Urgent gaming laptop, Suggestion please

TSmisteriogirl
post Dec 22 2015, 11:33 AM, updated 11y ago

Hye.
I want to buy a gaming laptop with no heating issue, or any other major issues.
My maximum budget is RM5k.

The spec that I prefer is:
* core i7-6th gen
* 8Gb ddr4 Ram
* Gtx 960m and above if can.
* 1TB hdd
* 120Gb ssd is possible.
* pre-installed windows OS
* FHD display
* No over heat issue
* Prefered brand that have good servis after purchase. I heard asus have bad service center. LOL

Please help me sifus. icon_question.gif

I want to buy the machine within this weekdays.

Thanks in advance. biggrin.gif
TSmisteriogirl
post Dec 22 2015, 11:43 AM

QUOTE(SerbaSerbi @ Dec 22 2015, 11:36 AM)
I too have been like you and looking for one for my grandson

finally after lots of searching (in Malaysia one is limited to around 8 brands) for gaming

anyway keeping this reply to you to the point - check this

illegear.com  or just do a search illegear store

there is promotion before the end of 31dec for free this and that

also you may want to visit the MITF at mid valley starting this Thurs for deal

good luck
the brand is so new for me. any other brand that u will suggest?
Erehwon
post Dec 22 2015, 11:53 AM

77 posts

QUOTE(misteriogirl @ Dec 22 2015, 11:43 AM)
the brand is so new for me. any other brand that u will suggest?
Illegear is hardly a new brand. Its a Clevo reseller.

Clevo laptops are solid gaming laptop with price to performance ratio that most mainstream brands cant even match
TSmisteriogirl
post Dec 22 2015, 11:58 AM

QUOTE(Erehwon @ Dec 22 2015, 11:53 AM)
Illegear is hardly a new brand. Its a Clevo reseller.

Clevo laptops are solid gaming laptop with price to performance ratio that most mainstream brands cant even match
I just worry to buy those clevo brands because, just in case after the warranty expired, if anything happens to the machine, it is hard to find parts from normal service outlets. if send to the warranty center, sure will cost a lot since warranty is expired. looking for longer duration of usage.
Erehwon
post Dec 22 2015, 12:17 PM

77 posts

You'd face the same issue with mainstream brands after the expiry of their warranties as well. Aftermarket repairs for mainstream laptops is just as tedious and costly as you cannot change parts on their own. Most components are soldered onto the motherboard.

Clevo machines are easily self-repaired. You can change/upgrade the processor, ram, graphics card, hdd, wifi card on your own. The service manuals are available online for you to completely disassemble the laptop. Parts can be purchased from eBay or from the local re-seller.

If you feel uncomfortable about Clevo, read up about Sager. That's the main re-seller in the US so the experience should hold true for Illegear as well.
chiahau
post Dec 22 2015, 01:10 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(misteriogirl @ Dec 22 2015, 11:58 AM)
I just worry to buy those clevo brands because, just in case after the warranty expired, if anything happens to the machine, it is hard to find parts from normal service outlets. if send to the warranty center, sure will cost a lot since warranty is expired. looking for longer duration of usage.
Honestly, it's much easier to disassemble a Clevo compared to mainstream laptops.

If you want mainstream, just don't complaint about the price you're gonna pay for a machine when a custom made one would yield better performance and probably value.

Side note : People don't usually repair laptops. Whether it's mainstream or Clevo based.

Which is why people go for Clevo based laptops, which have better cooling, custom parts and etc = Indirectly contribute to durability..

One such alternative for you, if you want to go mainstream is Alienware.

They produced some pretty solid gaming laptop but the price on the other hand, not so sweet.
myway1985
post Dec 22 2015, 04:55 PM

12,091 posts

QUOTE(misteriogirl @ Dec 22 2015, 11:33 AM)
Hye.

* core i7-6th gen
* 8Gb ddr4 Ram
* 1TB hdd
* 120Gb ssd is possible.
* FHD display
* No over heat issue
* Prefered brand that have good servis after purchase. I heard asus have bad service center. LOL

Please help me sifus.  icon_question.gif

Thanks in advance.  biggrin.gif
Alienware 15 u wan? Gtx 970m

TSmisteriogirl
post Dec 22 2015, 07:11 PM

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Dec 22 2015, 04:55 PM)
Alienware 15 u wan? Gtx 970m
but it is out of my budget right?
Unomi
post Dec 22 2015, 10:25 PM

330 posts

my experience on a illegear z5,

better test it out, other than performance wise , the laptop is okay
the main problem you will find out is the screen hinges is not as firm as you think, if you are sitting right below a fan, you will find your laptop screen wobbling. On top of that, whenever you lift up your laptop screen, there is a squeaking sound.

I did sent it for a check, they told me is a common issue. So i personally love the performance, but the quality wise, just below average.
Prince J
post Dec 23 2015, 11:34 AM

1,272 posts

QUOTE(Unomi @ Dec 22 2015, 10:25 PM)
my experience on a illegear z5,

better test it out, other than performance wise , the laptop is okay
the main problem you will find out is the screen hinges is not as firm as you think, if you are sitting right below a fan, you will find your laptop screen wobbling. On top of that, whenever you lift up your laptop screen, there is a squeaking sound.

I did sent it for a check, they told me is a common issue. So i personally love the performance, but the quality wise, just below average.
Hi Unomi,

The Z5 plastic edition screen is wobbly but the aluminium edition doesn't wobble like the plastic one.

Nevertheless, the hinge of both edition are still very durable among all our models as we never had any single case of Z5 hinge broken so far.
myway1985
post Dec 23 2015, 12:09 PM

12,091 posts

QUOTE(Prince J @ Dec 23 2015, 11:34 AM)
Hi Unomi,

The Z5 plastic edition screen is wobbly but the aluminium edition doesn't wobble like the plastic one.

Nevertheless, the hinge of both edition are still very durable among all our models as we never had any single case of Z5 hinge broken so far.
He legit user of z5?
klmojuze
post Dec 23 2015, 02:36 PM

157 posts

Illegear or MSI ...But be sure to research accordingly and for MSI check the screen ~in person~ to see you like it before buying (screens vary from model to model etc). Good luck!
Supercc888
post Dec 23 2015, 03:34 PM

15 posts

alot brand, please read below for your information

MSI GE62-6QC Apache Series - RM4399

-Intel Core I7-6700HQ (2.6Ghz to 3.5Ghz, 6MB Cache)
-Windows 10 Home Edition 64Bit
-15'6" FHD (1920x1080) LED Backlit IPS Panel
-Nvidia GTX960M 2GB DDR5
-4GB DDR3(L) RAM (MAX 16GB)
- 1 TB HDD (7200RPM) (Super Raid Supported)
-Killer E2200 Gaming LAN + Interl 802.11AC Wireless
-Super Multi DVD-RW
-Bluetooth 4.0
-Martix Display Supported
-Steelserial KB
-Dynaudio Speaker
-USB-Type C
-Killer Doubleshot PRO
-2 Years Warranty

Asus ROG G501JW-CN117H - RM4699

>4th Generation Intel® Core™ I7-4720H processor
(2.6Ghz max boots up to 3.6Ghz,6MB L3 Cache)
>15'6 inc WLED FHD (1920 x 1080) Anti-Glare Display
>8GB DDR3 L at 1600Mhz
>1TB SATA HDD
>NVIDIA® Geforce® GTX960M 2GB DDR5
>Multi Combo DVD-RW
>USB 3.0 , Bluetooth 4.0
>2 Years Global Warranty From Asus
>Windows 8.1 Single Language, English (64Bit)

ILLEGEAR Z5 SKYLAKE - RM4599

Display: 15.6" Full HD Anti-glare IPS/AHVA sRGB 100% Color & Wide View (1920 x 1080)
Processor: Intel® Core™ i7-6700HQ
Graphics Card: Nvidia GeForce GTX 960M 4GB GDDR5 with Optimus (Maxwell)
Thermal Compound: Stock Standard Thermal Compound - CPU & GPU
RAM: Kingston 8GB DDR4 2133MHz (Up to 32GB DDR4)
Primary Drive: 1TB 7200rpm Hitachi Hard Drive
2x M.2 SSD Slots
Wireless Network Card: Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 7265 M.2 - WLAN & Bluetooth 4.0 Combo
Operating System: None (Not Recommended for Inexperienced User)
Warranty: ILLEGEAR 2 Year Carry-In Warranty

DragonRiderStar
post Dec 23 2015, 04:34 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(misteriogirl @ Dec 22 2015, 11:33 AM)
Hye.

* core i7-6th gen
* 8Gb ddr4 Ram
* 1TB hdd
* 120Gb ssd is possible.
* FHD display
* No over heat issue

Please help me sifus.  icon_question.gif

Thanks in advance.  biggrin.gif
Someone else here suggested you check out the MSI GE62 6QC Apache @RM4,399. For an additional RM100 you can get the GE72 6QC Apache with a 17.3" IPS screen. Or save the money and use it to purchase a SSD instead. thumbup.gif

And you shouldn't have any overheat issues as the GE62/72 has dual fans with separate heat pipes to the CPU and GPU.
huislaw
post Dec 24 2015, 08:41 AM

1,344 posts

Illegear Z5:
-No overheat issue
-Good after sales support
FirstOne
post Dec 24 2015, 12:45 PM

168 posts

RM5k should be able to get 970m smile.gif
androidfans
post Dec 24 2015, 06:50 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(FirstOne @ Dec 24 2015, 12:45 PM)
RM5k should be able to get 970m smile.gif
Which model ?
Unomi
post Dec 24 2015, 09:36 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Dec 23 2015, 12:09 PM)
He legit user of z5?
Duh, if not i wont even commend. Im just sharing my experience cause i owned one z5 with 970m.
myway1985
post Dec 24 2015, 09:41 PM

12,091 posts

QUOTE(Unomi @ Dec 24 2015, 09:36 PM)
Duh, if not i wont even commend. Im just sharing my experience cause i owned one z5 with 970m.
Chillax, z5 quality still better than msi gs, ge, n rog..

Ur standard of quality must be very high...
Unomi
post Dec 24 2015, 09:42 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(Prince J @ Dec 23 2015, 11:34 AM)
Hi Unomi,

Yes is durable , i dont expect my laptop to hinges to break while lifting up my screen. But the wobbly part is true just sharing my thoughts.

0.0216sec    0.88    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 09:14 PM