Home Theatre Best HDMI DVD Player, Have you Found it Yet?

piscesguy
post Dec 29 2007, 10:00 PM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,963 posts

To use a 40" LCD tv as a pc monitor...how far r u gonna sit from it? laugh.gif

As u said, towards astro and movies I STRONGLY recommend u PLASMA. thumbup.gif

If u into HD movies...then get a highest resolution (1080) else astro and dvd still look good in lowest resolution.(480)

piscesguy
post Jan 2 2008, 08:57 AM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,963 posts

mADmAN, welcome to the plasma world. rclxms.gif

I m still waiting for 50" plasma price to drop... rolleyes.gif

42" is not longer big enough for me... brows.gif
piscesguy
post Jan 6 2008, 07:43 AM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,963 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Jan 5 2008, 11:18 AM)
Some of the ahem D9s titles sold here are actually D5 titles recorded on a dual layered disc, I've bought a few and I even compared the bitrates for both, D9 and D5, they were identical but when I bought the original dvd instead, the bitrates were a lot higher. Nowadays, they deceive people by passing D5 rubbish on a D9 disc. Well, when you're free, you can do this experiment, you'll realise that you have been cheated into thinking that the D9 disc you have is supposedly to be of better quality. Nowadays, I also seldom buy those ahem ones unless I can't find that particular titles on an original dvd. RM39.90 to RM59.90 is fine with me if it's a good movie and I'm also hoping that blu-ray and hd-dvd titles will drop below RM80 one day to make them more affordable.
Normally I buy 2 dvds per month...average price per dvd= RM 59.90. sweat.gif

I can't imagine those ppl playing blu-ray/hd-dvd have to pay out more than hundred bucks per title.. sweat.gif sweat.gif

Even if I manage to buy the HD hardware, the software alone will kill me now.. doh.gif
So I have to stay into DVD world for few more years ...cannot afford to go into HD world yet. cry.gif

piscesguy
post Jan 6 2008, 12:09 PM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,963 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jan 6 2008, 10:49 AM)
99% of ahem is D5 on D9 disc. But i dun think they cheat coz they only sell at D5 ahem disc and they told yu straight away it's D5 on D9. Just put into your PC and you can see most of them around 2G+ to 4GB only. Most D9 will exeed the D5 storage barrier. I think i only have 1 ahem (X-MEN 2) that's truly D9..over 6GB of data. thumbup.gif

Also i believe local ori DVDs(except crap titles nobody wants) are mostly D5 right? Only those imported ones has a full DTS soundtrack and D9 disc.
Local Ori DVDs (Region 3) are all D9 discs (> 5GB). All have DD and only selected titles have DTS.
There are mainly 3 distributers - BERJAYA HVN, MEDIAMAX and MOVIE MAGIC.

piscesguy
post Jan 7 2008, 10:57 AM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,963 posts

Where to buy blurays and hd dvds at rm 60 in KL? shocking.gif or u mean using ebay,etc..? hmm.gif
piscesguy
post Jan 13 2008, 08:27 PM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,963 posts

QUOTE(tchiaming @ Jan 13 2008, 03:55 PM)
hey guys... this is my situation....

i'm gonna shift into a new house soon.... n i have an AV room....
the problem is.... i don't know which TV to get.....

lots of ppl recommended me to get plasma....
i am looking for a tv from 40 to 42 inch
currently, i am very interested in a Hitachi plasma tv (P42A01A)

if i get it from harvey norman, they r only selling it for rm4800.... n they r throwing in a normal HDMI cable n a S-video Monster cable (worth rm200++) totally free..... very very attractive package....

so.... guys... my question is.... is Hitachi a good brand?
i've compared it to panasonic n samsung plasma tv... n i noticed that hitachi's white is really white, while panasonic n samsung's white is abit yellowish... black is okay with all.... but colors r more natural in hitachi.... and sometimes there r patches in the samsung...

so guys... any suggestions? i am not considering pioneer cos too ex....  tongue.gif
Hitachi is definately a good brand..but panasonic,pioneer and even samsung are more popular brand in msia.. laugh.gif

I seen panasonic and pioneer plasma...pic quality quite good...never really look into hitachi plasma, however there are good reviews in the other countries..
piscesguy
post Jan 14 2008, 07:16 AM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,963 posts

QUOTE(otherwise @ Jan 13 2008, 11:19 PM)
Im aware that the best view distance for 42" plasma is 12 feets but the distance from my sofa to the wall is less than 8 feets. Should i stick to buy 42" or cancel my plan and buy 32" instead?
Yes...get smaller tv before hurting ur eye.
piscesguy
post Jan 18 2008, 08:37 AM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,963 posts

Dolby Digital is the only mandatory format in DVD and DTS is optional. doh.gif
piscesguy
post May 14 2008, 10:34 AM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,963 posts

Use a dedicated DVD player to watch dvds and use PS3 for games and blu-ray movies...somehow I feel like my dvd player plays dvd better than my ps3....

piscesguy
post Aug 18 2008, 04:53 PM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,963 posts

i read somewhere coaxial and optical cannot carry 7.1..only hdmi carries 7.1 signal..
piscesguy
post Aug 18 2008, 05:10 PM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,963 posts

QUOTE(eye @ Aug 18 2008, 05:00 PM)
allo nothing to do with the cables, it's the processor in yr amp larrrr ....
It has EVERYTHING to do with the cables...

Uncompressed audio is only available via HDMI..

0.0424sec    1.01    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:21 AM