Battle of the +/- rm7k TVs, + Discussion on Sharp UE630X

WayneLee828
post Dec 21 2017, 06:09 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 19 2017, 12:21 PM)
ue630x owners using Astrogo, a tip for you.
Astrogo latest version 8.1.68 does NOT work.

i tried several versions, and found only one will work at this time - 8.0.4.2.

other requirements:

.. the default leanback keyboard of the androidtv is NOT compatible with Astrogo.
so, u need to go to playstore, install the google INDIC keyboard, activate and set it as default.

.. the app in default is in portrait, need to install from playstore one of those "orientation" apps to rotate 90 deg, make it landscape.

.. remote controls will not work, need mouse to click-hold-drag to navigate.
Can you recommend an apk for rotation to landscape?

AVFAN
post Dec 21 2017, 06:41 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(WayneLee828 @ Dec 21 2017, 06:09 PM)
Can you recommend an apk for rotation to landscape?
Just to go playstore, search "orientation".

Several, any one will do.
arvind13
post Dec 21 2017, 11:06 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(arvind13 @ Dec 8 2017, 04:27 PM)
I'm only on mobile data for now.. hotspot... Lol...

Shall try again once i get my Unifi installed.. 

Thanks for the advice..  smile.gif
Hi again... I got Kodi installed on my tv LC50UE630X however would like to check on the motion refresh settings since fast motions are not smooth on the tv. Is it due to Aquo motion not available for this model thus max refresh rate is only 60Hz? Is there any other settings to improve the refresh rates? :/

AVFAN
post Dec 21 2017, 11:37 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(arvind13 @ Dec 21 2017, 11:06 PM)
Hi again... I got Kodi installed on my tv LC50UE630X however would like to check on the motion refresh settings since fast motions are not smooth on the tv. Is it due to Aquo motion not available for this model thus max refresh rate is only 60Hz? Is there any other settings to improve the refresh rates?  :/
u need to describe more for anyone to comment.

.. still using wifi hotspot?
.. what kodi addon, what link, what video r u referring to?

u need to understand kodi and other online videos aren't the best to test a tv's performance n capability.

because online streams can vary a lot from good to real shitty... also depends on yr internet speed n stability.

better u test with a proper player, good source, playback hdmi into the tv.
AVFAN
post Dec 22 2017, 02:04 AM

24,453 posts

here we go... sharp LC60UA6800X, rm5599/5195 from TBM/TBC:

Features:

60 inch 4K UHD android TV
4K Ultra HD - AQUOS 4K TVs come with the latest HDR standards. Coupled with SHARP’s high luminance technology, giving you a consistent life-like contrast between light and darkness.
X4 Master Engine Pro II - The X4 Master Engine Pro II processor allows SD and HD videos to be up-converted to 4K resolution with minimal noise while maintaining image quality.
Real Colour - Improved backlights and colour panels provide wider colour gamut, giving you access to more natural colours. AQUOS TVs are optimized to give you realistic tones with precise colours.
Android TV - Enjoy a variety of apps for videos, news and games from Playstore with the latest all in one Smart Remote.
Eilex Prism - Eilex audio technologies provide the foundation of natural, realistic sound for movies, music, and video games.

http://store.tbm.com.my/home/8789-SHARPLC6...GITALTUNER.html
http://www.11street.my/productdetail/sharp...oid-tv-57410547

60" and 50":
http://sharp.com.my/pageRender?msgContent=...6485&sequence=1

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Dec 22 2017, 02:20 AM
arvind13
post Dec 22 2017, 09:49 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 21 2017, 11:37 PM)
u need to describe more for anyone to comment.

.. still using wifi hotspot?
.. what kodi addon, what link, what video r u referring to?

u need to understand kodi and other online videos aren't the best to test a tv's performance n capability.

because online streams can vary a lot from good to real shitty... also depends on yr internet speed n stability.

better u test with a proper player, good source, playback hdmi into the tv.
I played a 720p movie on my TV via USB but still had the motion judder during fight scenes or fast action scenes thus believed it could be due to TV refresh rate only allow up 60Hz. Didn't have this motion judder on my samsung plasma full hd tv. Perhaps it had higher refresh rates than my new sharp tv. :/.
AVFAN
post Dec 22 2017, 10:24 AM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(arvind13 @ Dec 22 2017, 09:49 AM)
I played a 720p movie on my TV via USB but still had the motion judder during fight scenes or fast action scenes thus believed it could be due to TV refresh rate only allow up 60Hz. Didn't have this motion judder on my samsung plasma full hd tv. Perhaps it had higher refresh rates than my new sharp tv.  :/.
that, better others comment.

becos i dun use the tv usb player for local playback.

u probably want to test a few more videos of 720p, 1080p of various sizes, types and formats.

using separate box player, be it 480p, 720p, 1080p, 2160p... i dun notice that judder u described.
voncrane
post Dec 23 2017, 02:16 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(arvind13 @ Dec 22 2017, 09:49 AM)
I played a 720p movie on my TV via USB but still had the motion judder during fight scenes or fast action scenes thus believed it could be due to TV refresh rate only allow up 60Hz. Didn't have this motion judder on my samsung plasma full hd tv. Perhaps it had higher refresh rates than my new sharp tv.  :/.
It’s genral knowledge that Plasma TVs perform much better at motion handling than most typical LCD-LED TVs, especially with entry-level ones. I believe what AVFAN told you is correct. Before dissing on the TV's features, you must first test it with proper media content. Hook up a decent blu-ray player, pop in a couple of unadulterated Blu-ray discs and sit back to compare while tweaking motion settings if need be. Bet you probably downloaded that 720p movie from a questionable source and have no idea the amount of processing and what nots that it went through before being uploaded for download. Even Blu-ray rips floating around have varying degrees of quality. Nothing beats the physical disc. Try that.

I own a Samsung TV and not a fan of them fancy motion smoothing tech. I turn all off as I want to see swift proper movements as the director intended. Smooth playback especially properly done Blu-ray. My 2 sen.

This post has been edited by voncrane: Dec 23 2017, 02:17 AM
arvind13
post Dec 23 2017, 01:57 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Dec 23 2017, 02:16 AM)
It’s genral knowledge that Plasma TVs perform much better at motion handling than most typical LCD-LED TVs, especially with entry-level ones. I believe what AVFAN told you is correct. Before dissing on the TV's features, you must first test it with proper media content. Hook up a decent blu-ray player, pop in a couple of unadulterated Blu-ray discs and sit back to compare while tweaking motion settings if need be. Bet you probably downloaded that 720p movie from a questionable source and have no idea the amount of processing and what nots that it went through before being uploaded for download. Even Blu-ray rips floating around have varying degrees of quality. Nothing beats the physical disc. Try that.

I own a Samsung TV and not a fan of them fancy motion smoothing tech. I turn all off as I want to see swift proper movements as the director intended. Smooth playback especially properly done Blu-ray. My 2 sen.
Thanks for your detailed explanation.. shall try the above options and see if that makes any difference... 👍👍👍
axenophage
post Dec 24 2017, 04:00 PM

140 posts

Just few noob question:

1. How to close running app in the TV? I play a movie from terratium TV using VLC but I dont know how to close it as it shows pause.

2. My Unifi speed is 50Mbps,play native Youtube 4k is very good but streaming a 1.5Gb ‘1080p’movie from Terrarium seems lagging..Anyone having same issue?

3. Can u install apk file while is Kodi-select ES within Kodi-install from cloud?

AVFAN
post Dec 24 2017, 07:21 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(axenophage @ Dec 24 2017, 04:00 PM)
Just few noob question:

1. How to close running app in the TV? I play a movie from terratium TV using VLC but I dont know how to close it as it shows pause.

2. My Unifi speed is 50Mbps,play native Youtube 4k is very good but streaming a 1.5Gb ‘1080p’movie from Terrarium seems lagging..Anyone having same issue?

3. Can u install apk file while is Kodi-select ES within Kodi-install from cloud?
1. just exit, it will close by default.
vlc is problematic for that, imo.
better u use terrarium's default exo player or MX player.

2. free apps like terrarium has no guarantee it will work 100%.
this lagging thingy is something u will see again and again, esp in free apps.
causes can be country geo restriction, local isp restriction, heavy traffiic, "buy vpn, u must pay", or simply bad source.
remember any source has a owner, need maintenance; free stuff is seldom maintained well for long.

3. i think u can; it just takes u back to esf app itself and do its thing.
but i don't see any advantage compared to using esf direct.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Dec 24 2017, 07:52 PM
axenophage
post Dec 24 2017, 10:51 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 24 2017, 07:21 PM)
1. just exit, it will close by default.
vlc is problematic for that, imo.
better u use terrarium's default exo player or MX player.

2. free apps like terrarium has no guarantee it will work 100%.
this lagging thingy is something u will see again and again, esp in free apps.
causes can be country geo restriction, local isp restriction, heavy traffiic, "buy vpn, u must pay", or simply bad source.
remember any source has a owner, need maintenance; free stuff is seldom maintained well for long.

3. i think u can; it just takes u back to esf app itself and do its thing.
but i don't see any advantage compared to using esf direct.
Thx bro for the feedback on point no 2.

For point no 1,u mean exit is turn off the TV or press the exit button on the remote?

As for point no 3 just trying to eliminate the process of copy the apk to USB,plug to TV then install the apk.

axenophage
post Dec 25 2017, 12:47 AM

140 posts

See the vlc file player on the left..exit and switch off tv its still there

AVFAN
post Dec 25 2017, 01:38 AM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(axenophage @ Dec 24 2017, 10:51 PM)
Thx bro for the feedback on point no 2.

For point no 1,u mean exit is turn off the TV or press the exit button on the remote?

As for point no 3 just trying to eliminate the process of copy the apk to USB,plug to TV then install the apk.
1. I mean just use the arrow left button to exit all the way.
I do not use vlc on the tv, not sure of the details.
Mx player is good for most simple apps.
Terrarium, use its exo player to have most benefits.

3. I misunderstood u... i hv not tried installing apps that way via cloud but it should work.
Try it n let us know!
TokCoc
post Dec 25 2017, 07:47 AM

522 posts

I am considering a new TV.. 65inch 630x Or the new ua6800x..
58xx for 65" and 48xx for 60"

polarzbearz
post Dec 25 2017, 07:45 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(TokCoc @ Dec 25 2017, 07:47 AM)
I am considering a new TV.. 65inch 630x Or the new ua6800x..
58xx for 65" and 48xx for 60"
Interested in this combination as well, albeit different size

50" 630X (LC50UE630X) seems to be a pretty solid contender in its size/price range/panel/4k/with android TV, but the new UA6800X leaves me wondering hmm.gif
axenophage
post Dec 25 2017, 11:02 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 25 2017, 01:38 AM)
1. I mean just use the arrow left button to exit all the way.
I do not use vlc on the tv, not sure of the details.
Mx player is good for most simple apps.
Terrarium, use its exo player to have most benefits.

3. I misunderstood u... i hv not tried installing apps that way via cloud but it should work.
Try it n let us know!
Orait bro.will update
AVFAN
post Dec 25 2017, 11:18 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Dec 25 2017, 07:45 PM)
Interested in this combination as well, albeit different size

50" 630X (LC50UE630X) seems to be a pretty solid contender in its size/price range/panel/4k/with android TV, but the new UA6800X leaves me wondering hmm.gif
passed by a shop today...

lc50ue630x... <rm3k
lc60ue630x... rm4.6k
lc65ue630x... rm5.7k
lc60ua6800x... rm5.5k

the only major diff... ua6800x is new, with HDR while ue630x is non-HDR, >2 years old.

lc60ua6800x online price is more like rm5.0-5.2k.

there is also a littler bro of ua6800x - lc60ua6500x, circa rm4.6k:
http://www.11street.my/productdetail/sharp...530?recopick=25

ua6500x is hdr too but without androidtv + some other differences:
http://sharp.com.my/pageRender?msgContent=...C60UA6800X#tab2
http://sharp.com.my/pageRender?msgContent=...C60UA6500X#tab2

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Dec 26 2017, 01:02 AM
polarzbearz
post Dec 26 2017, 09:12 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 25 2017, 11:18 PM)
passed by a shop today...

lc50ue630x... <rm3k
lc60ue630x... rm4.6k
lc65ue630x... rm5.7k
lc60ua6800x... rm5.5k

the only major diff... ua6800x is new, with HDR while ue630x is non-HDR, >2 years old.

lc60ua6800x online price is more like rm5.0-5.2k.

there is also a littler bro of ua6800x - lc60ua6500x, circa rm4.6k:
http://www.11street.my/productdetail/sharp...530?recopick=25

ua6500x is hdr too but without androidtv + some other differences:
http://sharp.com.my/pageRender?msgContent=...C60UA6800X#tab2
http://sharp.com.my/pageRender?msgContent=...C60UA6500X#tab2
HDR sounds like a good addition but I guess I (or rather, my mom) can survive without it - given that she's been using a second-hand TOSHIBA REGZA 32" that looks.. terrible to me.

At this moment still leaning more towards lc50ue630x, unless if I opt for 60" maybe will reconsider.

Did you get to see if there's any lc50ua6800x in the shop- the 50" variant of newer brother?

AVFAN
post Dec 26 2017, 09:26 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Dec 26 2017, 09:12 PM)
Did you get to see if there's any lc50ua6800x in the shop-  the 50" variant of newer brother?
i did not see it but there is a 50".

http://sharp.com.my/pageRender?msgContent=...ode=LC50UA6800X

85 Pages « < 68 69 70 71 72 > » Top

0.0299sec    0.14    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:50 PM