Home Theatre Best HDMI DVD Player, Have you Found it Yet?
Ngto
Aug 28 2007, 01:46 AM
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 27 2007, 05:44 PM) that's true, but got to pay extra RM75/month on top of RM599 for second decorder. I myself don't watch Astro and the TV is for me whereas the rest of the family do watch Astro. Thanks again for your informative comments. After considering what you said, i might as while wait and hopefully next year Full HD LCD TVs prices will drop below RM5K and then i get the LCD TV, camcorder & PS3. You are welcome. If you can wait, by all means. The 1080p displays will surely come down in price. However it won't be too soon it will reach the level below RM5,000/- as currently the prices are more than double that of 720P/1080i.
Ngto
Sep 4 2007, 09:50 AM
QUOTE(Diademz @ Sep 4 2007, 08:13 AM) Wa the more replies I get the more choices there are! Sony 76H ~RM590 Philips DVP5986 ~RM499 Pio DV-400 ~RM600 I want the player mainly for watching upscaled DVDs and am also attracted to Philips and Pio because of the USB inputs - I have only tried the Pio briefly and it managed play all my DivX/Xvid encoded files except for those at 7xx wide resolution. What is the PQ differences between the 3? Sunauto has said both the Sony and Pio uses the same Mediatek chipset for interlacing/scaling. EDIT : I think I'll go see for myself..thanks again everyone! About 4 mths ago I bought the 76H for only RM560/- (have to bargain). By now the price would have come down further.
Ngto
Sep 8 2007, 11:19 PM
QUOTE(xterminator @ Sep 8 2007, 10:58 PM) Sorry, I'm quite noob  ....Just asking,So if I get a philips 5986, I want 5.1 sound, I get a a/v receiver? How to connect to a 5.1 speaker like Z5500? How much a a/v receiver cost?Thank you for replying....  If I am not mistaken, for the Z5500 , you can just connect the Optical or Coaxial cable directly to the Optical or Coaxial output of the DVD player. Most of the DVD players in the market has Optical and Coaxial output nowadays. The Z5500 will do the decoding since it has both DTS and Dolby Digital decoder built in. No need for separate AV receiver.
Ngto
Sep 8 2007, 11:34 PM
QUOTE(xterminator @ Sep 8 2007, 11:16 PM) What lcd tv you recommend for a low budjet like Rm 2600 or below? 32 inc or smaller also can but dont 21 inch....gt 21 meh? Just asking, thank you  I'm Confused...  Anything below 32" hard to find nowadays. For your budget you can only go for the phase out models. Some 32" can be found for the price you mentioned, but you have to really look for the bargain sections
Ngto
Sep 9 2007, 12:04 PM
QUOTE(xterminator @ Sep 9 2007, 08:14 AM) Ok..ok...thanks for replying bro.....Just a optical cable from hdmi player to Z5500....tq a lot You're welcome. But it's better you counter check with logitech website just to make sure. Also don't forget to adjust the settings of the HDMI player to output DD and DTS through the Optical/Coaxial connection as opposed to PCM audio which is stereo. Some players require that. ------------------------------- Update I read from another thread the Philips 5986 does not have Optical output. Guess you can only use the Coaxial for DD5.1/DTS sound. Maybe HDMI players nowadays have done away with Optical output to cut costs. This post has been edited by Ngto: Sep 11 2007, 08:55 AM
Ngto
Sep 11 2007, 11:40 AM
QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Sep 11 2007, 11:19 AM) Then just SD DVD? Isn't SD DVD at 480p? Then these players output at 1080p? Sony model upscale SD DVD from 480i/p to 720P/1080i. The Philips model upscale to 1080P (quality wise - ??? ) But of course they both can't play HD-DVD. If You want a player which can play HD-DVD be prepared to pay much, much more. This post has been edited by Ngto: Sep 11 2007, 11:45 AM
Ngto
Oct 2 2007, 08:26 AM
Deleted this post because posted wrong info. This post has been edited by Ngto: Oct 2 2007, 10:01 AM
Ngto
Oct 2 2007, 10:00 AM
Sorry for my " woke up on wrong side of bed" post  . Just ignore what I said. Upside down info I posted This post has been edited by Ngto: Oct 2 2007, 10:01 AM
Ngto
Oct 16 2007, 10:25 AM
QUOTE(sunauto @ Oct 11 2007, 01:34 PM) Seriously PS3's dvd playback is no better than XBOX 360, you can check the review here, http://www.hometheaterhifi.com/cgi-bin/sho...on%203%20(HDMI) and there are other reviews from other sites too, just google around. The PS3 lens will spoil without warning. I have spoke to the joker who placed his PS3 in vertical position, he said he was watching 300 on dvd, then the next morning, it failed to read any discs including PS3 games. I guess that it's either the placement of the console or the lens of the PS3 is not reliable, which is mostly true for Sony's Playstation products, that explains why I bought a few PS1 and PS2 consoles, all of them suffered from lens problem whereas my PS3, it should be fine, there are not much games to play on it after all. Better don't take a risk to use it to watch movies when you have other better and cheaper alternatives. Could that be an old review. I read at some forums about 2 mths back that with the release of the PS3 1.8 firmware the upscale quality and other issues of the PS3 have improved greatly.
Ngto
Oct 25 2007, 10:46 AM
From my experience with ahem DVD, you will find the 76H the king of playability too.
Ngto
Oct 26 2007, 12:33 AM
QUOTE(mavric @ Oct 25 2007, 04:58 PM) Sony it is then! Most of the shops I been to has been commenting Sony players are sensitive...selective towards the disc they read. Most recommend Philips over Sony because of this. Other reasons are Philips can support USB and up to 1080p. Since most of you here have had good experience with Sony, I'm convinced. Maybe I can squeeze them to lower the price a bit more since new 78H model is out. It's not launched here yet right? Not updated at Sony website. Anyway, my tv can only go up to 1080i...so no point lah. Thanks folks!  Despite my recommendations, I have to warn you about the Sony though. The component output signal is a bit weak. Buy it only if you intend to use the HDMI upscaling which is it's strong point. If you need the USB, then Philips is your choice. This post has been edited by Ngto: Oct 26 2007, 12:36 AM
Ngto
Oct 26 2007, 09:26 AM
If you already have HD content via your laptop, then I can't comment whether the 76H will be better or worse than your current setup. That's because the Sony will upscale standard 480P DVD to 720P/1080i whereas your laptop already has HD as it's source.
Subject to the above, I think the colour, brightness and contrast etc. would be better using the Sony. Use one of the Dynamic or Cinema modes on the 76H together with the sharpness control to get the best results with your LCD TV.
Ngto
Oct 26 2007, 10:50 AM
QUOTE(rx330 @ Oct 26 2007, 10:30 AM) yea, support sony 76h  it only upscales thru hdmi rite? Most, if not all, current models (whatever Brand) upscales only via HDMI. This post has been edited by Ngto: Oct 26 2007, 10:55 AM
Ngto
Oct 26 2007, 10:39 PM
QUOTE(mavric @ Oct 26 2007, 08:59 PM) Aha...to open up the player means one has bought it...and upon opening it and discovering that it's not a mediatek chip but sony's own mpeg chip....the tears will flow.. sunauto...does the 76h has settings where you can set whether to upscale to 720p or 1080i or it'll automatically upscale to the highest possible? if i get a HDMI player that's capable of 1080p but my tv maxes out at 1080i..then how? You can select Auto/720P/1080i. If you get a 1080P player and select that resolution but your TV only support 1080i then you will get a blank screen. Or if your player is smart enough and automatically detect that your TV only has 1080i support, it will probably not let you enable the 1080P. This post has been edited by Ngto: Oct 26 2007, 10:42 PM
Ngto
Oct 27 2007, 09:43 AM
I haven't read the forums linked above, but if they mean the Progressive indicator at the front of the player's panel, then it's a non issue.
Those people are probably lazy or dumb. The just complain about everything before checking the features of the products they buy. Those indicator lights in front can be set in the menu to automatically dim after a few seconds so as not to be too distracting in the dark.
Ngto
Oct 28 2007, 10:00 AM
QUOTE(timothyy @ Oct 28 2007, 09:42 AM) Wow... this thread is still alive and kicking. Sometimes, it doesn't matter new or old. As long as the player you love still kicking and performing. Hey guys... check out my Home Theater Section. I've added new pics for Epson TW700. Hi Tim, How are things? I really envy your Home Theatre. Hope one day I can own even half of what you have got
Ngto
Oct 29 2007, 09:53 AM
QUOTE(schizophrenic @ Oct 29 2007, 09:13 AM) I'm interested in getting the NS78. heh heh anyone else got it or interested in getting it? Added on October 29, 2007, 9:40 amAnyone knows what is the standard resolution for normal DVD player? like the pioneer DV383 480p or 576p? Both. It has both 480i/576i with the option to turn on progressive scan. 576i is for PAL sources. This post has been edited by Ngto: Oct 29 2007, 10:00 AM
Ngto
Nov 1 2007, 10:22 AM
QUOTE(mavric @ Nov 1 2007, 10:06 AM) hm if that's the case, can a HD player play our normal dvds? is it backward compatible? Yes it can. Unless they don't want to make it backward compatible, which would be suicide for them But it's not advisable to play too much those cheap DVDs on a HD player because you never know how sensitive those HD-DVD or Blu-ray lens are.
Ngto
Nov 2 2007, 10:53 AM
Anyone interested in a brand new LG 37" LC4R or LC7R? LC4R Dynamic Contrast = 8,000:1, LC7R = 10,000:1 other common features:- S-IPS panel 1366x768 resolution 5ms response, 2HDMI, can input 1080P signal I am getting either one the above as a replacement for a defective older model (LC2R) under warranty which LG was unable to fix. LC4R is already available in LG Kelana Jaya office, but I am trying to push LG to give me the LC7R as replacement instead. Anyone interested please PM me about the price
Ngto
Nov 4 2007, 04:15 PM
QUOTE(mavric @ Nov 4 2007, 04:11 PM) have u checked whether it uses the mediatek chip like the NS76? Whoa, you are asking him to perform surgery on his new baby This post has been edited by Ngto: Nov 4 2007, 04:24 PM