Home Theatre Best HDMI DVD Player, Have you Found it Yet?

lactose_operon
post Sep 24 2007, 06:58 PM

[WTS] l.o.v.3
1,184 posts

yesterday carrefour was doin promo on sony klv-s310a for 2799..is it any good?
lactose_operon
post Sep 27 2007, 08:24 PM

[WTS] l.o.v.3
1,184 posts

aloha guys, is there any hdmi player tat has the 5.1 audio output?
lactose_operon
post Sep 30 2007, 12:55 PM

[WTS] l.o.v.3
1,184 posts

owh..but tat gonna cost me a bomb rite? sweat.gif

btw, any1 here using LG 298h?carrefour is selling it at rm379. tinking of pairing it wit my s310a, but afraid the PQ n playability will be an issue...
lactose_operon
post Oct 3 2007, 09:17 PM

[WTS] l.o.v.3
1,184 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Oct 2 2007, 11:07 AM)
Desa Home theaters was selling it for RM319 two weeks back...not sure if they maintained that price.
carpathia r u using it? tinking of getting a unit but afraid the PQ is bad...n plus, i hv a huge collection of ahem dvds sweat.gif
lactose_operon
post Feb 5 2008, 08:05 PM

[WTS] l.o.v.3
1,184 posts

juz bought a philips 5986k.got it at rm360 from desa HT. wat i cn say is tat the PQ is superb compared to my old component cable output player... NICE thumbup.gif
lactose_operon
post Feb 7 2008, 07:12 PM

[WTS] l.o.v.3
1,184 posts

QUOTE(jimjim @ Feb 6 2008, 12:34 PM)
why so many ppl buy philips one? issit better interms of picture quality compare to the sony 76H? to me PQ is important....
have u guys done comparison between philips and sony? is the interlacing/upscaling on the philips good?
for me i barely cn see any PQ difference between 76H and 5986k. n of coz, the usb input n the supplied giraffe hdmi cable is a big plus for me, but the main reason i bought tis 5986k is bcoz it got 5.1 audio analog output.really useful for me coz i connectd the player to my edifier r501mkII tongue.gif

This post has been edited by lactose_operon: Feb 7 2008, 07:14 PM
lactose_operon
post Feb 11 2008, 12:08 AM

[WTS] l.o.v.3
1,184 posts

negative..only upscales thru hdmi.
lactose_operon
post Mar 20 2008, 01:19 AM

[WTS] l.o.v.3
1,184 posts

QUOTE(shumaky @ Mar 18 2008, 07:25 PM)
Looks like if I wanna buy a new DVD player for this purpose, I've gotta take my 720 divx DVDR to the shop n test on the players itself to see if it works.
I did a check on Divx website on supported players, the Phlips 5986 is labeled as Ultra Divx and capable of playing 720x568 (not too sure bout the last nbrs). And a check on Philips webby, says that the 5986 is capable of playing 720p n 1080i and also Divx6 which is supposed to be Divx in HD.
Anyone that has this player care to comment..??
5986k is an upscaler.it only upscales ur sd vid signal to 720p / 1080p.n it will not play ur HD video files. sweat.gif

QUOTE(anggun @ Mar 18 2008, 03:22 PM)
kianwee,

i jsut bought the phlips 5986 dvd player. it takes a while for it to start up, is that normal? once the on button is pressed, the "Philips" text on the display panel will take upto 15 seconds or more to be displayed.

Also I noticed that it doesnt have a splash screen with the company logo on the TV upon starting up unlike say a Sony.
i tink its normal.coz mine oso take about 5-10secs to startup.n yes, it does not hv any splash screen.juz normal lame blue background only.

0.0565sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:14 AM