prophetjul
post Dec 28 2015, 03:47 PM

12,282 posts

QUOTE(Jyunkai @ Dec 28 2015, 03:43 PM)
never properly integrate them also.
2 lines do not meet in same station at Majid Jamek. How to MASS RAPID TRANSIT? More like slow transit!

i remembered i first took the LRT. Got out at Majid Jamek and was told to go out of station to the other line! What a JOKE!
prophetjul
post Dec 28 2015, 04:01 PM

12,282 posts

QUOTE(Jyunkai @ Dec 28 2015, 03:57 PM)
they integrated them later, but it is something that should've been done in the beginning.
But in Malaysia its all politics........and cronyism. 2 lines. 2 companies. 2 cronies. 2 different Objectives. Later they died. Gomen had to take over.

In Sg, ONE OPerating company with ONE national vision. SMRT.
prophetjul
post Dec 28 2015, 04:02 PM

12,282 posts

QUOTE(Kampung2005 @ Dec 28 2015, 04:00 PM)
KL planned LRT lines separately as Putra and Star while SG had one mass transit authority which plans the whole system. That is our flaw in the beginning.
Politics and Cronyism
prophetjul
post Dec 28 2015, 04:04 PM

12,282 posts

QUOTE(Kampung2005 @ Dec 28 2015, 04:00 PM)
KL planned LRT lines separately as Putra and Star while SG had one mass transit authority which plans the whole system. That is our flaw in the beginning.
we don't plan properly anyway. Do you noticed certain stations are so low on population, even in peak hours. But the stations are of substantial sizes? Just plain silly.
prophetjul
post Dec 28 2015, 04:08 PM

12,282 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Dec 28 2015, 04:06 PM)
i think is purely politic issue.

They wanna build up malay area, but end up still the same.

no worry, SG many MRT station also the same....

some too crowded while some totally kosong....
But some areas are more in need of rapid transit. Areas like Cheras. Whereas Ampang areas are so low population as compared
prophetjul
post Dec 28 2015, 04:13 PM

12,282 posts

Bear in mind, SMRT is not just MRT by rail.

Its all the Rapid Transit by RAIL, BUS AND TAXIS.

Have you seen their MRT cum Bus terminals? The moving of the masses is awfully well planned.

This post has been edited by prophetjul: Dec 28 2015, 04:13 PM
prophetjul
post Dec 28 2015, 04:16 PM

12,282 posts

QUOTE(Kampung2005 @ Dec 28 2015, 04:13 PM)
Ampang has LRT because that area already have national railway to begin with. During STAR LRT project, what was then national railway was converted into LRT.

As to the assertion of alignment decided by community make up, I would disagree to that assertion because western part of LRT which has different community make up from the eastern part of LRT are both served.

And also in coming years, Puchong and Cheras will be all connected to metro system. These are becoming reality.
Yeah...only in later years that these areas are connected.

The concept of mass rapid is described by the terms themselves. We do not plan a system because there are existing rail lines, but to move masses in an efficient way to mitigate congestion.

Cheras is a horribly planned surburb.....so messy!
prophetjul
post Dec 28 2015, 04:17 PM

12,282 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Dec 28 2015, 04:15 PM)
Politic.....
but KL too messy to re-plan...
else buy back the land may cost MRT few fold....

now, what gov, sikit sikit will complain...
later this land dunno belong to who.
later build here, cannot , build there cannot.

In SG, when they wanna build there, who complain, they will be removed.

Actually same as, if the MRT wanna build under your house, will u allow?
of if the MRT  need to build beside your condo, while ur masterbed room directly facing the MRT track, will you ok?

in SG, they dun care, just direct build. max, they just put sound barrier on the track only.

If build under ground, all the properties on top will be end block....
In SG, they go UNDERGROUND................ biggrin.gif
prophetjul
post Dec 28 2015, 04:18 PM

12,282 posts

QUOTE(Kampung2005 @ Dec 28 2015, 04:16 PM)
The overall transit system is SG is now under government body, LTA.

SMRT had played key roles in earlier MRT lines now becoming operator.

In SG, there are MRT operators, SMRT and SBS Transit. However overall system and scheme are planned by Land Transport Authority (LTA).
Meanwhile in Malaysia..................?????
prophetjul
post Dec 28 2015, 04:19 PM

12,282 posts

QUOTE(kendo88 @ Dec 28 2015, 04:17 PM)
dun worry guys

we still have proton,KLIA,sepang F1, KLCC to be proud of, which after a decade they are still doing "fine"
Don't forget TWIN towers
prophetjul
post Dec 28 2015, 04:22 PM

12,282 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Dec 28 2015, 04:20 PM)
do you see the collapse on nicole highway station?
they still need to remove all the building in the top when they do underground.
So what? That's only one engineering accident. They have KMs of underground tunnels to avoid the major buildings.
prophetjul
post Dec 28 2015, 04:25 PM

12,282 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Dec 28 2015, 04:24 PM)
will u allow people dig under your house?
You don't DIG! Its called TUNNELING! laugh.gif
prophetjul
post Dec 28 2015, 04:34 PM

12,282 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Dec 28 2015, 04:29 PM)
Tunneling is still digging a hole.
Halo......Tunneling is not digging. In engineering terms
prophetjul
post Dec 28 2015, 05:07 PM

12,282 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Dec 28 2015, 04:54 PM)
Tuneling = digging a tunnel using tunnel boring machine.
Digging is too general. Tunneling is a very specific way of engineering.
Open trenching is also digging. Tunneling you don't see the daylight.
prophetjul
post Dec 28 2015, 05:18 PM

12,282 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Dec 28 2015, 05:13 PM)
so is not wrong for me to use dig.
between, this is not engineering talk or forum.
lol
who care...
Because when you use the term dig, its as if you are going to tench through existing properties.
Whereas tunneling will NOT affect them.
prophetjul
post Dec 28 2015, 05:25 PM

12,282 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Dec 28 2015, 05:23 PM)
Tunneling still will affect the properties on top right? even low chance.

No. With proper engineering, the property above will not be affected. In Sg, they were tunneling underneath the skyscrapers! No big deal.

0.0195sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 06:17 PM