32 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Bottom

Insurance Talk V3, Anything and everything about insurance

lifebalance
post Sep 26 2016, 07:37 PM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Sep 26 2016, 07:21 PM)
Many thanks.

AA
What about something which develops overtime and later needs treatment, say, skin rash which later gets infected?

BB
I pick my nose and later bleeding internally?

P/S  Wonder why do some clinics at the start ask whether payment is by cash or via claim? Don't think it is because  they need to know for their payment process.
a. Unless it's required to be hospitalized by the doctor if it's deemed very serious then yes, otherwise, normal skin rash you can eat medicine and get well soon.

b.
Falls under Emergency Accidental Out-Patient Treatment, unless it's just some skin got removed then a cotton can be used to stop it, then nothing much you can claim and go back home.

The point is, if the injury is so light that some bandage can just solve the issue, why do you need to claim from the medical card ?

E.g you bump your leg into a chair and got a black and blue bruise, do you just solve it there and then or still head to the hospital ?
lifebalance
post Sep 26 2016, 07:51 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Sep 26 2016, 07:42 PM)
OK, my scenario is not that good.

Let me qualify further.

Suppose the bleeding is continuous and cotton/bandage at home is barely adequate. Then?
Then head to the hospital if it's continuously and if you feel that you've poked more than just the outer nose. There is no hard and fast rule, just pure logic. Even if you feel that it's not serious but you need to head to the hospital to check thoroughly and end up the doctor said everything is fine, just gave him some plaster and medicine. Then you have to just pay for the plaster, medicine, consultation on your own.

If the doctor said that you broke your nose or there is internal bleeding and he needs the ENT surgeon to have an X-Ray and he needs to be warded, then yes, you can claim for it.

This post has been edited by lifebalance: Sep 26 2016, 09:32 PM
lifebalance
post Sep 26 2016, 09:45 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(you90 @ Sep 26 2016, 09:38 PM)
When you buy a ILP, The rule of thumb to choose ILP is to look at the cash values projected at the end of 30 yrs. If the cash value is zero at say 25th year, then you will have a tendency to top up.

How importance is cash value in ILP insurance?
Important to determine how long your policy can last without having to top up extra later on
lifebalance
post Sep 26 2016, 10:02 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(JIUHWEI @ Sep 26 2016, 09:47 PM)

AA: As long as the treatment is justifiable for a treatment at the hospital, it will be claimable.
Let me share with you my personal experience with a client: She was rushed to the ER, but GL was declined citing procedure can be done as an outpatient. So she paid and later on I proceed to process the claim for her.
All documentations were complete and the claim cheque was delivered few weeks later.
Client happy, I also happy.

BB: Maybe you want to turn it down a notch with the gold digging  sweat.gif
But if it was really serious and require stitches from your inner nostril membrane, technically it is a self-inflicted injury and rightly written in the policy self inflicted injury is excluded.
But you don't so straight arrow tell the doctor you gila korek la. I also dunno how to taichi this one... But you taichi with the doctor lah. Janji the doctor buys your story.  whistling.gif

P/S: Individual medical cards usually only cover hospitalization and not clinics.
But take for example you are holding a corporate card and it includes clinic visits. By cash you can bring the receipts back to your HR dept to process the claim. By medical card, it'll be charged straight through and you won't have to part with that RM50-55 for any period at all.

Did I do a good job at answering your questions/concerns? Let me know!  :thumbsup:
Haha nose digging until bleeding is sure is very extreme though
lifebalance
post Sep 27 2016, 08:45 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(you90 @ Sep 27 2016, 08:23 AM)
Folks,

We all know for ILP, there will be a table showing how much the allocated premium vs the COI and then the cash values yearly.

So, those policy which see at the 8th or 10th year, the COI is more than the premium, the cash value generated will then be used to cover the protection aka keep the protection running.

Is COI> premium an important consideration to take note for an insurance? How about the cash value generated?

Should we really take these into consideration? or the table is just for illustration only ? as COI and Cash value is unpredictable aka non-guarantee, and the value stated in the table mostly for illlustration? Hence the values might varied.

Pls enlighten. Thanks.
It's just an illustration and it is subject to change in the future, it's just a guide to be used as an estimation as some insurance companies might give higher projection using higher % in return.

Just get the things you need now
lifebalance
post Sep 27 2016, 08:56 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(you90 @ Sep 27 2016, 08:49 AM)
The value of COI increasing every year is also estimated only? Do you see a healthy level if table illustrate COI>premium at the 8th Year? By then fund value shall use to keep the protection running and fund value is something non guarantee.

Is this an important consideration?
COI is also estimated as no one would know in the future the changes and increase in COI.

Of course if COI is higher than premium in a short period of time will get the policy to lapse even faster. You should consider that part as well
lifebalance
post Sep 27 2016, 10:18 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(you90 @ Sep 27 2016, 10:13 AM)
Meaning the figures stated in the table of the policy still can be used as a solid reference to see if COI > premium in a short period of time or not, right?
For a short period of time like 10 years I think it's still an acceptable reference. Just my opinion, probably other expert can share some insight
lifebalance
post Sep 27 2016, 11:43 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(EWill @ Sep 27 2016, 11:31 AM)
Hey guys,

Have you all heard of Allianz Premier Link? I was informed that you can get sum assured up to 1.5Million for 300 per month.

Sounds very promising for me, but I think there's more than meet the surface. Any agents here can confirm this for me?
Your question is too subjective, your premium is determined by your age, gender, whether you smoke or not. The coverage you're getting and also the rider you're taking. Instead of a particular product name, get a proper financial health check to determine your real insurance needs
lifebalance
post Sep 27 2016, 11:58 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(EWill @ Sep 27 2016, 11:49 AM)
Oh sorry, I forgot to include my details here  biggrin.gif

I'm a 32 years old male, I don't smoke. So far I have no medical history, and I already have some good medical cards in hand. I'm just surprised by the low premium needed for such a high sum assured, as RM300 for other companies can hardly even give you RM1M? So if indeed it is that good and true, it's a great offer for me and I'll consider it!  icon_rolleyes.gif

Cheers
https://www.allianz.com.my/documents/20719/...05-470b0a6eb69f

The brochure clearly shows a 40 yr old male is paying RM1,000 monthly for 2 mil.

You're 32, male and paying for 1.5 mil for RM300 ? hardly realistic.

Better get the agent to give you the full proposal.

This post has been edited by lifebalance: Sep 27 2016, 12:01 PM
lifebalance
post Sep 27 2016, 03:18 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(you90 @ Sep 27 2016, 03:12 PM)
Hence, shall this COI > Premium over the years is an important point to be considered when choosing a policy?

COI charges may be increase because of too much riders? I have a policy in GE and AIA which has these different scenario that you quote as an example.
COI is different for each company as each of the product comes with different benefits which other company might not have.
lifebalance
post Sep 27 2016, 07:36 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(you90 @ Sep 27 2016, 07:18 PM)
So, future changes on the COI will not go that far from the COI amount stated in the table, right?

Still a reliable source to consider as one main factor considering buying a policy?
still can use as a guide, use a difference variance of 5 - 10% difference

This post has been edited by lifebalance: Sep 27 2016, 07:39 PM
lifebalance
post Sep 29 2016, 10:59 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Sep 29 2016, 10:57 AM)
Hi, is this the right place to ask for advise on level of coverage suitable for myself (as compared to what I already have previously purchased)? Now end of year thinking of analyzing my insurance coverage with family.
Yeah you can ask around here but if you prefer privacy then it's better to ask privately instead.
lifebalance
post Sep 30 2016, 10:03 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Sep 30 2016, 09:56 AM)
Thanks Holocene, those sort of ballpark figures are very helpful.

Additional follow-up questions:-
1. How do multiple policies generally stack up? For life I assume each pay out sum assured, and its just about the hassle of doing multiple claims. For medical can a person maintain multiple policies? Is there a benefit (for eg. I think if you've claimed a policy against one illness you're no longer protected against recurrence, so a second policy could cover that if at a later date it recurs, especially talking about cancer).

2. How to factor in employer's insurance coverage?

3. Life insurance of non-working/earning family member, any benefit/use?
1. Claim to each companies must be filed.
Medical card you can only claim from 1 card at a time.
Getting a second policy does not guarantee cover on pre existing illness.

2. Same as personal insurance however payout will be paid to the employer and subject to how much they'll be giving it to your next of kin, meanwhile the policy is to cover their business losses for not having you around and to spend time hiring.

3.?

lifebalance
post Sep 30 2016, 10:19 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Sep 30 2016, 10:11 AM)
Pre-existing is pre-existing at the time of policy application? Or within the 1-2 year initial period?

So for example if I buy policy A and B (different company) today and 5 years from now injure my knee playing futsal. I claim from policy A. That means I can no longer claim for knee complications in future from policy A. Does that also mean policy B cannot claim for further knee complications?

Regarding employer insurance, the HR explanation was in terms of amount paid out to my next of kin, no mention of business losses. Is that common/true?

3. Any benefit to getting life insurance on school-going kids who do not contribute income? Or spend same amount on primary bread-winners policy better?
If you bought both policy at the same time with no pre existing illness then it's fine. If you only have 1 policy and subsequently did a claim. Then you plan another policy to upgrade the old policy. It does not guarantee the new policy will cover what you've just gone for treatment depending on the underwriter discretion to approve your new policy application

That's fine if HR mentions it fully goes to you.

3. You may invest on education fund and medical card on them. A small amount of death sum insured if you need to cover any funeral cost. Critical illness if you want to make sure you don't have to be in bad financial situation if they get critically ill.
lifebalance
post Oct 2 2016, 09:41 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(heybai @ Oct 2 2016, 09:36 AM)
Need some suggestion (dont pm me about your company plan pls)

1. I am a student, just realized i should get insurance for myself

2. I am planning to get a medical card, but how much is the minimal commitment? Yes I cant contribute too much every month..

3. Is it possible to have a plan that if I am all fine and did not touch the insurance/medical card at all, i will get back some part of my commitment? (sounds impossible I know, just trying my luck)

Definitely appreciated if anyone can recommend some good plans to me, but dont pm me thanks, just reply me here smile.gif
2. You may get a card but you need a source of income, get your parents to finance it for you if you feel that you need it. Medical card standalone is about 600 to 700 per year

3. Then you'll need to opt for an investment link plan which is min 150 per month.
lifebalance
post Oct 2 2016, 11:16 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(you90 @ Oct 2 2016, 11:11 AM)
Hi guys,

Wonder about the if the situation below is eligible for claiming purposes?

If the claimant is admitted to hospital under the Dr A, the claimant can claim full charges as per charge for hospital medication, treatment during his hospitalization.

Once the claimant discharged from hospital (wthin 180 days he can claim as per medical schedule in the policy stated) ,however if he did his follow up( post hospitalization ) with another Dr B, can this follow up charges like medication, consultation be claimed too?
If the person wants to claim under Dr B, Dr A will need to provide referral letter and recommendation to the insurance company for the patient to consult Dr B from then onward depending on what reason you're changing the doctor or change going to another medical hospital.

This post has been edited by lifebalance: Oct 2 2016, 11:18 AM
lifebalance
post Oct 2 2016, 11:32 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(you90 @ Oct 2 2016, 11:24 AM)
Thanks! Mean as long as can get a letter of referral and reason, then should be fine right, cannot simply go to another doctor because doctor A has been providing not a good service or so.

As per the medical schedule stated, I believe most policy hold the same general schedule which includes:

1. Pre hospitalization diagnostic tests, medication consultation.
2. Post Hospitalization diagnostic tests (some policy did not state) , medication fees (some policy did not state too) consultation , physiotherapy etc?

Those ' some policy did not state too' , will this be a gray area?

How about a situation like this:

1. After claimant is discharged from hospital, he goes for follow up which require him to do screening tests again, will this be treated in pre-hosp or post hosp category?

2. Medication fees and physiotherapy, kidney dialysis are all must included in the schedule also right, coz these are under post-hosp treatment?
The reason is because the Dr who treated you knows your condition. The new doctor might need to rerun some diagnostic which will incur cost to the insurance company.

1. If follow up then it falls under post hospitalisations

2. It depends on the clause in your policy, normally physiotherapy must be recommended by the doctor and there is a limit claim on it.
lifebalance
post Oct 2 2016, 06:12 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(heybai @ Oct 2 2016, 05:46 PM)
Hi, about medical card's premium, how "expensive" is it? is it fixed amount or I can alter the amount based on my needs? sorry for the questions, never really know about it.
It depends on your age, gender, occupation and whether you smoke or not to determine the cost of insurance.

There is term medical card and investment linked medical card.

Term where you pay for only the cost of insurance

Investment link where you invest plus pay the cost of insurance

Investment link policy will allow you to alter how much you can pay above the minimum premium whereas term you don't have any choice to alter anything

lifebalance
post Oct 3 2016, 04:29 PM

10,162 posts

RM1200 for RM500k coverage would be more like a term insurance rather than investment linked. At most it'll sustain for 20 years with no returns. Considering that you're contributing such a low premium, there is literally nothing much going towards investment. But of course you can always top it up with your investment from other portfolio if you can do better than the insurance companies.
lifebalance
post Oct 6 2016, 12:08 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(PurpleCloud @ Oct 5 2016, 11:47 PM)
Hi guys,

I'm shopping for a term life insurance (just death & TPD) to increase my existing coverage. Would prefer a straight-up plan without any investment linkage. How much would the annual premium for a 500k coverage cost? Agents feel free to PM me or reply here. Thank you! =)

FYI I'm a 28 y/o non-smoking female executive.
Term insurance without investment will often increase in premium overtime. It's good to get it while you're young as it's cheap but will get more expensive overtime as you get older. You may use it for short term protection but if you're looking to cover for long term then it's more viable to get it under an investment linked plan so you don't have to fork out high premium in the future.

32 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0809sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 10:37 AM