Battle of the +/- rm7k TVs, + Discussion on Sharp UE630X

voncrane
post Mar 4 2016, 11:15 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(DannyOP @ Mar 4 2016, 10:14 PM)
I feel Android Tv is still at the early stage, still many things can be improved. For my usage to access files, Plex is a good option instead of plugging and unplugging devices.
Sure the Android TV OS is still in its early stages, however, that's not an excuse for Sharp shipping out a defective firmware. Especially since other devices like the Nvidia Shield TV box or Nexus player running Android TV, handle such issues properly.. As for Plex, it's nice and all, basically I prefer getting the full HD video and audio experience. Don't care much for network latency, transcoding, audio downmixing, PCM and extra decoding.
susu_capbadak
post Mar 4 2016, 11:38 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(jdgobio @ Mar 4 2016, 04:13 PM)
My old 2010 Samsung pre-smart hub aTV also handles USB drives competently and can do DLNA without issues.
I realized that the Sharp had issues with USB media playback when I couldn't get my HDD to work on it in 2 different shops. All the Samsung's on the other hand, read it just fine and gave a pop up.

Well at least there are other ways to make it work via the Android TV.
If like that I choose wrong tv liao haha, should have get samsung. When I started to research I was looking for lcd to do 3 main things, watch astro, watch youtube and play files from pendrive on that order
susu_capbadak
post Mar 4 2016, 11:38 PM

69 posts

Double post

This post has been edited by susu_capbadak: Mar 4 2016, 11:40 PM
AVFAN
post Mar 5 2016, 12:04 AM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(susu_capbadak @ Mar 4 2016, 11:38 PM)
If like that I choose wrong tv liao haha, should have get samsung. When I started to research I was looking for lcd to do 3 main things, watch astro, watch youtube and play files from pendrive on that order
if u do not have a box that can do usb playback, it's bad news.

i use the tv usb only for app installation on the tv.

voncrane
post Mar 5 2016, 12:04 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

Haha, it's still a good choice as future firmware updates can fix the current usb playback issues.. Still have 4K + Android TV.. tongue.gif
TSDannyOP
post Mar 5 2016, 03:41 AM

5,220 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Mar 4 2016, 11:15 PM)
Sure the Android TV OS is still in its early stages, however, that's not an excuse for Sharp shipping out a defective firmware. Especially since other devices like the Nvidia Shield TV box or Nexus player running Android TV, handle such issues properly.. As for Plex, it's nice and all, basically I prefer getting the full HD video and audio experience. Don't care much for network latency, transcoding, audio downmixing, PCM and extra decoding.
You can't get full HD video and audio with Plex?
SUSjdgobio
post Mar 5 2016, 08:23 AM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Mar 4 2016, 11:15 PM)
Depending on your media server, plex will be limited. My nas can't handle transcoding. So I only use it to stream. It's still quite slow to use plex on tv. It's a good option but limited by server/nas capability and the tv's own processor.

The interface and meta file download is awesome though.
SUSjdgobio
post Mar 5 2016, 08:28 AM

1,010 posts

There is no perfect tv. You gain some and you lose some. I think your tv is good enough but has some shortcomings that can be worked around using the android tv.
voncrane
post Mar 5 2016, 09:31 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(DannyOP @ Mar 5 2016, 03:41 AM)
You can't get full HD video and audio with Plex?
Nope, tried it a couple of times and wasn't satisfied with the performance.. File had 7.1 DTS-HD MA audio & I got PCM on the TV instead. I thought perhaps, Plex would have done some improvements so far, but some light reading around their forum still suggests passthrough issues.. A compatibility thing I guess.. I'll try it again.

QUOTE(jdgobio @ Mar 5 2016, 08:23 AM)
Depending on your media server, plex will be limited. My nas can't handle transcoding. So I only use it to stream. It's still quite slow to use plex on tv. It's a good option but limited by server/nas capability and the tv's own processor.

The interface and meta file download is awesome though.
The UI & simplicity of how everything should work is all well and good.. For simple low bitrate videos with AC3, etc.. Media server is a gaming rig, wireless ac with full signal connection , core i7 HQ CPU, more than sufficient RAM, GPU's capable of driving at least two 4K monitors, etc.. So I don't think it's the PC... Maybe as you suggested, it's the TV (quad-core processor) or the HT.. Doesn't like what Plex's sending, tries to keep it simple instead. Forcing me to keep it simple thru USB smile.gif

I've been looking at getting a dedicated NAS unit for awhile, still can't justify the price to rewards ratio. Besides, instant streaming is the rage. Price of a 12TB NAS unit with Raid 1 setup. rclxub.gif
AVFAN
post Mar 5 2016, 10:45 AM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Mar 5 2016, 09:31 AM)
I've been looking at getting a dedicated NAS unit for awhile, still can't justify the price to rewards ratio. Besides, instant streaming is the rage. Price of a 12TB NAS unit with Raid 1 setup.  rclxub.gif
i pretty much came to that conclusion as well.

pls yell if u come across something viable!

meanwhile, i continue to make full use of existing boxes, tv's and the numerous hdd's. laugh.gif

voncrane
post Mar 5 2016, 11:00 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 5 2016, 10:45 AM)
i pretty much came to that conclusion as well.

pls yell if u come across something viable!

meanwhile, i continue to make full use of existing boxes, tv's and the numerous hdd's. laugh.gif
Will do.... You too... biggrin.gif
gme
post Mar 5 2016, 04:29 PM

108 posts

how about 65 Samsung ju6000?price?
picture quality compare to sharp 65 630x?
tq sifu2
TSDannyOP
post Mar 5 2016, 04:49 PM

5,220 posts

QUOTE(gme @ Mar 5 2016, 04:29 PM)
tq sifu2
For Samsung you need at least 7500 series to compare.
SUSjdgobio
post Mar 5 2016, 05:16 PM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(gme @ Mar 5 2016, 04:29 PM)
tq sifu2
This is the most basic model. Pls avoid if you can. Go for 7 series and higher if you want samsung.

gme
post Mar 6 2016, 03:47 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(DannyOP @ Mar 5 2016, 04:49 PM)
For Samsung you need at least 7500 series to compare.
tq sifu..
so, 65 ju7500 vs 65 630x,which is the best for picture quality?
I'm plasma fan... cry.gif ...not like led tv before..
TSDannyOP
post Mar 6 2016, 06:07 AM

5,220 posts

QUOTE(gme @ Mar 6 2016, 03:47 AM)
tq sifu..
Next week the 8k TV from Sharp will be available for viewing at Harvey Norman. If you have budget can consider checking it out .. Rm30k for 70".
bond
post Mar 6 2016, 10:59 AM

83 posts

i think ESH SS2 already has a display unit... somehow i was told they offer 5 years warranty from sharp directly.
SUSjdgobio
post Mar 6 2016, 12:03 PM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(gme @ Mar 6 2016, 03:47 AM)
tq sifu..
Then you will have to go for oled or high end leds like the JS9000. You may not be satisfied with mid end leds.
Anyway best for you to check yourself and fund out what looks good to you.
gme
post Mar 6 2016, 01:02 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(DannyOP @ Mar 6 2016, 06:07 AM)
Next week the 8k TV from Sharp will be available for viewing at Harvey Norman. If you have budget can consider checking it out .. Rm30k for 70".
sweat.gif see only lah...can't buy
tq bro
gme
post Mar 6 2016, 01:04 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(jdgobio @ Mar 6 2016, 12:03 PM)
Then you will have to go for oled or high end leds like the JS9000. You may not be satisfied with mid end leds.
Anyway best for you to check yourself and fund out what looks good to you.
x cukup bajet bro... cry.gif

85 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0197sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:45 AM