Home Theatre Best HDMI DVD Player, Have you Found it Yet?

g5sim
post Jun 23 2007, 02:12 AM

5,752 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Jun 22 2007, 11:49 PM)
Wasn't MiTV in trouble before? I remember reading in the news some time back they laid off some employees etc.

Anyway, you are right about their programmes, not interesting whatsoever. They will fail even if they relaunch unlesss they get more interesting shows and lower their charges.
i am suspecting their program line up will be similar to astro's when their relaunch their services. Astro has indicated in their annual reports that some of their exclusive channels will no longer be exclusive to them. I am assuming the time is at the end of this year which also coincide with MiTV's previous plan of charging MiTV more at the end of this year. MiTV's misteps was technology choice. They were never really selling MiTV anyway - just telling the malaysian merket that there is another pay tv out there.

go MPEG4 !! rclxm9.gif

Added on June 23, 2007, 2:18 am
QUOTE(Ngto @ Jun 22 2007, 11:49 PM)
Wasn't MiTV in trouble before? I remember reading in the news some time back they laid off some employees etc.
they are stopped their services awaiting relaunch. they should not have launch their services in the first time because they were not ready. cool2.gif

Added on June 23, 2007, 2:19 amNOKIA and MITV announce mobile TV service

KUALA LUMPUR, MON:

NOKIA Siemens Networks and MiTV Corporation Sdn Bhd today announced their collaboration to launch a commercial broadcast mobile television service based on Digital Video Broadcast-Handheld (DVB-H) technology in Malaysia in the second half of this year.

DVB-H is a robust broadcast-to-mobile technology, which provides excellent reception of the ordinary television broadcasting in digital format on mobile phones and TV screens, the two companies said in a joint statement.

Under the agreement, Nokia and MiTV will implement a broadcast mobile TV based on an open DVB-H standard, enabling viewers in Malaysia with an opportunity to watch DVD-like quality broadcast television "on the go".

The two companies said they are confident of delivering a rich broadcast mobile TV solution for MiTV's 018 mobile TV customers.

"Soon, MiTV's 018 mobile TV customers will be able to watch the latest news, engage in music videos and documentaries and even catch their favourite TV series anywhere and anytime directly from their mobile devices," said MiTV's chairman Datuk Rosman Ridzwan.

"The experience will be unlike any other claimed mobile TV offerings currently available in the market," said Kenneth Chang, executive director of MiTV Networks which managed the mobile network operations.

"You will be able to switch between channels instantaneously, and on top of that, the picture quality and reception will be better than any video streaming services available today," he said.

Nokia will provide MiTV's 018 broadcast mobile TV service an end-to-end deployment process, including implementation, integration and application development services.

It will also maintain MiTV's infrastructure on a turnkey basis.

"This marks the beginning of exciting times in the Asia Pacific broadcasting industry, bringing digital television to consumers' pockets and ushering in a new era of personal interactive entertainment," said Nokia Malaysia's general manager Andrew Cheong.

This post has been edited by g5sim: Jun 23 2007, 02:19 AM
g5sim
post Aug 23 2007, 08:26 AM

5,752 posts

QUOTE(yyteik @ Aug 23 2007, 07:58 AM)
oo... then how about 32" ??? i am curious about the viewing distance....
Astro's poor signal made it only good to be watched on a CRT TV. any 29in or 34in 100zh CRT tv such as the Panasonic or Philips would do. LCD tvs are meant for DVD or hdtv viewing wink.gif in malaysia, our uncle dvd are recorded from cinema and we do not have hd tv. so what to do? what for MiTV to launch HD channels wink.gif
g5sim
post Sep 26 2007, 01:22 AM

5,752 posts

QUOTE(iman_210 @ Sep 25 2007, 04:27 AM)
guys,

got quick question...is it true that dvd only display 12 fps while bluray 24 fps...

when are we expected to enjoy blue ray extensively in Malaysia.

the new 32 incher sony priced  at 2999 with 5 yr warranty is nice guys...
24fps, 50fps, 60fps ... you caught me at hello!! you cares, if your display can do a proper 3-2 pull down. the framework is hyped because earlier HD DVD players do not support 24fps. the same for 1080p ! it was hyped to death by Sony, until Toshina released 2 1080p models and now all their 1080p models can do 24fps. so it will hype will die down slowly. the only source of 1080p 24fps contents are from HD DVD blu-ray. We will not see it on HD transmission smile.gif
g5sim
post Sep 26 2007, 06:39 AM

5,752 posts

QUOTE(iman_210 @ Sep 26 2007, 06:03 AM)
that is my concern...why buying a 24fps HD transmission where current hdmi enabled dvd cannot support..coz m not going for full hd tv yet...

better off with a normal lcd i think...50hz is enough...
at the rate that BD and HD DVD is going in the US, there is a change that we wont even see BD and HD DVD. in 5ys time. So, if you want 1080p then go for it. but pay extra for 24fsp .. dun waste your money. you get to see smoother high speed actions of 1080p as compared to 1080i on a huge display. IF you are an action boi, get 1080p. 24fsp is GIANTLY over rated. What was the Sony PS3 MADDEN debacle vs XBox 360 again ?
g5sim
post Oct 15 2007, 06:51 AM

5,752 posts

get the serial number, call the manufacturer tongue.gif
g5sim
post Jun 15 2008, 05:35 AM

5,752 posts

hey sunauto:

hear this : planning to get a HDTV from from CEs such as Panasonic, Pioneer etc but then dun plan to get a BD player. Since without BD - the tv will be a normal tv - then no point getting HDTV then. wink.gif

g5sim
post Aug 18 2008, 05:04 PM

5,752 posts

Toshiba just launched one with super upconvert capability. XDE500

XDE = eXtended Definition Enhancement - MRSP at $149 - USA

0.0406sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:36 AM