Insurance Talk V3, Anything and everything about insurance

engyr
post Feb 7 2017, 09:39 PM

590 posts

Anyone here experience before or anyone here is Prudential agent?

I purchased an investment link insurance from a Prudential agent 5 years ago. Today, I received a SMS from an unknown person. She claimed that my previous agent already quit the service. She is taking over and I need to sign document that she will be my agent.
Is this what Prudential practice? Is she trying to cheat me?

lifebalance
post Feb 7 2017, 10:01 PM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

QUOTE(engyr @ Feb 7 2017, 09:39 PM)
Anyone here experience before or anyone here is Prudential agent?

I purchased an investment link insurance from a Prudential agent 5 years ago. Today, I received a SMS from an unknown person. She claimed that my previous agent already quit the service. She is taking over and I need to sign document that she will be my agent.
Is this what Prudential practice? Is she trying to cheat me?

Normally when an agent quits

You'll receive an official letter posted to your mailing address that tells you your agent is no longer servicing you and will be serviced by another agent

This is not a cheat but basically your new agent is just contacting you to notify you that she's trying make contact with you
Freemasonry
post Feb 10 2017, 01:56 AM

36 posts

my insurance got rejected due to obesity, havent appealed tho.

Wondering if other insurance company will also rejected me or once i got rejected, all insurance company will also know about my case.

For example Company A rejected, will company B & C knows about it too? Like CCRIS or CTOS.

No health complication, 25 years old, smoker.

BMI 36

This post has been edited by Freemasonry: Feb 10 2017, 01:57 AM
TSroystevenung
post Feb 10 2017, 07:08 AM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(Freemasonry @ Feb 10 2017, 01:56 AM)

Wondering if other insurance company will also rejected me or once i got rejected, all insurance company will also know about my case.

For example Company A rejected, will company B & C knows about it too? Like CCRIS or CTOS.

BMI 36
It would be in your best interest that you reduce your weight before trying to get insurance from other insurer.

Even if you were to take from other insurer, you are required to declare in the form that the application was rejected by the first insurer due to obesity.

Whether your name pops up in the insurer database is not the question here.

The reason why Underwriting declines the case is because obesity if not control may lead to severe health complications, which results in huge medical claims of which even with the loading (extra premium) is not be able to justify policy issuance.

This post has been edited by roystevenung: Feb 10 2017, 07:18 AM
lifebalance
post Feb 10 2017, 08:27 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(Freemasonry @ Feb 10 2017, 01:56 AM)

BMI 36
BMI 36 is still acceptable with AIA but you'll be required to do a medical check up. Not an upfront reject

However do you have any health problem before this?

This post has been edited by lifebalance: Feb 10 2017, 08:27 AM
JIUHWEI
post Feb 10 2017, 11:08 AM

1,309 posts

Hey guys, what comes to mind about a life insurance policy with a sum assured of 1mil and up?

Would that be something you would consider?

Or just simply what is your opinion about a life insurance policy with a high sum insured?
wongmunkeong
post Feb 10 2017, 12:09 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(JIUHWEI @ Feb 10 2017, 11:08 AM)
Hey guys, what comes to mind about a life insurance policy with a sum assured of 1mil and up?

Would that be something you would consider?

Or just simply what is your opinion about a life insurance policy with a high sum insured?
term or whole life / ILP?

if term + needn't go checkup or can use my yearly medical checkup from SJMC (mah fan to specially go do for insurance tongue.gif ), i'd sign up

i've 3 death insurances that pays out double if death by accident - all at $500K basic death payout only
coz $500K is the max without me running around to do medical checkup

jack2
post Feb 10 2017, 12:10 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

Anyone knows which online banking can pay Great Eastern insurance using CC?
uforlife
post Feb 10 2017, 12:15 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Feb 10 2017, 12:09 PM)

if term + needn't go checkup or can use my yearly medical checkup from SJMC (mah fan to specially go do for insurance tongue.gif ), i'd sign up

i've 3 death insurances that pays out double if death by accident - all at $500K basic death payout only
wow u bought so many life insurance! anyway, uforlife is going to increase sum assured to 1mil soon wink.gif
JIUHWEI
post Feb 10 2017, 12:23 PM

1,309 posts

It's ILP with a twist.

The twist: Sum at risk
Normal ILP will charge COI for the total sum insured. If I am insured for 1mil, it will charge for the COI for 1mil according to my age, regardless of my cash value.

This special ILP, however, only charges the COI for the sum at risk. For the same 1mil sum insured, and let's say I have RM250k in the cash value. The COI will only charge for the remaining 750k.

Let's say in 30 years my cash value has surpassed my sum insured, no COI will be charged, because the sum at risk is now 0.

At the moment, non-medical limit is at RM4mil.

This post has been edited by JIUHWEI: Feb 10 2017, 12:38 PM
wongmunkeong
post Feb 10 2017, 12:28 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(uforlife @ Feb 10 2017, 12:15 PM)
wow u bought so many life insurance! anyway, uforlife is going to increase sum assured to 1mil soon wink.gif
yup - UforLife, i think i was one of those few that signed-up early with UforLife heheh
missed out on all the goodies/freebies offered to the later customers vmad.gif

good lar, $1M - poke me ar if possible (can ar?)
so i can DUMP the donkey Public Mutual Group Life, thus can totally be rid of PM funds (need to hold its mutual funds coz to buy their PM-AIA or PM-LonPac must hold a % of value based on the insurance premium)

QUOTE(JIUHWEI @ Feb 10 2017, 12:23 PM)
It's ILP with a twist.

Normal ILP will charge COI for the total sum insured. If I am insured for 1mil, it will charge for the COI for 1mil according to my age, regardless of my cash value.

This special ILP, however, only charges the COI for the sum at risk. For the same 1mil sum insured, and let's say I have RM250k in the cash value. The COI will only charge for the remaining 750k.

Let's say in 30 years my cash value has surpassed my sum insured, no COI will be charged, because the sum at risk is now 0.
urgh.. complicated for my simple brain cry.gif
wait ar - drink kopi / get caffeinated first and i'll try to understand again...
failing which.. NEXT! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Feb 10 2017, 12:30 PM
wongmunkeong
post Feb 10 2017, 12:30 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

--deleted-- double post

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Feb 10 2017, 12:30 PM
uforlife
post Feb 10 2017, 12:33 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Feb 10 2017, 12:28 PM)
yup - UforLife, i think i was one of those few that signed-up early with UforLife heheh
missed out on all the goodies/freebies offered to the later customers  vmad.gif

good lar, $1M - poke me ar if possible (can ar?)
so i can DUMP the donkey Public Mutual Group Life, thus can totally be rid of PM funds (need to hold its mutual funds coz to buy their PM-AIA or PM-LonPac must hold a % of value based on the insurance premium)
urgh.. complicated for my simple brain  cry.gif
wait ar - drink kopi / get caffeinated first and i'll try to understand again...
failing which.. NEXT!  laugh.gif
wow, thanks for ur support bro tongue.gif and sure, will notify you on that wink.gif is PM that bad? as in the funds, i know that you have to buy and keep for at least few years so that the return can cover up ur cost of buy sell, some sort like this D:
lifebalance
post Feb 10 2017, 12:41 PM

10,162 posts

There are non medical limit policies right now up to RM4,000,000 sun insured which you can include critical illness right now. Not just up to 500k or 1 mil.

With option of payment term 5, 10 or 20 years. Option to insured up to 70, 80 or 100 years old
wongmunkeong
post Feb 10 2017, 12:59 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(uforlife @ Feb 10 2017, 12:33 PM)
wow, thanks for ur support bro tongue.gif and sure, will notify you on that wink.gif is PM that bad? as in the funds, i know that you have to buy and keep for at least few years so that the return can cover up ur cost of buy sell, some sort like this D:
--out of topic warning--
Yup, it's that bad to me - i'm my own EX-"bestest" customer/servicing agent
and
when i see FSM's platform of offered mutual funds offer/costs/performances & even direct ETFs stocks... based on an additional 30 years investment (new input + holding existing), i'd "not gain" several hundred Ks based on my Excel caclulations.

note that's just me lar - may not apply to anyone else coz i may be living in my own lalaland & perhaps bad Excel formulas usage tongue.gif
ie personal lalaland opinion & failed AddMaths formulas, may not be statement of fact for other real humans living in real world <statement to ensure no funny legal stuff>

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Feb 10 2017, 12:41 PM)
There are non medical limit policies right now up to RM4,000,000 sun insured which you can include critical illness right now. Not just up to 500k or 1 mil.

With option of payment term 5, 10 or 20 years. Option to insured up to 70, 80 or 100 years old
huh? there are?
er.. yearly term (not those 5 10 20 years), non-ILP and as big a coverage per dollar/ringgit as UforLife? and needn't specially go for med-checks (ie. can use my SJMC yearly Executive Health Screening)?
if yes + as simple/straight-forward as UforLife, PM-AIA Group Life ( http://www.publicmutual.com.my/LinkClick.a...2bc%3d&tabid=69 ), etc. let's talk (PM or here also ok) - looking @ consolidating for easier management & better cost (hopefully, bigger biz & less processing ma) sweat.gif
notworthy.gif

reason for yearly term = my debts grows & shrinks quite actively & quantitatively (due to leveraging for investments).
my death insurances are mainly for that - to cover my debts/leverage, thus my love ones can get encumbrance-free assets if i die before my "plans complete".

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Feb 10 2017, 01:03 PM
asimov82
post Feb 10 2017, 12:59 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(JIUHWEI @ Feb 10 2017, 12:23 PM)
It's ILP with a twist.

At the moment, non-medical limit is at RM4mil.
is this called single-premium ILP??

I check before, too bad cannot attach any rider (no medic, no ci, no pa), and still charge 5% and monthly fee as the regular one cry.gif
anyway, I do see it useful as non-traditional saving plan which linked to IL unit performance.

btw, last I check, I can only assured for how much lump sum I put,
really can just lump sum 10k, then ask for 100k life assured confused.gif

lifebalance
post Feb 10 2017, 01:07 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Feb 10 2017, 12:59 PM)
--out of topic warning--
Yup, it's that bad to me - i'm my own EX-"bestest" customer/servicing agent
and
when i see FSM's platform of offered mutual funds offer/costs/performances & even direct ETFs stocks... based on an additional 30 years investment (new input + holding existing), i'd "not gain" several hundred Ks based on my Excel caclulations.

note that's just me lar - may not apply to anyone else coz i may be living in my own lalaland & perhaps bad Excel formulas usage tongue.gif
ie personal lalaland opinion & failed AddMaths formulas, may not be statement of fact for other real humans living in real world <statement to ensure no funny legal stuff>
huh? there are?
er.. yearly term (not those 5 10 20 years), non-ILP and as big a coverage per dollar/ringgit as UforLife? and needn't specially go for med-checks (ie. can use my SJMC yearly Executive Health Screening)?
if yes + as simple/straight-forward as UforLife, PM-AIA Group Life ( http://www.publicmutual.com.my/LinkClick.a...2bc%3d&tabid=69 ), etc. let's talk (PM or here also ok) - looking @ consolidating for easier management & better cost (hopefully, bigger biz & less processing ma)  sweat.gif
notworthy.gif

reason for yearly term = my debts grows & shrinks quite actively & quantitatively (due to leveraging for investments).
my death insurances are mainly for that - to cover my debts/leverage, thus my love ones can get encumbrance-free assets if i die before my "plans complete".
QUOTE(asimov82 @ Feb 10 2017, 12:59 PM)

I check before, too bad cannot attach any rider (no medic, no ci, no pa), and still charge 5% and monthly fee as the regular one  cry.gif
anyway, I do see it useful as non-traditional saving plan which linked to IL unit performance.

really can just lump sum 10k, then ask for 100k life assured  :confused:
Unfortunately this is an ILP and it's not on term insurance basis.

There will be investment involved but good thing is that you have an option to pay a shorter term and don't have to opt for whole life payment for the higher coverage

It also provides 2x for accidental death and 3x for death in public conveyance like in public transport or aircraft

Meaning if you insure 4 mil.

Normal death 4 mil
Accidental death 8 mil
Accidental death in public conveyance 12 mil

JIUHWEI
post Feb 10 2017, 05:28 PM

1,309 posts

QUOTE(asimov82 @ Feb 10 2017, 12:59 PM)

I check before, too bad cannot attach any rider (no medic, no ci, no pa), and still charge 5% and monthly fee as the regular one  cry.gif

really can just lump sum 10k, then ask for 100k life assured  confused.gif
No it is an ILP designed for large sum insured. Different from single premium ILP.

So basically if your sum insured is 1mil, and you have cash value up to RM500k in your policy,
The COI charged to you will only be the remaining sum-at-risk of RM500k.
The higher your cash value accumulates, the lower your sum-at-risk to be charged for COI.

So what do you think of this plan? Would this be something you would consider? hmm.gif
asimov82
post Feb 10 2017, 11:49 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(JIUHWEI @ Feb 10 2017, 05:28 PM)
No it is an ILP designed for large sum insured. Different from single premium ILP.

So basically if your sum insured is 1mil, and you have cash value up to RM500k in your policy,
The COI charged to you will only be the remaining sum-at-risk of RM500k.
The higher your cash value accumulates, the lower your sum-at-risk to be charged for COI.

So what do you think of this plan? Would this be something you would consider?  hmm.gif
never heard of such plan,
could it cover death, disability, ci??

sound to me like a target date saving plan, that planning to leave 1mil for family and use this to save up the money...

anyway, I dont see it much different than getting a typical regular ILP, that put the same lumpsum money and then ask for premium holiday:
- regular one got flexibility for ci, medi, pa, or just plain life as the one you mention
- regular one charge lumpsum fee same as the one you mention
- regular one can have premium holiday on and off by request (should be at no cost)
- regular one can start with large sum insured(?) then yearly reduce it manually for free

unless there is a limitation on the sum insured from regular ILP,
I will update my existing ILP for such purpose, as both plan introduce monthly fee and better consolidate into one.

I am still try to understand on these ILPs, if you can show me such non-regular premium ILP that support medi, early ci and pa, I am interest to know more smile.gif

p.s the fee charged on lumpsum is as much as I paid for unit trust investment from local reputable company, since ILP plan does not advice me as the UTC do, could any one suggest to ILP company to reduce these lumpsum charge?

This post has been edited by asimov82: Feb 10 2017, 11:50 PM
lifebalance
post Feb 10 2017, 11:55 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(asimov82 @ Feb 10 2017, 11:49 PM)
never heard of such plan,
could it cover death, disability, ci??

sound to me like a target date saving plan, that planning to leave 1mil for family and use this to save up the money...

anyway, I dont see it much different than getting a typical regular ILP, that put the same lumpsum money and then ask for premium holiday:
- regular one got flexibility for ci, medi, pa, or just plain life as the one you mention
- regular one charge lumpsum fee same as the one you mention
- regular one can have premium holiday on and off by request (should be at no cost)
- regular one can start with large sum insured(?) then yearly reduce it manually for free

unless there is a limitation on the sum insured from regular ILP,
I will update my existing ILP for such purpose, as both plan introduce monthly fee and better consolidate into one.
I am still try to understand on these ILPs, if you can show me such non-regular premium ILP that support medi, early ci and pa, I am interest to know more smile.gif

p.s the fee charged on lumpsum is as much as I paid for unit trust investment from local reputable company, since ILP plan does not advice me as the UTC do, could any one suggest to ILP company to reduce these lumpsum charge?
The main advantage of such plan is that you'll be charged lower Cost of insurance within the policy compared to a normal ILP. Approximately 10% cheaper.

On top of that the medical underwritten limit is higher than a normal ILP.

You can't do that with a normal term insurance. Let's not compare unit trust companies provided insurance because they mainly only promote term insurance.

If you want to eat Italian, go for a real Italian shop rather than a hotel serving buffet and Italian being one of it.

This post has been edited by lifebalance: Feb 10 2017, 11:57 PM

128 Pages « < 125 126 127 128 >Top

0.0285sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:06 PM