Will we ever get an Official Wii launch?

TSmuok
post Dec 12 2006, 03:12 AM, updated 19y ago

546 posts

As per title...will we get a local MY/SG Wii launch? I don't like the idea of using a step down transformer for anything.
stringfellow
post Dec 12 2006, 03:18 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(muok @ Dec 12 2006, 03:12 AM)
As per title...will we get a local MY/SG Wii launch? I don't like the idea of using a step down transformer for anything.
Singapore yes, but Malaysia historically no. The counter at Midvalley might get Singaporean-meant Wiis there if it ever meant to, that is as close a Malaysian launch you can get. I'll be glad if Nintendo can prove this wrong and officially launch it here, Gamecube never really got any special event or launch here during its time.
TSmuok
post Dec 12 2006, 03:21 AM

546 posts

That is so disappointing. sad.gif Any ideas if it has been launched in SG yet?
stringfellow
post Dec 12 2006, 03:25 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(muok @ Dec 12 2006, 03:21 AM)
That is so disappointing. sad.gif Any ideas if it has been launched in SG yet?
Preorders have started now, although concrete news on when the launch is remains vague. The Singaporeans are pissed at how MAxsoft, the official distributors are handling the launch, and there are even rumors of Nintendo axing Maxsoft and appointing a new distributor for Singapore.
TSmuok
post Dec 12 2006, 03:30 AM

546 posts

I may have a chance to get an Aussie Wii, would you recommend that? Would it be able to play NTSC (North American) games?

Thanks for the replies.
stringfellow
post Dec 12 2006, 03:33 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(muok @ Dec 12 2006, 03:30 AM)
I may have a chance to get an Aussie Wii, would you recommend that? Would it be able to play NTSC (North American) games?

Thanks for the replies.
Wii is region locked. Aussie Wiis play Aussie games only.
TSmuok
post Dec 12 2006, 03:36 AM

546 posts

I guess I could still import games from some Aussie/NZ online store. Hope someone would be able to remove that region lock ( if it is even possible) in the future.
bidfordun
post Dec 12 2006, 03:39 AM

2,234 posts

and dun forget that australian wii is pal version and it would be hard to get its games later.
TSmuok
post Dec 12 2006, 03:40 AM

546 posts

Hmmm, I assumed that even the PAL games, although they are released later than the rest still get released somehow, yes?
alvintan84
post Dec 12 2006, 12:24 PM

Game Enthusiast & Food Hunter
549 posts

QUOTE(muok @ Dec 12 2006, 03:40 AM)
Hmmm, I assumed that even the PAL games, although they are released later than the rest still get released somehow, yes?
The current solution u can opt is only buy wii games from aussie..unless u wan buy new wii laugh.gif
alkt
post Dec 12 2006, 12:32 PM

^_^
10,231 posts

wat is so difficult man? just get US Wii will do smile.gif
TSmuok
post Dec 12 2006, 02:24 PM

546 posts

Yeah, looks like I have no choice now. Aussie Wiis are all SOLD OUT. sad.gif
Pro-MX
post Dec 12 2006, 03:28 PM

Izay
1,259 posts

yeap.....is selling out fast in aussie....and aussie Wii is actually almost RM500 cheaper than malaysia...i just hope there is a mod chip to remove that region locked...damnit...why cant Wii be like PS3?.....region free...... cry.gif
acougan
post Dec 12 2006, 03:50 PM

590 posts

QUOTE(alkt @ Dec 12 2006, 12:32 PM)
wat is so difficult man? just get US Wii will do smile.gif
its a difficult decision cos all next-gen consoles come with dashboard/firmware upgrades. without official hardware warranty, a console's health/death is ever threaten by the spectre of badflash. official nintendo counter FTW thumbup.gif
samus_ng
post Dec 12 2006, 06:01 PM

258 posts

QUOTE(muok @ Dec 12 2006, 03:12 AM)
I don't think we'll get an official Wii launch here. If got come then very good! rclxm9.gif
alvintan84
post Dec 13 2006, 12:23 AM

Game Enthusiast & Food Hunter
549 posts

QUOTE(samus_ng @ Dec 12 2006, 06:01 PM)
I don't think we'll get an official Wii launch here. If got come then very good! rclxm9.gif
Just wait& see. If lucky, maybe got. All depends on the Nintendo ppl wan launch here/not
alskar
post Dec 13 2006, 08:29 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(bidfordun @ Dec 12 2006, 03:39 AM)
and dun forget that australian wii is pal version and it would be hard to get its games later.
sorry,what do you mean by "pal version"?thanx
bidfordun
post Dec 13 2006, 08:32 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(alskar @ Dec 13 2006, 08:29 PM)
sorry,what do you mean by "pal version"?thanx
i also dunno how to explain. wait for those who are good in explaining. tongue.gif
psyhun
post Dec 13 2006, 09:28 PM

62 posts

Hello, my first post here tongue.gif

From my understanding, PAL and NTSC are the two different TV systems/formats used around the world.....

PAL is used in places like Australasia and the majority of Eurasia....

NTSC is used in countries like America, Japan, Canada etc

Usually developers uses this to region lock their games, so PAL games (disc) will not work in NTSC consoles and vice versa.......

So it is usually wiser to get NTSC consoles in Malaysia cause game shops will usually or always import NTSC games........
SWATwolf
post Dec 13 2006, 09:51 PM

431 posts

im really looking forward for nintendo counter to sell wii

0.0181sec    0.65    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:28 PM