardon system (the last picture is that of an identical G12 at BMW's parking lot - my 740Li has been tinted quite dark at the rear, and you cannot see the HK lettering at the back speakers).

The front (I suspect these are) tweeters (I personally love the mood lighting - I got it set to iliac, and I also love how they include full leather & double stitched everything for the interior):

The back (I suspect these may be woofers?) - as mentioned, this is a different G12 compared to mine (my interior is Mocha colored Nappa leather), but the HK system is the same:

And here are the drillz of the fact that I am talking about the all new G12, and not some randomly photographed car that I picked up from google pictures - the car key - in it's standby mode:

And when I turn it on to check on the status of my car:

OK. I'll stop yapping on about Harman Kardon now, and let this thread go back to its intended purpose.

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0294sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 08:30 PM