If i dont state the working exp, the interviewer might ask what have I done after graduate for half year?
If i state in the resume, might it leave a bad impression to the interviewer?
Pls advise....
Should state in resume?
Dec 12 2006, 09:13 AM, updated 20y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
31 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
I am a fresh grad and I work in a IT company for 2 months plus and resign. Now I looking for new job, should i put the 3 months working experience in my resume?
If i dont state the working exp, the interviewer might ask what have I done after graduate for half year? If i state in the resume, might it leave a bad impression to the interviewer? Pls advise.... |
Dec 12 2006, 09:17 AM
466 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
if I were you, I'll write it. And prepare for my reasons for the coming interview.
Dec 12 2006, 09:17 AM
5,533 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
If I were you, I would leave it out. 2++ months ain't much plus they will bombard you with more questions.
Dec 12 2006, 09:19 AM
620 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Penang, Malaysia |
I think it's ok to put your working experiences in your resume, if it is relevant for the next job that you are going for. Most importantly, you should be able to tell your interviewer what you have accomplished or learned within your work tenure, regardless how short it can be. And of course, be mature and constructive if asked why did you leave after 3 months.
This post has been edited by supercolossal: Dec 12 2006, 09:35 AM |
Dec 12 2006, 09:21 AM
15,855 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Shanny @ Dec 12 2006, 09:13 AM) I am a fresh grad and I work in a IT company for 2 months plus and resign. Now I looking for new job, should i put the 3 months working experience in my resume? <<I am a fresh grad and I work in a IT company for 2 months plus and resign.>>If i dont state the working exp, the interviewer might ask what have I done after graduate for half year? If i state in the resume, might it leave a bad impression to the interviewer? Pls advise.... Can you explain the reason that you left in a positive manner?? If yes, put it in. If not, no. Dreamer |
Dec 12 2006, 09:42 AM
6,788 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
why did you resign? better be a good reason
IMHO better not put it, because the 1st thing that will be in the next interviewer's mind would be, you can leave that company after 2+ months what would make you not to quit our company in the same manner? |
Dec 12 2006, 09:51 AM
3,589 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Bolehland |
If u think u can express well why u want to leave or u have a good reason then put it in, else just leave it out
Dec 12 2006, 09:53 AM
4,547 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Metro Prima, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, Earth, Sol |
Think a reason, write it in, at least you got some working experience.
Dec 12 2006, 09:55 AM
755 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Back to the Historic |
I'll put it in. Certainly u have a reason on why u leave ur job. May it be environment, office politic or the job doesn't duits what u want or what u want to pursue for your future. Well this is just ny cents to u
Dec 12 2006, 10:10 AM
5,195 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: 500 year old rock ADHD™ |
Only if can come out with a good reason
Dec 12 2006, 11:43 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
52,874 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Just be prepared for being questioned by the interviewer.
Dec 12 2006, 12:31 PM
actually I resign is because I hope to change a field.....My last job is programming but I really cant enjoy the process of programming....I am aiming for support, helpdesk this kind of job....
Then I told honestly to the interviewer during my last interview.....but the interviewer seem like no happy with this reason....and I didnt get the job.... So, I wonder should I still tell honestly or not... This post has been edited by Shanny: Dec 12 2006, 12:35 PM |
Dec 12 2006, 12:48 PM
No happy ... why he/she should feel that way ...
Dec 12 2006, 01:09 PM
5,533 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
I guess the reason why she's not happy with your explanation is because you might not like the helpdesk job role in future (and hence quit).
Dec 12 2006, 01:12 PM
755 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Back to the Historic |
QUOTE(Shanny @ Dec 12 2006, 01:31 PM) actually I resign is because I hope to change a field.....My last job is programming but I really cant enjoy the process of programming....I am aiming for support, helpdesk this kind of job.... support n helpdesk is a low level grade in IT. (from my point of view, meaning tend to do an easier job rather than doing any programming. ) Then I told honestly to the interviewer during my last interview.....but the interviewer seem like no happy with this reason....and I didnt get the job.... So, I wonder should I still tell honestly or not... back to the point. Ur reason is not strong enuf to convince why u quit ur job. State more reason on y u like support, etc kind of job. eg.saying u r young wanna explore more fields and decide where you wanna go in next future as u are not comfortable yet in programming. BTW support or helpdesk do require some programming skills. |
Dec 12 2006, 01:30 PM
620 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Penang, Malaysia |
leinnz is right.
Like what I've said earlier, be constructive and optimistic when you answer, don't give the impression that you are quitting the job to run away from problems, rather elaborate on what you want to achieve/learn in your future career path. That will be more convincing because you show the interviewer that you know what you want in your future career. |
Dec 12 2006, 01:42 PM
Maybe the answer that you given is not convincing and gave a negative impression to the interviewer.
Dec 12 2006, 03:00 PM
thanks a lot for the advice.....
Dec 12 2006, 10:27 PM
15,855 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Shanny @ Dec 12 2006, 12:31 PM) actually I resign is because I hope to change a field.....My last job is programming but I really cant enjoy the process of programming....I am aiming for support, helpdesk this kind of job.... Shanny,Then I told honestly to the interviewer during my last interview.....but the interviewer seem like no happy with this reason....and I didnt get the job.... So, I wonder should I still tell honestly or not... Actually, there are two questions that you need to answer: 1) Why do you leave your last job? 2) Why do you resign even though you have not found a new job yet? And, you are failing to answer question number (2). So, you have NOT been honest. Dreamer |
| Change to: | 0.0176sec
5 queries
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 09:00 PM |