History of video games in Malaysia?, for history's sake

JimbeamofNRT
post Dec 29 2015, 08:23 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(jdgobio @ Dec 29 2015, 02:28 PM)

Nice.  biggrin.gif  I remember seeing my classmates, schoolmates and neighbours having these. Never got to play much coz I was a shy kid, segan nak mintak pinjam. Never owned any coz I was not in that social category that can afford them.  sad.gif

Those days I usually only play arcade games once in a while coz it was the most affordable at 20 sen (duit sekolah habis). My favourite game was Legendary Wings - anyone remember this game? Played a lot of Street Fighter 2 as well.

Only seriously started playing games when someone donated their old pentium 100mghz pc to me. in the late '90s.  biggrin.gif
Didn't remember playing this Legendary Wings. 1986.

but this game released after Exed Exes 1985

and before the legendary 1943

one of the best!

JimbeamofNRT
post Dec 29 2015, 08:26 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(aliesterfiend @ Dec 29 2015, 05:51 PM)
I used to have this. and another one Firefighter or something (forgot the name).
this one?

aliesterfiend
post Dec 30 2015, 08:30 AM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Dec 29 2015, 08:26 PM)
this one?

Kenot see picture. In opis. sad.gif
aliesterfiend
post Dec 30 2015, 08:31 AM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Dec 29 2015, 08:23 PM)
and before the legendary 1943

one of the best!

One time I played at DV8..... Orang lain sibuk menari aku sibuk main game. biggrin.gif
kcmy
post Dec 30 2015, 09:03 AM

I gazed a gazeless stare
726 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Dec 29 2015, 08:26 PM)
this one?

the octopus one where u dive into the bottom to collect treasures while avoiding the octopus tentacles for me is the best.
JimbeamofNRT
post Dec 30 2015, 12:09 PM

1,902 posts

wow many old fags here hihi
am_i_rulez
post Dec 30 2015, 01:06 PM

Group: Senior Member
1,274 posts

i remember polistation. i dont know it is correct name or not. where the most famous games is shooting duck, contra, ninja and mario. if cant load just blow the tape.
oucheev
post Dec 30 2015, 01:46 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(january9 @ Dec 30 2015, 01:34 PM)
ard 1980s, my brother once brought back a pong game , pinjam his friend's one...and it was magical to me.

still can remember spending hours playing it on my black and white tv

eventually, we bought a micro genius....and my richer friends pulak buy mega drive.

as for the arcade scene, it was illegal for u18 kids to enter, but its filled with kids who ponteng class. lol

i only ponteng few times to play the original street fighter...
The height of arcade in Malaysia was during Street Fighter 2 time in the early 90's. Used to go to Kotaraya after school for arcades. Kotaraya was much better in those days before invasion of Bangla.
Faidzal
post Dec 30 2015, 06:12 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Dec 29 2015, 12:23 AM)
and that happened back in 1996. all because arcades start bringing in those mesin kuda. so many get addicted to it.

remember these?

actually before 1996, you cannot enter arcade centres if you are under 18, and this was before mesin kuda became widespread.

I should know bcos I curi-curi masuk into arcades since 1990 despite being only 12 that time all bcos I wanna play double dragon...
Faidzal
post Dec 30 2015, 06:20 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Dec 29 2015, 08:23 PM)
Didn't remember playing this Legendary Wings. 1986.

damn this game was hard.

I remember playing the famicom version, the only way you stand a chance is if you used the cheat codes.

(same like contra)

and recently Capcom rereleased it for ps2/psp (Capcom classics collection), but that one has unlimited continues...
Winning11
post Dec 30 2015, 06:30 PM

283 posts

Games back then are hard to win. I don't remember winning any of the games except for contra. It pun because I have 30 lives instead of the usual 3
JimbeamofNRT
post Dec 30 2015, 08:29 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(Faidzal @ Dec 30 2015, 06:12 PM)
actually before 1996, you cannot enter arcade centres if you are under 18, and this was before mesin kuda became widespread.

I should know bcos I curi-curi masuk into arcades since 1990 despite being only 12 that time all bcos I wanna play double dragon...
ah yes. but many arcades those days very relax one. some jaga will ask u to leave if you wear school uniforms.

from chi liung plaza klang to kotaraya KL, man, life is great bro.

u stay mana last time?
JimbeamofNRT
post Dec 30 2015, 08:32 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(Winning11 @ Dec 30 2015, 06:30 PM)
Games back then are hard to win. I don't remember winning any of the games except for contra. It pun because I have 30 lives instead of the usual 3
yup!

I remember that this Ninja Gaiden 3 - The Ancient Ship of Doom is quite hard to play.

real wtf moment

Faidzal
post Dec 30 2015, 10:49 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Dec 30 2015, 08:29 PM)
ah yes. but many arcades those days very relax one. some jaga will ask u to leave if you wear school uniforms.

from chi liung plaza klang to kotaraya KL, man, life is great bro.

u stay mana last time?
obviously wearing school uniforms will get you kicked out.

there was aloophole though, in that you can legally eneter if you came with a guardian of legal age.

but like you said, the jaga tiada kesah diberikan, the more you spend at the arcades, the better.

I spent minimum rm2-rm3 per visit at least (rm1 per game).

usually playing street fighter/king of fighters/dungeons & dragons etc...
JimbeamofNRT
post Dec 30 2015, 11:21 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(Faidzal @ Dec 30 2015, 10:49 PM)
obviously wearing school uniforms will get you kicked out.

there was aloophole though, in that you can legally eneter if you came with a guardian of legal age.

but like you said, the jaga tiada kesah diberikan, the more you spend at the arcades, the better.

I spent minimum rm2-rm3 per visit at least (rm1 per game).

usually playing street fighter/king of fighters/dungeons & dragons etc...
ahahaha.... which arcade that strict that time? all also can lah if you are regular

itu SF/KOF/DnD all in the 90s.

which arcade u always go last time?

and yes, back in 1992 Daytona is the best driving arcade game ( throughout the 90s actually )

although I prefer VR

that time quite expensive RM 1 per game

Faidzal
post Dec 31 2015, 12:13 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Dec 30 2015, 11:21 PM)
ahahaha.... which arcade that strict that time? all also can lah if you are regular

itu SF/KOF/DnD all in the 90s.

which arcade u always go last time?

and yes, back in 1992 Daytona is the best driving arcade game ( throughout the 90s actually )

although I prefer VR

that time quite expensive RM 1 per game

oh yeah, I forgot I mainly played in JB arcades (holiday plaza/komtar/city square etc.).

I know KL had awesome arcades in sungei wang, sogo top floor, even mid valley had a decent arcade as late as 8 years ago...

what was that official Capcom Malaysia authorised distributor? alpha something?

they had an arcade in sungei wang plaza 3 floor iinm, always had the latest street fighter game on one 50" screen arcade machine...
JimbeamofNRT
post Dec 31 2015, 12:37 AM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(Faidzal @ Dec 31 2015, 12:13 AM)
oh yeah, I forgot I mainly played in JB arcades (holiday plaza/komtar/city square etc.).

I know KL had awesome arcades in sungei wang, sogo top floor, even mid valley had a decent arcade as late as 8 years ago...

what was that official Capcom Malaysia authorised distributor? alpha something?

they had an arcade in sungei wang plaza 3 floor iinm, always had the latest street fighter game on one 50" screen arcade machine...
oh jb. allright.

sungai wang got Sega Satellite is one of them. only one section if I remember correctly quite big also lah got pinballs as well.

although back in the 90s Kotaraya KL is one of the biggest arcade center in KL AFAIK.subang ss15 also got arcade center. same row as Silva Jalan SS15/8A. those days before Java Shoppe among the first cc opened in 1996 I think? then, Subang Parade also got arcade.

in Klang back in the 80s and 90s, the biggest arcade center is Chi Liung Plaza then renamed to Plaza Metro.from 1st floor to 5th floor full of arcades! then other parts of Klang also got arcades. in PJ arcades are scattered.

that capcom thingy, must be Jaya Jusco Alpha Angle at Wangsa Maju.Got Capcom station there last time IIRC.

back in the 80s if you wanna play arcades either you go to The Mall, Ampang Park or Semua House. Shah Alam also got one at 1st floor bowling center PKNS. quite small but ok lah.

SOGO Batu Road also got in the 90s. until now I think.

well... and yes, anothe one. PERTAMA Complex. back in the 80s throughout the 90s. got plenty of arcades there. but got many samseng there.

This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: Dec 31 2015, 12:39 AM
aliesterfiend
post Dec 31 2015, 09:40 AM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(january9 @ Dec 30 2015, 01:34 PM)
as for the arcade scene, it was illegal for u18 kids to enter, but its filled with kids who ponteng class. lol
When that start ?

I remembered going to Ampang Park every time I came to KL back then. Of course came with my dad la.

The only games he did not allow me to play was Pinball. Dunno why. blush.gif
malayantiger
post Jan 1 2016, 05:24 AM

320 posts

Love this thread, brings back great memories! I use to frequent Imbi Plaza and Sungai Wang, ended up buying the Megadrive 16 bit. My fav was Dragon Fury aka Devil's Crush, a pinball based game with multilevel tables and secret tables. Even had a tilt function like a real pinball machine. Played till the wee hours of the morning, next day going to work with bleary eyes, and sore thumbs, hahaha. Such a fun game and the only way to meet the boss is to enter a 'cheat code' giving you 20 balls to 'kill' the devil. Once you finish off the boss, there will be the end scene, often spectacular. Most games will have this end scene. BTW there are so many awesome games on Megadrive...Sonic the Hedgehog, MERC, Dessert Strike, Strider, Quackshot, Mickey Mouse, PacMan, just to name a few.
blah2blah
post Jan 1 2016, 04:28 PM

748 posts

If not mistaken those western console last time if you want go buy ou need to get from Toys R Us. Gameboy was kinda common thing back in the days when I lay my hand on video games. Bootleg of Micro Genius cartridge also a common spot in pasar pagi/malam.

Back then Sega handheld was one of the most expensive to get in Msia. My relatives from the states brought one for my cousin and problem arise

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0186sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 07:31 PM