Home Theatre Best HDMI DVD Player, Have you Found it Yet?

ryansia
post Dec 29 2006, 11:04 PM

316 posts

I've been busy checking the latest price. My primary usage will be for HTPC and regular TV programs. Below ar emy findings. Sharp is using their own ASV panel, Sammy is their S-PVA whereas both LG and Toshiba are using LG-Phillips panel. all are 768p panels. I'm not too sure if the VGA port of Sharp and Toshiba can take 1360x768 or 1368x768 from PC.

Sharp 42" 42BX5M. Best Quote RM 7,500

Samsung 40" LA40R71B. Best Quote RM6,950

Toshiba 42" 42WL66E. Best quote RM 6,800

LG 42" 42LC2R. Best Quote RM6,000

what do you say??

ryansia
post Jan 1 2007, 03:47 AM

316 posts

Happy New year to all of you!!!
thanks for all the replys and I'm sorry that i was busy til now..... notworthy.gif

Actually I my heart goes to Sharp but after reading the reviews and the finding that 42" BX is actually taiwanese panel from AUO...... shocking.gif

since the 4 TVs that i've short listed are not something that spectacular, i might opt for LG due to the pricing. Further more, LG can do 1366x768 from what i found from the net. Can anyone confirm this???

This post has been edited by ryansia: Jan 1 2007, 03:51 AM
ryansia
post Jan 4 2007, 11:41 AM

316 posts

maybe my eye got problems....i could not spot any calour banding at the big electrical chain here..... they are showing the typical HD DEMO on the TVs.

I'm still considering whether to take this LG 42 @ RM 5900 against toshiba 42and Sharp 42 due to it's very attractive pricing......... the saving could buy me a new matching TV cabinet.... migth buy it today since already got the bonus payout tongue.gif

Would that be the case of paying peanut and u get monkey????

BTW, the same shop offer me 5900 for LG is offering me Sony 40" V200A at 7300....quite good pricing i reckon.

This post has been edited by ryansia: Jan 4 2007, 11:44 AM
ryansia
post Jan 4 2007, 02:00 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(Neo18 @ Jan 4 2007, 01:47 PM)
bro ryansia,

keep me updated on your purchase. I also intend to get a LCD tv myself.

I'm already thinking 42" LCD Bravia Type X , but bit expensive 15000, maybe if it reach 12000 i will buy it
Hi Neo,

My budget and tvs ar in different league than yours.....
i suppose you meant 40" Sony X......
ryansia
post Jan 7 2007, 01:37 PM

316 posts

I've got my LG 42LC2R delivered yesterday at the cost of RM6k..
Dead pixel and light leakage free but with minor uneven backlight (only obvious when no signal). patiently set my HTPC output to 1360x 768, then plug in DVI to HDMI cable to the TV and reboot... vola....perfect 1:1 pixel mapping at HDMI port!!!!!! damn chun, with the tears of joy and the feeling is like first time making love....kakakaka...

very satisfied with this purchase and it's really value for money. Tv reception seems to be good. need time to calibrate and will do a short review if i'm free....too busy with the TV.
ryansia
post Jan 8 2007, 10:36 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jan 8 2007, 09:53 AM)
Congrats bro. Just don't let ur wife know about the making love part....women can never understand men and their electronic toys...ha-ha...
this one for sure!!! for the reason that my first time was not her!
ryansia
post Jan 9 2007, 09:29 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(radiohead @ Jan 8 2007, 08:22 PM)
where did u brought it?
Bought it at TBM (Tan Boon Meng) and the price is valid fo cash term. Credit card +2.5%.

QUOTE(tong1774 @ Jan 9 2007, 01:22 AM)
Lots of ppl have bad impression with Sharp 32BX due to its taiwanese panel. But after 3 months of intensive testing and calibrating, i am happy to say that its actually not bad depends on its source. The factory setting will have certain amount of red push so u may want to fine tune it in the advance setting. I tried with 1080P WMV, D9,D5, all kinds of media files and normal tv broadcast, here is what i think:

1) 1080P WMV- Superb! At least to my eye. But 1080P is too new for me so i really dont know how good it can be. The Magic Of Flight_1080.wmv downloded from Microsoft is simply awesome and there is no grain what so ever when u stare at the bright blue sky. And the smoke trail of the plane do not exibite any color patch as well.

2) D9- D9 looks fanstastic even without any upscale, with ffdshow, it is even better.

3) D5- Depends on the quality of the encoding, some "ahem" can look very grainy. But if its a re-code from D9, then i really cant tell the difference between the 2.

4) Media files- RMVB looks ok after upscale with ffdshow, but some times its may looks a bit too patchy and the grey scale is less than adequate, but this is the nature of RMVB and its more obvious when play on LCD. High bitrate AVI and other format looks good too.

5) Tv broadcast- This is the only thing that i am not sure. I got very bad picture quality on all channel except Channel 8 and TV3. I dont know if its because of my signal coming out from the wall antenna socket is bad, or its just the tv problem. Too bad i dont have a CRT with me, but i do know that LCD suffer from PQ when playing back analoge tv broadcast, but i just dont know how bad it could be.

Overall, i think Sharp 32BX6 is a good buy. Off course it cant compite with other hi-end model like Sharp GA/G7 series, Sony V/X series, and Samsung M/F series. But for those model within the same price range, its 1 of the best.

And i dont understand why Sharp keep using back the same "Violin" demo disc, that demo is just yellow yellow and full of yellow color. I bet 10 ppl who stand in front of Sharp will not give it a second look when they saw the demo nest to a Sony/Samsung. Just my 2 cents.
I was seriously considering the 42BX5M. I spent quite sometime on this unit at the neibourhood electrical shop that so happen has this on display and the owner (very niceguy) let me fiddled with it. it gives me a feeling of "still not there yet", perhaps is the effect after being psycho-ed by alamakLor....... Since it falls under leauge of entry series, i opted for value buy- LG. the other important factor is its ability of doing 1:1 pixel mapping on DVI-HDMI.

I would say there is not much diferrent playing 1080p or 720P on a 720p screen in term of PQ. well, it depends also type of connection from HTPC to the TV as well. as for my case, i can achieve 1:1 pixel maping hence the play back of any media is fully on the gfx card to do the scaling.

On upscaling via FFDShow, i have strange problem. I've set resize to "all supported" and it works well with all type of medias except RMVB. sometime it kicks in but some time it won't for RMVB. I'm really puzzled with this. Do you have any idea?
ryansia
post Jan 9 2007, 10:24 AM

316 posts

thanks a lot.... will try it at home.

yup, LG is too bright and it has no back light control option on standard menu. i'm yet to try the service menu if there is an option to tune the back light. the grainy picture might due to it inferior XD Engine.... on PC mode XD is inactive and the PQ is just fabulous.....of course depending on the source file.
ryansia
post Jan 9 2007, 11:01 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(tong1774 @ Jan 9 2007, 10:41 AM)
So yours is 32" or 37" and how much u get it for?
i got myself 42", little bit overkilled for viewing distance of ~10 feet........paid rm 6K for LG, Sharp will cost me RM7.5K. the saving might be enough to get me a cheapo 26" for the room leh.......
ryansia
post Jan 10 2007, 09:44 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(Edifier @ Jan 9 2007, 03:29 PM)
Just bought the LG 37" LCD TV, the screen is too bright until i can see the actor 's face when he is standing under the sun. Talk to the saleman, he told me asean version is brighter than the europe batch now trying to call the LG people to request changing the Engine inside.  sweat.gif  rclxub.gif

1 thing i notice is the LCD not clear when watching the Astro program and this monday playing a pirated DVD Children chinese new year movie, the output is s***, don't know is the DVD problem or my LCD problem. can't see the face of the children singer at all.  vmad.gif
yup...only the 42" is using S-IPS panel AKA hard panel....

as for the brightness and back light, I believe it can be tuned in the service menu but "DO IT AT YOUR OWN RISK".

To get into SM, press n hold the menu button on the remote, then press n hold the menu button on the TV for about 6sec until the menu pops up. i'm yet to have time to tweak this. Try to serch in AVForum and AVS and their model is LC2D (D stand for digtal tuner)

about the DVD, you might want to try it on other TV before concluding. what is the connection of your DVD player to the TV? that might just the disk at fault??
ryansia
post Jan 11 2007, 10:53 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(kpyjr @ Jan 10 2007, 05:08 PM)
bout sitting distance i sit about 15 feet away, what size wud be best?
rule of thumb is 3x screen size. go figure.....

QUOTE(Edifier @ Jan 10 2007, 10:44 PM)
Do u have the password? it need the password to access
eh password??? nvr come across this leh! the last time i tried was just browsing through the contents but didn't come across password thingy....

where does the password request pops up? care to explain?

ryansia
post Jan 11 2007, 11:39 AM

316 posts

mine dun have this wor.....straight go to the service menu. interesting....

edit: OK i found this at AVForums
Googleing for the service menu, it turns there're two main ways to access it in LG LCD TVs. The first one is pressing Menu in the remote for about 5 seconds until the screen asks for a 4 digit password. None of the passwords I gathered worked. Why I'm explaining this? Because this method interferes with the one that works:

Press Menu on both the remote and the TV (the standard menu will appear) for about 4/5 seconds and, as soon as you see the standard menu dissappear, stop pressing the keys, else the service menu will be there only for a split second, because the TV will ask now for a password.

and this

http://www.bruzziforum.com/vbf/showthread.php?t=35

I hope it's helpful.

This post has been edited by ryansia: Jan 11 2007, 12:20 PM
ryansia
post Jan 16 2007, 11:04 PM

316 posts

glad to hear the CS is excellent. i've no issue with my 42" LCD.

BTW, how much did you pay for your 37''? from what i recall, should be around 4.6K and you have to top up 2.5K to get 42"??? total would be around 7K when the market price is 6K?? unless you opt for the 42LC2RR then sounds reasonable.
ryansia
post Jan 16 2007, 11:29 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(myjunk @ Jan 16 2007, 11:25 PM)
wah... Got bonus ah.. when want to belanja makan?? my Beerfest still not able to start since every1 busy.. busy.

I go cheap option, buy 22in Acer LCD, hook up lcd bracket in the room and use computer to output. 1680x1050 widescreen. All for Rm1380 from lowyat.

Cheap cheap and quality is good also. (superb actually)
wow wow wow, newbie heh??? got to replan the beerfest, i'm still in shanghai now....
ryansia
post Jan 16 2007, 11:43 PM

316 posts

DIY projector??? u mean using the stupid rm35 len ar???
ryansia
post Jan 19 2007, 05:16 PM

316 posts

my Lg got 2 tuners.....PIP with any combination of input rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by ryansia: Jan 19 2007, 05:17 PM
ryansia
post Feb 5 2007, 09:58 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Jan 29 2007, 01:59 PM)
Can I ask the LG 42" users, are you satisfied with the PC mode connection. is it clear enuff using dvi-hdmi. lets say can u surf the net from 8ft away. or u must sit say 3 or 4 feet away.

want to use it for both pc and tv mode, at the convenient of sitting at the sofa.

I'm very much a happy man..... sitting from aroung 8ft.

it serves all my needs, the only set back is it has only 1 hdmi port.
ryansia
post Feb 5 2007, 02:47 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Feb 5 2007, 01:17 PM)
You can always get a HDMI video selector box for your baby. Frankly, dual HDMI ports won't be enough in the near future when more and more devices are using HDMI, you need at least two for a Blu-Ray and HD-DVD player. Not forgetting, your HDMI dvd player (most people including myself has that), HD camcorder, XBOX 360, PS3, etc. I guess, having 5 HDMI inputs or more will be sufficient enough for our needs.
QUOTE(ccschua @ Feb 5 2007, 01:49 PM)
I totally agree as I already started thinking.

all the toshiba, LG, Philip, Haier, paladine , etc only 1 hdmi

wheareas Sharp, JVC, other with 2 hdmi for video, pc input, etc. nobody like splitter when u have move back and forth to switch.
well, 2 is always better than 1....LOL

i think it's just a matter of time that i will look up a receiver equiped with multiple hdmi...... i mean when the pime is right....
ryansia
post Feb 5 2007, 07:57 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Feb 5 2007, 07:00 PM)
They should be more generous lah, if a pc can have 6 to 8 USB ports, why not a LCD with 6 HDMI inputs?
that's for the future selling point lar....if they sekali give you 6, what to shout about on their next release?? kekekeke....that's business....

not to forget, they will then shouting that they have a series of receivers that fit your multiple HDMI needs... hand them the cold hard cash!!LOL
ryansia
post Feb 12 2007, 07:33 PM

316 posts

it depends on how demanding you are....like alamaklor, he will never get his tv until 2010......kekekeke

1000 bucks can do quite a lot of things..... get a nice tv bench to pair with your toshiba...good idea??

0.0220sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:42 AM